Tucson, AZ 
Santa Cruz River Park Share
Uploaded By: jace   (Taken 4/2008)



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 take what you can get in tucson

1    2/18/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -mostly short holes, good for beginners
-lots of easy birdies
-no dense "rough", hard to lose a disc here
-brand new baskets! but no numbers
-concrete, diamond-shaped teepads
-dual teepads on all holes
-good pin placements, make use of few available obstacles
-easy parking
-almost DG exclusive, just a pedestrian trial through the park
-little traffic, only saw a few other people
Cons: -flat, mostly open, very few obstacles
-very poor signs, just numbers (most of them missing) on a wooden post
-navigation is very difficult for a first timer
-not easy to find off the street, look up directions
-dual pads don't offer much of a different view, mostly just a little longer
-very dry ground, compacted dirt, very dusty and hard on dx plastic
Other Thoughts: this old school course has gotten lots of play over the years and it's age shows. the small park is right next to the santa cruz river (not in play) and is mostly flat and open with small, dry trees dotting the field.

there are not really "fairways" here, just a field with tees and unnumbered baskets all over. this, coupled with the poor signage, makes the course very difficult to navigate since most teepads face several baskets. i brought a map and still managed to miss 2 holes. luckily some friendly locals pointed out the rest of the way for us. the dual pads, many of which are unmarked, make the navigation even more confusing. the dual pads don't seem to change the way the holes play either, just a little longer or coming from a different direction (which doesn't change much since there are no "fairways").

the holes are set up well to utilize what few obstacles are present, namely the small trees. many baskets are perched right behind a tree. this adds a bit of challenge to and otherwise very easy pitch and putt course. most of the tee shots are straight ahead and only a few holes give you enough obstacles that you have to do anything other than run right at the basket. a couple holes have a tree that comes into play on the tee shot, forcing a line or giving you a ceiling.

this is a great course to bring beginners or casual players. not much to offer for more advanced players. a little disappointing from the only full 18 in town. if you're passing through or here for a weekend then go play the course up in marana.

btw, the pictures here are deceiving. those are not the tee shots and that many trees don't usually come into play.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Review Santa Cruz

1    2/28/2011   2/28/2011
Review By: dclevenger
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging for a beginner, but they are short-ish holes. Makes for an exciting first time player.
Cons: Difficult to navigate, weaves back and forth.
Other Thoughts: If at the tee or on the tee a number and maybe an arrow was pointing you in the right direction would make the course so much easier.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dirty but fun.

2-4    2/13/2010   2/14/2010
Review By: tbone618
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short holes make for low scores and boosted confidence. Fun obstacles. Good for beginners and moderates, not for the more experienced.
Cons: No grass. All dirt.
Other Thoughts: Not the prettiest course, but good for beginners.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old time classic

1    9/29/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located on a riverwalk area. Easy parking right up to the first tee. A few practice baskets right at the 1st tee. Uniquely shaped diamond teepads, something I have never seen before. Most of the holes are fairly short so many birdie opportunities await here! A midrange and putter is probably the most that you will need for this course. Most holes are pretty much straight shots. Trees throughout the course adds to the challenge. Nicely placed baskets as they are tucked between/behind trees, but not so much that it is difficult to throw at. The course is pretty dry and sandy in some areas, which is nice in some regards as your disc likes to stay put when it lands. Mountains around the course gives it some good views.
Cons: The course info says this course was built in 1978 and I could tell. Teepads are pretty small, which isn't too much of a problem since the holes are short. Baskets are definately worn. Definate navigation issues on this course. Print out a map if you can. Teesigns are lacking and each hole is represented by a wooden post with numbers on it that are missing. I had to walk down several fairways to figure out where I was going to throw. Frustrating, but not too dificult to figure out. Trash on the course in the form of broken glass. Space is rather limited on this course and the fairways are pretty close to each other so there is a definate possiblity of hitting others. Keep you eyes open. Hole 14 runs along some houses that seem more of an eyesore than anything. Total elevation change on this course is probably 10 feet, in other words, flat. Not a blade of grass on the course. Multiuse trail runs right through course so watch out for other users.
Other Thoughts: While playing this course I tried to imagine how it would play when it was made in the late 70's. The length of the holes would be in par for those big discs back then. Today this course isn't as much of a challenge due to changes in the discs and players ability. A 200' hole is merely a midrange toss and a putt today. Time has passed and this course shows. New baskets and teepads are needed. I just looked on the website for the local club and there is a renuvation project to replace all the baskets and improve the course in other ways. Great to see this happening. Not sure when this will become reality. Overall though I enjoyed my time here and think there is enough of a challenge here for you to work on your short game and would also be a good course for beginners as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  OK, I'm biased... but...

5+    7/20/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: FunkTron
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just about any shot you could imagine can be had on this course via the A and B positions for every hole. There's even an extra-ridiculous-difficule C course (if you can find a regular who knows it!). For short throwers, the A course has enough shorties to keep things fun, and a few 300+ footers to help you practice ripping and gripping. The course is mostly desert dirt, and you can use a skip shot on many holes. Lots of trees and obstacles. The longer B course is excellent for advanced players, because it's much longer and has some mandos and very tight windows to throw through. It's my home course, and I'm finally becoming comfortable enough to play the B league. There's even a once-a-month glow league. Love this course, never get bored with it, and once you do find it (see cons), it's tucked away and private. Cozy, even.
Cons: Well, it's definitely not perfect... It's hard to find because it's tucked against the Santa Cruz wash behind residential areas. Throwing your disc into the wash can result in up to a mile walk if you aren't skilled enough descending steep, slippery banks. The residential side has a big net, but it's not tall enough to keep all discs inside the course. It's hot, it's difficult to navigate thanks to pin changes and destroyed signage - and the baskets are old and will absolutely rob you on longer shots and ace runs. That's not to say that you can't hit an ace and the baskets are so bad as to make your time not fun - but they're old and in need of replacement.
Other Thoughts: All-in-all, this course (as has been mentioned in review) is one of the oldest in the country and has a little bit of everything for all levels. If you are visiting, be sure to go to http://tucsondiscgolf.com/courses.htm to print out a map of the course. Note that pin positions change occasionally, so ask one of us friendly locals if things don't seem to match up. It's a rare occasion you will run into someone who won't help you, and I've made many many friends out at this awesome little spot.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Desert course

1    8/13/2005   7/11/2009
Review By: Fata2683
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice desert themed course, right next to the river in Tucson. Has a nice path that rides next to most holes. Average level of play.
Cons: Busy park, and not in the best areas of Tucson.
Other Thoughts: Would like to play again.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sponsored by Disc Manufacturers

1    12/26/2001   1/2/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 126  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Straightforward layout. Extra kind locals who took good care of me. Good for working on your basics.
Cons: Hard sandy ground will tear up your disc. I think its on a former dump. Hard to follow until I hooked up with a local.
Other Thoughts: The short tees are very easy and deuce or die.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice for regular play

2-4    11/27/2008   11/28/2008
Review By: hansolo01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course was pretty easy to navigate - I used a map the first time, but didn't need it on subsequent visits. Nice efficient flow to holes - I was able to play several rounds in just about an hour each. Benches and bag hooks at most tees. Two sets of tees for each hole - the shorter "A" tees (the locals called this the "rec" course) and longer "B" tees. I stayed a week in Tucson and played this course several times. It looks like tall fences have now been erected along the North side to keep discs from flying into neighboring yards. Nice shaded picnic areas. Porta-potties near the large parking lot and about halfway up the main leg up the course. Not as windy as some other area courses. Good mix of right, left, and straight-ahead approaches. Great course for beginning players - I took my in-laws and they were able to pick up the game nicely. Relatively open terrain means not many opportunities to lose discs. Practice basket near the parking lot.
Cons: Somewhat dusty. I didn't see drinking fountains, so bringing water is a good idea. Terrain is mostly flat, and native mesquite and palo verde trees are pretty much the only obstacles. Otagonal tees were a bit short for me, but welcome nonetheless. The longer "B" tees were sometimes hard to find without a map. It seems like they were added later for longer-driving players; only a few of the "B" tees add a technical challenge in addition to extra length (10-40 yards extra, typically). Course might be considered too easy for a seasoned player. I was able to throw par games on the "A" course and 3-4 over rounds from the "B" pads (I suppose that can be a pro or con, depending on how you look at it - a good score is a nice confidence booster). It looks like the tees were re-numbered at some point, so the numbers on the posts aren't always right - the numbers painted on the pads themselves are correct, however.
Other Thoughts: Even though I wrote a lot in the "cons" section, I really like this course. I play DG almost every day for the exercise, and this course is perfect for that: easy to navigate, efficient layout, choice of pads to fit your skill level, good parking. This is my new "regular" course now when I'm visiting family in Tucson. Make sure to print out a map with directions - the park sign is small and easy to miss the first time you visit.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Course

5+    11/2/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: Mr. C
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will remind you of why you first played disc golf. Lots of fun, birdie holes from the short positions (A). It has a bit of history - it's one of the oldest courses in the nation and the oldest in Arizona. And, it used to be called the Diamond Course. (The A position t-boxes are diamond shapes.) It also has a lot of broken glass which shines in the desert sun.
Cons: Several problems: Needs new baskets. Navigation difficult - near impossible unless you hook up with a local. I found the B t-box positions not as fun. It's almost as if they tried to make it longer because people were getting too many birdies. The course is just not big enough for multiple tee box positions in my opinion - it gets confusion where you have to play. Finally, make sure you take directions and follow them. The sign for Santa Cruz River Park is unassuming.
Other Thoughts: They have a Wed morning $5 pool and Sunday tag matches. Best way to know the course is follow the locals. Nice people - I recommend this course - warts and all.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not enough room

1    7/6/2008   7/6/2008
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2008
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Trees everywhere give each hole a great challenge that makes you think, some more than others. Shots of all types, VARIETY is definitely a key word for this course. Not crowded at all. Multiple courses to play (supposedly three but I could not find the third). Benches at each hole. Great view of the Catalina foothills.
Cons: Impossible to navigate. A MAP IS A MUST. UPDATE: Perhaps I was a bit too optimistic the first time I played. This park just continues to get dirtier and dirtier. The fairways feel way too tight because of limited space in this park.
www.azdiscgolf.com/tucson.php
The course has been greatly abused with broken glass and trash everywhere. The signs have worn out and need to be redone. There is almost no grass. Discs can be easily lost over a fence on the edge of the park which leads into people yards. Inside the fence are four vicious looking dogs that would probably chew your face off if you entered to get your disc.
Other Thoughts: Coming from the midwest, it is very unusual to play on a course with no grass. I guess thats just the desert, but the desert is beautiful in its own way. Let me remind you that grass is not a native desert crop, so by playing this course you keep the faucets running in Tucson. IMPORTANT: One thing I like to do is make up my own course. I play the baskets in order but I will use different tee's than the ones designated to that particular hole. I think that is the best way to enjoy this course. Please dont litter when you go, the park already has enough tidying up on its "to do list."

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.