Savannah (Pooler), GA 
Tom Triplett DGC Share
Uploaded By: Marc B. Hole #2 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 318ft.   3 / 376ft.   3 / 376ft.   4 / 484ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Quite a course

1    3/12/2013   3/12/2013
Review By: ervin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tees are varied, and not just longer. They are truly set up in a way to challenge those who want the challenge and play a lot easier for beginners or folks who would rather just take it easy and work on short game. The shots are varied, and the water comes into play a couple times. The drive from the gold tees on 14 is kind of daunting as it goes right over a pond into an alley with a mondo on the right. If you miss your shot, you're not going to part that one. Really an enjoyable round.
Cons: The back three holes were a little hard to find, but that's such a minor concern. I guess the lack of shifting elevations might be a con, but with so many fun shots why complain abou that? I really enjoyed this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent challenge

1    11/28/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: lukejones
Played: 52  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This seems to be a solid semi-pro caliber course with plenty of challenges to keep the round interesting. If I played the course often, I could also see where the multiple tee locations would give a nice variety. Nice to have true par 4's and 5's vs. all pitch and putt par 3's
Cons: Navigation was a bit challenging for our first time playing the course, but we managed decently

Snakes!

Not as many memorable holes as at The Sarge, Trophy Lakes, Honey Creek, and W.R. Jackson course in Appling, but still challenging enough.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't go out of my way to play the course again compared to others we played on our trip, but if I were in the area, I'd definitely stop by as it was fun and decently challenging.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Solid Course In Savannah

2-4    5/13/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very solid course in the outskirts of Augusta. There is a practice basket near hole one as well as a course kiosk and drop box bin which looks like it gets some use. The first couple of holes have some trees and don't look to be easy layup holes, but not pound you into submission holes right off the bat; I like a course that warms me up to the nasty stuff like this one does.The tee signs are incredible and a must in this park or things could get confusing fast. The color coding works well here with painted concrete pieces or wood stumps letting you know which pad you are at and gives you a 'you are here' type of sign and from there you can figure out which tee pad you want to play. Being that you have three different tee pads for each hole you have lots of options for what you can do to make the course interesting every time you come here to play. The designer(s) did an excellent job of making sure each tee pad challenged the skill level of the desired level; usually when multiple tee pads come into play the shorter tee pads are just put in to make something easier but here not so much. The other thing I love here is that there are different tee pads to some holes instead of just long, middle and short tee pads which is a breathe of fresh air to some of us.

I really love the punishing rough here; a lot of courses I've seen in Georgia have the same style of punishing rough that is so needed to challenge approach shots in a necessary fashion. Most of the ground cover is clear ON the fairway and then off the fairway is where you run into the thicker stuff which is the way it is supposed to be.

The mix of trees as an obstacle in an extreme way is used here but still keeping with being fair and though there is luck (there is always luck) it doesn't get to the point where you just throw and pray you make it through; there is a distinct line (or two or three or more) that you need to hit in order to be successful. After that you have the open holes which are trickier than they look. Most of these holes involve out of bounds in the form of paths or water and if thrown in the fairway could result in the disc going too far or skipping somewhere crazy with the rolling hills and drops off near or around the baskets.
Cons: Having multiple tee pads can get confusing to people who don't know their way around and if the course is busy the multiple tee pads can work against you in the form of speed of play. The tee signs helps out but you can still get lost. My second time playing I figured out just about all of the locations of the tee pads but I'm a course bagger and it's kind of my job. :)

When I played hole number six was either missing or taken out for some reason. We searched and searched and searched but never found it or even a sleeve or any evidence of where the hole would be even with the sign telling us distance and where the basket should be.
Other Thoughts: If you get a chance to get to Tybee Island there is an excellent seafood restaurant called "The Crabshack". There they have live alligators that you can feed with a bamboo pole and let's face it how many times can you say you did that in your lifetime? Also you can sit right on the water outside and eat amazing seafood with amazing ambiance. It gets busy on weekends but it is an amazing place.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/21/2012   2/21/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.2 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Best course I've played in GA. Tons of signage and 5 different course layouts makes for a multitude of shots. There's not a boring hole on the course, the par 3's require a little distance or shaping depending on the hole, still makes you work for a birdie. You have pretty much every kind of shot on this course from long wide open fairways to really tight alley ways in the woods. I've never played a round and not found something to go home and work on for next time. Certainly a test for any disc golfer.
Cons: The only complaint I have is from the first time I played and it was a little tricky to figure out some of the tee locations (allow they are all on the signs at the tee pads) there weren't directional arrows pointing to the next tee just pathways. It's not hard to figure out but I could see how playing it for the first time you could get a little turned around. Other than that it's the best course within 50 to 100 miles.
Other Thoughts: This course is maintained by the people who play it and that says a lot when you see how nice everything is from the tee boxes to the painted signs, they've put a lot of work into this course and it shows!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Pooler

1    12/4/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely great designed course. 3 different tees on every hole. The layout of the tees make it more than just distance but a completely different shot between the gold, blue and white tees. Baskets held discs well. Great open shots for the long distance guys and many shots in the words for a finesse player. Both left and right dog legs. Sometimes different on the same hole depending on the tee you chose.

Located in a great park with plenty of other things for those not playing to do. Very easy to get to.
Cons: Almost hate to write a con as much as I enjoyed the round. The tees could be very slippery when wet. I found one just that way. A few tees are just grass.
Other Thoughts: The players in that area should be proud. Simply a must play course if you are in the area. What a great design and tee signs. All three tees had information for the hole.

I would pay a entrance fee to watch someone using only the gold tees shoot par as marked. If you think you are a go for it banger you have got to play the course and challenge the lake.

The park signs say it opens at 8AM but I was there at 7:15 and it was open. The early morning wild life were great to observe.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and fun

5+    10/23/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: Will_S
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Challenging tee/basket positions which make you really think about your shot and a beautifully maintained course
Cons: Get used to hearing discs hit trees! Be careful if you're going later in the evening during summer, there's snakes a spiders abound
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course for all skill levels and probably the best course within 100 miles

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to the Jungle

2-4    6/5/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: johndhjr71
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is gorgeous! Great Tee Pad signs at every tee box. Multiple Tee Pads. I've played the from the Blue and the Red and both were challenging and fun. Good Flow. Practice Basket. I liked the variety of open holes, to tight fairways, to hyzer and anhyzer shots in the woods/jungle.
Cons: Snakes!!! The course has a good flow but could use more directional signs. I had to follow a local to get to the next hole several times. Make sure you bring insect repellant. Can't bring a dog!
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play when its dry. I really enjoyed this course. The first time I played it I wasn't that big of a fan. Played during the Mosquito Madness Tournament and loved, loved, loved it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play In the Lowcountry

2-4    4/22/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: VB Chains
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I play this course every time I go to HHI. Great mix of tees and varying holes. Very fun and challenging cousre for all skill levels. I love holes 2 & 4
Cons: Would be 5 rating if there were concreate tees.
Other Thoughts: If you have the choice between the Sarge or Tom Triplet pick Triplet. It worth the extra few miles. Bring bug spray.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Well maintained and fun course!

1    4/4/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: JMac
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A great mix of dense and lightly wooded holes with a couple of holes to BOMB it on. The best signage I have seen with multiple tee locations and plenty of seating. Most tee's are spread apart so that you get a completely different look at the hole. A great course with good flow and scenery.
Cons: This park is very popular for good reason, so you will need to pay attention to what's around the bend before you RIP IT! Could use a few more trash can's and some of the tee pad's could use some work, like maybe concrete. The course holds a lot of water so give it some time after a good soaking or plan to putt from a puddle.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Championship Stuff... (mostly).

1    2/8/2011   2/23/2011
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 12.9 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Championship Stuff. The middle portion of the Tom Triplett course is packed full of Championship stuff. From Holes 4-14, there are some extremely quality golf Holes, especially the open Holes.
- The Open Holes. As mentioned above the open Holes are championship quality. There are only a few of them on the course, but they give the course a completely different flavor than a completely wooded course and really enhance the overall design.
- Multiple Options for Play. With 5 tee-pads on every Hole, there are multiple options for how you can play the course: Black, Gold, Blue, Red, White. One great thing about the way the multiple tees are laid out is the "triangulation" of the pin to multiple tee-pads so that no one had a longer walk to get to their next tee-pad. (i.e. It wasn't like the short pins were simply shorter than the longs. They played from various angles, completely changing the way the Hole played).
- Signage. Not only did every tee-pad have its own tee-sign, but every hole had multiple next tee signs that easily guided you to your next tee-pad (see also Cons). I would have thought the multiple tee-pads would have created a navigational nightmare, but it wasn't so bad.
Cons:
- Starts and Ends Weak. Considering the level of play that is to be had in the middle of the course, I thought the course started and ended weak. They crammed six Holes into a small out and back section of woods that would have been better served as two Holes in each direction… especially when considering the size of the park and other seemingly available lands.
- Lots of Stuff Out There. The multiple tee-pads are a nice convenience for players of all skill levels… However, it creates a cluttered ugliness out on the course. Multiple tee-pads and tee-signs at the start of every hole and a myriad of next-tee arrows pointing the way at the end of each hole… it just got to be too much. How many tee-pads is too many tee-pads?
- Speeds of Play. When you offer multiple tee-pads that vary greatly in distances, the speeds of play on those Holes are going to be different and can lead to some clustering of groups. It can become frustrating (if playing the longs) to always have the short groups running up on you every hole and wanting to play through.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall… I was really impressed with Tom Triplett and had a really good time. The Championship caliber holes in the middle section of the course were memorable. The weak holes at the beginning and end of the course were forgettable at best. The course is easily accessible from the highway making it a definite road trip course, especially with The Sarge right up the way in SC. Fun times! And, I saw a few armadillos!

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.