Plano, TX 
Shawnee Park Share
Uploaded By: Leo DeLaVega Hole #1 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 278ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Layout



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 Shawnee Review

5+    10/10/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: Dcorzine
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -A lot of Great/challenging shots.
-Well maintained (thanks to City of Plano)
-Good Variety
Cons: -Bad "tee areas" (be careful not to roll an ankle)
-Can be confusing to navigate for a first timer
Other Thoughts: I had my first disc golf experience at this course (2005) and have been hooked ever since.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Get there first!

1    7/4/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course for the first time and was impressed by its cleanliness - even down in the creek beds. There is a decent mixture of power and precision shots needed to do well. I was able to use my backhand, sidearm and overhand shots - that makes me happy. Everyone I encountered was extremely friendly.
Cons: The dirt tee pads were disappointing. They're not the worst I've played on (see Jimmy Porter for example), but would've preferred going home without dirty toes. The hole to hole transitions are poor and can be tricky. Be sure to bring the map provided by this wonderful site your first time out. The shared teepads, basket and fairways create an unstable feel to this course. When I played, there weren't many others out but could easily see the potential for chaos once it became busy. This mixed with a few fairways that "criss-cross" and the close proximity of some of the holes can be a bit dangerous at times.
Other Thoughts: I played this course early in the morning beating everyone else out there. Once a few players started to arrive, I realized I was the only one playing the holes in numerical order. If its not to intrusive to other players, try playing them in the following order...1,10,11,2,3,12,4,13,5,14,6,15,7,16,8,17,9 & 18. It helps a lot with the "flow issue" but doesn't do much for the "shared teepads/basket/throwing across fairways/stability" problems.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Poorly Designed, but has a lot of potential

1    5/5/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are really not a lot of positive things to say about this course aside from locale and a handful of challenging holes. It is the only disc golf course located in Plano, a city with over a quarter of a million people. So, this course serves as the lone beacon of disc golf for Plano. There is one hole that flies over a nice treed gulch with a shallow creek at the bottom. Since the chances of clearing the gulch without hitting a tree are roughly 10% for most anyone, it makes for a nice shaded and refreshing break from the heat while retrieving your disc.
Cons: This is a 9 hole course, despite what the map, websites and course designers may say. The "back 9" is almost literally laid over top of the front 9. Pads and baskets are too close to each other to play concurrently with other groups without the risk of hitting each other. A few holes cross fairways and a few holes use the exact same pads. Two holes actually use the exact same pad and basket, but you are asked to throw around the other side of a tree. Aside from a handful of holes, playing the front and back 9 seems pretty much like playing the exact same course twice.

Context: I believe that a course should be designed to fit the location and types of people using the course. This course was designed very poorly for context. It is located in a residential neighborhood on a green belt bike/walk trail with picnic tables and a soccer field. Almost half of the holes run the risk of hitting a mom pushing a stroller. Anyone who tries to sit at one of the picnic tables will be constantly ducking discs. The primary users will likely be families. The wide open holes are too long for most kids. I would predict that at least one out of four right handed newbies likely put their disc in the creek with a dangerously steep bank on #7/#16.
Other Thoughts: As a 9 hole course on its own, this could be a relatively fun course. I personally appreciated the challenging aspects of quite a few holes. However, this is the kind of course that will turn newbies away from the sport. It is not enjoyable to play with people constantly waiting and jumping out of the way of discs. I would highly recommend that they shorten the course back to nine holes. They could still use the back nine tee pads as "B" pads for the front nine and make the course safer and more enjoyable for everyone.

Also, bring plenty of water. The course is exposed to the south and it is easy to get overheated in the Texas weather.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ehhhh....

2-4    5/10/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Upkeep is good
Lots of helpful locals
Cons: No bathrooms
Very very bad course layout
Most holes are very straight forward
Dirt tees are crappy on about half the holes.
Other Thoughts: From what I understand this course use to be a 9 hole and it was turned into a full 18....but because of this and the lack of room you have too many wide open holes, you have shared tees/baskets, the flow from hole to hole is NONEXISTENT, and you have crossing fairways everywhere making it more or less dangerous to play if it gets a little crowded. This is a love or hate course and I am kind of in the middle, this course just suffers from poor design and flow making it seem a lot worse than it is. Below are short descriptions of the holes, enjoy.


Hole 1 - Trees on both sides right after the tee, after 30 feet or so turns into fully open field, hole is a little too close to the parking lot for comfort.

Hole 2 - Open Field shot.

Hole 3 - Open shot requiring a little left hook at the end of the drive.

Hole 4 - Straight open shot with elevated basket behind the bushes/tree line.

Hole 5 - Very cool hole, you have to throw a nice line through some trees and bushes over a deep creek. Can be very easy to lose a disc if not careful.

Hole 6 - Straight forward hole with trees.

Hole 7 - Straight shot close to tree line with a hard left dog leg at the end for the basket.

Hole 8 - this shares tee and basket with 17, mandatory tree right for this hole left for 17.

Hole 9 - Wide open field shot

Hole 10 - Open field shot

Hole 11 - Open field shot

Hole 12 - Straight shot with dog leg to the left.

Hole 13 - Also shares a tee with 4, straight shot with basket slightly to the left behind a bush.

Hole 14 - Straight shot, basket to the left.

Hole 15 - More or less straight open shot with a few trees.

Hole 16 - Straight open shot with the basket to the left behind a tree.

17 - also shared with hole 8....mandatory tree then open field.

18 - Open field shot.

Sorry if some of the descriptions are a little off, going off of memory for this review.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 confused

1    12/26/2011   1/15/2012
Review By: Fast Eddie
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: i could not really think of any pros for this course
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Cons: tee box locationd very confusing its like someone just threw a rock out in a field & said ok lets put a tee box here
Other Thoughts: not worth the drive

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Worth it

5+    7/31/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: szimmy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First of all if you live in Plano/Allen/Mckinney/Richardson/Addison then this course should be on your radar.

This course has a good variety of holes. Fairly challenging. Mostly maintained, considering how public the area is.

If you are a competitive player, there are flip double tournies on sundays that are open to the public.

Great course to practice on once you've gotten the hang of the layout.
Cons: On that last note, the course used to be a 9-hole and they dropped a back 9 on top of it so it can be confusing, often tees or baskets are shared. This is usually not too much of a problem, but I have had to wait on holes enough times to tell you to give yourself an extra 15-30 minutes to get through a round. Sometimes pedestrians can get in the way as well; you play through a walking trail, football field, and field where kids play soccer.

You are in the middle of a neighborhood, so this is a toss up between good and bad. For me it is conveniently 1/2 mile from my house so I can literally roll out of bed and play at least a couple holes. Fod others who are not so close this does play into more of a con as (though not often) I have seen a few straw drives almost hit some moving cars you play alongside of.
Other Thoughts: If you want a quick easy to find staple/practice course this is your place. You'll have fun, theres a good mix of distance and doglegs and short aceables.

On a sidenote, with the strange layout, many people have resorted to playing out of order or sometime two holes at once to avoid doubling back on much of the course. If you've got enough discs in your bag you can get through 18 in about 40 minutes. I don't do this much as I like to track my statistics but this can be enticing to some and frustrating to others.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Needs a new layout

1    5/6/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
- Grassy fairways
- Reasonably challenging
Cons:
- Too much hole overlap, basically two nine hole courses overlayed
- Two holes have the same tee AND basket (throw to the right of the tree once, then to the left of it)... kind of lame
- No concrete tee pads
Other Thoughts:
- They really ought to scrap the layout and start over with a single 18-hole course that flows in a single loop, not two overlapping loops

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/19/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: Frank-Flyer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is open and has a couple of pretty good holes. Several of the holes require some pretty good lines and skill. The baskets are solid and all intact. Did not notice trash everywhere.
Cons: There is little to nothing by way of signage on this course. If you don't know the course you will be confused. The entire course is back and forth on top of itself all 18 holes. It seems very dangerous. Several times someone inadvertently threw on me or me on them. Also a couple of the holes use the same tee (4/13, 8/17 etc...) I would assume that this was a space saver when designing, but it seems like it would be better off having those as alternate pin positions. The tees are dirt, while this in itself is not necessarily a con, they are in bad condition. Some of them are basically holes in the ground waiting to trip someone and sprain an ankle.
Other Thoughts: The park is great for casual rounds when you have plenty of time, to wait on others to clear for your shot. I wouldn't suggest going to be competitive or if you're in a hurry.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, but course is too jumbled together

1    10/9/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: TerrenceJackson
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is interesting, because it gets a lot of traffic, has some pretty awesome holes with decent lengths, and has practice baskets to get some putting in. Unfortunately, those are the only things I enjoyed on this course.
Cons: Tee Pads- several holes tee of from the same tee boxes. This is very problematic for me, and found myself waiting a couple of times to tee from the box to go to a different hole.

Baskets too close to one another- there are several times when I came across a basket just to see another 20 feet from it. Seems like a poor design.

Course directly in middle of residental neighborhood- This normally wouldnt be a problem, but one tee box is directly beside a fence, and others are so close to homes I was convinced I was going to misthrow and nail someone who was mowing their lawn. This is dramatic, of course, but it should give you an idea of how close everything is.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it is a great course if you are just getting started, but if you have any length on your throws, or are used to really great courses, then this is going to be a step down for you.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing Downgrade

1    2/13/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: Nonbigarmed
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Before the extra 9 holes were added, this was a moderately adequate course that was a short drive. The scenery was good, and there was plenty of room for expansion.
Cons: The "extra" 9 holes that have been added constitute a major safety hazard. Some of the tees are within the range of other tees using the same basket. Even with the mandos that are listed, a bad throw will eventually cause someone to have a serious injury. The signage is inadequate, and the course map is not clear or easy to understand.
Other Thoughts: Having helped to design a course myself, I have to wonder why it was necessary to place the holes so close together. If the city would not allow expansion of the course to a reasonable size in that park, then perhaps a course should not be placed in that city...

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.