Savannah (Pooler), GA
Tom Triplett DGC Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #12
3 / 215ft.   3 / 280ft.   3 / 325ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Gold Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Great course

2-4    5/10/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: SmittyDisc
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes, lots of scenic charm, easy to find, multiple tees offer different challenges to every skill level, easy to navigate, well maintained with signs at every tee.
Cons: Close proximity of baskets at the front/back of the course offers a bit of confusion
Other Thoughts: great course with lots of different types of holes, definitely make the stop if you're traveling I-95 through the Savannah area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 TTT-tight Tom Triplett

2-4    3/5/2009   3/6/2009
Review By: Mando
Played: 92  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2009
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy access if you find yourself ever traveling on I-95 and need to stretch your legs. You can even combine a round with a sidetrip into Savannah on the same exit. The next thing you know, you are staying at the MicroTel and playing a second round in the morning.
This is one of those courses that begs to be played twice.
I loved the challenge and variety from the blue tees. The course has a bunch of really tight wooded holes, but I loved each and every one of them. From the blues, the wooded holes were longer and tighter than any other wooded course that I've played. Staying in the fairway is a real challenge.
The long, open holes around the lake were unique featuring a narrow ridge sandwiched between water and a walking path. They were a blast to play as well. The t-pads constructed with carpet were the first I encountered. For someone who likes a level pad, with some give, they were the best I've played on, but they were in the process of converting to rubber which I didn't like as much. Friendly locals.Full amenities.
Cons: Walking path is a little close in places.
Other Thoughts: Reminds me of another Duval design-Rankin Lake. I suspect that this course is more enjoyable during the cooler months when bugs are not an issue in March. It was great fun !

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Modern Typical

2-4    1/11/2009   1/23/2009
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 120  Reviewed: 22
4 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: Course is very challenging and several holes are adjacent to a nice pond. The course requires a wide variety of shots and course management ability. The fourth hole is a well designed par four.
Cons: Sadly hole four and only a couple of others could really be considered "good" holes on the course. The seventh hole from both tee pads as well as eight are absolutely horrendous designs. Actually holes 2,3,7,8,9,10,12,13,14,15 and 18 are all very poorly designed and require way too much luck. Playing this course is like playing a game of poker; sure skill is the most important factor but you have to get lucky too. Shots that are 90% perfect can be met with a triple bogey or worse. Overall the course is just not very much fun.
Other Thoughts: This course is typical of so many courses now-a-days. I will never understand why some course designers look at a corpse of misty undergrowth, flood plain, forest and think "I can build a disc golf course here." As I said the course is challenging but just not fun.

4 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, even better than expected

2-4    12/10/2008   12/11/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 91  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 15.9 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Two teepads per hole, very challenging from the blue tees that i played - the yellow tees still look like fun although i didn't throw them
*Fair fairways - lots of tight holes, but almost all had viable routes to the basket
*Not a pitch n' putt course - all of the par 4's and the par 5 required placement to score a birdies
*Great variety of fairways: some straight, some left, some right - some tight, some open
*Hole 4 is an awesome par 5... i had read about it before playing and it lived up to its stellar reputation
*Plenty of seating & easy to follow for first timer
*Course kiosk/map stocked with scorecards & pencils
*Less than 5 minutes off I-95
Cons: *As mentioned in previous reviews, it gets wet in spots. I threw 5 drives on #5 (fun hole)...and spent 20 minutes looking for 2 of them that were within 30' of the basket but submerged in a ditch
*Teepads aren't concrete, but seemed to work ok - some are getting very worn/muddy
Other Thoughts: I've been hearing about this course forever and finally got the chance to play - totally worth it and I made time to come back for a 2nd round on my way back through.

I played the blue tees and shot 64 & 62. Yellow tees will be fun to try on my next way through. Blue tees were VERY challenging, especially with gusty winds.

I'd rate this a 4.25 - higher than the other courses I've given 4's but not quite a 4.5 - must play if you're passing through, good compliment to the Sarge

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the South East

1    12/5/2008   12/8/2008
Review By: Jonny_Dread
Played: 60  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great club members. (I'm one of them). Signage and benches at every hole. Two tee pads for each hole. Short and long drives. Great variety and awesome scenery. Kept in great shape. New permanent rubber tee pads will be installed next week. Best course in this area with a close second to "The Sarge"
Cons: A little wet near the putting green after rain.
Other Thoughts: Try to play this course during the "Savannah Open" or "Mosquito Madness" tournaments. Always a good turn out and a bunch of fun. You will need the whole bag of discs for this course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A real gem of the lowcountry

5+    1/4/2009   10/9/2008
Review By: 33tango
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Discatcher baskets in like good condition. Large course map at #1 and mailbox with scorecards that have course map on the back of them. Course is well maintained and mowed very regularly by the park crew. Signage is good for hole information and "Next Tee" signs. Tees have been improved again and 20 out of 36 now sport "Fly Pads" rubber tee pads with more to come in Spring 2009. Benches at most if not all holes. Course flows well with it starting and ending at the same point. Fairways are well defined and do not cross. Course is mostly flat with slight grades. Friendly, helpful local club with weekly scheduled bag tag/open and random doubles play.
Cons: The site doesn't allow for a lot of holes with wide open fairways, so for people who like more wide open areas this might be a con. While there are puddles around the first and last three holes during and after a hard rain, I played in a steady rain yesterday and got done with dry socks, so you can avoid the problem unless it's been raiding a solid week then #14 and #16 are fairly wet with standing water.
Other Thoughts: Third set of tees added by course designer on 4/1, they are dirt marked with stakes but will be upgraded as funds allow.

There are blue tees to play from if you want longer play on all holes. People used to a course planted in a wide open field with no trees may consider this a "tight" or technical course, but it is definitely not a "trail through the woods with baskets" The course is not usually crowded, but there will be other people playing it most of the time and can be busy Saturday mornings.

Being able to throw a variety of shots will help you score well here, there are a variety of left and right curving/dogleg holes. Parking is abundant and well lit. The new pavilion restroom facilities are very nice, but locked after hours. There are some older bathrooms that I think stay open but not in great shape.

You will need some control in the woods or you'll be playing pinball with the trees if you get out of the fairway. If you like wide open courses or don't have a variety of shots to use this might not be the course for you.

Don't let the average recorded round of 70 scare you off, most of the rounds recorded were by a really bad novice player (me!) Fair warning this is my home course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

8/1/2008   8/3/2008
Review By: volleyballnick
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.1 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course, very challenging but a lot of effort has been put in to make sure it is not impossible. Requires players to balance risk vs. safe shots. Well taken care of. Multiple tees for different experience levels. Only two holes really threaten your disc with water and it can be easily avoided with smart shots.
Cons: First and last couple holes under water after storms.
Other Thoughts: Great course, would love to play here any day. Be ready for a challenge.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play Course

5/29/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: sfeather
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Despite being natural tees, most of them had colored carpeting in place which gave great footing.

The baskets themselves were in impeccable shape.

The course design is great. Long throwers cannot just rely on their arms to make par.

Each tee has a very beautiful marker with OB and pin placement information.

Ditches had timbers in place to make crossing over easier.

Cons: Despite the signage, a number of the tees were difficult to find.

The only restroom facilities are well past the first tee, near the parking lot.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Course

1    3/6/2008   3/6/2008
Review By: Marc B.
Played: 28  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2011
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Three teepads per hole with 5 possible layouts
(white,red,blue,black,gold). Championship caliber holes with a good mix of open and tight shots. Good flow and easy to navigate. "A" game required to hit lines on wooded holes. Well maintained course with loyal club members. I think the Black layout offers most variety of shots. Course is easy to get to, right off I-95.
Cons: I can't talk too much smack about my home course. Mosquitos are brutal at certain times of year. Some players confused by multiple teepad layouts...just pick one and play them! I particularly like the Black layout.
Other Thoughts: You can play Tom Triplett and The Sarge in a day! Both right off I-95.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Give it a try

12/17/2007   12/25/2007
Review By: mactavius
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Well marked and challenging course with tight fairways in the woods. Great variation in distance from tee to basket.
Cons: Grass tees. Hard to put in words, but the course just didn't wow me.
Other Thoughts: I lost my favorite disc on #4 in the lake. Not the course's fault though.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.