Plano, TX 
Shawnee Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #3
3 / 287ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Not bad for what it is

2-4    9/25/2016   10/4/2016
Review By: 02sportytex
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Never crowded.
- Most shots are easy to navigate and make par
Cons: - The layout is really odd and makes no sense. It took me walking the course before starting to understand where the next basket would be. The tee next to the basket for hole 1, which makes sense to be hole 2 is actually hole 10. Hole 2 is way out after passing by hole 10 and 11.

- The tee "boxes" or worn out. No concrete pads and they "boxes" are dug out so bad you have to make your own spot in order to get a good drive.

- No map of the course available.

Other Thoughts: For a "course" that you can knock out in 1 hour, that is close to my house, it's great. Sadly, it seems like it was laid out by someone who really didn't think it through very well. It's also been forgotten, clearly pointed out by the poor tee boxes.

Something that would really help this is putting up a map of the course. If there was a map on the already gigantic sign talking about the rules of Disc Golf, the course would be higher in my book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1    7/29/2016   7/29/2016
Review By: mikebushell
Played: 58  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice location, and great potential
Cons: The lay out is terrible, it's Very confusing, there are no maps/signs telling you where to start where to end, there are fairways that cross each other,and tee boxes right in front of baskets, tee boxes I front of each other,from one tee box you are looking at 3 baskets, I will not be playing this course again!!
Other Thoughts: Don't put a picnic table right beside a basket

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course, but room for Improvement

1    2/2/2016   2/2/2016
Review By: strain
Played: 41  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a very good variety of shots on most holes when playing this course. You have a good choice of short, long left and right shots to make the game challenging. There are hole numbers on all holes to make the navigation some what easier. There are restrooms on sight, which is a plus. The park is very well kept, with plenty of trash cans to keep the park clean.
Cons: If you have never played this course before, you better print you out a map from this site. This course can be very difficult to navigate for the first time. I pretty much had to walk up to each basket and backtrack to the tee pad, just to see which hole it was going to throw from. I noticed on a few holes, you are throwing through the pathway of other holes or throwing near the tee pads. I would hate to see this course on a busy day, it would probably be a little hectic with people in the way. Some holes you do share tee pads for other holes, which isn't a big deal. You have to just make sure your throwing at the right basket, because it is very easy to aim at the wrong one, because of lack of signs. The tee pads are dirt which isn't too bad, because they were mostly level on most holes. Out of playing this park, the navigation was probably the worst part of my experience playing here.
Other Thoughts: Now that I have played this course once. I pretty much figured out the layout. I will definitely play this course again, when I'm in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Unkept. Bad Layout.

1    7/5/2015   7/7/2015
Review By: twispar
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its close I guess. There is a map of the course too.
Cons: Very unkept. The grass was over a foot in many places (almost lost a disk in the fairway because of overgrowth). There are holes that I had to search for to find, and honestly, I don't even know how you are supposed to throw to them! Hole number four is surrounded by trees to the point where there is a single gap that you could maybe throw through. Bad course layout too. There are multiple tees that are shared between holes. Throws over pathways, baskets near tees, etc. Not a good experience and I do not recommend playing on it until it is fixed.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Solid Home Course

5+    6/2/2015   6/4/2015
Review By: lineenil
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I constantly find myself throwing new shots there. Being my home course, it is great for practicing as you have to use every asset of your game.

Usually pretty well maintained- there was actually just a new, large flower garden planted in front of the the tee boxes on holes 8/17.

Highlight holes- The first hole opens with a tight tunnel of trees opening up into a large field. Not long but can be difficult to birdie because of the tunnel. 3 is a longer hole requiring a good second shot. There are many different looks you can have at the basket, and you have to avoid the creek in the back. 4 is an extremely hard look into the basket, with trees on the right cut out for an easy look in. You have to decide to run the basket or lay up every time. 5 is a fantastic dogleg hole with a tight option over a creek to cut through. 6 goes deep into a forest of trees- I constantly find new lines to throw on this hole. Can be awesome and frustrating at the same time haha. 14, overlaid on 5 is another fun dogleg left. Overall a great mix of shots and keeps the play very interesting.
Cons: However, you do have to be realistic. The flow of the course is pretty awful. As many have mentioned, it's better to play both the front and back nine at the same time as they are overlaid on one another. This makes each hole share a fairway essentially. It's bad for traffic and is pretty confusing. Usually a good idea to go out with someone who knows the course for the first (few) time(s) lol.

Can be muddy after rain but tends to dry pretty quick.

Teeboxes are pretty brutal, but you can make them work
Other Thoughts: For being a 5 minute drive from my house, I'm not complaining. Certainly worth checking out, but not a destination by any means.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    3/13/2015   4/10/2015
Review By: stoltzjl77
Played: 116  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 22.6 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of shots, elevation changes.
Cons: Layout is terrible.
Layout is dangerous.
Layout is confusing.
Other Thoughts: Fairways should never cross public pedestrian paths. Ever.
Tee boxes should never be in the previous basket's landing area. Ever. For any reason.
Fairways should not cross each other. Ever. For any reason.
If you can't follow the above rules and design the shots you want, you are building your course in the wrong place. End of story.

I also don't like seeing fairways that share space with playing fields (like the baseball field you have to throw across on whatever hole it is - 9 and 18 maybe?). Basically what you are saying is that the course can only be played safely when nobody else is using the park.

The confusing part is my own fault for not printing off a map beforehand, but I'm pretty experienced at finding my way around DG courses. Also I was in the area during the 2 weeks a year when it is wet enough that mud is an issue so I won't de-rate the course for that, but it would have been nice to have defined tee boxes with some sort of erosion control.

Hole 4/12 or whatever all it is supposed to be is just awful. If the tee box for hole 5 is outside the 10m putting radius for hole 3 basket, it isn't by much. This is just terrible course design and is repeated throughout the course. It's a shame because it is a beautiful park.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

local one....

5+    2/5/2015   2/5/2015
Review By: billdo11b
Played: 56  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice course for locals who know how to move thrugh it .most people nice and will help if needed to find holes. good for all levels of players
Cons: signs are little hard foe 1st timers . need to re number holes.
Other Thoughts: favorite for son and i

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Shawnee Review

5+    10/10/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: Dcorzine
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -A lot of Great/challenging shots.
-Well maintained (thanks to City of Plano)
-Good Variety
Cons: -Bad "tee areas" (be careful not to roll an ankle)
-Can be confusing to navigate for a first timer
Other Thoughts: I had my first disc golf experience at this course (2005) and have been hooked ever since.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Get there first!

1    7/4/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course for the first time and was impressed by its cleanliness - even down in the creek beds. There is a decent mixture of power and precision shots needed to do well. I was able to use my backhand, sidearm and overhand shots - that makes me happy. Everyone I encountered was extremely friendly.
Cons: The dirt tee pads were disappointing. They're not the worst I've played on (see Jimmy Porter for example), but would've preferred going home without dirty toes. The hole to hole transitions are poor and can be tricky. Be sure to bring the map provided by this wonderful site your first time out. The shared teepads, basket and fairways create an unstable feel to this course. When I played, there weren't many others out but could easily see the potential for chaos once it became busy. This mixed with a few fairways that "criss-cross" and the close proximity of some of the holes can be a bit dangerous at times.
Other Thoughts: I played this course early in the morning beating everyone else out there. Once a few players started to arrive, I realized I was the only one playing the holes in numerical order. If its not to intrusive to other players, try playing them in the following order...1,10,11,2,3,12,4,13,5,14,6,15,7,16,8,17,9 & 18. It helps a lot with the "flow issue" but doesn't do much for the "shared teepads/basket/throwing across fairways/stability" problems.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Poorly Designed, but has a lot of potential

1    5/5/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 59  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 15.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are really not a lot of positive things to say about this course aside from locale and a handful of challenging holes. It is the only disc golf course located in Plano, a city with over a quarter of a million people. So, this course serves as the lone beacon of disc golf for Plano. There is one hole that flies over a nice treed gulch with a shallow creek at the bottom. Since the chances of clearing the gulch without hitting a tree are roughly 10% for most anyone, it makes for a nice shaded and refreshing break from the heat while retrieving your disc.
Cons: This is a 9 hole course, despite what the map, websites and course designers may say. The "back 9" is almost literally laid over top of the front 9. Pads and baskets are too close to each other to play concurrently with other groups without the risk of hitting each other. A few holes cross fairways and a few holes use the exact same pads. Two holes actually use the exact same pad and basket, but you are asked to throw around the other side of a tree. Aside from a handful of holes, playing the front and back 9 seems pretty much like playing the exact same course twice.

Context: I believe that a course should be designed to fit the location and types of people using the course. This course was designed very poorly for context. It is located in a residential neighborhood on a green belt bike/walk trail with picnic tables and a soccer field. Almost half of the holes run the risk of hitting a mom pushing a stroller. Anyone who tries to sit at one of the picnic tables will be constantly ducking discs. The primary users will likely be families. The wide open holes are too long for most kids. I would predict that at least one out of four right handed newbies likely put their disc in the creek with a dangerously steep bank on #7/#16.
Other Thoughts: As a 9 hole course on its own, this could be a relatively fun course. I personally appreciated the challenging aspects of quite a few holes. However, this is the kind of course that will turn newbies away from the sport. It is not enjoyable to play with people constantly waiting and jumping out of the way of discs. I would highly recommend that they shorten the course back to nine holes. They could still use the back nine tee pads as "B" pads for the front nine and make the course safer and more enjoyable for everyone.

Also, bring plenty of water. The course is exposed to the south and it is easy to get overheated in the Texas weather.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.