Scottsdale, AZ 
Vista Del Camino Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 315ft.   3 / 355ft.   3 / 384ft.   3 / 408ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 No Breaks

1    12/1/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 110  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 7.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is well maintained and in a very nice park. All the tees are very nice. All the holes provide a challenge. There is absolutely nothing that feels repeatative about this course. I was challenged in my game by leaps and bounds beyond what I thought I was getting myself into but enjoyed it very much.
Cons: There were some places on the course where it was difficult to figure out which pin was for which hole as two or three holes converged in a similar place. I also spent a while looking for hole 4 I believe with is accross the water and without a sign. There is going to be pedestrian traffic through this course just about all the time which makes a few shots interesting and the local schools use the park for things as well.
Other Thoughts: I was surprised at how few chances for birdie I had throughout the round. There are a few water holes to be aware of and the course does play tight as it makes its way through the narrow section of the park. These things are neither pro nor con on the course. This is definately an enjoyable round.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/27/2006   10/27/2008
Review By: robthepope
Played: 38  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Located in nice neighborhood with good upkeep; very beautiful with all the water and hot girls exercising. There's a putting practice area. Convenient location for amenities like the Spinners and the bar and grill.
Cons: All the water hazards; as a novice player i didn't have a disc retriever and the guy there charges a finders fee.
Other Thoughts: This course has claimed two of my discs. I once took of my shoes and socks to wade in for my disc three times in one round (I heard that's against the rules). Not all of us can afford to keep losing discs.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Check out the "19th hole"

4/11/2006   5/23/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 26.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice water hazards
Well groomed
Good length on some of the holes
Multiple pin placements for nice variety
Sports Bar to quench your thirst after a hot round or two
Cons: Not alot of obstacles
Walkway runs right through the middle
Other Thoughts: Having the Sports Bar there is nice and the disc golf store is convenient
I've mentioned this on other reviews on some of the Phx park DG courses: the folks who designed these courses have really had a challenge due to the flatness and lack of speaks well of the DG community to put courses in to promote the sport, even when they don't have the optimal terrain

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5/17/2008   5/17/2008
Review By: Brody Cannon
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A long and challenging course that has many alternate pin placements so it's always different. The pressure from all the water in play will really cause an adrenaline rush as the disc is in the air. A decent variety of holes and good cement teepads. The disc golf store right next to the course is great!
Cons: Prepare to lose a couple discs, especially if it's windy.
Other Thoughts: I play this course everytime I visit family in Arizona. The wind is a really big factor in how well I play. My scores range from -7 on a nice calm day to +9 on a really windy day. I recommend making it an all day trip to the course. Shopping at Spinners, playing the course, and hanging out at Dukes to watch the game of the week is all part of a great experience.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tougher than it looks

2-4    4/6/2008   4/15/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: variety of challenges, water comes into play on many of the holes around the beginning and end of each 9. multiple pin placements for each hole. grass fairways and little to no rough to contend with.
Cons: Lost discs are always a problem, bring a retriever of some sort. lots of pedestrian traffic to contend with (often stopping in front of you to admire water fowl)
Other Thoughts: disc shop located near the shopping center by the 12th hole with lots of 'used discs' to replenish your stock. they also keep a 'lost disc' database online for discs turned in that were found in the pond.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Shelly Sharpe Course

2-4    2/16/2008   3/26/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 201  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Four to six pin positions per hole with baskets that rotate through them (weekly?) keep the course interesting for repeat playings. Great holes with good challenges. Concrete tee boxes. Highly visible tee signs.
Walking path along most holes leads to lots of pedestrian and bike traffic to contend with. Water in play on several holes will get some discs wet. Some tee signs seem outdated with respect to the current landscape.
Other Thoughts:
Spinners on the Green Disc Golf Store just off hole #12 will allow you to restock your lost discs. Site of "The Memorial" tournament.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


3/4/2007   3/4/2008
Review By: martinyoung
Played: 214  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: a great setting for disc golf - middle of the desert - mountains all around - water 3 ponds spanning through the center of the course - variety of shots, great for rollers, site of the Memorial where the course is nearly doubled in length
Other Thoughts: bring a disc diver or some kind of disc retriving device you are gonna need it - most all of the local players carry a variety of underwater disc retrieving contraptions

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.