Plano, TX 
Shawnee Park Share
Uploaded By: Leo DeLaVega Hole #11 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 396ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Layout

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Two courses on top of each other

1    4/23/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 201  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Decent double chain baskets. Where this course excels is in interesting and challenging pin placements as well as some challenging tee shots, though not necessarily on the same holes. You can up the challenge factor of the course by playing OB on or beyond the concrete paths. The course is primarily located in a single-use portion of the park so there should be little interference from non-disc golfers. There were trash cans available to help limit litter. I liked hole #4 when playing the sidewalk as OB, the basket is nestled back in some heavily protected trees and it a really tough hole to '2'.
Posted course map is significantly outdated. That doesn't help what's an already difficult course to navigate. Several (many?) of the holes play too close together. That's an artifact of adding nine holes essentially on top of, instead of around, a park/course that was originally designed for nine holes. The transition from #9 to #10 is a long walk. The creek that weaves through has some steep banks that make lost disc retrieval very unattractive. Only minor elevation changes. Dirt tees are substandard for area courses. Tee signs have no distances. The parking lot is pretty small.
Other Thoughts:
Several holes will benefit from playing in two or more people where one can act as a spotter for the others. Most of the long holes are pretty open. There's a couple shared tee boxes and one shared basket, not a big deal for trying to stretch out into a full 18-holes. One reviewer mentioned seven or eight Mandos, I don't recall seeing that many but it would up the challenge factor if there were.

On a busy day this course would be a disaster of people throwing all over each other, but I get the impression it just isn't that busy. So for a little neighborhood course it's not a bad place to play, but not one worth going significantly out of your way to play.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Overall a good Course

2-4    5/30/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: JimBeam
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained, the grass is mowed, tee's are well marked etc...
Cons: The Map is out dated but it is fairly easy to find your way around, there is a long walk from the basket at hole 9 to the tee for 10. the course overlaps itself with holes 10 through 18 crossing back through the front 9, but it was done well so that this is not too much of a problem
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play, not too difficult, a good opportunity for an ace on 2, there is a creek that runs along the course but it is not really an obstacle

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Waste of 9 Baskets

1    2/22/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2009
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good for beginers and people who live close by. You can throw tons of shots due to it being pretty open....just look out for ALL of the mandos! Good lunchtime course.
Cons: Stupid!! Waste of 9 baskets. Holes sit next to each other and people throwing all over the place. There are I think 7 or maybe 8 mandos which is way too many for my taste.The mixing and matching of holes and baskets make it very confusing and stupid for a serious golfer. This alos got kind of dangerous as we were almost hit three times in one round by people on other holes.
Other Thoughts: Mini at 2 on Sundays

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Home course bias

5+    2/9/2009   2/13/2009
Review By: sp1n
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It uses the creek and trees well to add challenge to some shots. A few striaght away wide open holes are good to practices driving and for the newer player tweaking thier game. Trees located around some baskets and tees adds some challenge. Well taken care of by city. Shade is available in spots.
Cons: Tee boxes are dirt and well worn (read: ruts) Can be easy to get lost the first few times through due to the over laping nature of the course. Fields can be hot and wind swept.
Other Thoughts: Keep in mind I have only been throwing for a few months now and this course is only minutes from my house. I have a bit of a bias and a small arm so all in all I find this a good place to work on my game. A few friends of mine don't mind playing it, but it is not a fan favorite.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and dirty

2-4    12/1/2008   12/17/2008
Review By: brumbaughcm
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course allows you practice many different shots with out totally jacking your score. For the most part it is a par three all the way through. Most of the holes can be served with RHBD (Right Hand Back Hand) because they have no obstacles. Since it is a smaller course and open, you can practice your flick drive, or test your discs to really see what they do. A few holes play through trees or dog leg, which also plays to hizer and anhyzer shots. Over all this is a fun course to play beginner, and <par course if you are amateur, and show off course if you are pro!
Cons: Trashy, I guess like people have never heard pack it in pack it out. Its what you get for a near city park. Although come to my neck of the woods, and people care how the city park looks, it keeps it open. Pick UP YOUR TRASH, I did, and I'm not Texan.
The course is shorter some of the double tees aren't marked, and the course map at the start doesn't show the where the extra 9 holes play from. Dirt tee pads, although dry when I played, bring mud shoes on wet days. Plenty of dirt clumps from the wet day before. Wind can be an issue on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: It is actually 18 with a few double baskets/tees! Not difficult to find. I went on a monday, after a holiday in the AM, Not one other person on the course. The gully while looks like it could eat discs, it won't.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Decent Course

5+    11/16/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: jedimason
Played: 40  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course can be played in under an hour with the overlapping tees/pins. Designer did a pretty good job with what little landscape/terrain the park has to offer. Great beginner course. Usually not too crowded.
Cons: Two holes share same tee box and basket. Why every hole has a different pin but this one I don't know. There's plenty of park space by this one pin to add one more hole. Majority of holes are wide open with really only one path to birdie hole.
Other Thoughts: Not a destination course. Play it only if your in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My First Course

5+    8/9/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: Tortoise
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2008
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course uses the ladscape very well. Each Tee hole is marked clearly. About half of the course is shaded. The course wraps about twice allowing you to take a break at you vehicle if needed after the first nine. There are variety of holes on this course. The first hole starts off with a slightly uphill shot through a group of trees about 20 feet from the tee. Some of the holes are just open fairways with a basket on the other end. Probably the most difficult hole on the course 6, starts out witha a drive through the trees with the creek on the left. Then finishes up with more trees closely grouped together with the basket placed at where there is no other choice but to play through them. If I can finish this hole with out hitting a tree I consider that a great hole.
8 and 17 and the same tee and the same basket but 8 plays to the right of the large tree and 17 plays left of the large tree. Probably the best hole on this course is 5. It starts out with a blind shot off the tee. A nice RHBH hyzer around the group of trees to your left will leave you great for your upshot. The fairway slops down and the rises again will the basket sitting under a group of tall trees waiting to deflect you approach.
Cons: The nieghbor hood isn't the greatest. some trash around the course. Though the tee's and holes are marked with numbers very clearly. There are no signs telling length of hole, par, or where the basket is.
Other Thoughts: I probably factor in a little favoritism because this was my first but I really like this course. It is not to difficult but not to easy either. After you play it through once it's easy to come back later and make your way through with little to know problems. If you don't have time to play the full 18 you can play the first nine end up back at your car a leave. Or if you feel like going out and playing just the back nine you can do the same. The course flows very well. Overall and very fun great course

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


7/24/2008   7/26/2008
Review By: Frolffan24
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its a pretty fun course. Wide open on some holes and other holes hug the forest where I have lost a couple disks. Hole six is pretty fun.
Cons: Hard to find where to go because not very well marked and they made the back nine tee boxes the same as the front nine but there are different baskets for the back nine which makes it confusing.
Other Thoughts: Play if your in the neighborhood

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/31/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some long open holes that really test your arm.

There are some interesting mandatories that add some technical shots to this pretty open course. Two holes share the same tee pad and basket but have different mandatories around a tree in the middle.

There is a very deep canyon like creek hazard to the left of a few holes but it's actually pretty easy to avoid.
Cons: To convert this course to 18 holes they just overlayed the new 9 holes over the same land as the original 9 holes which makes it confusing and a little boring because it feels like your playing a 9 hole course twice.

There is not enough shade.
Other Thoughts: They should have taken the money they wasted on 9 new baskets and used it to improve the original 9 like clean up the creek, plant some shade trees, put in concrete pads and good signs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Shawnee Park

6/19/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: climber3201
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 holes lengthen course from original 9 pins. Nice variation in obstacles including some open holes, some with few trees, and some lightly wooded holes. The shallow water and sloping banks of the creek running alongside the course make disc retrieval easy.
Cons: Signage presents a map for only the first 9 holes and this map itself has become outdated. The back 9 holes are actually a play-through of the first 9 but use different tees and pins.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.