Tucson, AZ
Santa Cruz River Park Share
Uploaded By: jace   (Taken 4/2008)



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
In a van down by the river

1    3/15/2014   3/15/2014
Review By: Ltocadisco
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The air is clean and warm. Delicate songs of the desert birds provide a nice contrast to the rooster farm just west. Also the ground squirrels running madly about are a nice touch. I think they were laughing at my putting attempts from their holes.
Cons: This seems like an 18 hole course on a spot big enough for 12-15 holes. Be careful out there before somebody loses a head. The hole to hole signage needs work as there are baskets and tees crossing all over the dusty lot.
Other Thoughts: Make more courses near Tucson! I need something to do when my dear old snowbird relations are taking ther afternoon naps.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable, Well Marked Course Dirt Course!

1    4/7/2013   4/9/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a decent sized park which is mostly flat with just enough trees to provide some obstacles. The course is very well signed. There is a small kiosk at the beginning with information on leagues and a course map. I especially appreciated when looking out from the tee box, I could see a large # near the correct basket. This is very helpful when there might be 3-4 possible targets in sight. The tee signs had the distance, par, route and a sponsor on them.
The course was completely dirt when I played in early April but it was very well packed down. There are two differently shaped teepads, the diamond shaped and the regular. Both are smaller than the norm. But a couple were extended when a longer run-up is needed.
The course is short making it play more like a recreational course. There are no par 4's or 5's here but there are lots of birdie ops.

# 13 is 261' to a slightly raised basket guarded by small trees. I like the fact that there are steps leading up to this elevated basket, probably for children and wee people.

There is a high fence (15 feet?) along the left side of the fairway along holes 12-14 to keep discs out of these slummy looking houses. One of them seems to be an inner city chicken farms with some noisy roosters. They were raising quite a ruckus on the early morning I played.
Cons: I guess the fact that there is no grass but you are, after all playing in the middle of a giant desert. The course is short but I found it to be perfectly enjoyable.
Because there are 18 baskets squeezed into a fairly small park area, navigation can be a little confusing. The large numbers near the baskets helped me quite a bit.
Other Thoughts: There was probably my favorite of the four Tucson area courses I played. It certainly doesn't offer the overall challenge like Marana and doesn't have the pretty green grass like Groves Park. But it's not a total disaster area like Sam Lena. So I'm calling it my favorite of the four.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great for a quick pitch n putt course

1    3/24/2013   3/26/2013
Review By: KDFrosty
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 1.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to get to this course as it's right off of I-10 in Tucson.
-Multiple tee pads for each basket.
-The course is generally kept clean.
-You can play this course quickly if you're in a hurry.
Cons: -The long tee pads are these undersized and uneven octagon shaped concrete pads, which dont give players an opportunity at a run-up off the tee.
-A lot of repetitive shot types
-Little to no elevation change at all
-Annoying roosters making tons of noise on the West side of the course.
-Not the best neighborhood
Other Thoughts: I think that this is only one of two 18 hole courses in the Tucson area, and for that reason it's worth playing. None of the features and/or holes are very noteworthy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Indifferent

5+    1/18/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: bsnone
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good place to start playing disc golf, nothing too crazy here, everything straightforward. New pin placements add some variety to the course. Plenty of holes for beginners to score pars and build confidence. The only course in Tucson that requires somewhat of a finesse shot - especially on 8 and now 10. Can easily finish 18 holes in an hour.
Cons: Flat. Essentially no elevation change. Can be very dusty. Short. It's probably the busiest of the courses in the Tucson area.
Other Thoughts: I never mind playing santa cruz but if this is the only course you play, you're probably never going to be stretched as a player. Very few holes require big drives or tight lines. I like bringing players here who are new to the sport as I think it is much less frustrating for a beginner than say, Marana Rock. I'll play this course exclusively when the Rock is flooded but will always choose the former when available.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/21/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: jimcramer24
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice variety in length of holes. Good use of the trees as barriers to the basket. Liked the basket up on the raised platform.
Cons: Very poor course lay out. Several holes criss-cross each other and sometimes it is hard to tell where the next hole is. Had to walk several times to the course map and look and see where I was supposed to go next. Don't like the fact the the holes are so close to each other that you have to worry about discs landing around you. Had several land close to me with no shouts of fore at all.
Other Thoughts: I finally figured this course out and would play it again if in the Tucson area. Some markers pointing to the next tee would be good as well as reconfiguring some holes so that they don't cross each other. The course map that is posted here is wrong. That needs to be corrected.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It's playable

5+    5/30/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: Au Gratin O'Brien
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I went to college at UofA, so this course was basically all there was for me (Unless you can get someone to show you the campus course, played late night and with an ultimate disc). However, if your in Tucson the course is not a long drive, but then again nothing is. Usually an open course, with very few other people besides disc golfers. Easy parking. Local players are friendly.
Cons: It is a desert, so there's a lot of dust (Don't let the Santa Cruz River fool you, the thing has water in it only when it rains). It took me forever to learn the course, and not distance or anything, just what hole to go to next. They need better signs up. No elevation changes, just flat. People trash the park, so a lot of broken glass and shit just laying around.
Other Thoughts: It's definitely the best Tucson has to offer, but then again Marana isn't that far away, and that course is a lot nicer then this one. It's not a 3 star course like it's rated on here, I'm giving it 2.5 stars just because I miss AZ, but the course is really only about a 2 star course. Could be a 3, but that requires a huge clean up operation and much better markers so you don't get lost!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid desert course!

1    4/6/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: rdwyer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun 18 hole desert course! Recently rennovated with new baskets! Trees by each basket have the basket number on them so you always know the right one to throw at. Nice round teepads. A challenging course, but not impossibly hard
Cons: Very dusty. Obviously it's the desert, but this course is more dusty and sandy than most. Be prepared to get dust all over yourself and your discs. Lots of broken glass all over the course.
Other Thoughts: If you're in Tucson, stop by. Not the best course in the world, but a fun desert course. Try to come either early morning or early evening, as it's extremely hot and there's no shade.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 take what you can get in tucson

1    2/18/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -mostly short holes, good for beginners
-lots of easy birdies
-no dense "rough", hard to lose a disc here
-brand new baskets! but no numbers
-concrete, diamond-shaped teepads
-dual teepads on all holes
-good pin placements, make use of few available obstacles
-easy parking
-almost DG exclusive, just a pedestrian trial through the park
-little traffic, only saw a few other people
Cons: -flat, mostly open, very few obstacles
-very poor signs, just numbers (most of them missing) on a wooden post
-navigation is very difficult for a first timer
-not easy to find off the street, look up directions
-dual pads don't offer much of a different view, mostly just a little longer
-very dry ground, compacted dirt, very dusty and hard on dx plastic
Other Thoughts: this old school course has gotten lots of play over the years and it's age shows. the small park is right next to the santa cruz river (not in play) and is mostly flat and open with small, dry trees dotting the field.

there are not really "fairways" here, just a field with tees and unnumbered baskets all over. this, coupled with the poor signage, makes the course very difficult to navigate since most teepads face several baskets. i brought a map and still managed to miss 2 holes. luckily some friendly locals pointed out the rest of the way for us. the dual pads, many of which are unmarked, make the navigation even more confusing. the dual pads don't seem to change the way the holes play either, just a little longer or coming from a different direction (which doesn't change much since there are no "fairways").

the holes are set up well to utilize what few obstacles are present, namely the small trees. many baskets are perched right behind a tree. this adds a bit of challenge to and otherwise very easy pitch and putt course. most of the tee shots are straight ahead and only a few holes give you enough obstacles that you have to do anything other than run right at the basket. a couple holes have a tree that comes into play on the tee shot, forcing a line or giving you a ceiling.

this is a great course to bring beginners or casual players. not much to offer for more advanced players. a little disappointing from the only full 18 in town. if you're passing through or here for a weekend then go play the course up in marana.

btw, the pictures here are deceiving. those are not the tee shots and that many trees don't usually come into play.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Review Santa Cruz

1    2/28/2011   2/28/2011
Review By: dclevenger
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging for a beginner, but they are short-ish holes. Makes for an exciting first time player.
Cons: Difficult to navigate, weaves back and forth.
Other Thoughts: If at the tee or on the tee a number and maybe an arrow was pointing you in the right direction would make the course so much easier.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dirty but fun.

2-4    2/13/2010   2/14/2010
Review By: tbone618
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short holes make for low scores and boosted confidence. Fun obstacles. Good for beginners and moderates, not for the more experienced.
Cons: No grass. All dirt.
Other Thoughts: Not the prettiest course, but good for beginners.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.