Weatherford, TX 
Weatherford DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #15 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    7/14/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: beandip
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has good shot variety, pin positions change with good frequency, is well cared for and usually litter free. Concrete pads with great tee signs. Good shade on several holes. Normally not crowded and has several benches placed throughout the course.
Cons: No major elevation changes. Locals enjoy walking the park so you have to watch for people and dogs. Several times we've had to flag people picking pecans on hole 18 that we were throwing discs their direction. Parking is close to holes 16 and 18 so an errant disc could possibly hit your vehicle.
Other Thoughts: I have no issues bringing my young kids with me to this course as everyone is friendly and I don't have to worry about them picking up questionable items or hurting themselves on the terrain.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Heaven

5+    6/21/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: Doupie620
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tourneys on Weekends...random doubles.
Course is legitimate Par 3
No place to really lose disc
Requires all throws to excel
Cons: When they release water from wherever, it can be kinda stinky.
Other Thoughts: Love this course
Love this course
Love this course

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome course

2-4    6/11/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: Smasher85
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course not too many trees but enough to give you a challenge. Most of the course is well shaded. An all around fun course to play. Good balance of different shots can be used on this course really caters to a lot of different throws.
Cons: None really other than its a bit of a drive for DFW folks and the only restroom is a porta-potty.
Other Thoughts: Love the doubles mini they have every Saturday morning good way to learn the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Course So FAR

5+    8/16/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course, this course fits my game perfect. I haven't been playing that long so my
finesse game is not so good. Lake Weatherford is a clean, non crowded course. The elevation change is very suttle, the dry ceek that cuts through the course gives the course it's elevation changes. The one thing about this course is you may not have any wind on the Tee Box but once the disk flys over the low lying area of the creek you'll get cross winds. Lake Weatherford is very well maintained, not sure what city is in charge of the course but they do a good job of keeping it clean. You can play a round in about an hour and a half, it's not crowded at all
Cons: Can be a drive for people on the east side of the Metroplex. Can be a little confusing with holes 4,5,6 but nothing a couple of signs can't fix. It's hard for me to find any con's with this course I like it so much.
Other Thoughts: Park benches has been added on some of the holes. Don't speed on Mikus Rd. because you will get a ticket. Lake Weatherford is very family friendly, a place you can take your kids and not worry about anything. It's just a nice clean fun course to play. If you're ever on the far westside of the metroplex check out Lake Weatherford.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It sure got nice

1    5/5/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Not very busy at times
-Out of the way
-Chance at some great shots
-They finally put in a full 18 holes
-Great boxes
-Maps on the back of the board in front of the parking lot.
-Caters well to sidearmers on quite a few holes.
-Has a port-a-potty on site.
Cons: -The parking lot is a little sketchy for lowered cars
-The Willow Park and Hudson Oaks cops
-Can get humid as hell thanks to the lake
-Beware the grass on 16! It is a disc eater.
Other Thoughts: Great course. I used to play this course a lot when it first opened with 9 holes. Just don't speed down Mikus, the Willow Park and Hudson Oaks cops like to cruise around down there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 decent but out of the way

2-4    4/4/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 220  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice concrete tees and good baskets
-plenty of trees for obstacles but not thickly wooded
-creek makes a little bit of water hazard but it is shallow and easy to retrieve discs
-fairly easy to navigate but first timers might want a map
-great minor elevation changes, nothing drastic but many subtle ups and downs
-fun pin placements, protected by trees
Cons: -not a lot of variety in terms of distance
-obstacles in the fairways but very few forced shots
-creek can get a little nasty and overflown
-a bit out of the way for most DFW folks
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and certainly worth playing if you are in the area. The trees are not dense but are spotted everywhere making many obstacles in the fairway but with many shot options. The subtle rolling hills make the fairways a bit more interesting too.
The biggest downside here is that the course is pretty one-dimensional. If you can throw an s-curve through some trees and nail your approach you're looking at easy pars for nearly the entire course. The lack of variety in distance only makes this more obvious.

Overall a fun, solid course but nothing that will blow you away. Catch a round if you're in the area but I wouldn't come out of my way to play here.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Weathorford Rundown!!!

5+    12/30/2009   1/10/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete T-pads
-Numerous pin positions
-Terrain Variety (some of the best)
-Shot Variety (great finesse course)
-Low traffic
-Short and long holes
-Great course to learn the game on being that there are plenty of pins reachable from the pad... did somebody say ACE RUNS!!!
-Easily started at front of back side of the course...there's a parking lot at both.

There's really nothing bad to say about this course. It has it all. In relation to what another reviewer mention.... the terrain changes per hole is like no other course in the area.
-I hear it's supposed to be 36 holes by the end of the year.
Cons: -T-pads can get muddy when it rains
-On a cold day, the wind might be coming off the lake...makes it super cold.
-Small creek can and will overflow its banks.

No problems outside of the normal disc golf situations...muddy boxes, squshy fairways when it's wet out.
Other Thoughts: This course is great. Totally worth a good drive. I'm 30 min from it.

Also a great course to play when the weather is bad (cold/windy). The trees provide lots of cover for the wind.

Play this course, you'll be glad that you did.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Course

1    12/24/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice DGA Baskets
-Nice concrete tee pads
-Great signs with hole info
-Multiple pin locations
-Easy to navigate, signs direct you to next tee
-Fun and fairly easy
-The layout of the holes are good
-Clean and maintained
-Garbage cans throughout the course
-Practice basket by hole 1
-Porta potty by hole 17

Cons: I can't think of anything negative that I did not like about the course.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing the course, even though it was 31 degrees and snowing with blizzard like conditions.The course was fun and somewhat challenging and I will be back to play here real soon when the weather is good.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 best course around

5+    12/13/2009   12/18/2009
Review By: superh
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: u never have to wait for anyone! it is peacefull and quiet! the new concrete tees are nice! everyone out there will take time and show u a few things or will let u tag along! baskets get moved around instead of being in the same spot for weeks at a time!
Cons: i can't really complain about anything other then the big pot holes turning in to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: very good layout and plenty trees on half of the holes

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/10/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: RayRay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Fun for more technical player
- Some holes are very picturesque and offer multiple routes
Cons: - Some holes seem like par 2's in the short location
- Low risk factor on each hole
- Not very challenging
Other Thoughts: The first 4 and last 4 holes of this course are pretty cool. Most of the other ten are more open and require simple 330ish hyzer or anhyzers. With so many ceiling shots, this course was very similar to North Park in Haltom City which is probably a better course with more length and better shot diversity.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.