Tucson, AZ 
Santa Cruz River Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 225ft.   3 / 294ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Oldest Course in Arizona and Still Very Good! beep - beep!

1    3/12/2016   4/29/2016
Review By: pmay5
Played: 81  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two concrete tee pads per hole, good tee signs and multiple basket positions available.
Baskets are in good shape.
Easy to get to in Tucson, even thought the neighborhood is not the best.
Well laid out course, using the entire park (except for a ball field), not much else going on here but DG.
Adjacent to the Santa Cruz River bike trail, would be easy to ride here.
Most of the wildlife, more on that later.
Cons: Dusty, dusty, dusty. Well you are in the desert here, I wasn't really expecting grass!
Portapottys available, but I needed notice any water.
Looks like the DGers hang out in one picnic shelter and the homeless in another shelter.
Other Thoughts: According to DGCR, this is the oldest course in Arizona!! 38 years old this year! It feels like it has been upgraded since then, newer, longer tee positions, updated baskets, and plenty of challenges.
They used the trees available to make shot shaping a necessity. Including the "tunnel" shot on #8 under some low hanging branches and finishing to the right.
#18 was an interesting tee shot, slightly elevated tee, so instead of trying to make the opening, I wanted to go over the trees, but the shot stalls out too soon.
They also built up an elevated basket, with stairs.
Then the wildlife, as dusty as this course is, I saw plenty of prairie (desert) dogs popping in and out of their holes, a roadrunner kicking up dust in front of us (had to do the tourist thing and video that guy) and the homeless hanging out in the shelter, that didn't seem to go away!
Overall, this was a very good DG experience, enjoyed the two locals I played with and would play this one often, probably even cycle here a few times.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid desert course!

1    4/6/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: rdwyer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun 18 hole desert course! Recently rennovated with new baskets! Trees by each basket have the basket number on them so you always know the right one to throw at. Nice round teepads. A challenging course, but not impossibly hard
Cons: Very dusty. Obviously it's the desert, but this course is more dusty and sandy than most. Be prepared to get dust all over yourself and your discs. Lots of broken glass all over the course.
Other Thoughts: If you're in Tucson, stop by. Not the best course in the world, but a fun desert course. Try to come either early morning or early evening, as it's extremely hot and there's no shade.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Review Santa Cruz

1    2/28/2011   2/28/2011
Review By: dclevenger
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging for a beginner, but they are short-ish holes. Makes for an exciting first time player.
Cons: Difficult to navigate, weaves back and forth.
Other Thoughts: If at the tee or on the tee a number and maybe an arrow was pointing you in the right direction would make the course so much easier.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Course

5+    11/2/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: Mr. C
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will remind you of why you first played disc golf. Lots of fun, birdie holes from the short positions (A). It has a bit of history - it's one of the oldest courses in the nation and the oldest in Arizona. And, it used to be called the Diamond Course. (The A position t-boxes are diamond shapes.) It also has a lot of broken glass which shines in the desert sun.
Cons: Several problems: Needs new baskets. Navigation difficult - near impossible unless you hook up with a local. I found the B t-box positions not as fun. It's almost as if they tried to make it longer because people were getting too many birdies. The course is just not big enough for multiple tee box positions in my opinion - it gets confusion where you have to play. Finally, make sure you take directions and follow them. The sign for Santa Cruz River Park is unassuming.
Other Thoughts: They have a Wed morning $5 pool and Sunday tag matches. Best way to know the course is follow the locals. Nice people - I recommend this course - warts and all.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Desert Gem

3/31/2007   4/12/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well designed course in a limited area. Sparse trees offer challenge. Good variety of hole design for what they had to work with.
Cons: bring water, very dry and dusty. When we played, some of the holes were arranged differently than the online map, but friendly locals sorted out the confusion for us.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tucson Treasure!

7/14/2006   3/30/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 110  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 20.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees and a pretty easy-to-navigate 18 holes. Alternate tees are nice and baskets are in good shape. A nice desert course in a dry Tucson Park. Well made and fun.
Cons: Pretty dusty and dry, but some holes play into grassy park area. Bring some water for this nice 18 hole challenge.
Other Thoughts: Had to contend with a homeless man sleeping in the park during one of my rounds. Right between my disc and the basket. Missed him with my approach shot though, and hopefully the sound of the chains jingling out a solid 3 for me accompanied him in dreamland. Worth the drive across town, I'd say. Check it out.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.