Saginaw, TX
Willow Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #7
3 / --   3 / 245ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
#7 Tee -Straight shot to that tree ahead and the basket is right behind it.



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Ok for beginners/new disc testing

5+    7/24/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: cbrd
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Unless you shank one into a yard, you will not lose a disc
- This course plays easy and has many birdie opportunities
- Good for beginning players or if you are trying to learn a new disc
Cons: - #1 has a playground that's not only in play, but is kid-hazardous. If you're a RHBH, beware.
- If you play after it has rained, bring your waders. It gets very muddy.
- There are lots of runners/kids riding bikes/etc.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not Bad and good layout

1    6/21/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: Discengineer
Played: 59  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well I made an Aerial View of the Course to help you out But it is Marked and has a very good layout. Most of the holes are short Par 2 but still has a good mix up of throws. Very Clean was well mowed when we went and creek is pretty dry
Other Thoughts: Not bad only hole 8 basket is a little bent up prob from kids. Baskets are pretty good

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Willow Creek Park Rundown!!!

1    7/26/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -T-pads for every hole
-Pads are marked with small posts stamped with hole #. (Almost every hole if I remember correctly)
-Easy to navigate
-Spotty trees
-Looks like the course stays well groomed
-Some hazards (fences, streets, and small drainage creek)
-Short and long holes
Cons: -#1 does sort of shoot over the playground, atleast close to it. Watch for children.
-Pretty bland with regards to obsticle (trees, shrubs, water)
-Heard this one gets pretty boggy after a rain in the low lying small creek.
Other Thoughts: Nothing out of the ordinary for a simple, average 9-holer.

Good 9-holer to accompany North Park, Arcadia, Saddle Hills, Eagle Ranch, or any of the courses in N-NW Fort Worth.

Great little course to practice your midrange game on, especially the windy midrange game. Wide open. Bring just a midrange and a putter and one could have some fun out here. Every hole ; very ace-able.

Would be a nice course for someone to learn the sport on.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

ehhh....

1    3/15/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 1/8/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good variety of distances
-not busy (with discers anyway)
-good for practicing distance drives, a handful of open bombers
-good for practicing playing in the wind
-creek adds some challenge, OB
Cons: -location ensures poor conditions, wet and marshy
-playground near hole 1, may be people/kids walking around near holes 1, 2, 9
-mostly wide open, only a few trees and some minor elevation changes to spice things up
-no good places to cross the creek on hole 4
Other Thoughts: A pretty simple, mostly open park course. It works if you live nearby but it's not worth going out of the way. Boring for an experienced player but some of the long holes and the creek are problematic for beginners too. Plus, it will be a swamp if it has rained at all recently. The fairway on hole 5 was literally underwater when I played and it hadn't rained in days.

Probably a much better experience in the dry season but still not much to offer, especially with the first and last holes being so close to the playground.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/14/2010   3/16/2010
Review By: Cyrus333
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its less than a mile from my home. Almost never anyone there during the week. I don't have to worry about losing discs. It's about good for a warm up, thats all.
Cons: Zero challenge. It is located on a flood overflow area, if it rains, no play. No trees to block the wind. Playground in play hole 1
Other Thoughts: The course over is a victim of its own design. Located on a flood plain area, the slightest bit of precicpitation and prepare to have wet socks. No wind breaks to ease the Texas gusts.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 No Challenge, Just Practice

5+    1/16/2010   1/16/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 80  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Private, the entire course is your to do as you please.
Good place to practice approach shots and ace runs.
Beginner friendly.
Plays quick.
Cons: Way too short to get excited about.
Lack of trees.
Marsh in play on most holes.
Jogging path in play.
Other Thoughts: When I played last it was technically too muddy too play, but I wasn't going to let that stop me. I slipped on the knee high rubber boots and turned my nose up at the ponds that had formed under the baskets. For a putt and approach course, this course is fine, but I really only played it because I was working in the area for a few days.

If you lived in the area and wanted a challenge, I would imagine you could play from any tee pad and just shoot to a longer basket. There's not going to be anyone else out there to get in your way, so why not.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lonely Course!

2-4    11/4/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/13/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Decent concrete tee pads
-Decent DGA baskets
-Plenty of trash cans and benches near most holes
-Red post with hole number on it
-Beginner friendly
-Short and easy
-Plenty of parking
-Good practice course
-Hole numbers on some baskets
-You have the whole course to yourself
Cons: -Very muddy after a good rain
-Can be hard to navigate
-Picnic bench on hole #1 fairway with people sitting there
-Lots of park users, most don't have a clue that there is a disc golf course there

Other Thoughts: You might want to wait until it hasn't rained in a while. The ground was so saturated, I couldn't even play a whole round. It is a swamp.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 So-so course

2-4    1/18/2009   1/18/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 103  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a nice little park that is well maintained. Concrete tee pads with good quality baskets to shoot at.
Cons: There a couple of marshy areas with tall reeds that you could lose a disc in. You will occasionally have to pause your game for pedestrians and kids playing, etc, but not for other players as this is not a very popular course. Only 9 holes and not very scenic or exciting to play. The wind is a factor here as the whole course is wide open and flat.
Other Thoughts: This is strictly a practice course for locals and not a weekend event course. Do not drive far to play here or you will be disapointed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little Par 3

2-4    11/7/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained park, very clean. Good tee pads, most of the baskets are in good shape. No chance of losing a disk on this course unless you do something silly, like forget to pick up your driver when you throw your 2nd shot...
Cons: The first tee shot is right along a kids playground. Depending on the time of day/year you may have to be very careful with your drive. A couple holes throw near a semi-busy road, again you need to be careful with your drives. Also a couple holes have a sidewalk that comes into play so be mindful of pedestrians using the park. A creek also comes into play, in most cases its small enough to jump over. But if there has been signifigant recent precip this could be a soggy course to play.
Other Thoughts: All in all a nice course. I will definately play it again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Aces Anyone?

5+    1/19/2009   5/19/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 204  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a Par 3, 9 Holer. It has baskets with chains and cement tees marked by little red stakes. Many of these holes can be reached in one, There is one hole with the basket around a tree that makes it fun challenge. It is a very simple layout through a public park. This is a good place to go if you are a beginner or if you want to see how accurate your tee shot really is.
Cons: If there has been a good rain, some of the course can get flooded. It can make getting from the tee to the basket very tricky. There was lots of standing water and creeks to walk around or jump over. A couple of holes did not have a convienent way of getting to the next hole without some backtracking or creative treking, but most of them were fine. Only part I was truly not happy with is one of the holes makes you throw over a the edge of playground area. I would hate to see a kid get hit with a disc. It is not likely to happen as it is just the edge of it, but if your shot gets too far away from you it could happen.
Other Thoughts: There is just a fair Fun Factor at this little course. I have to admit; it was fun seeing how close your tee shot could get to the basket. This might be a good place to fine-tune your drive. I will probably play this course again in the future. As I said above, not a big challenge but it was ok for something different.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.