Plano, TX 
Shawnee Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #4
3 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
A Solid Home Course

5+    6/2/2015   6/4/2015
Review By: lineenil
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I constantly find myself throwing new shots there. Being my home course, it is great for practicing as you have to use every asset of your game.

Usually pretty well maintained- there was actually just a new, large flower garden planted in front of the the tee boxes on holes 8/17.

Highlight holes- The first hole opens with a tight tunnel of trees opening up into a large field. Not long but can be difficult to birdie because of the tunnel. 3 is a longer hole requiring a good second shot. There are many different looks you can have at the basket, and you have to avoid the creek in the back. 4 is an extremely hard look into the basket, with trees on the right cut out for an easy look in. You have to decide to run the basket or lay up every time. 5 is a fantastic dogleg hole with a tight option over a creek to cut through. 6 goes deep into a forest of trees- I constantly find new lines to throw on this hole. Can be awesome and frustrating at the same time haha. 14, overlaid on 5 is another fun dogleg left. Overall a great mix of shots and keeps the play very interesting.
Cons: However, you do have to be realistic. The flow of the course is pretty awful. As many have mentioned, it's better to play both the front and back nine at the same time as they are overlaid on one another. This makes each hole share a fairway essentially. It's bad for traffic and is pretty confusing. Usually a good idea to go out with someone who knows the course for the first (few) time(s) lol.

Can be muddy after rain but tends to dry pretty quick.

Teeboxes are pretty brutal, but you can make them work
Other Thoughts: For being a 5 minute drive from my house, I'm not complaining. Certainly worth checking out, but not a destination by any means.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

local one....

5+    2/5/2015   2/5/2015
Review By: billdo11b
Played: 47  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice course for locals who know how to move thrugh it .most people nice and will help if needed to find holes. good for all levels of players
Cons: signs are little hard foe 1st timers . need to re number holes.
Other Thoughts: favorite for son and i

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Shawnee Review

5+    10/10/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: Dcorzine
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -A lot of Great/challenging shots.
-Well maintained (thanks to City of Plano)
-Good Variety
Cons: -Bad "tee areas" (be careful not to roll an ankle)
-Can be confusing to navigate for a first timer
Other Thoughts: I had my first disc golf experience at this course (2005) and have been hooked ever since.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Overall a good Course

2-4    5/30/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: JimBeam
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained, the grass is mowed, tee's are well marked etc...
Cons: The Map is out dated but it is fairly easy to find your way around, there is a long walk from the basket at hole 9 to the tee for 10. the course overlaps itself with holes 10 through 18 crossing back through the front 9, but it was done well so that this is not too much of a problem
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play, not too difficult, a good opportunity for an ace on 2, there is a creek that runs along the course but it is not really an obstacle

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and dirty

2-4    12/1/2008   12/17/2008
Review By: brumbaughcm
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course allows you practice many different shots with out totally jacking your score. For the most part it is a par three all the way through. Most of the holes can be served with RHBD (Right Hand Back Hand) because they have no obstacles. Since it is a smaller course and open, you can practice your flick drive, or test your discs to really see what they do. A few holes play through trees or dog leg, which also plays to hizer and anhyzer shots. Over all this is a fun course to play beginner, and <par course if you are amateur, and show off course if you are pro!
Cons: Trashy, I guess like people have never heard pack it in pack it out. Its what you get for a near city park. Although come to my neck of the woods, and people care how the city park looks, it keeps it open. Pick UP YOUR TRASH, I did, and I'm not Texan.
The course is shorter some of the double tees aren't marked, and the course map at the start doesn't show the where the extra 9 holes play from. Dirt tee pads, although dry when I played, bring mud shoes on wet days. Plenty of dirt clumps from the wet day before. Wind can be an issue on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: It is actually 18 with a few double baskets/tees! Not difficult to find. I went on a monday, after a holiday in the AM, Not one other person on the course. The gully while looks like it could eat discs, it won't.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My First Course

5+    8/9/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: Tortoise
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2008
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course uses the ladscape very well. Each Tee hole is marked clearly. About half of the course is shaded. The course wraps about twice allowing you to take a break at you vehicle if needed after the first nine. There are variety of holes on this course. The first hole starts off with a slightly uphill shot through a group of trees about 20 feet from the tee. Some of the holes are just open fairways with a basket on the other end. Probably the most difficult hole on the course 6, starts out witha a drive through the trees with the creek on the left. Then finishes up with more trees closely grouped together with the basket placed at where there is no other choice but to play through them. If I can finish this hole with out hitting a tree I consider that a great hole.
8 and 17 and the same tee and the same basket but 8 plays to the right of the large tree and 17 plays left of the large tree. Probably the best hole on this course is 5. It starts out with a blind shot off the tee. A nice RHBH hyzer around the group of trees to your left will leave you great for your upshot. The fairway slops down and the rises again will the basket sitting under a group of tall trees waiting to deflect you approach.
Cons: The nieghbor hood isn't the greatest. some trash around the course. Though the tee's and holes are marked with numbers very clearly. There are no signs telling length of hole, par, or where the basket is.
Other Thoughts: I probably factor in a little favoritism because this was my first but I really like this course. It is not to difficult but not to easy either. After you play it through once it's easy to come back later and make your way through with little to know problems. If you don't have time to play the full 18 you can play the first nine end up back at your car a leave. Or if you feel like going out and playing just the back nine you can do the same. The course flows very well. Overall and very fun great course

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.