Scottsdale, AZ 
Vista Del Camino Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 256ft.   3 / 283ft.   3 / 320ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty course that meanders along a small stream, grassy fields and a smattering of trees. Other than some water hazards, would be a great course for beginners. Enjoyable but no too difficult, as it's mostly open, with only slight elevation on two holes. The real bonus is Spinners Disc Golf Shop off the 12th tee- a great way to get out of the hot sun and add to your plastic collection! I hear they play this course at night- This would be the option to stay out of the summer heat.
Cons: There are several pin placements on this course that intersect with the greens/pins of other holes. It is very confusing to figure whether multiple pins belong to just one hole or to several (none of the baskets are numbered!!!!!). This occurs on #1/18, #2/17, #3/16. Also navigation is really confusing getting to tees #4 and #8. "next tee" signs please!
Other Thoughts: I think that courses with multiple pins should follow PA course Tyler St. Park's example- put a little rotating dial which indicates which position the pin is in. It can save some walking and guessing, especially when it comes to doglegs. All pins should have a number and letter that indicate exactly where you are.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My first course

5+    9/1/2006   7/21/2009
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 18.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great open course to play. Multiple basket positions. Very easy lay out to follow, except crossing from 3-4, cross the bridge to your right 4's pad is by the basketball court. Great signage. Locals are very friendly and easy to approach. Spinners On The Green pro shop located at the park. Great water holes. Course plays extremly long when it is set up in the Memorial layout. The club is working on getting more trees planted. Bathrooms and water on the course is always a plus.
Cons: Monsoon storms have taken their toll on the few trees that this park has and has left many hole scarred. Very soggy in the summer when the park is being watered.

It is a multi use park with many walkers, bikers, and runners in it because it is located on a green belt but that shouldn't affect your play.
Other Thoughts: This was my home course for the whole time I lived in Phoneix and I love playing it. Meet at hole 12 for doubles and handicap league.

For those that dis this course because it is too open I say this. Courses are different all over the country from extremely wooded to open fairways. Just because a course may be too open for you doesn't mean that it is not how a Disc Golf course should look or be. Variety is the spice of life.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not a 4

1    6/25/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: AusTexDoc
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 38.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Water is always a welcome challenge. Adjacent store to buy plastic. Cement tee pads (too bad they were all wet from sprinklers)
Cons: Too few trees to force technical shots. Wet and muddy in the summer early morning from sprinkers. Dog walkers and joggers on the trail need to be avoided. Needs markers on the baskets to direct to the next tee(s).
Other Thoughts: Moeur is more memorable

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 4 of 5 discs? Seriously?

1    7/6/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A open course set in a city park. Grass everywhere instead of the normal rock/dirt for the area. Baskets in good conditions as well as nice level concrete teepads. Water adds to the challenge on several holes, but a well thrown disc won't have any problems.
Cons: The signage is confusing on the holes. No maps left at the start and there was obvious navigation issues, especially between holes 3 and 4. Multiple baskets on each hole I presume. Standing on the teepad, there is easily 3 to 4 baskets that could be thrown at, but it is rather confusing to figure which ones belong to which hole. They do that for options in which to pick from, but way to confusing. Teepads are painted green and with the grass being wet from the sprinklers, the teepads get slick, watch your drives or you could end up on the ground. Park is flat and lacks a lot of trees. Trees are essential to a good disc golf course, something that has apparently been overlooked in Phoenix courses. Not a whole lot of variety in hole design, play the first few and that is what you get for the rest of the course. Also pay close attention to other park users as there is a trail throughout the park and a few homeless that don't know that a disc might be heading their way.
Other Thoughts: When I started ny review it was rated 4/5 discs. Really, a 4/5 disc rating? I definately stand by my 2.5/5 rating. The water shots on this course are something that is rare for the Phoenix area. There are few trees, but what they do have are used well. None of the holes really stand out for me. It is cool to have a great disc gold store right on site. Lots of beginners here and combine that with the other park users and it can make for some pretty long waits at times. For a much more technical challenge, I would head to another course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 home course

5+    6/29/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: grube.fresh
Played: 90  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2010
5 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: year round play, water,food, bathrooms,bar,pro shop spinners all within steps of hole 12. water on 4 holes add challenge. multiple pin placements. flat and grassy.
Cons: flat and grassy, not enough trees, must be able to throw 325 plus to cross water. they water during the day in the summer wich makes for wet tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: this course is a 4.5 during the winter when its cooler/no sprinklers/ temps below 110f.

5 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course in Scotty

5+    4/14/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 29.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2010
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course that doesn't favor lefties or righty. Water in play, you can get wet.... Some pretty long hole placements. Decent flow, challenging for all skill sets. Very well maintained course.

I refuse to rate water hazards as a con, so that is why I will list it here. I personally love throwing over water. Good risk, reward factor!!

Great local scene. Regular tournaments. Very nice park, with plenty trash cans to keep it that way. The signage is pretty good. Nice tee pads, all concrete and large. Chains are still in decent shape

Spinners is the pro shop with a great staff. Duke's is there too and is cool to hang at to eat/ drink. (both at the N. end of the park)
Cons: Can get crowded with other people in the park. Not disc golf exclusive. Restrooms are scarce. Pretty flat, but the "rim" of the park was used to give some depth to the course

The new layout is a big down grade to the old one. Had better mix of holes, more technical. Even an island green on the original course (I think it was #8 0r #9)

This course has a few holes where you feel like you just played that hole (#12 thru #17 are basically the same holes).
Other Thoughts: Great place to play if your in Scottsdale. Nice area. One of the 3 "Must Plays" in Phoenix. 1st course I played in AZ 18 yrs ago.

Nothing to rave about, but no real complaints either. Just a solid course that can challenge you everytime you play it. Could and was better (changes due to fairways across walking paths), but still very good for a fix

***Favorite Holes***

#1- right to left over the water, with a large area to land. It is a great challenge for me to start off with a gnarly anyhyzer, and with so much at stake....

#18- left to right over the water, pin just 10' off waters edge. My LHBH is over water the entire flight....GO FOR IT!!!

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Bring Spares Disc

2-4    4/12/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: disc_thrower
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course. You really get tested on hole one having to throw over water with your drive. If you play it too safe away from the water, water comes into play on your second shot too. There are many holes that you can really let it fly and others you have to be more careful. I agree that parking near Duke's is recommended but if you start at 12, make sure you don't jump in when there is a group at the basket on 11.
Cons: Don't play on Easter Sunday. The park is full of families and they set up tables all over the course. I lost a few disc's in the water because I didn't want to land a disc near a family.
Other Thoughts: Spinners is a great Pro Shop. The staff is great and they have a large selection of Disc. Don't buy Disc's at the big sporting good stores. Support your local Disc Shops.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Water, Water Everywhere

5+    5/1/2008   1/16/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 136  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2009
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's a lot to like about this course. It is well maintained, with immaculate concrete tee pads, mowed grass, and kept clean (it IS in Scottsdale after all, the Beverly Hills of AZ)

Every tee has a detailed sign with a hole map that lists the multiple pin positions. Most holes have 3 or more pin positions, and the baskets are often moved between them, a few holes at a time. Thus, every round you play here is a little bit different.

The course is in a long thin valley with a stream running through the middle, and several lakes throughout. It roughly plays over one lake, down one side of the valley, crosses the water, then back down the other side to finish the loop. This layout, and relatively open nature of the holes, makes this a pretty FTF course, very easy to follow from one hole to the next.

This course has 2 shots that shoot over the sides of a bowtie-shaped lake to a peninsula in the middle(#1,#18), as well as two others (at the beginning of the back nine) that also force shots over the water. These make for an interesting challenge, and great risk-reward.

Also, water is somewhat in play on most holes on this course, lurking off to the side of the fairway, or behind the pin. Some courses have nasty shule waiting for you if you really shank a drive to the side or overshoot the pin by 40 ft. This park has water. I've personally gotten discs wet on over half the holes on this course.

Also, the long, thin shape of this park lends itself to disc golf holes, creating a boundary of water on one side, residential housing walls on the other. Due to this, the scattered trees on this course almost always affect your shot selection.

The pins are wonderfully placed, and most are well protected by at least one tree and/or a nearby water hazard.

No shot on this course is just plain vanilla, but the park is realtively open, giving players plenty of opportunities to air it out.

Holes are a little towards the long side, though all the shots over the water are manageable (with some accuracy) for even a modest arm.

Overall, this is not a very technical course. The main key is to keep out of the water. The trees give you a good margin of error to work around, and distance does come in handy.

Pretty fun course. There's a Sports Bar and Great Pro Shop (Spinners on the Green) by hole #13, for added convenience, and refreshments after the round.
Cons: Overall, this course is pretty flat. The only time terrain comes into play is on the four or so holes that play to or from the sloped sides of the valley, which is fairly steep and at least a 15ft change of elevation. Thus, hillside pins and rollaways happen as well, but are not as common.

Though the water holes will make your heart skip a beat, most of the holes are pretty simple, and just require distance to birdie. Scattered trees help keep you honest, but are fairly easy to dodge.

This course is easy enough to play with just one shot. In fact, a roller works perfectly on about 15 of the 18 holes, and is still viable on the other 3, provided it doesn't roll into the drink.

Overall, this course is constricted by its flat terrain, but despite this, is still interesting and fun. However, there are courses that are more of both in the area. Fountain Hills adds a significant amount of terrain and even more water shots, for added challenge. Mouer Park is a very technical desert course which will force a much wider variety of shots than this course ever could.

Don't get me wrong, I like this course, I just cannot justify rating it as highly as Mouer or Fountain Hills.
Other Thoughts: As previous reviews stated, it is advisable to park at Spinners on the Green by hole 13 and start there, since there is much more ample parking there. Also its nice to search the store and the lost-and-found bin before a round. You might get a disc back that went into the water, or find a good replacement for it.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 The Arizona Standard

5+    12/21/2008   1/4/2009
Review By: ragajones
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As most people know, this course is the center of disc golf in Arizona. Good variety of shots. Good player support (Spinners staff is so friendly and helpful - Duke's nearby too) I am a disc junkie so it is cool to show up on Saturday morning and buy some new plastic to try before hitting the course.

I have found over the years that disc golfers in general are happier, kinder, more helpful and mellower than most people, This is certainly true with the crowd at Shelly and the staff at Spinners. The guys at Spinners seem to know who pays their bills, they are good folk and will usually toss in a mini or a bottle of water with a smile on their face. I can't afford lessons but they will always be quick to give you a few words on discs in their store.
Cons: I lost discs my first 4 out of 5 times on this course and almost always lose at least one. This is not so bad since probably half of my discs were eventually recovered.
Other Thoughts: There really isn't much negativity that can be said about this course - it just feels good to play it. Shelly has a high replay value. Best hole - #8 smooth RHBH hyzer with ace potential (someday) this hole is just cool. It feels so smooth to throw. I could replay this one hole again and again.

I am not a tournament player but this is the most active course for events I think. Do yourself a favor - park at Spinners and start on hole 12 instead of hole one. The parking is better - Spinners is like your own pro shop - and starting on 12 gives you 5 holes to warm up before the dreaded water shots of #18 and #1.
Buy a couple of "range balls" because chances are high you will leave a disc in the water -

Arizona's most popular DGC

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/12/2006   1/2/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 133  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 36.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tourney layout has probably changed since I was last there, but I loved the combination of power and control. Rewards aggressive play and punishes stupid or timid play. The water can be brutal, especially in the wind.
Cons: Several of the holes are in that dreaded 375-400 foot range, so if you are hot you can rack up lots of deuces, but if you are not then its a struggle. Lots of traffic jams during the tournament due to packed layout.
Other Thoughts: The Memorial is one of my favorite tournaments.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.