Tucson, AZ
Santa Cruz River Park Share
Uploaded By: jace   (Taken 4/2008)



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Old time classic

1    9/29/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located on a riverwalk area. Easy parking right up to the first tee. A few practice baskets right at the 1st tee. Uniquely shaped diamond teepads, something I have never seen before. Most of the holes are fairly short so many birdie opportunities await here! A midrange and putter is probably the most that you will need for this course. Most holes are pretty much straight shots. Trees throughout the course adds to the challenge. Nicely placed baskets as they are tucked between/behind trees, but not so much that it is difficult to throw at. The course is pretty dry and sandy in some areas, which is nice in some regards as your disc likes to stay put when it lands. Mountains around the course gives it some good views.
Cons: The course info says this course was built in 1978 and I could tell. Teepads are pretty small, which isn't too much of a problem since the holes are short. Baskets are definately worn. Definate navigation issues on this course. Print out a map if you can. Teesigns are lacking and each hole is represented by a wooden post with numbers on it that are missing. I had to walk down several fairways to figure out where I was going to throw. Frustrating, but not too dificult to figure out. Trash on the course in the form of broken glass. Space is rather limited on this course and the fairways are pretty close to each other so there is a definate possiblity of hitting others. Keep you eyes open. Hole 14 runs along some houses that seem more of an eyesore than anything. Total elevation change on this course is probably 10 feet, in other words, flat. Not a blade of grass on the course. Multiuse trail runs right through course so watch out for other users.
Other Thoughts: While playing this course I tried to imagine how it would play when it was made in the late 70's. The length of the holes would be in par for those big discs back then. Today this course isn't as much of a challenge due to changes in the discs and players ability. A 200' hole is merely a midrange toss and a putt today. Time has passed and this course shows. New baskets and teepads are needed. I just looked on the website for the local club and there is a renuvation project to replace all the baskets and improve the course in other ways. Great to see this happening. Not sure when this will become reality. Overall though I enjoyed my time here and think there is enough of a challenge here for you to work on your short game and would also be a good course for beginners as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  OK, I'm biased... but...

5+    7/20/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: FunkTron
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just about any shot you could imagine can be had on this course via the A and B positions for every hole. There's even an extra-ridiculous-difficule C course (if you can find a regular who knows it!). For short throwers, the A course has enough shorties to keep things fun, and a few 300+ footers to help you practice ripping and gripping. The course is mostly desert dirt, and you can use a skip shot on many holes. Lots of trees and obstacles. The longer B course is excellent for advanced players, because it's much longer and has some mandos and very tight windows to throw through. It's my home course, and I'm finally becoming comfortable enough to play the B league. There's even a once-a-month glow league. Love this course, never get bored with it, and once you do find it (see cons), it's tucked away and private. Cozy, even.
Cons: Well, it's definitely not perfect... It's hard to find because it's tucked against the Santa Cruz wash behind residential areas. Throwing your disc into the wash can result in up to a mile walk if you aren't skilled enough descending steep, slippery banks. The residential side has a big net, but it's not tall enough to keep all discs inside the course. It's hot, it's difficult to navigate thanks to pin changes and destroyed signage - and the baskets are old and will absolutely rob you on longer shots and ace runs. That's not to say that you can't hit an ace and the baskets are so bad as to make your time not fun - but they're old and in need of replacement.
Other Thoughts: All-in-all, this course (as has been mentioned in review) is one of the oldest in the country and has a little bit of everything for all levels. If you are visiting, be sure to go to http://tucsondiscgolf.com/courses.htm to print out a map of the course. Note that pin positions change occasionally, so ask one of us friendly locals if things don't seem to match up. It's a rare occasion you will run into someone who won't help you, and I've made many many friends out at this awesome little spot.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Desert course

1    8/13/2005   7/11/2009
Review By: Fata2683
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice desert themed course, right next to the river in Tucson. Has a nice path that rides next to most holes. Average level of play.
Cons: Busy park, and not in the best areas of Tucson.
Other Thoughts: Would like to play again.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sponsored by Disc Manufacturers

1    12/26/2001   1/2/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 111  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Straightforward layout. Extra kind locals who took good care of me. Good for working on your basics.
Cons: Hard sandy ground will tear up your disc. I think its on a former dump. Hard to follow until I hooked up with a local.
Other Thoughts: The short tees are very easy and deuce or die.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice for regular play

2-4    11/27/2008   11/28/2008
Review By: hansolo01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course was pretty easy to navigate - I used a map the first time, but didn't need it on subsequent visits. Nice efficient flow to holes - I was able to play several rounds in just about an hour each. Benches and bag hooks at most tees. Two sets of tees for each hole - the shorter "A" tees (the locals called this the "rec" course) and longer "B" tees. I stayed a week in Tucson and played this course several times. It looks like tall fences have now been erected along the North side to keep discs from flying into neighboring yards. Nice shaded picnic areas. Porta-potties near the large parking lot and about halfway up the main leg up the course. Not as windy as some other area courses. Good mix of right, left, and straight-ahead approaches. Great course for beginning players - I took my in-laws and they were able to pick up the game nicely. Relatively open terrain means not many opportunities to lose discs. Practice basket near the parking lot.
Cons: Somewhat dusty. I didn't see drinking fountains, so bringing water is a good idea. Terrain is mostly flat, and native mesquite and palo verde trees are pretty much the only obstacles. Otagonal tees were a bit short for me, but welcome nonetheless. The longer "B" tees were sometimes hard to find without a map. It seems like they were added later for longer-driving players; only a few of the "B" tees add a technical challenge in addition to extra length (10-40 yards extra, typically). Course might be considered too easy for a seasoned player. I was able to throw par games on the "A" course and 3-4 over rounds from the "B" pads (I suppose that can be a pro or con, depending on how you look at it - a good score is a nice confidence booster). It looks like the tees were re-numbered at some point, so the numbers on the posts aren't always right - the numbers painted on the pads themselves are correct, however.
Other Thoughts: Even though I wrote a lot in the "cons" section, I really like this course. I play DG almost every day for the exercise, and this course is perfect for that: easy to navigate, efficient layout, choice of pads to fit your skill level, good parking. This is my new "regular" course now when I'm visiting family in Tucson. Make sure to print out a map with directions - the park sign is small and easy to miss the first time you visit.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Course

5+    11/2/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: Mr. C
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will remind you of why you first played disc golf. Lots of fun, birdie holes from the short positions (A). It has a bit of history - it's one of the oldest courses in the nation and the oldest in Arizona. And, it used to be called the Diamond Course. (The A position t-boxes are diamond shapes.) It also has a lot of broken glass which shines in the desert sun.
Cons: Several problems: Needs new baskets. Navigation difficult - near impossible unless you hook up with a local. I found the B t-box positions not as fun. It's almost as if they tried to make it longer because people were getting too many birdies. The course is just not big enough for multiple tee box positions in my opinion - it gets confusion where you have to play. Finally, make sure you take directions and follow them. The sign for Santa Cruz River Park is unassuming.
Other Thoughts: They have a Wed morning $5 pool and Sunday tag matches. Best way to know the course is follow the locals. Nice people - I recommend this course - warts and all.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not enough room

1    7/6/2008   7/6/2008
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 23  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2008
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Trees everywhere give each hole a great challenge that makes you think, some more than others. Shots of all types, VARIETY is definitely a key word for this course. Not crowded at all. Multiple courses to play (supposedly three but I could not find the third). Benches at each hole. Great view of the Catalina foothills.
Cons: Impossible to navigate. A MAP IS A MUST. UPDATE: Perhaps I was a bit too optimistic the first time I played. This park just continues to get dirtier and dirtier. The fairways feel way too tight because of limited space in this park.
www.azdiscgolf.com/tucson.php
The course has been greatly abused with broken glass and trash everywhere. The signs have worn out and need to be redone. There is almost no grass. Discs can be easily lost over a fence on the edge of the park which leads into people yards. Inside the fence are four vicious looking dogs that would probably chew your face off if you entered to get your disc.
Other Thoughts: Coming from the midwest, it is very unusual to play on a course with no grass. I guess thats just the desert, but the desert is beautiful in its own way. Let me remind you that grass is not a native desert crop, so by playing this course you keep the faucets running in Tucson. IMPORTANT: One thing I like to do is make up my own course. I play the baskets in order but I will use different tee's than the ones designated to that particular hole. I think that is the best way to enjoy this course. Please dont litter when you go, the park already has enough tidying up on its "to do list."

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Dry Run

1    4/12/2008   4/16/2008
Review By: jace
Played: 38  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees were pretty nice - concrete octagonal design.
Felt the course layout was well done taking advantage of the trees across the park.
Had a bathroom at the start and actually had one around hole 8. may have been for the tournament only though.
I think the hole variety was fair. could have used more dogleg style holes.
There were several very nice tree-lined fairways making the drive off the tee very enjoyable.
Cons: Too flat! There wasn't much variety with topography at all.
You really need a map. I found the course very difficult to navigate - had never played it before. I'm used to being able to follow a path from a basket to the next tee when i have never played a course - dry sandy terrain makes that kind of tough.
Other Thoughts: NOT crowded at all - DG must not be a big thing in the Tuscon area. Too bad - the weather was unbelievable.
BRING WATER - it's a hot course that requires a bottle of water!
The course was definately worht playing while visiting from out of town.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Desert Gem

3/31/2007   4/12/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well designed course in a limited area. Sparse trees offer challenge. Good variety of hole design for what they had to work with.
Cons: bring water, very dry and dusty. When we played, some of the holes were arranged differently than the online map, but friendly locals sorted out the confusion for us.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tucson Treasure!

7/14/2006   3/30/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 104  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees and a pretty easy-to-navigate 18 holes. Alternate tees are nice and baskets are in good shape. A nice desert course in a dry Tucson Park. Well made and fun.
Cons: Pretty dusty and dry, but some holes play into grassy park area. Bring some water for this nice 18 hole challenge.
Other Thoughts: Had to contend with a homeless man sleeping in the park during one of my rounds. Right between my disc and the basket. Missed him with my approach shot though, and hopefully the sound of the chains jingling out a solid 3 for me accompanied him in dreamland. Worth the drive across town, I'd say. Check it out.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.