Disc Golf Store
Weatherford, TX 
Weatherford DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #11 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 272ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The Unmarked Alternates

1    11/11/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: jrrttmrgn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Finding pros for the Weatherford course is not a difficult task. Coming into the park you find a location with plenty of room at the end of a road that dead ends within view of a lake. Tall trees, mowed grass and a clean landscape are all inviting as well. the tee pads are spacious and have signs. parking is near hole 1 and 18 brings players back to the start of the course. Many of the holes have multiple approach lines and the distance and obstacles make good use of the available terrain. the peaceful vibe of the course was in my opinion its biggest pro; though the creativity of the basket placements was very entertaining.
Cons: the cons of this course were as noticeable as the pros. The biggest as seen in the title of this review is that a lot of holes have a third in-use alternate basket location. The signs are nice but are of no help since the basket location can be 400ft away behind trees and completely unmarked. Also, in the way of navigation the course doubles back on itsself often enough to make knowing where the next tee pad is difficult even with map in-hand. Though subjective to personal preferences I also found it to be somewhat repetitive and did not really require much variety in shots or discs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 decent but out of the way

2-4    4/4/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 213  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice concrete tees and good baskets
-plenty of trees for obstacles but not thickly wooded
-creek makes a little bit of water hazard but it is shallow and easy to retrieve discs
-fairly easy to navigate but first timers might want a map
-great minor elevation changes, nothing drastic but many subtle ups and downs
-fun pin placements, protected by trees
Cons: -not a lot of variety in terms of distance
-obstacles in the fairways but very few forced shots
-creek can get a little nasty and overflown
-a bit out of the way for most DFW folks
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and certainly worth playing if you are in the area. The trees are not dense but are spotted everywhere making many obstacles in the fairway but with many shot options. The subtle rolling hills make the fairways a bit more interesting too.
The biggest downside here is that the course is pretty one-dimensional. If you can throw an s-curve through some trees and nail your approach you're looking at easy pars for nearly the entire course. The lack of variety in distance only makes this more obvious.

Overall a fun, solid course but nothing that will blow you away. Catch a round if you're in the area but I wouldn't come out of my way to play here.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/10/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: RayRay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Fun for more technical player
- Some holes are very picturesque and offer multiple routes
Cons: - Some holes seem like par 2's in the short location
- Low risk factor on each hole
- Not very challenging
Other Thoughts: The first 4 and last 4 holes of this course are pretty cool. Most of the other ten are more open and require simple 330ish hyzer or anhyzers. With so many ceiling shots, this course was very similar to North Park in Haltom City which is probably a better course with more length and better shot diversity.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Walk in the Park

2-4    3/3/2009   3/6/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 181  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'll give you two reasons why this course is worth driving to:Every course in the DFW area is mostly flat when it comes to shorter hole layouts, this course is the only full eighteen in the metroplex(except for Turner Park) where every hole has some kind of minor elevation involved,mind you I said minor elevation not Z boaz cliffs or Veterans long slopeing hills.The slight elevation to every hole with lightly wooded fairways is what makes Weatherford stand out as being differant.Playing in high winds here is great for teaching yourself about wind rules on short to mid-range shots.Logs to rest and old park benches throughout for weary travelers.
Cons: Playing here in no wind will give shorter distance throwers an inflated ego.The best technical shots here are short holes.A few holes seem crammed in a bit.
Other Thoughts: Love the signage that explains Mando's and 0.B.'s for each and every hole.Eighteen really stands out from all the rest.The long pin placements are the better round here.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

6/2/2008   6/3/2008
Review By: abrooks
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice pin placements (appeared they were set in the 'A' position. Although most holes are short in distance, birdies are not easy. You will have some sort of tree(s) in your line from tee to basket. The pins are gaurded nicely. Plenty of shade also.
Cons: Concrete tees would be nice, but the dirt ones were not too bad.
Other Thoughts: I did not expect too much on my way out to the course. I was pleasantly surrprised. This is a quality setup for a 9-hole course. The course was extremely clean, you can tell the regulars keep it up nicely.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.