Plano, TX 
Shawnee Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #17
3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 One if the original 9 Holers

5+    8/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 130  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great course for beginners. It has some great holes like #4 and #6 (which require a good shot and some luck). The course is always well maintained. the creek really does not come into play as much as we would like, but you will see the creek should you have an irratic throw once in a while.
Cons: This course is very confusing if you are a visitor. They layout is a bit "funky". We have foud that if you plan it right, you can play the holes out of order you can finish it quicker, or if you play two holes at a time, it is easier. (you will see what I say if you play this course).
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and typically people like there course better, but I'm not one of those. I go here often and play this course often, but I would play the two courses up the street in Mckinney or the other direction in Carrollton if I had the time. Its not as bad as most people giving reviews. You will see some of the best disc golfers in DFW at this course, so it cant be that bad.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Probably doesn't have to be an 18 hole...

2-4    7/16/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: guardianmol
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice and open, i.e. hopefully not many lost discs. Good baskets. Decent tee boxes. Great distances.
Cons: Not a lot of shade, which is expected from the "nice and open" comment from above. Can be confusing if you don't take a pic of the course guide or have a friend along to tell you where you're going. Shared baskets and tees get annoying. A huge walk from 9 to 10, I usually cut my round short and call it a day here.
Other Thoughts: This really isn't a bad course, I just don't have much good to say about it. It's really nice if you live in east Plano and don't want to drive very far though. The creek can get a bit smelly some days, but it's easily ignorable. Be careful where you park, and driving on the first hole, cause your car can come into play with an errant drive.

One thing I've noticed about this course is it's either a love it or hate it course, I know people who absolutely swear by it and some who only use it as a last resort. I'd say I fall more in the latter category, but being fair I can't say it really deserves a "hate it rating." I would recommend you try it out and try to form your own opinion on it, just remember to bring a map or a guide.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It's a two-fer!

1    5/26/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 213  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice teepads and baskets
-Great protected pins on many holes
-Some variety in distance
-Uses the terrain well, manages to create some interesting holes from a rather vanilla piece of land
-Several long open holes to bomb some big drives
Cons: -Mostly flat, often open
-Overlapping double-loop design is confusing and prone to creating back ups and crossing groups
-Creek is sort of an abyss, very treacherous to try and retrieve a disc
-A couple holes share a tee pad and/or basket
Other Thoughts: I played with a friendly group of locals that showed us the local route. A little less walking between holes and a better flow.

I thought it was a pretty fun round but it is a bit repetitive and unvaried. The pin placements are the best part of the course. I'm not sure that the size of this park warranted 18 holes but I guess it works.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice but Muddy

5+    2/15/2010   2/17/2010
Review By: Leo DeLaVega
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Not to long and plenty of challenging holes. This 18 hole course has a little bit of every kind of hole. In the photos I have 16 hole layouts posted pleas review for more details.
Cons: Jogers
Other Thoughts: There are some great players that play on this course all the time, so keep your eyes out for an Ace shot!!!!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Two's a Crowd Here

1    12/23/2009   1/6/2010
Review By: Neuey
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some challenging/fun holes, not a great deal of walking needed, good mix of challenging and easy holes for groups of varying experience
Cons: I had two problems with this course: 1) sharing of tee boxes/baskets - It seems like there's more room in the park to have either added one or two holes, or at least to not have needed to recycle the same areas for multiple holes. This is only a major issue on one teebox/basket that becomes two different holes based on a different mando. 2) The teeboxes are very poor, especially after rain - Since they're not concrete, some wear and imperfection is expected, but I found most of them were unacceptable. I tried to X-step on my drive on a few of the holes, but the teebox was a small valley that my feet couldn't even fit between. On other holes, you have to go uphill as you're attempting to drive.
Other Thoughts: With a little more originality on some of the repeat teeboxes/baskets and some work on the teeboxes, this would definitely be a decent little course. As is, I wouldn't play it unless you're within close driving distance.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Squeeze ‘em all in there

1    7/29/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some well placed and sometimes protected pins. These protected pins are the holes that make this course fun. The baskets are in good shape. The course uses the terrain around it, like the bit of forest, a drop off to a small creek and some sparse tree areas. There is a decent amount of hole-length variation. There were a few trashcans around.
Cons: The park seemed clean for the most part until you look down in creek area. There was trash everywhere down there. The dirt tee pads are functional if they are not wet. The main sign is old and not very helpful. Except if you lose a disc down in to the steep creek, this course is very flat. The tee sign were there, but were not of much use except for the hole number. The layout is not too difficult to follow, but the sharing of tees and baskets and mandos makes you really want to bring a map. The sharing of Tees, is not really negative for me, but the sharing of baskets is not my idea of a good course. I don't mind mandos at all, but if they are not marked clearly, they are useless.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor for this course was good with the holes that were in the tree areas but the open holes were just not very exciting. If this course is close to you, then you have a decent place to play. I would not recommend a road trip just play here. It does make a good neighbor hood course though.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Two courses on top of each other

1    4/23/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Decent double chain baskets. Where this course excels is in interesting and challenging pin placements as well as some challenging tee shots, though not necessarily on the same holes. You can up the challenge factor of the course by playing OB on or beyond the concrete paths. The course is primarily located in a single-use portion of the park so there should be little interference from non-disc golfers. There were trash cans available to help limit litter. I liked hole #4 when playing the sidewalk as OB, the basket is nestled back in some heavily protected trees and it a really tough hole to '2'.
Cons:
Posted course map is significantly outdated. That doesn't help what's an already difficult course to navigate. Several (many?) of the holes play too close together. That's an artifact of adding nine holes essentially on top of, instead of around, a park/course that was originally designed for nine holes. The transition from #9 to #10 is a long walk. The creek that weaves through has some steep banks that make lost disc retrieval very unattractive. Only minor elevation changes. Dirt tees are substandard for area courses. Tee signs have no distances. The parking lot is pretty small.
Other Thoughts:
Several holes will benefit from playing in two or more people where one can act as a spotter for the others. Most of the long holes are pretty open. There's a couple shared tee boxes and one shared basket, not a big deal for trying to stretch out into a full 18-holes. One reviewer mentioned seven or eight Mandos, I don't recall seeing that many but it would up the challenge factor if there were.

On a busy day this course would be a disaster of people throwing all over each other, but I get the impression it just isn't that busy. So for a little neighborhood course it's not a bad place to play, but not one worth going significantly out of your way to play.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Overall a good Course

2-4    5/30/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: JimBeam
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained, the grass is mowed, tee's are well marked etc...
Cons: The Map is out dated but it is fairly easy to find your way around, there is a long walk from the basket at hole 9 to the tee for 10. the course overlaps itself with holes 10 through 18 crossing back through the front 9, but it was done well so that this is not too much of a problem
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play, not too difficult, a good opportunity for an ace on 2, there is a creek that runs along the course but it is not really an obstacle

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Waste of 9 Baskets

1    2/22/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2009
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good for beginers and people who live close by. You can throw tons of shots due to it being pretty open....just look out for ALL of the mandos! Good lunchtime course.
Cons: Stupid!! Waste of 9 baskets. Holes sit next to each other and people throwing all over the place. There are I think 7 or maybe 8 mandos which is way too many for my taste.The mixing and matching of holes and baskets make it very confusing and stupid for a serious golfer. This alos got kind of dangerous as we were almost hit three times in one round by people on other holes.
Other Thoughts: Mini at 2 on Sundays

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Home course bias

5+    2/9/2009   2/13/2009
Review By: sp1n
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It uses the creek and trees well to add challenge to some shots. A few striaght away wide open holes are good to practices driving and for the newer player tweaking thier game. Trees located around some baskets and tees adds some challenge. Well taken care of by city. Shade is available in spots.
Cons: Tee boxes are dirt and well worn (read: ruts) Can be easy to get lost the first few times through due to the over laping nature of the course. Fields can be hot and wind swept.
Other Thoughts: Keep in mind I have only been throwing for a few months now and this course is only minutes from my house. I have a bit of a bias and a small arm so all in all I find this a good place to work on my game. A few friends of mine don't mind playing it, but it is not a fan favorite.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.