Savannah (Pooler), GA 
Tom Triplett DGC Share
Uploaded By: Marc B. Hole #8 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / 308ft.   3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Championship Stuff... (mostly).

1    2/8/2011   2/23/2011
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Championship Stuff. The middle portion of the Tom Triplett course is packed full of Championship stuff. From Holes 4-14, there are some extremely quality golf Holes, especially the open Holes.
- The Open Holes. As mentioned above the open Holes are championship quality. There are only a few of them on the course, but they give the course a completely different flavor than a completely wooded course and really enhance the overall design.
- Multiple Options for Play. With 5 tee-pads on every Hole, there are multiple options for how you can play the course: Black, Gold, Blue, Red, White. One great thing about the way the multiple tees are laid out is the "triangulation" of the pin to multiple tee-pads so that no one had a longer walk to get to their next tee-pad. (i.e. It wasn't like the short pins were simply shorter than the longs. They played from various angles, completely changing the way the Hole played).
- Signage. Not only did every tee-pad have its own tee-sign, but every hole had multiple next tee signs that easily guided you to your next tee-pad (see also Cons). I would have thought the multiple tee-pads would have created a navigational nightmare, but it wasn't so bad.
Cons:
- Starts and Ends Weak. Considering the level of play that is to be had in the middle of the course, I thought the course started and ended weak. They crammed six Holes into a small out and back section of woods that would have been better served as two Holes in each direction… especially when considering the size of the park and other seemingly available lands.
- Lots of Stuff Out There. The multiple tee-pads are a nice convenience for players of all skill levels… However, it creates a cluttered ugliness out on the course. Multiple tee-pads and tee-signs at the start of every hole and a myriad of next-tee arrows pointing the way at the end of each hole… it just got to be too much. How many tee-pads is too many tee-pads?
- Speeds of Play. When you offer multiple tee-pads that vary greatly in distances, the speeds of play on those Holes are going to be different and can lead to some clustering of groups. It can become frustrating (if playing the longs) to always have the short groups running up on you every hole and wanting to play through.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall… I was really impressed with Tom Triplett and had a really good time. The Championship caliber holes in the middle section of the course were memorable. The weak holes at the beginning and end of the course were forgettable at best. The course is easily accessible from the highway making it a definite road trip course, especially with The Sarge right up the way in SC. Fun times! And, I saw a few armadillos!

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Great course and great club

5+    1/15/2011   2/6/2011
Review By: filobedo
Played: 173  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2013
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Fantastic mix of par 3s, 4s and a 5 with 3 sets of tees on most holes. The local club does a great job on the course and with their sanctioned tournaments. The signage is great. Favorite holes include,
#1 - Straight up the middle to basket in the clearing
#3 - Short but challenging par 3 with many trees.
#4 - Signature hole with elevation, elevated green and water and ob by the sidewalk throughout the hole.
#7 long and mid tee are very challenging and entice you to play a great anhyzer shot for rhbh from the long and accurate Roc from mid tee to guarded green.
#9 - Favorite hole from mid and long tees. Long hyzer to open green. You must get out of the shoot which is about 150" to get the disc to turn to the left at the right gap for a 2.
#10 - Plays differently from each teepad. Straight from longs and hyzer for rhbh for the mid tee.
#11 Great tee shot from shorts and mids- Shorts is hyzer from short for rhbh and straight uphill for the lowcountry from mid tee.
#14 - Very long carry over water to small gap from longs tee and straight tight shot from mid tee to guarded green
#15 - One of the tightest holes on the planet, straight and difficult to get a 2 from all 3 tees with basket in the middle of trees.
#17 - Long tee short over the road or up the middle from mid tees with ditch in play.
#18 tight and fun hole with a great open green with chance for a 2 if you get through the tight gap and over the ditch.
Cons: I have played this course around 50 times and lost discs in the middle of the fairway on #1 and #11 due to leaves a couple of times. A spotter is necessary for several holes regardless if you are in the fairway or not due to the abundance of leaves.in the fairway and off.
Other Thoughts: You get to eat BBQ on the Sat of the tourney if you want to!!! Savannah Open is the first B Tier each year normally and one of the best events of the year. 70 degrees and perfect weather but lots of wind normally in January makes it a great way to start the year. The Club also have a great players pack and BBQ lunch on Saturday normally and then a fun Players Party at a BBQ place on MLK. Also, how can you go to Savannah and not hit Pinky Masters! Jukebox is full of WSP and Mikey used to hang out there. The town, club, tournament and course make this a cannot miss event.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 refreshing

1    12/4/2010   12/19/2010
Review By: slavedriverx2
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: i like the distance and the verity of the holes
and there are always people there to compete with
Cons: i hated the first four holes because its to many trees just to many
Other Thoughts: other than that it was a good course i would deffenatly play it again

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    11/6/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: john david
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: awesome layout and design! three tee pads catering to all levels of play! i played all three tees; golds 60, blues 48 and whites 47! scorecards at the main station with a map on the back. loved the main sign with the history of the course with all those who contributed. the course looked really groomed in the grassy areas not so much in the wooded areas-
Cons: tee pads blew. some were rubber, carpet, and natural that all needed help. really loved the carpet but it looked a little ghetto- there were no next tee signs to help navigate---thank goodness for the map on the back. i would never have found some of the tee pads. there were tee signs but some of the distances were way off- #15 in particular. speaking of 15, the entire hole looked forced (design lingo) but there looked like an outside tee which was really neat (just a marker) then there was the gold tee that looked totally out of sink with the rest of the layout. it was so worng they even had to have a double mando to justify it. not enough trash cans-trash and dead limbs in the wooded areas. they had three tees but 5 markers. i'm guessing it was a mixture but you have to ask why! it was confusing.
Other Thoughts: i've heard alot about the course and was excited to play esp. after a long drive-it's right off I95. tee pads were the biggest let down. i took .5 off my score for that, .25 for lack of next tee signs, and .25 off for trash and dead limbs in the wooded areas. looked like the county cut the grass and nobody groomed the wooded areas...?
a note to whoever controls the course, keep it simple! 5 markers on your tee pads?? stick with three and rate them accordingly, get signage that informs you not confuses.
all in all i would rec. the course esp. for those traveling-just get a score card with the map on the back to get where you need to go.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 So many tees! I need to come back...

1    10/17/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 16.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Very scenic, a lot alongside water, without too many opportunities for disc loss.
- Five different sets of tees, grouped varyingly to provide 3 different tee off locations for each hole. I only had a chance to play one of the shorter sets, but seemed placed in such a way as to offer extremely different fairways and shot opportunities for each hole.
-Gold tees are kinda insane, in particular the enormous over-the-lake shot.
-Interesting fairways, a lot of opportunity for tight windows, big bends, long clear straight, and finesse shots. It has it all.
-Tons of trees shelter from the hot GA sun, yet not overly thick.
Cons: - Crowded, lot of opportunities to murder innocent non-dolfers.
- Not much elevation change.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed visiting here on my trip from Daufuskie. Since my mother lives there, I likely will be back again. I certainly need to play it a few more times to give it a proper review. This course is clearly designed by someone who loves the game, and was fun enough to make me love it a little more.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!!

1    9/9/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: bigflicknick
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: beautiful course. open and lots of long shots. is pretty well marked too.
Cons: VERY LONG HOLES. if you cannot throw over 300 ft at a time you will have a long day here. lake in play on a few holes, but there is a long route.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course. I usually play on short technical courses, and it was nice to be able to unload a couple long bombs!!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful course

1    5/22/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: douglat2
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.7 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: beautiful course, at least three tees on every hole. love the shot over the lake. the pin on top of the mound is iconic.
Cons: some tees could be marked more clearly, and some of the wooded shots are pretty congested.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Mostly Great Course

5+    7/8/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: Discgolfplayer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. If you want a tough course you can get that. But if you are starting you can get that as well. The wooded area is very nice and provides a lot of chal. It also looks like a lot of thought was given to each hole being chal. for each skill level.
Cons: Hole tee off locations are difficul to figure out when starting. Sometimes the close prox of each hole makes it tough.
Other Thoughts: Be careful of copperhead snakes when it is warm. Also, you should be careful of the maint. crew. I as well as other golfers have seen them yelling at other golfers about things like parking and dogs. Not sure why dogs are not allowed during play. One in particular who drives around on the cart almost hit me and my child speeding to yell at someone in the parking lot, but the course itself is awesome. Do not let that put you away from this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Paradise in GA

1    6/26/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: zud00
Played: 119  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the greatest things this course has to offer is variety. You've got four tees to choose from, so there is a challege to all skill levels. In additon, the course offers a variety of holes. There are staight, left turning, and right turning holes. Some holes are short, and many are long. There are holes in the open, holes in a sparsely wooded area, and heavily wooded holes. Like I said, there is plenty of variety on this courses.

Tee signs are available (or in the process of becoming available) at nearly every tee station. Many of the tees showed a detailed diagram of the hole with distances as well as all of the tees available at that hole.

Navigation was not terribly difficult as most tee signs pointed you in the direction of the next hole. In addition, there were many "next tee" signs throughout the course pointing you in the right direction. There were a few spots on the pavement where a little spray paint pointed you in the right direction.

Baskets are Innova discatchers, using the yellow band across the top making them easily visible. Also, a practice basket is avaiable before the first tee.

Information board at the first tee along with a disc return box. In addition, a mailbox at the information board was used for flyers and supposedly scorecards (however, no scorecards were in it when I played).

Park extras: nice little playground available for the little ones. Restrooms, nice tennis courts, nice walking path around the lake, picnic tables and a large pavilion.
Cons: Rubber and carpet teepads were used. Footing was never a problem on the rubber pads, however they were not always flat. Concrete pads are the best IMO.

I had a little trouble finding some tees. Not all of the tee signs were in place making it a little difficult to find all tees. Also, since there are 4 tees for most holes, guessing which tee is what was somewhat frustrating after I had walked up to the wrong tee.

Walking path comes into play on a few holes, so keep an eye out for pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: I am still amazed at the variety this course offers. I wish I had more time to play all the tees; it really has a nice mix of holes.

There are a few risk-reward holes where water comes into play. Hole 4 plays along the right side of the pond where every shot for a RHBH player may become trouble with the natural fade of the disc. Hole 14 from the long tees requires a 300'+ drive over water to a landing area. Some of the longer wooded holes are begging for a cannon of a drive, however, accuracy is a must or you will be penalized, so you have to choose to go big or play conservatively.

There are quite a few blind holes on this course, so you may have to walk the hole before playing. Some of the doglegs are so severe, you half to walk nearly the entire hole before seeiing the basket. In addition to these blind holes, many of them had a landing area to shoot for off of the tee; this makes for a great challenging course.

There are a few holes with mandos and some holes had multiple fairways for the different tees. I liked how one hole had two fairways that wrapped around a section of wooded area and both fairways met at the basket.

I really enjoyed this course and the variety it has to offer. There is something for everyone here and with it only being a few minutes off of I95, it is a must play if you are passing through the area. I will definitley be back if my travels allow.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/11/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a very scenic, clean, and challenging course that the locals have obviously put a lot of work into.
-multiple tee areas
-walkways across ditches
-you can grab a course map at the start
-benches
-easy to navigate
-variety of shots needed
This course is convienently located off of I-95 and makes a great day when you combine it with "The Sarge" which isn't far away.
Cons: Just a couple...
-plays a little to close to walk paths which you can't always see if there's someone there
-prepare for bugs
Other Thoughts: There is one detailed tee sign for each hole which maps out all tee pad positions, it's fairly easy to figure it out from there.
Hole #4 was my favorite, a blind shot on a couple hills with the water on the other side.
It easy to get to and too nice to pass up when you're going by. Can't wait to get back there.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.