Saginaw, TX 
Willow Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #7
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
#7 Tee -Straight shot to that tree ahead and the basket is right behind it.



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
ehhh....

1    3/15/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 214  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/8/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good variety of distances
-not busy (with discers anyway)
-good for practicing distance drives, a handful of open bombers
-good for practicing playing in the wind
-creek adds some challenge, OB
Cons: -location ensures poor conditions, wet and marshy
-playground near hole 1, may be people/kids walking around near holes 1, 2, 9
-mostly wide open, only a few trees and some minor elevation changes to spice things up
-no good places to cross the creek on hole 4
Other Thoughts: A pretty simple, mostly open park course. It works if you live nearby but it's not worth going out of the way. Boring for an experienced player but some of the long holes and the creek are problematic for beginners too. Plus, it will be a swamp if it has rained at all recently. The fairway on hole 5 was literally underwater when I played and it hadn't rained in days.

Probably a much better experience in the dry season but still not much to offer, especially with the first and last holes being so close to the playground.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 No Challenge, Just Practice

5+    1/16/2010   1/16/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 85  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Private, the entire course is your to do as you please.
Good place to practice approach shots and ace runs.
Beginner friendly.
Plays quick.
Cons: Way too short to get excited about.
Lack of trees.
Marsh in play on most holes.
Jogging path in play.
Other Thoughts: When I played last it was technically too muddy too play, but I wasn't going to let that stop me. I slipped on the knee high rubber boots and turned my nose up at the ponds that had formed under the baskets. For a putt and approach course, this course is fine, but I really only played it because I was working in the area for a few days.

If you lived in the area and wanted a challenge, I would imagine you could play from any tee pad and just shoot to a longer basket. There's not going to be anyone else out there to get in your way, so why not.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 So-so course

2-4    1/18/2009   1/18/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 106  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a nice little park that is well maintained. Concrete tee pads with good quality baskets to shoot at.
Cons: There a couple of marshy areas with tall reeds that you could lose a disc in. You will occasionally have to pause your game for pedestrians and kids playing, etc, but not for other players as this is not a very popular course. Only 9 holes and not very scenic or exciting to play. The wind is a factor here as the whole course is wide open and flat.
Other Thoughts: This is strictly a practice course for locals and not a weekend event course. Do not drive far to play here or you will be disapointed.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Aces Anyone?

5+    1/19/2009   5/19/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a Par 3, 9 Holer. It has baskets with chains and cement tees marked by little red stakes. Many of these holes can be reached in one, There is one hole with the basket around a tree that makes it fun challenge. It is a very simple layout through a public park. This is a good place to go if you are a beginner or if you want to see how accurate your tee shot really is.
Cons: If there has been a good rain, some of the course can get flooded. It can make getting from the tee to the basket very tricky. There was lots of standing water and creeks to walk around or jump over. A couple of holes did not have a convienent way of getting to the next hole without some backtracking or creative treking, but most of them were fine. Only part I was truly not happy with is one of the holes makes you throw over a the edge of playground area. I would hate to see a kid get hit with a disc. It is not likely to happen as it is just the edge of it, but if your shot gets too far away from you it could happen.
Other Thoughts: There is just a fair Fun Factor at this little course. I have to admit; it was fun seeing how close your tee shot could get to the basket. This might be a good place to fine-tune your drive. I will probably play this course again in the future. As I said above, not a big challenge but it was ok for something different.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Not too interesting

4/16/2008   4/16/2008
Review By: gravedigger
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of ace attempts. Quiet, well kept park.
Cons: Was pretty wet when I played. You can throw about the same throw everytime. Very little variation in the course.
Other Thoughts: Just a neighborhood park. Kudos for putting a course in.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.