Disc Golf Center
Scottsdale, AZ 
Vista Del Camino Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #10 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 227ft.   3 / 240ft.   3 / 274ft.   3 / 307ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  

5+    3/23/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: Poiball
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With the course runs around a little pond which is nice, and adds a bit of difficulty and diversity to the course. The signs on each hole are detailed enough so that it is hard to not be able to find a hole.
Cons: This course is not difficult by any means. The variety of shots are very limited, so if you are an intermediate or better the course is a little monotonous. There are no obstacles, other than the pond, to force a certain type of shot.
Other Thoughts: This course has two layouts, one long course for tournaments, and a shorter more boring course for everyday ams. I have only ever played the short, recreational course. So maybe when the course is set to its tournament layout it is better.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 What exactly makes this course good?

1    2/8/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: Natedoog
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Long shots, plenty of challenge with water. Signs that show pin placement are kept up pretty good.
Cons: this course has absolutely no flow to it. I've never played a course where it took time to find the next tee pad. People everywhere. I understand that there are 3 apartment complexes right on this course but people riding bikes with kids everywhere, people walking dogs in the middle of the course (most should have common knowledge to go along the side.)
Other Thoughts: I don't see why people would like this course at all. it's my least favorite of the ones I played while I was out there. Only bright side was finding a disc with no name on it and giving it to my friend who is just starting

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

2-4    1/29/2012   1/29/2012
Review By: ManU
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would call this a nice intermediate course. The land space has been used well. Difficulty is added with the placement of a few baskets quite close to the water's edge or on a hill side. Throwing over water always adds that little extra "spice".

There are a few trees on the course but for the most part the course is flat and open. By open I mean that the fairways are not narrow and defined by lanes of trees. As such, most holes should be parred or, if you have above average distance (say 350 to 375) you should be able to put yourself in with a very strong chance of a birdie.
The tee pads are very nice, and the tee signs are helpful and informative pointing you in the right direction to the next tee pad after you hole out.
Cons: This is just a personal opinion and it my "con" is perhaps quite minor. The course is not overly challenging. Unless you throw into water there isn't really any punishment for a misplaced shot. There aren't what I would call actual fairways (as it is quite open) so you can pretty much take any line to a basket.
Other Thoughts: The park itself is attractive with nice walking paths. There are garbage cans available. This is a course you could play with your family and take a baby stroller to.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park course

1    10/26/2011   10/31/2011
Review By: BeauRoch
Played: 48  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great park setting. Holes were set up to make the most of the available space they have available.
Cons: Maps need updating. Players always need to watch for other park users to ensure they don't hit them during play.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lets see, Vista Del Camino...

2-4    10/8/2010   7/5/2011
Review By: DiscNoid
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: VERY nice course situated in a public park with plenty of challenges. I really enjoyed this course with it's creek running through the middle, sloping greens. well placed layout through and around the trees (the trees make this a very comfortable course during mid-day heat), and nice grass throughout. Well maintained and played regularly by golfers also helps to divert regular park traffic to the other half across the road. Nice distances/challenges to each hole make this a great course for beginners and pros alike. Highly recommended.
Cons: Just the occasional pedestrian and a couple sticky OB areas. I managed to land a disc in the fenced off culvert off hole #8 which made an interesting retrieval..
Other Thoughts: Not very much privacy so be careful. Especially if your having one of those games. While I was there I saw a few families with children...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Green Desert Gem

1    3/25/2011   4/17/2011
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Located near major thoroughfares and not far from bustling Scottsdale, Vista Del Camino is fairly easy to get to. The course sits in a beautiful city park and is an asset to the local DG community.

Vista Del Camino, also known as Shelly Sharpe Memorial Disc Golf Course, features extensive use of water OB, with several holes serving as great examples of risk vs. reward. Good use of trees as obstacles and multiple pin positions give the players lots of options in terms of shot selection and possible routes. The variety of hole lengths ranged from the low 200s through the mid 400s. Whenever possible, fairways played the infrequent and subtle elevation changes.

The tee signs at the course were in fantastic shape and well detailed, depicting all pin positions and distances. Most of the baskets were in good usable condition with several elevated baskets, which helped to shake things up. Despite the ground being dry and level, the concrete tee pads were in pretty good shape and were a nice touch.

Vita Del Camino was exceptionally maintained. The maintenance worker at the course also plays and frequently dredges the water obstacles, returning lost discs to Spinners disc golf shop. The disc golf shop is adjacent to the course and it handles all the lost plastic at Vista Del Camino and is very convenient amenity.
Cons: Any time you have a course located in a public park, there will be a certain safety aspects to consider. In the case of Vista Del Camino, the course is located in a very heavily traversed park used by people walking, jogging, and biking. This makes many of the holes quite precarious with regard to the danger posed to the pedestrians as fairways border or cross common areas and the park paths. Additionally, several tees were adjacent to sidewalks and roadways that were on the outer edges of the park. This can be a distraction to both the players and other motorists.

Vista Del Camino is almost entirely flat and wide open. While the design does incorporate as many natural features and obstacles as possible, most of the holes begin to feel repetitive and monotonous.
Other Thoughts: Because it's a temporary setup for the Memorial, I didn't include the temp holes as part of my rating or review. These holes have much more water in play and greatly increase the course length, variety, and level of difficulty. If these were to become a permanant part of the course, it would easily give a 0.5 bump to my rating. The biggest con to this portion of the course are the homeless folks that don't yield to the yell of "fore!" and they have been known to destroy the baskets. Thanks to DStearns5 for the tour and history of this part of the course.

This course is much older than many courses in the country and this needs to be taken into account when playing. As disc technology has improved, courses such as Vista Del Camino are increasingly dinged for their shorter length and basic fairway shapes. The flat, open, and repetitive aspect of the course and the major saftey concerns is what really detracts from this beautiful course. The cons of the course aside, the designers appear to have done the best they could with the space they had available. In this regard, Vista Del Camino is a very viable option for open drives and approaches and a sharp little course in general. If I lived in the area, I'm sure I would play this course more often than not.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Shelly Sharpe Memorial

2-4    11/12/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Vista Del Camino Park is located just minutes away from Old Town in Scottsdale, and just minutes from Red Mountain Freeway or 202. This 18 hole disc golf course was designed in a multi-use park, with several amenities including walking and biking trails, a basketball court, skate park, playground, and gazebo. It is also used by many to bird watch considering there is a long lake in the middle of this narrow rectangular park. As many have stated in their previous reviews, many of the fairways play quite narrow, with water on one side and gates or walls separating houses from the course on the other. Because of this, the course is much more challenging then it would first appear.

Designed in 1984, this course is flat and lightly wooded, with a few elevation changes along the perimeter of the course. Fortunately, the designers did a nice job incorporating elevated tees and pins where they could. They also put a lot of time in to utilizing the few trees and bushes on the fairways, making some approaches and putts rather difficult at times. Because water is so prevalent along much of the course, there is always that chance of your disc winding up in the drink. Although there are a few holes that could be considered their "signature" hole, number nine was easily my favorite. Not only did it have the best chance of landing at the bottom of the lake, but if thrown right, it spent more time then any other hole flying over the water (222 - 401 feet). Because of that, along with the current pin placement which was 370 feet and right along the edge of the water, I found it my greatest challenge. I was fortunate enough to birdie it twice, but felt my heart pounding the entire time as I waited for my disc to level out and fade left as it made its way toward the basket. Truly awesome!

Baskets were Chainstar, durable, and in good shape. Each hole also had up to four pin placements, with the most difficult layout used for "The Memorial". This is great because it changes it up for the local crowd and helps to challenge better players by selecting the more difficult layout. Tee pads are all cement, have good traction, and are long enough for run ups.
Cons:
I found holes #12-17 somewhat monotonous. They were long, narrow, and just felt like they lacked originality. They allow for long drives, a good approach, and an easy putt. However, because of their length, they can turn an easy par in to a bogie. Birdies on these holes are a little harder to come by then many of the other holes. I just played for par.

Bad throws aren't really punished enough, with the exception of the water holes. But, even then the water can be easily avoided. With the exception of hole nine, all the other water holes are rather short and easy to birdie. The holes which don't have water have few obstacles, so if you have an errant shot but throw a good upshot, par will not be an issue.

Navigating from hole to hole, and knowing which pin to throw to. All I can say is make sure you bring a map. Getting from hole three to four will be difficult unless you know where to look. Once finished with three, walk across the bridge to your right and head left past the basketball court. You will see a sign for tee four on your right.
Other Thoughts:
Although I enjoyed Fountain Hills and Buffalo Ridge more, this place is a must! I was excited to play all three of these courses considering two of them are home to one of the more successful National Tournaments in our country. This course didn't disappoint, and allowed me to work on my distance and controlled upshots. There is nothing more exciting then the feeling one gets when playing around or over water.

As others had mentioned in their reviews, I followed their advice and stopped by Dukes for lunch and the food was reasonably priced and delicous. They have over 40 flat screens and was rated the best sports bar in Scottsdale. Spinners on the Green is a must as well, with custom discs from their shop and local tournaments, buying a little souvenir makes a great memory and helps to support this LOCAL store. He also buys used discs (all molds) for $2/disc so it may help offset some of the cost.

NOTE:
If from out of town and looking for a safe affordable place to stay with either friends or family, I suggest the Three Palms. It is literally 100 feet from tee #8, has a grocery store within walking distance, is very clean, and reasonably priced. It is also close to downtown Tempe and Scottsdale, and only a half hour away from Fountain Hills or Buffalo Ridge. Well worth it if available. Trust me.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Vista del Camino

5+    9/5/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: chillis
Played: 91  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is situated on a well-kept park with (gasp!) grass beneath your feet as you play. For a Valley area course, this truly is special =)
The layout isn't groundbreaking, but because of the multiple basket placements, some holes have two baskets up, you can challenge yourself however you'd like. I appreciate this 'freestyle' approach, a lot. Sometimes you don't want to throw a little 240ft hyzer and you're looking to air out a new disc or work a new throw! In which case, this course has a bunch of different lines and opportunities as such.

There isn't much else to say about this course that hasn't been already. This is a must play course if you live in the Valley or are just visiting.
Cons: Not much elevation change, so while you're playing it can seem a little stale. (Though, you're in a green belt in Scottsdale so you shouldn't be expecting more than a piece of flat land). There are also minimal amounts of shade, but again, for AZ, I'd say there's enough.
Other Thoughts: Conveniently, near the 11th-12th hole, there is a bar (Duke's) and a store that's become somewhat of a landmark for disc golfers, Spinners. Please go in and take a look around and support this one-of-a-kind establishment. They have a huge selection of discs/gears and are ultimately knowledgeable about what they offer.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Vista Del Camino

5+    8/15/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: hangwind
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked grass park course with concrete tees (maps) and multiple basket placement. There is water on the course for challenging throw, trees are a factor on many holes, room for new players to develop throw. Drinking water is available, pro shop at 12th hole. Skatepark near by as well as a food and drinking establishments.
Cons: Can be busy with cycling, skating, dog and pedestrian traffic. Sprinkler system set for 5-6a in summer when course is bearable for summer heat.
Other Thoughts: Another must play grass park that is easily played casually and or seriously with some technical basket placement under canopy of trees. One hole uses slight elevation. Water becomes a factor on a couple of holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Vista Del Camino...

1    7/27/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course plays around a system of ponds and creeks that come into play on several holes. Most of the holes are flat, but some have big hills. Lots of pin positions are on the side of hills which creates some tough putting. There are real grass and real trees! It's a nice break from all of the desert courses in the Phoenix area. Concrete tee pads are good, but can get slick (why are they green?). Most of the tee signs are very good and fairly accurate, but they don't direct you to the next tee. Chainstar baskets are in good condition and usually work well, but you can occasionally get a slice-through. There's a nice variety of hole length.
Cons: From hole 13 to 17 it gets repetitive and confusing. Most of the those holes play straight with a few trees in your way. Not very many "lefty friendly" holes. Multiple baskets in play at one time can get confusing at times. Lots of non-disc golfers in the park which can get dangerous.
Other Thoughts: Water hazards are very fun to play, but if you land in the water it's pretty gross getting your disc out. Almost everyone in the park is nice, including the mowers who will stop for you when you get to a hole they're working on. I got to play with a local who was very friendly (and very good!). The concrete tee pads get covered in grass on mowing day. (The day I happened to play.) This is a must play if you're in the area.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center