Savannah (Pooler), GA
Tom Triplett DGC Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #6 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 322ft.   4 / 668ft.   4 / 668ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 beautiful course

1    5/22/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: douglat2
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.1 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: beautiful course, at least three tees on every hole. love the shot over the lake. the pin on top of the mound is iconic.
Cons: some tees could be marked more clearly, and some of the wooded shots are pretty congested.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Mostly Great Course

5+    7/8/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: Discgolfplayer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. If you want a tough course you can get that. But if you are starting you can get that as well. The wooded area is very nice and provides a lot of chal. It also looks like a lot of thought was given to each hole being chal. for each skill level.
Cons: Hole tee off locations are difficul to figure out when starting. Sometimes the close prox of each hole makes it tough.
Other Thoughts: Be careful of copperhead snakes when it is warm. Also, you should be careful of the maint. crew. I as well as other golfers have seen them yelling at other golfers about things like parking and dogs. Not sure why dogs are not allowed during play. One in particular who drives around on the cart almost hit me and my child speeding to yell at someone in the parking lot, but the course itself is awesome. Do not let that put you away from this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Paradise in GA

1    6/26/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: zud00
Played: 112  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the greatest things this course has to offer is variety. You've got four tees to choose from, so there is a challege to all skill levels. In additon, the course offers a variety of holes. There are staight, left turning, and right turning holes. Some holes are short, and many are long. There are holes in the open, holes in a sparsely wooded area, and heavily wooded holes. Like I said, there is plenty of variety on this courses.

Tee signs are available (or in the process of becoming available) at nearly every tee station. Many of the tees showed a detailed diagram of the hole with distances as well as all of the tees available at that hole.

Navigation was not terribly difficult as most tee signs pointed you in the direction of the next hole. In addition, there were many "next tee" signs throughout the course pointing you in the right direction. There were a few spots on the pavement where a little spray paint pointed you in the right direction.

Baskets are Innova discatchers, using the yellow band across the top making them easily visible. Also, a practice basket is avaiable before the first tee.

Information board at the first tee along with a disc return box. In addition, a mailbox at the information board was used for flyers and supposedly scorecards (however, no scorecards were in it when I played).

Park extras: nice little playground available for the little ones. Restrooms, nice tennis courts, nice walking path around the lake, picnic tables and a large pavilion.
Cons: Rubber and carpet teepads were used. Footing was never a problem on the rubber pads, however they were not always flat. Concrete pads are the best IMO.

I had a little trouble finding some tees. Not all of the tee signs were in place making it a little difficult to find all tees. Also, since there are 4 tees for most holes, guessing which tee is what was somewhat frustrating after I had walked up to the wrong tee.

Walking path comes into play on a few holes, so keep an eye out for pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: I am still amazed at the variety this course offers. I wish I had more time to play all the tees; it really has a nice mix of holes.

There are a few risk-reward holes where water comes into play. Hole 4 plays along the right side of the pond where every shot for a RHBH player may become trouble with the natural fade of the disc. Hole 14 from the long tees requires a 300'+ drive over water to a landing area. Some of the longer wooded holes are begging for a cannon of a drive, however, accuracy is a must or you will be penalized, so you have to choose to go big or play conservatively.

There are quite a few blind holes on this course, so you may have to walk the hole before playing. Some of the doglegs are so severe, you half to walk nearly the entire hole before seeiing the basket. In addition to these blind holes, many of them had a landing area to shoot for off of the tee; this makes for a great challenging course.

There are a few holes with mandos and some holes had multiple fairways for the different tees. I liked how one hole had two fairways that wrapped around a section of wooded area and both fairways met at the basket.

I really enjoyed this course and the variety it has to offer. There is something for everyone here and with it only being a few minutes off of I95, it is a must play if you are passing through the area. I will definitley be back if my travels allow.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/11/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a very scenic, clean, and challenging course that the locals have obviously put a lot of work into.
-multiple tee areas
-walkways across ditches
-you can grab a course map at the start
-benches
-easy to navigate
-variety of shots needed
This course is convienently located off of I-95 and makes a great day when you combine it with "The Sarge" which isn't far away.
Cons: Just a couple...
-plays a little to close to walk paths which you can't always see if there's someone there
-prepare for bugs
Other Thoughts: There is one detailed tee sign for each hole which maps out all tee pad positions, it's fairly easy to figure it out from there.
Hole #4 was my favorite, a blind shot on a couple hills with the water on the other side.
It easy to get to and too nice to pass up when you're going by. Can't wait to get back there.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Wadin` for discs

1    4/30/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 73  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 5.6 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Three sets of tees are awesome, although signage is almost solely at the long tees. The tee pads are leveled with rubber for the longer tees and carpet on most of the shorter ones. There is a very informative welcome board and disc return next to the first tee. Scorecards are available in the large mailbox with pencils. The fairways are super clean and very clearly defined. The course also plays next to a beautiful lake which comes into play on a few of the holes. The tee signs and next tee signs are placed in very helpful places. There is a good mix of wooded and open shots as well as a fair amount of OB used. There is a practice basket by the first long tee and trash cans scattered throughout. The course is just a great mix of long and short holes and tight and wide open fairways.
Cons: There is a dog walking trail that comes into the fairways on a few holes as well as people just walking the course and not paying attention. The edge of the lake is very deep and deceiving (I took three steps in and was two and a half feet deep). There are a ton of ant hills all over the course; my legs were covered with bites. They have even infested some tee pads. Some of the tee pads on the back nine are tapered to the front and have soggy carpet which makes teeing off hard.
Other Thoughts: There is an exercise trail and playground near the course. The bathrooms are super clean and there is a water fountain outside. Fifteen's tee box is across the road from the basket for hole four.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 One of Georgia's finest

1    1/14/2010   1/15/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1)Framed rubber or carpet tees are generally in good shape. They are a little lumpy but that does not affect confidence when planting your foot for your drive. A few of the pads are deteriorating also with rubber pieces chipping off the teepads but generally are in overall good condition.
2) Scorecards and maps available in the mailbox at the first tee. This is a welcome site because it shows the locals care about visiting players.
3) Kiosk is at the first tee shows tournament info and other postings. The local club also has a lost and found box for lost discs. This is a great idea, that you can say what disc you might have lost and they can open up the box anytime they are there to help people retrieve older lost discs. Just another thing that shows the locals are good and serious.
4) Locals obviously care about their course. It is well groomed and the little things are definitely done by the locals to help out the parks maintenance crews. I saw the maintenance crews trimming trees and doing branch cleanup. I was thrilled because I rarely if ever have seen maintenance crews on any of the courses I have played. I think that the strong local club probably is assisted by the fact that there are only a few courses within 50 miles of Savannah. Obviously this is a fairly large city but with only a few courses to play the group has to unite and be strong. If I were to compare it to Milwaukee, there are even multiple small clubs and even within clubs there are little cliques that don't see eye to eye and there are plenty of courses for us to spread out and take advantage of. Just something I notice when playing other good courses.
5) 3 sets of tees make for 3 different courses. Almost all tees really change the holes, they aren't simply just a longer hole. I love it when they create different courses with different tee locations. Most courses don't do this because it means further tree removal and maintenance. Just another thing that shows the locals take care of the course or the park would not have 3 sets of tees. They also recently made 5 tee colors. In general, I think many of the tees are for multiple colors, but they do have 5 colored markers set on 3 tees per hole.
6) Signs are in great shape. They are laminated and in color. They show Hole #, par, distance and they show an adequate hole layout diagram.
7) Every hole has a bench by it which is positive since I can imagine some slow play on this course when it is busy. Not only are there multiple tees and some that require backtracking, but also because you can get off the fairways and require some disc searching.
8) Course is extremely well designed. It uses wonderful features including some rolling hills, tight wooded areas, the pond comes into play on a few holes including 2 forced carries from the back tees. The front tees diminish the challenge and the risk which is a truly good design concept. It is playable by all skill levels, but beginners may struggle to score well because of how tight most of the holes are.
9) Practice basket is available at the first tee.
10) This is a positive even though I assume it is specifically because of the upcoming "Savannah Open". I wish I would have known I could have played in this tournament as I am sure I would have enjoyed it. Anyways they clearly were doing improvements like adding the 3rd tees, and adding the colored stakes for tee differentiation, painting a pink line around the 30' diameter for putting.
11) This was a really fun and challenging course. I love courses that make me think and I love courses that challenge me to execute tough shots. This is the only way I will get better so I can always appreciate it when a course makes me play better "or else".
12) Bathrooms are available but not in the parking lot by the course. You have to drive southeast of the first tee to another building and find the bathrooms.
13) This course has a good balance of different shaped shots. There are a lot of anhyzers and a lot of hyzers, and almost no holes that are dead straight.
14) The baskets are Innova Discatchers. They are easily found because of the bright yellow. They are in good shape and catch well.
15) This course has an incredible distance variation. It ranges from about 170 all the way up to 975. That is awesome and by far the biggest swing I have ever seen. Most holes are over 300 from the back tees, and the average is somewhere around 400. That makes for a long day especially considering most holes are in some tight woods.
16) It is obvious that this course has a ton of potential. Once they straighten out the whole multiple tee colors and areas get resolved, they will then be able to focus on adding more holes. I think there seems to be tons of vacant property. Perhaps this will one day be a 3 or 4 course property. How awesome would that be?!

17) This course has some wonderful tree selection. There is almost no underbrush and the lower shrubs and plants seem to be well taken care of.
Cons: 1) Some of the carpet and rubber tees are slightly bumpy. I don't feel that they affect the tee shot tremendously, but it is worth noting that they could be in better shape.

2) It is clear this course would be tough in summer. Not only will there be a ton of mosquitos but it has been said there are a lot of fire ants on this course. When I played (January 14th) there were neither so maybe I am just lucky the time of year I travel and play DG.

3) Water although visible is only in play on a couple holes and only then from the long tees. I know hitting the water on Hole #4 could be possible from a forward tee but I would rather have seen a couple baskets tucked right up near the water. There is no reason this isn't possible to do to create some more challenge. They certainly have the land to play a little bit.

4) The bridges that are created for this course are telephone poles laid across the drainageways and trenches and ditches that may or may not have a lot of water in them. I played during what would normally be called the dry season, and there was water in a few of them, and others were still soft and muddy, while the couple on the first and last few holes were bone dry. The bridges are not level, some have seams between poles and could lead to some injuries of those with no balance.

5) The walk path around the park is in play in a few places and forced throws across the path and maintenance path create some chances for danger of innocent bystanders. I don't fault them for the tees on the other side of the road and path because it truly makes those holes better, but nevertheless it could be an issue.

6) With the current setup of having 3 tees (and 5 colors on those 3 tees) there was a lot of confusion. I have no problem with 3 sets of tees, but why do they need 5 colors on 3 tees? It isn't as if they have 5 sets of tees each with their own color. Most of the tees have 2 colors and some have 3 colors per tee. Perhaps this is going to be resolved down the road as they keep expanding. Not only are the tees confusing, but they also used dissimilar colors from time to time. I swear I saw Gold, Black, Blue, White, Yellow, Red, Maroon, and Orange colors. I do not know what all of them mean, especially when there are NO MORE than 3 tees per hole. I cannot take off big points because of this complaint but it is worth mentioning for the time being. Because of these changes it is obvious the tee signs need to be changed, but right now they show only 2 colors of tees Blue and yellow.

7) Course is not beginner friendly because of distance and tightness. The wooded shots are not always just straight away for the forward tees, so it takes a little skill to make the corners appropriately. The course will challenge all skill levels, but it may be a little too tough for a lower rated player.

8) I ran into some barbed wire in a few spots that is a little disturbing. That is something that should be taken care of before anyone goes into certain areas.
Other Thoughts: I am going to forgo this area where I normally summarize because the rest of the review was already very long. Just be sure to play this course when passing through Savannah. I really wanted to give this a 4.5 but because of the tee confusion, old tee signs not giving all information, and the fact that it seems to remain wet for a long time. I could only imagine just how many mosqitos would be there. I will reevaluate this course next time I get through Savannah.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 get off 95, but bring a change of clothes

1    8/4/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to find and convinently close to 95.
Great variety in landscaping and in distances, never monotonous. Multiple tee pads many are rubber some are carpeted. Course was fairly easy to navigate with out map with benches at every hole.
many nice holes like hole 11 which taunts you with a possible ace attempt and the difficult hole 14 which makes you decide if you are going to risk your disc with a 300 ft toss over the water.
Cons: Many of the baskets can not be seen until after the first or second throw. Course was very muddy. Fire ants swarm your disc the second it hits the ground. Some holes play dangerously close to the road and traffic.
Other Thoughts: Course is long, playing alone and jogging from hole to hole will still take you over 45 minutes so plan for a nice long game.
The First 3 holes are played near the playground and it gives the illusion that this is a short course, then you pop out of the wooded area to a risky hole 4 along the water. There are mandos on hole 7 and 13.

There is a chance of disc loss into water, not so much into thorns and foliage.

To find hole 15 you have to go out of the woods, walk between both tees for hole 5, cross the street and find a small trail by the rail road tracks.Tracks are OB. For 16 go behind number 4 and cross the path.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    7/13/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: I3ooI3oo
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 Tee pads per hole change the course a good deal. There is a nice mixture of open long holes and shorter tighter wooded holes. There are 2-3 holes where water can come into play. The holes that play through the woods are well laid out so you need both accuracy and distance to birdie any hole. There is enough shade to stop and cool off in the heat of the summer.
Cons: Lost a disc in the water on 4. Not really the course's fault though. When it says par 5 don't try to get there in 2 you might no make over the water as I didn't.
Other Thoughts: There could be some more maintenance done to keep the signs in better shape. The locals I ran into let me play with them the first round and showed me where the pins were when they were blind shots. I would recommend this course to anyone going up I-95 past Savannah as the course is only 3 minutes from the interstate.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Little Gem

1    7/4/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tom Triplett DGC is very conveniently located just off I-95 and it set in a nice 200 acre park with a lake. There are three sets of tee pads that not only change distance, but they give you a completely different look (very different in some cases). The baskets, benches and seating are all very nice and above average. Even on my first trip to the course, I had no real problems navigating the course. The local disc golfers are also very friendly and active. Heck they even have a little mailbox with score cards and an information kiosk.
Cons: The shortest set of tee pads (white) are only staked on natural terrain. The other tee pads are a mix of carpet and rubber and some are getting a little worn, but I am just being nitpicky here. Other reviewers have said there is a bug problem and it can be a little marshy, but I didn't experience that at all so I can not validate that.
Other Thoughts: Tom Triplett DGC is a really nice DGC that gives you tons of options. From the back tees you get a 7,887' course (average of 438' / hole) that plays fairly long and really brings water into play on a few holes. From the intermediate tees, the course is a medium length course that plays around 5,590' (average of 310' / hole) and is challenging, but not overly tough (I am a 840-860 player and shot at +1 first time on the intermediate tees). The intermediate tees also remove any really threat of water except on hole 4 where a backhanded drive (RHBH), that is allowed to hyzer out, will get you wet. The other option is to flirt with OB on the right hand side (walking path). The shortest tees are really only beginner tees as they only play around 4,633' (average of 257' / hole). They wouldn't be that much of a challenge to an intermediate or better player (850+ PDGA rating), but still gives newbie's a chance to have fun and also provide intermediate golfers with a "quick 18." I really like Tom Triplett and would say that is well worth playing and even a short drive to get to. I had a blast and wish I could take it with me to Tallahassee.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 When in Savannah...

2-4    11/11/2008   6/13/2009
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.8 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the first course I ever played, and it made me want to play more. It also frustrated me because I lost my shiny new disc in the lake on #4. That pretty much sums up the course: it is full of interesting and tricky holes. (I love #15.) The tees are not concrete, but they're flat and (mostly) well marked. The signs are fine, and benches are at most holes. The locals are friendly and, if you can take the summer heat in Savannah, the course will challenge you without exhausting you. The alternate tees do not just add distance, they add major risk/reward decisions.
Cons: Mosquitoes the size of airplanes. I could actually hear the impact when they landed on my bag. You should bring a servant to carry Citronella buckets if you play near dusk. Any other cons are minor: some alternate tees are hard to find. There are few trash cans. Some of the tees and signs are worn, and some fairways can get marshy when it rains (which exacerbates the mosquito issue).
Other Thoughts: I try to play this course whenever I visit Savannah. For other visitors: it's a 20 minute drive from the touristy part of Savannah. Give yourself some extra time. Also, in a town crammed full of spacious parks, this is the only course - lucky thing it's a good one.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.