Weatherford, TX 
Weatherford DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #5 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 284ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My Favorite Course So FAR

5+    8/16/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course, this course fits my game perfect. I haven't been playing that long so my
finesse game is not so good. Lake Weatherford is a clean, non crowded course. The elevation change is very suttle, the dry ceek that cuts through the course gives the course it's elevation changes. The one thing about this course is you may not have any wind on the Tee Box but once the disk flys over the low lying area of the creek you'll get cross winds. Lake Weatherford is very well maintained, not sure what city is in charge of the course but they do a good job of keeping it clean. You can play a round in about an hour and a half, it's not crowded at all
Cons: Can be a drive for people on the east side of the Metroplex. Can be a little confusing with holes 4,5,6 but nothing a couple of signs can't fix. It's hard for me to find any con's with this course I like it so much.
Other Thoughts: Park benches has been added on some of the holes. Don't speed on Mikus Rd. because you will get a ticket. Lake Weatherford is very family friendly, a place you can take your kids and not worry about anything. It's just a nice clean fun course to play. If you're ever on the far westside of the metroplex check out Lake Weatherford.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It sure got nice

1    5/5/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 17  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Not very busy at times
-Out of the way
-Chance at some great shots
-They finally put in a full 18 holes
-Great boxes
-Maps on the back of the board in front of the parking lot.
-Caters well to sidearmers on quite a few holes.
-Has a port-a-potty on site.
Cons: -The parking lot is a little sketchy for lowered cars
-The Willow Park and Hudson Oaks cops
-Can get humid as hell thanks to the lake
-Beware the grass on 16! It is a disc eater.
Other Thoughts: Great course. I used to play this course a lot when it first opened with 9 holes. Just don't speed down Mikus, the Willow Park and Hudson Oaks cops like to cruise around down there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 decent but out of the way

2-4    4/4/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 195  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice concrete tees and good baskets
-plenty of trees for obstacles but not thickly wooded
-creek makes a little bit of water hazard but it is shallow and easy to retrieve discs
-fairly easy to navigate but first timers might want a map
-great minor elevation changes, nothing drastic but many subtle ups and downs
-fun pin placements, protected by trees
Cons: -not a lot of variety in terms of distance
-obstacles in the fairways but very few forced shots
-creek can get a little nasty and overflown
-a bit out of the way for most DFW folks
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and certainly worth playing if you are in the area. The trees are not dense but are spotted everywhere making many obstacles in the fairway but with many shot options. The subtle rolling hills make the fairways a bit more interesting too.
The biggest downside here is that the course is pretty one-dimensional. If you can throw an s-curve through some trees and nail your approach you're looking at easy pars for nearly the entire course. The lack of variety in distance only makes this more obvious.

Overall a fun, solid course but nothing that will blow you away. Catch a round if you're in the area but I wouldn't come out of my way to play here.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Weathorford Rundown!!!

5+    12/30/2009   1/10/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete T-pads
-Numerous pin positions
-Terrain Variety (some of the best)
-Shot Variety (great finesse course)
-Low traffic
-Short and long holes
-Great course to learn the game on being that there are plenty of pins reachable from the pad... did somebody say ACE RUNS!!!
-Easily started at front of back side of the course...there's a parking lot at both.

There's really nothing bad to say about this course. It has it all. In relation to what another reviewer mention.... the terrain changes per hole is like no other course in the area.
-I hear it's supposed to be 36 holes by the end of the year.
Cons: -T-pads can get muddy when it rains
-On a cold day, the wind might be coming off the lake...makes it super cold.
-Small creek can and will overflow its banks.

No problems outside of the normal disc golf situations...muddy boxes, squshy fairways when it's wet out.
Other Thoughts: This course is great. Totally worth a good drive. I'm 30 min from it.

Also a great course to play when the weather is bad (cold/windy). The trees provide lots of cover for the wind.

Play this course, you'll be glad that you did.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Course

1    12/24/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice DGA Baskets
-Nice concrete tee pads
-Great signs with hole info
-Multiple pin locations
-Easy to navigate, signs direct you to next tee
-Fun and fairly easy
-The layout of the holes are good
-Clean and maintained
-Garbage cans throughout the course
-Practice basket by hole 1
-Porta potty by hole 17

Cons: I can't think of anything negative that I did not like about the course.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing the course, even though it was 31 degrees and snowing with blizzard like conditions.The course was fun and somewhat challenging and I will be back to play here real soon when the weather is good.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 best course around

5+    12/13/2009   12/18/2009
Review By: superh
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: u never have to wait for anyone! it is peacefull and quiet! the new concrete tees are nice! everyone out there will take time and show u a few things or will let u tag along! baskets get moved around instead of being in the same spot for weeks at a time!
Cons: i can't really complain about anything other then the big pot holes turning in to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: very good layout and plenty trees on half of the holes

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/10/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: RayRay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Fun for more technical player
- Some holes are very picturesque and offer multiple routes
Cons: - Some holes seem like par 2's in the short location
- Low risk factor on each hole
- Not very challenging
Other Thoughts: The first 4 and last 4 holes of this course are pretty cool. Most of the other ten are more open and require simple 330ish hyzer or anhyzers. With so many ceiling shots, this course was very similar to North Park in Haltom City which is probably a better course with more length and better shot diversity.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Uderated course.

5+    1/25/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very few weak holes.Some of the best wooded holes in Texas.1,4,11,14 and 18 come to mind.
1.great opening hole with many options.you can go straight at it over the creek,Thow a sharp Hyzer around the tree line.When the creek is dry you can even throw a roller.
4.Again you have options even with the tightness of the hole there is more than one line.
11.Great hyzer hole that has heavy brush to the left waiting for the early release :)
14.Long par 3 starting in the trees to a field with an upshot back into the trees.A blast to launch one through the trees.
18.Probably the best hole on the course.Long par 3 for the pros and a 4 for the avg player.It's all tunnel baby.If you can throw a roller straight do it here! It's all open down the middle till about 40 ft short of the green.
Cons: The tees are terrible.Poison plants are here but not nearly as bad as Bear creek.If the tees are fixed I'm giving this a 4.5 but as is it's a 4.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the drive.Great course to learn to keep it low.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  First Course

5+    5/2/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: DG_weatherford
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open and easy for beginners. Easy to read and throw. Not too hard to navigate. Pins move every week. Close to weatherford and the best wingstop on the planet.
Cons: Poison oak/ivy near unmowed areas. Dirt tees turn to mud with rain. Bfe compared other places. Barren. Hard to find opposition.
Other Thoughts: Started here and will continue to practice here,as its 5 minutes from my house. I live with the weatherford parks & Rec asst dir., he put in the new 9 holes. Is working with the city to put in concrete pads and get beeter info and signage out but its still as before mentioned in other posts, a work in progress. Overall though a nice course, favorite holes are 4 & 6, miss on 6 and its down the backside and behind the tree for you. I always take my dog along for some extra company. I believe theres a weekly wednesday tourney but im not positive.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Walk in the Park

2-4    3/3/2009   3/6/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'll give you two reasons why this course is worth driving to:Every course in the DFW area is mostly flat when it comes to shorter hole layouts, this course is the only full eighteen in the metroplex(except for Turner Park) where every hole has some kind of minor elevation involved,mind you I said minor elevation not Z boaz cliffs or Veterans long slopeing hills.The slight elevation to every hole with lightly wooded fairways is what makes Weatherford stand out as being differant.Playing in high winds here is great for teaching yourself about wind rules on short to mid-range shots.Logs to rest and old park benches throughout for weary travelers.
Cons: Playing here in no wind will give shorter distance throwers an inflated ego.The best technical shots here are short holes.A few holes seem crammed in a bit.
Other Thoughts: Love the signage that explains Mando's and 0.B.'s for each and every hole.Eighteen really stands out from all the rest.The long pin placements are the better round here.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.