Weatherford, TX 
Weatherford DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #13 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Weatherford

1    9/15/2013   9/15/2013
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well thought out pin placements
- long concrete teepads
- multiple tee & pin positions
- solid mix of shots
- good baskets
- good signage (except for missing sign on hole 2)
- trees are used well as obstacles
- well shaded for the summer months
Cons: - navigation was somewhat challenging for the first go around
- tall grass in some areas
- wasn't an issue when I was there, but the whole course is in a floodplane by the lake, so I would imagine it can probably get pretty hairy with any real precipitation
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, it is very well laid out. It would be safe to take a beginner here, but still provides a challenge for advanced players looking for deuces (lots of birdie opportunities). It offers some great variety.

Not necessarily a pro or con, but this course seemed oddly LHBH friendly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    7/11/2013   7/17/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course had nice concrete teepads and almost all of the holes had signs with the hole layout. All baskets are in really good shape. Course has practice basket. Course had a few benches and trash cans.
Cons: Some holes need to be mowed. Other than the tall grass in some areas it was a nice course. Also port-a-potties on location..
Other Thoughts: Good course for the location on the outside of the DFW area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/14/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: beandip
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has good shot variety, pin positions change with good frequency, is well cared for and usually litter free. Concrete pads with great tee signs. Good shade on several holes. Normally not crowded and has several benches placed throughout the course.
Cons: No major elevation changes. Locals enjoy walking the park so you have to watch for people and dogs. Several times we've had to flag people picking pecans on hole 18 that we were throwing discs their direction. Parking is close to holes 16 and 18 so an errant disc could possibly hit your vehicle.
Other Thoughts: I have no issues bringing my young kids with me to this course as everyone is friendly and I don't have to worry about them picking up questionable items or hurting themselves on the terrain.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Course

1    12/24/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice DGA Baskets
-Nice concrete tee pads
-Great signs with hole info
-Multiple pin locations
-Easy to navigate, signs direct you to next tee
-Fun and fairly easy
-The layout of the holes are good
-Clean and maintained
-Garbage cans throughout the course
-Practice basket by hole 1
-Porta potty by hole 17

Cons: I can't think of anything negative that I did not like about the course.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing the course, even though it was 31 degrees and snowing with blizzard like conditions.The course was fun and somewhat challenging and I will be back to play here real soon when the weather is good.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  First Course

5+    5/2/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: DG_weatherford
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open and easy for beginners. Easy to read and throw. Not too hard to navigate. Pins move every week. Close to weatherford and the best wingstop on the planet.
Cons: Poison oak/ivy near unmowed areas. Dirt tees turn to mud with rain. Bfe compared other places. Barren. Hard to find opposition.
Other Thoughts: Started here and will continue to practice here,as its 5 minutes from my house. I live with the weatherford parks & Rec asst dir., he put in the new 9 holes. Is working with the city to put in concrete pads and get beeter info and signage out but its still as before mentioned in other posts, a work in progress. Overall though a nice course, favorite holes are 4 & 6, miss on 6 and its down the backside and behind the tree for you. I always take my dog along for some extra company. I believe theres a weekly wednesday tourney but im not positive.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice course with potential

1    11/13/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: hopper58
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For the most part the course flows well together (1st time we played the course and did in about an hour and a half) with most tee boxes in site from previoius baskets. Course is still a work in progress, the last 9 holes have been added to make it an 18 hole course. There is enough trees to make certian shots very challenging and a small creek that runs through a few holes added a small degree of annoyance. around hole 8-10 you do have a nice lake view. there is a mixture of short and long holes with most being around the 225-250 mark it seems. they do offer a map you can pick up on the course bulletion board. but you can aslo find it on pdga.com. They do have two pin settings so the course can change. The course layout makes it challenging and fun. there is not alot of elevation change so its good for the casual player. and only a few holes have a "rough" as the course is maintained well. its nice that the course starts and finishes at the same spot. It is worth driving to to play around, but if they keep it maintained and add some tee pads this will be a favorite and drivable course for many in the fort worth area
Cons: course is still a work in progress, hole 8 is a bit confusing. what appears to be along open shot off the tee box is actually the basket for 9, the hole is to the right by some trees if basket 9 is 12 oclock then the basket for 8 would be around 2ish. then from basket 9 ten is out in the open and looks back behind the tree line and lake. (some arrows showing you where your next tee is would be helpful) It is a work in progress so the new 9 holes have just a 5 foot pole up with a number for the tee boxes (all tees are natural)
Other Thoughts: hole two looks evil as they have put the basket behind a split tree. after finishing 5 walk across the small parking lot to hole 6 what looks like it should be 6 is 15 which is directly south of 4

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Protected Pins with a Pleasing Pulse

5+    11/12/2009   10/12/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the 3rd updated review for the now 18 hole course! There is some slight elevation changes on many of the holes. This has a variety of styles, including wooded and open holes. The baskets are in good shape. Some of the pins are in some great spots with some kind of obstacle(s) to deal with. There is a small creek running through the course, but it is not deep. The tees are now concrete and they all have great tee signs.Super cool thing about each tee, they all have some kind of sitting spot. Many of them are stump made stools, but there are benches and other types of seating also. There was a nice message board, plenty of trashcans, and 2 portable restrooms.
Cons: You may need a map to find your way around the first time out. Many of the holes do feel similar, so that do not vary that much.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor is average for me. The pin placements are fantastic, but it just feels like the same driving distance many times over. But hopefully the new pin placements will fix this. I cannot say enough about the great condition and cleanliness of the course. This is a great place to play

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Great for a 9 hole course!

2-4    5/1/2008   8/2/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 106  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very pretty course! It has pecan trees all over it and a small creek that runs down through the middle of it. The signs are good, baskets are quality, and it is pretty easy to navigate. There are only a couple of pretty long holes, but the short ones aren't gimme birdies either. The trees on the fairways are situated in a way that you have to make some pretty technical throws to score well. The 9 holes that have been added recently are a great improvement to the course. I enjoy the tight downhill holes along the road. There is also a practice basket to warm up on.
Cons: It is right next to the lake, but there is only one spot on the course where you can barely get a glimpse of the lake. This course does not have concrete tee pads...that would be the one big thing to improve it.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course to play. Definitely worth making a trip to play. Be careful about going in the fall with fallen leaves everywhere you can lose a disc pretty easily on what you thought was a safe shot.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.