Plano, TX 
Shawnee Park Share
Uploaded By: Leo DeLaVega Hole #14 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Layout



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Shawnee Review

5+    10/10/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: Dcorzine
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -A lot of Great/challenging shots.
-Well maintained (thanks to City of Plano)
-Good Variety
Cons: -Bad "tee areas" (be careful not to roll an ankle)
-Can be confusing to navigate for a first timer
Other Thoughts: I had my first disc golf experience at this course (2005) and have been hooked ever since.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Overall a good Course

2-4    5/30/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: JimBeam
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained, the grass is mowed, tee's are well marked etc...
Cons: The Map is out dated but it is fairly easy to find your way around, there is a long walk from the basket at hole 9 to the tee for 10. the course overlaps itself with holes 10 through 18 crossing back through the front 9, but it was done well so that this is not too much of a problem
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play, not too difficult, a good opportunity for an ace on 2, there is a creek that runs along the course but it is not really an obstacle

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and dirty

2-4    12/1/2008   12/17/2008
Review By: brumbaughcm
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course allows you practice many different shots with out totally jacking your score. For the most part it is a par three all the way through. Most of the holes can be served with RHBD (Right Hand Back Hand) because they have no obstacles. Since it is a smaller course and open, you can practice your flick drive, or test your discs to really see what they do. A few holes play through trees or dog leg, which also plays to hizer and anhyzer shots. Over all this is a fun course to play beginner, and <par course if you are amateur, and show off course if you are pro!
Cons: Trashy, I guess like people have never heard pack it in pack it out. Its what you get for a near city park. Although come to my neck of the woods, and people care how the city park looks, it keeps it open. Pick UP YOUR TRASH, I did, and I'm not Texan.
The course is shorter some of the double tees aren't marked, and the course map at the start doesn't show the where the extra 9 holes play from. Dirt tee pads, although dry when I played, bring mud shoes on wet days. Plenty of dirt clumps from the wet day before. Wind can be an issue on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: It is actually 18 with a few double baskets/tees! Not difficult to find. I went on a monday, after a holiday in the AM, Not one other person on the course. The gully while looks like it could eat discs, it won't.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My First Course

5+    8/9/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: Tortoise
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2008
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course uses the ladscape very well. Each Tee hole is marked clearly. About half of the course is shaded. The course wraps about twice allowing you to take a break at you vehicle if needed after the first nine. There are variety of holes on this course. The first hole starts off with a slightly uphill shot through a group of trees about 20 feet from the tee. Some of the holes are just open fairways with a basket on the other end. Probably the most difficult hole on the course 6, starts out witha a drive through the trees with the creek on the left. Then finishes up with more trees closely grouped together with the basket placed at where there is no other choice but to play through them. If I can finish this hole with out hitting a tree I consider that a great hole.
8 and 17 and the same tee and the same basket but 8 plays to the right of the large tree and 17 plays left of the large tree. Probably the best hole on this course is 5. It starts out with a blind shot off the tee. A nice RHBH hyzer around the group of trees to your left will leave you great for your upshot. The fairway slops down and the rises again will the basket sitting under a group of tall trees waiting to deflect you approach.
Cons: The nieghbor hood isn't the greatest. some trash around the course. Though the tee's and holes are marked with numbers very clearly. There are no signs telling length of hole, par, or where the basket is.
Other Thoughts: I probably factor in a little favoritism because this was my first but I really like this course. It is not to difficult but not to easy either. After you play it through once it's easy to come back later and make your way through with little to know problems. If you don't have time to play the full 18 you can play the first nine end up back at your car a leave. Or if you feel like going out and playing just the back nine you can do the same. The course flows very well. Overall and very fun great course

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.