Weatherford, TX 
Weatherford DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #10 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Weatherford is Impressive!

1    6/28/2015   6/29/2015
Review By: AthruZ
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is pretty awesome. Great use of land and lots of challenge shots with all the trees around. Plenty of shade, great landscaping and teeboxes.
Cons: Needs to be mowed right now. Grass was pretty high in some places. Don't expect your discs to skip for extra distance, the grass is too thick.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to come out and play here again. Too bad I live about an hour away. If there's a PDGA tournament here, I'm definitely signing up.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course, fun for beginners

2-4    4/26/2015   5/21/2015
Review By: mavsfan0434
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 9/4/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **UPDATE** Finally got back out to this course last night after work. It is in great shape right now. I think they may have recently added a new 3rd pin position on every hole, and that's where the pins are right now. They are all pretty long, so it made the course more difficult for a beginner like me. While we were there people were out spraying for ants, and trimming dead off the trees, always good to see!

I truly enjoyed this course. It was my first time ever playing, and even though I have been to others since, this is still my favorite by far. I feel like it has a great mix of hole types. I went with two experienced players and another rookie, and we all had a really good time.
Cons: Grass was a little tall in some places in the fairway, a couple tee pads need to have some dirt added around them so water doesn't collect right in front of them. Makes for a pretty scary tee shot!
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the trip out west if you live in the DFW area!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Open but not too easy

5+    5/17/2015   5/20/2015
Review By: Johnyfo8
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.8 Years
Pros: This is a great course for beginners and experienced players. It has great sweeping lines that let you rip a long drive on most holes. There are excellent long and short cement tee pads for every hole as well as two or three pin placements for each hole. It plays well even after a good rain because of the grass and good drainage. If you play the long box to the long pins then it is a very challenging course and if you play the short box to the short pins it is very beginner friendly course.
Cons: I have difficulty with low ceiling shots so this is not in my favorites. There are some nice open shots that let you get a good bomb shot, but most of them have a low ceiling and that will be frustrating for most players. I personally would like more elevation changes and more variety in the holes/shots.
Other Thoughts: The park is well taken care of. There are plenty of trash cans and there is rarely trash on the course when I play. My favorite holes are 7 and 8.

Very worthwhile to play!

1    10/15/2014   10/15/2014
Review By: williamlbird
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.8 Years
Pros: This is an excellent course for all skill levels. The long throwers will be able to reach all or almost all of the holes with their drives and can make it more challenging by driving with their mid-range discs on many of the holes. I'm a senior and normally drive around 300' which makes this a lot of fun because most of the holes are around 295 - 330. The trees are used advantageously to make most of the holes a test for even the best players. Extended tee pads are nice. For the most part it isn't a long hike between baskets to the next tee pad. Multiple tee pads and basket locations provide a good variety. The trees provide lots of shade on most holes.
Cons: Some of the tee pads have a little bit of a drop off. I agree with a previous reviewer about the dog people being oblivious to flying objects.

Love it!

5+    2/23/2014   2/23/2014
Review By: Dday301
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Fantistic concrete teepads
-Long and short teepads on almost every hole
-Multiple pin locations
-Very well kept
-Trash cans and benches throughout
-Friendly locals
-Port-a-john near parking lot
-Pratice basket near parking lot
-Good amount of shade provided by the trees through most holes
Cons: -If it's your first time out you might have a hard time with flow in a few spots
-Some days there are lots of oblivious dog walkers walking through your fairway
Other Thoughts: I love this course, that pretty much sums it up. Decent shot variety although some will argue it needs more (the new 9 that are coming will add good variety). It is mostly RHBH friendly but there's a couple where RHFH will have a big advantage. It is always very clean thanks to the fantastic club at Weatherford. The wind is almost always a factor thanks to the lake, could be a pro because it adds to the challenge or a con if it's beating you up that day. Good amount and use of trees, not too many but enough to make you think about shot placement and try new lines. Everyone is always friendly out there and you should be confident that you are safe to bring the family here. Occasionally the city will drain water from the lake which come through the park. It stays in the creek for the most part but it will make 9&14 rather wet sometimes. It is very important to me to have teepads that are long enough. Nothing sucks more than stepping off the end of a pad and screwing up your shot, and possible hurting your ankle/knee or something else. This is a complete non issue here. This is a great course and if you haven't played here you need to come play it!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    9/15/2013   9/15/2013
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well thought out pin placements
- long concrete teepads
- multiple tee & pin positions
- solid mix of shots
- good baskets
- good signage (except for missing sign on hole 2)
- trees are used well as obstacles
- well shaded for the summer months
Cons: - navigation was somewhat challenging for the first go around
- tall grass in some areas
- wasn't an issue when I was there, but the whole course is in a floodplane by the lake, so I would imagine it can probably get pretty hairy with any real precipitation
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, it is very well laid out. It would be safe to take a beginner here, but still provides a challenge for advanced players looking for deuces (lots of birdie opportunities). It offers some great variety.

Not necessarily a pro or con, but this course seemed oddly LHBH friendly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    7/11/2013   7/17/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 59  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course had nice concrete teepads and almost all of the holes had signs with the hole layout. All baskets are in really good shape. Course has practice basket. Course had a few benches and trash cans.
Cons: Some holes need to be mowed. Other than the tall grass in some areas it was a nice course. Also port-a-potties on location..
Other Thoughts: Good course for the location on the outside of the DFW area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Weatherford DGC

5+    7/4/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: pingchandlerpong
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, multiple pin locations, benches. Different holes benefit different throws. Good variety, fun course. Weekly minis and a good community!
Cons: Sometimes the grass gets too long. Signs don't show all three basket locations. If you aren't a local you may have trouble finding the next tee.
Other Thoughts: Home course

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Shade in the Texas Summer

5+    6/22/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: Buddy horn
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of mature pecan trees provide variety and relief from the Texas sun.

Well maintained. Very clean park.

Friendly locals.

Challenging, yet beginner friendly.

Lots of fun.
Cons: Parks department takes its time getting the mowing done.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in DFW. If you haven't played it yet you are missing out.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Unmarked Alternates

1    11/11/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: jrrttmrgn
Played: 93  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Finding pros for the Weatherford course is not a difficult task. Coming into the park you find a location with plenty of room at the end of a road that dead ends within view of a lake. Tall trees, mowed grass and a clean landscape are all inviting as well. the tee pads are spacious and have signs. parking is near hole 1 and 18 brings players back to the start of the course. Many of the holes have multiple approach lines and the distance and obstacles make good use of the available terrain. the peaceful vibe of the course was in my opinion its biggest pro; though the creativity of the basket placements was very entertaining.
Cons: the cons of this course were as noticeable as the pros. The biggest as seen in the title of this review is that a lot of holes have a third in-use alternate basket location. The signs are nice but are of no help since the basket location can be 400ft away behind trees and completely unmarked. Also, in the way of navigation the course doubles back on itsself often enough to make knowing where the next tee pad is difficult even with map in-hand. Though subjective to personal preferences I also found it to be somewhat repetitive and did not really require much variety in shots or discs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.