Tucson, AZ 
Santa Cruz River Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 333ft.   3 / 402ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Santa Cruz - Dust Town

5+    6/15/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: Chromezero
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Santa Cruz is well maintained, has a nice variety of shots, and the regulars here are super friendly and generally very mellow. I really like the tee-pad placards and the way the course is laid out.
Cons: This course has zero grass; it's just dirt/dust. Some of the tee-pads are a little too small. A few of the fairways criss-cross a bit, which can cause some issues. Did I mention the dust?
Other Thoughts: All in all, I really like this course. It's a ton of fun to play and gives me a chance to try some lesser-used shots without fear of losing a disc. If you only get to play one course in Tucson, it should be Santa Cruz...unless you're willing to make a short road trip to Marana Rock, which is technically in Marana.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Overload

2-4    5/21/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two tee locations per hole. Weathered-but-decent tees and signs.

Minimal chance to lose a disc - unless you throw dust-coloured discs. :-)

Cons:
Crossing fairways, narrow parallel fairways, some tees quite near prior basket - too much in too little space?
Other Thoughts:
Course is set in a very long but narrow strip of flat, dry-n-dusty land, squeezed between the Santa Cruz "River" and a very tall fenceline guarding a row of interesting abodes, some with chickens. Also saw my first Roadrunner (the bird, not the disc, nor the cartoon) while playing here.

Scattered, relatively short trees that you'll either throw around or over do force some shot-shaping, but rarely are there any tight windows or extreme shapes.

Plenty of birdy opportunities from the short tees (average under 270', nothing over 350'), while the longs average ~330'.

Online map makes the course relatively simple for a visitor to navigate, although I did throw to basket-15 from tee-2 / to basket-14 from tee-4 my first time around.

Having just arrived the day before from the East coast, I thought I'd have the course to myself when I arrived on a Wednesday morning pre-0600, but there was already a foursome halfway through their round, and when I left a bit past 0730, there were an additional dozen+ players there. Anything to avoid the heat, I suppose - dedicated locals!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Santa Cruz - Can't Lose!

5+    5/16/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: Outdoor Craziness
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: The location: Tucson is pretty scarce on city parks, especially near the University of Arizona and downtown. Santa Cruz is about 10 minutes west of campus, and is easily accessible from the I-10.

The creativity: Santa Cruz doesn't have any elevation changes or many large obstacles to avoid (except for the tunnel of trees on #8). Nevertheless, the course requires a lot of creativity and shot selection for getting a low score.

The network: The Tucson Disc Golf Club does a great job taking care of the course, and there are plenty of weekly meet-ups available if you're interested in playing with others.
Cons: The tee pads: Most of the tee-pads are hexagons and don't really allow for much of a run-up before throwing the disc.This is more frustrating than you might think. The B-tees are nearly all rectangular tee-pads, let's update the others!

Hobo Jungle: If you throw east of the bike path anywhere on the front nine of Santa Cruz, you'll more than likely be entering a place that my circle of friends likes to affectionately call Hobo Jungle. This is an exaggeration, as the "jungle" is actually just a wash. "Hobo Jungle" is really just a term of endearment for the course. But seriously, try your best to avoid throwing over here. To get your disc back, you'll have to descend / ascend a very steep embankment and avoid getting cut by broken glass.
Other Thoughts: Think I'll go play here tomorrow morning!

 In a van down by the river

1    3/15/2014   3/15/2014
Review By: Ltocadisco
Played: 45  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The air is clean and warm. Delicate songs of the desert birds provide a nice contrast to the rooster farm just west. Also the ground squirrels running madly about are a nice touch. I think they were laughing at my putting attempts from their holes.
Cons: This seems like an 18 hole course on a spot big enough for 12-15 holes. Be careful out there before somebody loses a head. The hole to hole signage needs work as there are baskets and tees crossing all over the dusty lot.
Other Thoughts: Make more courses near Tucson! I need something to do when my dear old snowbird relations are taking ther afternoon naps.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable, Well Marked Course Dirt Course!

1    4/7/2013   4/9/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a decent sized park which is mostly flat with just enough trees to provide some obstacles. The course is very well signed. There is a small kiosk at the beginning with information on leagues and a course map. I especially appreciated when looking out from the tee box, I could see a large # near the correct basket. This is very helpful when there might be 3-4 possible targets in sight. The tee signs had the distance, par, route and a sponsor on them.
The course was completely dirt when I played in early April but it was very well packed down. There are two differently shaped teepads, the diamond shaped and the regular. Both are smaller than the norm. But a couple were extended when a longer run-up is needed.
The course is short making it play more like a recreational course. There are no par 4's or 5's here but there are lots of birdie ops.

# 13 is 261' to a slightly raised basket guarded by small trees. I like the fact that there are steps leading up to this elevated basket, probably for children and wee people.

There is a high fence (15 feet?) along the left side of the fairway along holes 12-14 to keep discs out of these slummy looking houses. One of them seems to be an inner city chicken farms with some noisy roosters. They were raising quite a ruckus on the early morning I played.
Cons: I guess the fact that there is no grass but you are, after all playing in the middle of a giant desert. The course is short but I found it to be perfectly enjoyable.
Because there are 18 baskets squeezed into a fairly small park area, navigation can be a little confusing. The large numbers near the baskets helped me quite a bit.
Other Thoughts: There was probably my favorite of the four Tucson area courses I played. It certainly doesn't offer the overall challenge like Marana and doesn't have the pretty green grass like Groves Park. But it's not a total disaster area like Sam Lena. So I'm calling it my favorite of the four.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great for a quick pitch n putt course

1    3/24/2013   3/26/2013
Review By: KDFrosty
Played: 27  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Easy to get to this course as it's right off of I-10 in Tucson.
-Multiple tee pads for each basket.
-The course is generally kept clean.
-You can play this course quickly if you're in a hurry.
Cons: -The long tee pads are these undersized and uneven octagon shaped concrete pads, which dont give players an opportunity at a run-up off the tee.
-A lot of repetitive shot types
-Little to no elevation change at all
-Annoying roosters making tons of noise on the West side of the course.
-Not the best neighborhood
Other Thoughts: I think that this is only one of two 18 hole courses in the Tucson area, and for that reason it's worth playing. None of the features and/or holes are very noteworthy.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Indifferent

5+    1/18/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: bsnone
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good place to start playing disc golf, nothing too crazy here, everything straightforward. New pin placements add some variety to the course. Plenty of holes for beginners to score pars and build confidence. The only course in Tucson that requires somewhat of a finesse shot - especially on 8 and now 10. Can easily finish 18 holes in an hour.
Cons: Flat. Essentially no elevation change. Can be very dusty. Short. It's probably the busiest of the courses in the Tucson area.
Other Thoughts: I never mind playing santa cruz but if this is the only course you play, you're probably never going to be stretched as a player. Very few holes require big drives or tight lines. I like bringing players here who are new to the sport as I think it is much less frustrating for a beginner than say, Marana Rock. I'll play this course exclusively when the Rock is flooded but will always choose the former when available.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/21/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: jimcramer24
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice variety in length of holes. Good use of the trees as barriers to the basket. Liked the basket up on the raised platform.
Cons: Very poor course lay out. Several holes criss-cross each other and sometimes it is hard to tell where the next hole is. Had to walk several times to the course map and look and see where I was supposed to go next. Don't like the fact the the holes are so close to each other that you have to worry about discs landing around you. Had several land close to me with no shouts of fore at all.
Other Thoughts: I finally figured this course out and would play it again if in the Tucson area. Some markers pointing to the next tee would be good as well as reconfiguring some holes so that they don't cross each other. The course map that is posted here is wrong. That needs to be corrected.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It's playable

5+    5/30/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: Au Gratin O'Brien
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I went to college at UofA, so this course was basically all there was for me (Unless you can get someone to show you the campus course, played late night and with an ultimate disc). However, if your in Tucson the course is not a long drive, but then again nothing is. Usually an open course, with very few other people besides disc golfers. Easy parking. Local players are friendly.
Cons: It is a desert, so there's a lot of dust (Don't let the Santa Cruz River fool you, the thing has water in it only when it rains). It took me forever to learn the course, and not distance or anything, just what hole to go to next. They need better signs up. No elevation changes, just flat. People trash the park, so a lot of broken glass and shit just laying around.
Other Thoughts: It's definitely the best Tucson has to offer, but then again Marana isn't that far away, and that course is a lot nicer then this one. It's not a 3 star course like it's rated on here, I'm giving it 2.5 stars just because I miss AZ, but the course is really only about a 2 star course. Could be a 3, but that requires a huge clean up operation and much better markers so you don't get lost!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid desert course!

1    4/6/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: rdwyer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun 18 hole desert course! Recently rennovated with new baskets! Trees by each basket have the basket number on them so you always know the right one to throw at. Nice round teepads. A challenging course, but not impossibly hard
Cons: Very dusty. Obviously it's the desert, but this course is more dusty and sandy than most. Be prepared to get dust all over yourself and your discs. Lots of broken glass all over the course.
Other Thoughts: If you're in Tucson, stop by. Not the best course in the world, but a fun desert course. Try to come either early morning or early evening, as it's extremely hot and there's no shade.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.