Plano, TX 
Shawnee Park Share
Uploaded By: Leo DeLaVega Hole #8 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Layout

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
 Unkept. Bad Layout.

1    7/5/2015   7/7/2015
Review By: twispar
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its close I guess. There is a map of the course too.
Cons: Very unkept. The grass was over a foot in many places (almost lost a disk in the fairway because of overgrowth). There are holes that I had to search for to find, and honestly, I don't even know how you are supposed to throw to them! Hole number four is surrounded by trees to the point where there is a single gap that you could maybe throw through. Bad course layout too. There are multiple tees that are shared between holes. Throws over pathways, baskets near tees, etc. Not a good experience and I do not recommend playing on it until it is fixed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Solid Home Course

5+    6/2/2015   6/4/2015
Review By: lineenil
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I constantly find myself throwing new shots there. Being my home course, it is great for practicing as you have to use every asset of your game.

Usually pretty well maintained- there was actually just a new, large flower garden planted in front of the the tee boxes on holes 8/17.

Highlight holes- The first hole opens with a tight tunnel of trees opening up into a large field. Not long but can be difficult to birdie because of the tunnel. 3 is a longer hole requiring a good second shot. There are many different looks you can have at the basket, and you have to avoid the creek in the back. 4 is an extremely hard look into the basket, with trees on the right cut out for an easy look in. You have to decide to run the basket or lay up every time. 5 is a fantastic dogleg hole with a tight option over a creek to cut through. 6 goes deep into a forest of trees- I constantly find new lines to throw on this hole. Can be awesome and frustrating at the same time haha. 14, overlaid on 5 is another fun dogleg left. Overall a great mix of shots and keeps the play very interesting.
Cons: However, you do have to be realistic. The flow of the course is pretty awful. As many have mentioned, it's better to play both the front and back nine at the same time as they are overlaid on one another. This makes each hole share a fairway essentially. It's bad for traffic and is pretty confusing. Usually a good idea to go out with someone who knows the course for the first (few) time(s) lol.

Can be muddy after rain but tends to dry pretty quick.

Teeboxes are pretty brutal, but you can make them work
Other Thoughts: For being a 5 minute drive from my house, I'm not complaining. Certainly worth checking out, but not a destination by any means.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/13/2015   4/10/2015
Review By: stoltzjl77
Played: 116  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety of shots, elevation changes.
Cons: Layout is terrible.
Layout is dangerous.
Layout is confusing.
Other Thoughts: Fairways should never cross public pedestrian paths. Ever.
Tee boxes should never be in the previous basket's landing area. Ever. For any reason.
Fairways should not cross each other. Ever. For any reason.
If you can't follow the above rules and design the shots you want, you are building your course in the wrong place. End of story.

I also don't like seeing fairways that share space with playing fields (like the baseball field you have to throw across on whatever hole it is - 9 and 18 maybe?). Basically what you are saying is that the course can only be played safely when nobody else is using the park.

The confusing part is my own fault for not printing off a map beforehand, but I'm pretty experienced at finding my way around DG courses. Also I was in the area during the 2 weeks a year when it is wet enough that mud is an issue so I won't de-rate the course for that, but it would have been nice to have defined tee boxes with some sort of erosion control.

Hole 4/12 or whatever all it is supposed to be is just awful. If the tee box for hole 5 is outside the 10m putting radius for hole 3 basket, it isn't by much. This is just terrible course design and is repeated throughout the course. It's a shame because it is a beautiful park.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

local one....

5+    2/5/2015   2/5/2015
Review By: billdo11b
Played: 47  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice course for locals who know how to move thrugh it .most people nice and will help if needed to find holes. good for all levels of players
Cons: signs are little hard foe 1st timers . need to re number holes.
Other Thoughts: favorite for son and i

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Shawnee Review

5+    10/10/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: Dcorzine
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -A lot of Great/challenging shots.
-Well maintained (thanks to City of Plano)
-Good Variety
Cons: -Bad "tee areas" (be careful not to roll an ankle)
-Can be confusing to navigate for a first timer
Other Thoughts: I had my first disc golf experience at this course (2005) and have been hooked ever since.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Get there first!

1    7/4/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course for the first time and was impressed by its cleanliness - even down in the creek beds. There is a decent mixture of power and precision shots needed to do well. I was able to use my backhand, sidearm and overhand shots - that makes me happy. Everyone I encountered was extremely friendly.
Cons: The dirt tee pads were disappointing. They're not the worst I've played on (see Jimmy Porter for example), but would've preferred going home without dirty toes. The hole to hole transitions are poor and can be tricky. Be sure to bring the map provided by this wonderful site your first time out. The shared teepads, basket and fairways create an unstable feel to this course. When I played, there weren't many others out but could easily see the potential for chaos once it became busy. This mixed with a few fairways that "criss-cross" and the close proximity of some of the holes can be a bit dangerous at times.
Other Thoughts: I played this course early in the morning beating everyone else out there. Once a few players started to arrive, I realized I was the only one playing the holes in numerical order. If its not to intrusive to other players, try playing them in the following order...1,10,11,2,3,12,4,13,5,14,6,15,7,16,8,17,9 & 18. It helps a lot with the "flow issue" but doesn't do much for the "shared teepads/basket/throwing across fairways/stability" problems.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Poorly Designed, but has a lot of potential

1    5/5/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are really not a lot of positive things to say about this course aside from locale and a handful of challenging holes. It is the only disc golf course located in Plano, a city with over a quarter of a million people. So, this course serves as the lone beacon of disc golf for Plano. There is one hole that flies over a nice treed gulch with a shallow creek at the bottom. Since the chances of clearing the gulch without hitting a tree are roughly 10% for most anyone, it makes for a nice shaded and refreshing break from the heat while retrieving your disc.
Cons: This is a 9 hole course, despite what the map, websites and course designers may say. The "back 9" is almost literally laid over top of the front 9. Pads and baskets are too close to each other to play concurrently with other groups without the risk of hitting each other. A few holes cross fairways and a few holes use the exact same pads. Two holes actually use the exact same pad and basket, but you are asked to throw around the other side of a tree. Aside from a handful of holes, playing the front and back 9 seems pretty much like playing the exact same course twice.

Context: I believe that a course should be designed to fit the location and types of people using the course. This course was designed very poorly for context. It is located in a residential neighborhood on a green belt bike/walk trail with picnic tables and a soccer field. Almost half of the holes run the risk of hitting a mom pushing a stroller. Anyone who tries to sit at one of the picnic tables will be constantly ducking discs. The primary users will likely be families. The wide open holes are too long for most kids. I would predict that at least one out of four right handed newbies likely put their disc in the creek with a dangerously steep bank on #7/#16.
Other Thoughts: As a 9 hole course on its own, this could be a relatively fun course. I personally appreciated the challenging aspects of quite a few holes. However, this is the kind of course that will turn newbies away from the sport. It is not enjoyable to play with people constantly waiting and jumping out of the way of discs. I would highly recommend that they shorten the course back to nine holes. They could still use the back nine tee pads as "B" pads for the front nine and make the course safer and more enjoyable for everyone.

Also, bring plenty of water. The course is exposed to the south and it is easy to get overheated in the Texas weather.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/10/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Upkeep is good
Lots of helpful locals
Cons: No bathrooms
Very very bad course layout
Most holes are very straight forward
Dirt tees are crappy on about half the holes.
Other Thoughts: From what I understand this course use to be a 9 hole and it was turned into a full 18....but because of this and the lack of room you have too many wide open holes, you have shared tees/baskets, the flow from hole to hole is NONEXISTENT, and you have crossing fairways everywhere making it more or less dangerous to play if it gets a little crowded. This is a love or hate course and I am kind of in the middle, this course just suffers from poor design and flow making it seem a lot worse than it is. Below are short descriptions of the holes, enjoy.

Hole 1 - Trees on both sides right after the tee, after 30 feet or so turns into fully open field, hole is a little too close to the parking lot for comfort.

Hole 2 - Open Field shot.

Hole 3 - Open shot requiring a little left hook at the end of the drive.

Hole 4 - Straight open shot with elevated basket behind the bushes/tree line.

Hole 5 - Very cool hole, you have to throw a nice line through some trees and bushes over a deep creek. Can be very easy to lose a disc if not careful.

Hole 6 - Straight forward hole with trees.

Hole 7 - Straight shot close to tree line with a hard left dog leg at the end for the basket.

Hole 8 - this shares tee and basket with 17, mandatory tree right for this hole left for 17.

Hole 9 - Wide open field shot

Hole 10 - Open field shot

Hole 11 - Open field shot

Hole 12 - Straight shot with dog leg to the left.

Hole 13 - Also shares a tee with 4, straight shot with basket slightly to the left behind a bush.

Hole 14 - Straight shot, basket to the left.

Hole 15 - More or less straight open shot with a few trees.

Hole 16 - Straight open shot with the basket to the left behind a tree.

17 - also shared with hole 8....mandatory tree then open field.

18 - Open field shot.

Sorry if some of the descriptions are a little off, going off of memory for this review.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    12/26/2011   1/15/2012
Review By: Fast Eddie
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: i could not really think of any pros for this course
Cons: tee box locationd very confusing its like someone just threw a rock out in a field & said ok lets put a tee box here
Other Thoughts: not worth the drive

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Worth it

5+    7/31/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: szimmy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: First of all if you live in Plano/Allen/Mckinney/Richardson/Addison then this course should be on your radar.

This course has a good variety of holes. Fairly challenging. Mostly maintained, considering how public the area is.

If you are a competitive player, there are flip double tournies on sundays that are open to the public.

Great course to practice on once you've gotten the hang of the layout.
Cons: On that last note, the course used to be a 9-hole and they dropped a back 9 on top of it so it can be confusing, often tees or baskets are shared. This is usually not too much of a problem, but I have had to wait on holes enough times to tell you to give yourself an extra 15-30 minutes to get through a round. Sometimes pedestrians can get in the way as well; you play through a walking trail, football field, and field where kids play soccer.

You are in the middle of a neighborhood, so this is a toss up between good and bad. For me it is conveniently 1/2 mile from my house so I can literally roll out of bed and play at least a couple holes. Fod others who are not so close this does play into more of a con as (though not often) I have seen a few straw drives almost hit some moving cars you play alongside of.
Other Thoughts: If you want a quick easy to find staple/practice course this is your place. You'll have fun, theres a good mix of distance and doglegs and short aceables.

On a sidenote, with the strange layout, many people have resorted to playing out of order or sometime two holes at once to avoid doubling back on much of the course. If you've got enough discs in your bag you can get through 18 in about 40 minutes. I don't do this much as I like to track my statistics but this can be enticing to some and frustrating to others.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.