Waco, TX 
Woodway Park Share
Uploaded By: kette_master Hole #8
3 / 330ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Glad I Stopped By

1    5/27/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: McC.Alexander
Played: 34  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +concrete tee pads
+park map at start
+beautiful view, well taken care of park
+not crowded or busy
+can hang DG bag on tee signs (a plus in my book)
+good use of elevation, trees, and lake
Cons: -baskets could use some up keep (but Ive seen worse)
-several short holes makes for easy birdies
-the short holes feel a bit repetitive
-fairly open off of the lake so it can be windy (it was crazy windy when I played)
Other Thoughts: not an overly challenging course but I enjoyed the pit stop on my way home from camping. It was very peaceful park with a few people coming and going on the memorial day holiday but it was not busy at all. during the hour or so it took me to play a full 18 there was one other couple on the course.

TIP1: take a picture of the map at hole 1 on your phone before playing for the first time. due to size constraints the layout can be confusing.

TIP2: hole number one is at the top of the hill in the middle of the park near the pavilion. if you park on the lake-ward side its a shorter walk to hole 1

I would recommend playing here but the locals might have different recommendations.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation & Lake Wind = Great Course

1    3/13/2010   3/17/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Woodway Park has an interesting mix of elevation shots, a few tight lines, as well as open air holes for big arms. The elevation itself is a natural ridge along the lakeside and the designer maximizes the play back and forth over the hill. While no elevation shot is dramatic, it's is a constant presence, which is great bonus on this northern edge of hill country. The concrete tees are nice and the signage is basic, but better than nothing. There is a good course flow, and even without the big map at hole one, you'll be able navigate without much problem.

If you are a fan of ace runs, there are multiple opportunities, but at the same time, trees are well placed so you will have to be accurate. The overall look of the park is fantastic along the waters of Lake Waco, and the whole place is very well maintained. There is a playscape for the kids, but there are no restrooms so be prepared.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #17
Cons: I talked to a local who referred to the course and Windway since you always have lake effect wind even of a calm sunny day. This is very apparent along the water and on top of the course. And while it's a beautiful layout, it's fairly straight forward with no real epic holes.

As already mentioned, there are no bathrooms and it's a long winding drive to get to the park that is oh so close to the highway. The signage could definitely be improved, and although the grass is well maintained, there are no trashcans or facilities other than the playscape that is precariously close to the first hole.

WORST HOLE/S: #6
Other Thoughts: Woodway is a quality course, and due to the construction going on at William Cameron Park and Cameron Park East, is the most complete course in the Waco area. Even though no particular hole stands out in the crowd - it's worth noting that there weren't any holes that I thought were throwaways. This is the perfect course for a casual round to help build the skills necessary when playing elevation and wind.

Ultimately, Woodway Park didn't blow me away, but it will make you better and is still easy enough for the casual amateur to have a great time. but is certainly a place I would love to tackle again whenever I'm in the Waco area. I think it's underrated since most Waco disc golf talk is centered on "The Beast," so just don't forget about it when you're here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Woodway

5+    10/30/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: vcadd
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 30.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My first impression of this course was that it was a short and open course.It has a good number of ace opportunities with what seems like alot of open ground.
It is actually pretty challenging.The trees are well placed,almost every basket is on or near a major slope,and the wind is usually a factor.
Always worth the trip.
Cons: Having to play #16(you have to throw through an opening less than 6 feet wide about 20 feet in front of the tee at a basket next to the lake)
Other Thoughts: If your inspection is expired or you have a tail light out you will be pulled over going through the neighborhood.Do not speed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Woodway

5+    8/12/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sweet course with lots of elevation for this part of the state. The course sits atop a "mound" and uses it very well. Almost every hole has some sort of elevation as do most greens. The shot variety is there as well ranging from wide open boomers to short tight shots. Nice concrete teepads and good baskets as well. There is a map at hole 1 which helps the new people to the course. Good shot selection that challenges all shots in your bag. Very easy to follow even without the map. You go back near your car so that you can refill your drinks on a hot day. Great views of Lake Waco! Camping near by. Never real busy so that you can play at your own pace and try different shots without holding anyone up as well.
Cons: The tee pads ae just numbers with hand written distancres. No shade!! Can get windy on certain days. It can get very hot. Kind of out of the way from the other 2 courses in town.
Other Thoughts: This course is a good change from the other 2 courses in town with camping on the grounds. Play either early or late in the day to beat the afternoon heat.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    11/23/2008   11/24/2008
Review By: ShaZaun
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course flows freely. I was shocked not to see more people playing this hidden gem. The course is fun and still remains semi-challenging. Nicely wooded and very scenic with the lake in the background. Some of the holes are pretty easy birds which is nice to build the confidence up.
Cons: Trrees.... no need to say more.
Other Thoughts: A great course to play on with several of your DG buddies and have a blast!!!! Bang the chains!!!!!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Woodway not so bad

5+    11/18/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: sub ceroh
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Woodway has everything you are looking for, uphill, downhill, wooded, open area, across the street shots. Good quick course once you are familure with the tees and there is a map on site. All the tees and baskets are there and marked. Very beautifly seanic area. I usualy play at sunrise and it realy makes for an awesome game.
Cons: Easy to get lost from basket to tee and you may not be familure with 7b and 17b
Other Thoughts: Waco's highley under rated course. (woodway police often patrol this area and scare some 420 friendly players away)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.