Tucson, AZ 
Santa Cruz River Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 333ft.   3 / 402ft.   3 / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Solid desert course!

1    4/6/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: rdwyer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun 18 hole desert course! Recently rennovated with new baskets! Trees by each basket have the basket number on them so you always know the right one to throw at. Nice round teepads. A challenging course, but not impossibly hard
Cons: Very dusty. Obviously it's the desert, but this course is more dusty and sandy than most. Be prepared to get dust all over yourself and your discs. Lots of broken glass all over the course.
Other Thoughts: If you're in Tucson, stop by. Not the best course in the world, but a fun desert course. Try to come either early morning or early evening, as it's extremely hot and there's no shade.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Review Santa Cruz

1    2/28/2011   2/28/2011
Review By: dclevenger
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging for a beginner, but they are short-ish holes. Makes for an exciting first time player.
Cons: Difficult to navigate, weaves back and forth.
Other Thoughts: If at the tee or on the tee a number and maybe an arrow was pointing you in the right direction would make the course so much easier.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Course

5+    11/2/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: Mr. C
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will remind you of why you first played disc golf. Lots of fun, birdie holes from the short positions (A). It has a bit of history - it's one of the oldest courses in the nation and the oldest in Arizona. And, it used to be called the Diamond Course. (The A position t-boxes are diamond shapes.) It also has a lot of broken glass which shines in the desert sun.
Cons: Several problems: Needs new baskets. Navigation difficult - near impossible unless you hook up with a local. I found the B t-box positions not as fun. It's almost as if they tried to make it longer because people were getting too many birdies. The course is just not big enough for multiple tee box positions in my opinion - it gets confusion where you have to play. Finally, make sure you take directions and follow them. The sign for Santa Cruz River Park is unassuming.
Other Thoughts: They have a Wed morning $5 pool and Sunday tag matches. Best way to know the course is follow the locals. Nice people - I recommend this course - warts and all.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Desert Gem

3/31/2007   4/12/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well designed course in a limited area. Sparse trees offer challenge. Good variety of hole design for what they had to work with.
Cons: bring water, very dry and dusty. When we played, some of the holes were arranged differently than the online map, but friendly locals sorted out the confusion for us.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tucson Treasure!

7/14/2006   3/30/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 108  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees and a pretty easy-to-navigate 18 holes. Alternate tees are nice and baskets are in good shape. A nice desert course in a dry Tucson Park. Well made and fun.
Cons: Pretty dusty and dry, but some holes play into grassy park area. Bring some water for this nice 18 hole challenge.
Other Thoughts: Had to contend with a homeless man sleeping in the park during one of my rounds. Right between my disc and the basket. Missed him with my approach shot though, and hopefully the sound of the chains jingling out a solid 3 for me accompanied him in dreamland. Worth the drive across town, I'd say. Check it out.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.