Savannah (Pooler), GA 
Tom Triplett DGC Share
Uploaded By: WAS1  
Park Sign



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very Solid Course In Savannah

2-4    5/13/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 202  Reviewed: 194  Exp: 11.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very solid course in the outskirts of Augusta. There is a practice basket near hole one as well as a course kiosk and drop box bin which looks like it gets some use. The first couple of holes have some trees and don't look to be easy layup holes, but not pound you into submission holes right off the bat; I like a course that warms me up to the nasty stuff like this one does.The tee signs are incredible and a must in this park or things could get confusing fast. The color coding works well here with painted concrete pieces or wood stumps letting you know which pad you are at and gives you a 'you are here' type of sign and from there you can figure out which tee pad you want to play. Being that you have three different tee pads for each hole you have lots of options for what you can do to make the course interesting every time you come here to play. The designer(s) did an excellent job of making sure each tee pad challenged the skill level of the desired level; usually when multiple tee pads come into play the shorter tee pads are just put in to make something easier but here not so much. The other thing I love here is that there are different tee pads to some holes instead of just long, middle and short tee pads which is a breathe of fresh air to some of us.

I really love the punishing rough here; a lot of courses I've seen in Georgia have the same style of punishing rough that is so needed to challenge approach shots in a necessary fashion. Most of the ground cover is clear ON the fairway and then off the fairway is where you run into the thicker stuff which is the way it is supposed to be.

The mix of trees as an obstacle in an extreme way is used here but still keeping with being fair and though there is luck (there is always luck) it doesn't get to the point where you just throw and pray you make it through; there is a distinct line (or two or three or more) that you need to hit in order to be successful. After that you have the open holes which are trickier than they look. Most of these holes involve out of bounds in the form of paths or water and if thrown in the fairway could result in the disc going too far or skipping somewhere crazy with the rolling hills and drops off near or around the baskets.
Cons: Having multiple tee pads can get confusing to people who don't know their way around and if the course is busy the multiple tee pads can work against you in the form of speed of play. The tee signs helps out but you can still get lost. My second time playing I figured out just about all of the locations of the tee pads but I'm a course bagger and it's kind of my job. :)

When I played hole number six was either missing or taken out for some reason. We searched and searched and searched but never found it or even a sleeve or any evidence of where the hole would be even with the sign telling us distance and where the basket should be.
Other Thoughts: If you get a chance to get to Tybee Island there is an excellent seafood restaurant called "The Crabshack". There they have live alligators that you can feed with a bamboo pole and let's face it how many times can you say you did that in your lifetime? Also you can sit right on the water outside and eat amazing seafood with amazing ambiance. It gets busy on weekends but it is an amazing place.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/21/2012   2/21/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Best course I've played in GA. Tons of signage and 5 different course layouts makes for a multitude of shots. There's not a boring hole on the course, the par 3's require a little distance or shaping depending on the hole, still makes you work for a birdie. You have pretty much every kind of shot on this course from long wide open fairways to really tight alley ways in the woods. I've never played a round and not found something to go home and work on for next time. Certainly a test for any disc golfer.
Cons: The only complaint I have is from the first time I played and it was a little tricky to figure out some of the tee locations (allow they are all on the signs at the tee pads) there weren't directional arrows pointing to the next tee just pathways. It's not hard to figure out but I could see how playing it for the first time you could get a little turned around. Other than that it's the best course within 50 to 100 miles.
Other Thoughts: This course is maintained by the people who play it and that says a lot when you see how nice everything is from the tee boxes to the painted signs, they've put a lot of work into this course and it shows!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Pooler

1    12/4/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely great designed course. 3 different tees on every hole. The layout of the tees make it more than just distance but a completely different shot between the gold, blue and white tees. Baskets held discs well. Great open shots for the long distance guys and many shots in the words for a finesse player. Both left and right dog legs. Sometimes different on the same hole depending on the tee you chose.

Located in a great park with plenty of other things for those not playing to do. Very easy to get to.
Cons: Almost hate to write a con as much as I enjoyed the round. The tees could be very slippery when wet. I found one just that way. A few tees are just grass.
Other Thoughts: The players in that area should be proud. Simply a must play course if you are in the area. What a great design and tee signs. All three tees had information for the hole.

I would pay a entrance fee to watch someone using only the gold tees shoot par as marked. If you think you are a go for it banger you have got to play the course and challenge the lake.

The park signs say it opens at 8AM but I was there at 7:15 and it was open. The early morning wild life were great to observe.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Challenging and fun

5+    8/2/2014   10/25/2011
Review By: Will_S
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2014
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: - Great mixture of wooded/open and lots distance variation

- Signs at every tee pad

- Baskets are well maintained

- Course is always mowed and well maintained
Cons: - Tee pads leave something to be desired, but they're functional
Other Thoughts: - Be on the lookout for snakes (infrequent) and spiders (everywhere) on some holes. If you stick to the fairway you'll be ok.

Fantastic course for all skill levels and probably the best course within 100 miles. I've played 25+ courses and this course is still in my top 5.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great course and great club

5+    1/15/2011   2/6/2011
Review By: filobedo
Played: 171  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2013
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Fantastic mix of par 3s, 4s and a 5 with 3 sets of tees on most holes. The local club does a great job on the course and with their sanctioned tournaments. The signage is great. Favorite holes include,
#1 - Straight up the middle to basket in the clearing
#3 - Short but challenging par 3 with many trees.
#4 - Signature hole with elevation, elevated green and water and ob by the sidewalk throughout the hole.
#7 long and mid tee are very challenging and entice you to play a great anhyzer shot for rhbh from the long and accurate Roc from mid tee to guarded green.
#9 - Favorite hole from mid and long tees. Long hyzer to open green. You must get out of the shoot which is about 150" to get the disc to turn to the left at the right gap for a 2.
#10 - Plays differently from each teepad. Straight from longs and hyzer for rhbh for the mid tee.
#11 Great tee shot from shorts and mids- Shorts is hyzer from short for rhbh and straight uphill for the lowcountry from mid tee.
#14 - Very long carry over water to small gap from longs tee and straight tight shot from mid tee to guarded green
#15 - One of the tightest holes on the planet, straight and difficult to get a 2 from all 3 tees with basket in the middle of trees.
#17 - Long tee short over the road or up the middle from mid tees with ditch in play.
#18 tight and fun hole with a great open green with chance for a 2 if you get through the tight gap and over the ditch.
Cons: I have played this course around 50 times and lost discs in the middle of the fairway on #1 and #11 due to leaves a couple of times. A spotter is necessary for several holes regardless if you are in the fairway or not due to the abundance of leaves.in the fairway and off.
Other Thoughts: You get to eat BBQ on the Sat of the tourney if you want to!!! Savannah Open is the first B Tier each year normally and one of the best events of the year. 70 degrees and perfect weather but lots of wind normally in January makes it a great way to start the year. The Club also have a great players pack and BBQ lunch on Saturday normally and then a fun Players Party at a BBQ place on MLK. Also, how can you go to Savannah and not hit Pinky Masters! Jukebox is full of WSP and Mikey used to hang out there. The town, club, tournament and course make this a cannot miss event.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!!

1    9/9/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: bigflicknick
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: beautiful course. open and lots of long shots. is pretty well marked too.
Cons: VERY LONG HOLES. if you cannot throw over 300 ft at a time you will have a long day here. lake in play on a few holes, but there is a long route.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course. I usually play on short technical courses, and it was nice to be able to unload a couple long bombs!!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the South East

1    12/5/2008   12/8/2008
Review By: Jonny_Dread
Played: 68  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great club members. (I'm one of them). Signage and benches at every hole. Two tee pads for each hole. Short and long drives. Great variety and awesome scenery. Kept in great shape. New permanent rubber tee pads will be installed next week. Best course in this area with a close second to "The Sarge"
Cons: A little wet near the putting green after rain.
Other Thoughts: Try to play this course during the "Savannah Open" or "Mosquito Madness" tournaments. Always a good turn out and a bunch of fun. You will need the whole bag of discs for this course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

8/1/2008   8/3/2008
Review By: volleyballnick
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.4 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course, very challenging but a lot of effort has been put in to make sure it is not impossible. Requires players to balance risk vs. safe shots. Well taken care of. Multiple tees for different experience levels. Only two holes really threaten your disc with water and it can be easily avoided with smart shots.
Cons: First and last couple holes under water after storms.
Other Thoughts: Great course, would love to play here any day. Be ready for a challenge.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.