Leander, TX 
Williamson County DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    3/11/2013   3/20/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You can tell they take great pride in this course. I always appreciate a nice map at the beginning of a course. They have long holes that cut through the woods and even have stone pathways between holes to make it easier to navigate. I loved the first holes that were very tight and challenging. The back holes opened up a little bit more. Hole 10 was a rediculous hole being over 700ft and doing a complete"s" shape. There are a few birdie holes that you have to take advantage of in order to shoot well. In my opinion the front 9 was way better than the back9.
Cons: In my opinion the back 9 got a little repetitive and lost my interest. Where the front 9 gave tight holes throughout the woods at different lengths. I felt like the back 9 you shot out of a gap into open space on almost every hole. The grass on the back 9 was also a little overgrown.
Other Thoughts: I would of rated this course a 4.5 if the back 9 reflected the front 9. The back 9 just became too repetitive and was such a let down from the awesome front 9.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wilco is a special treat

1    10/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a LOT to like about Wilco. It has a very fun, unique feel to it. The holes vary a lot in their look and there are many very cool trees. It's really a joy just to walk the course. I keep expecting to see Leprechauns or giant-sized ginger bread houses or something on the course. Tough to put into words, but it's my new favorite place to play in the Austin area, even if the challenge is a bit below some of the others.

Wilco provides a very good light blue (white/blue) level challenge. The course is very beginner friendly and still lots of fun for advanced players. There is a good variety to the shot shapes required. (I disagree with the "lefty friendly" comments by some of the other reviewers.) The fairways are very fair and the punishment from the rough is appropriate to provide good risk/reward opportunities when deciding how far to try and throw off the tee. Most of the long 3's and multi-shot holes have me thinking about throwing a fairway driver or even a mid-range instead of a high-speed driver.

The hole #'s near the tees are quite easy to spot from a distance and the paths between holes are nicely lined to make course navigation very easy. The tee pads and baskets are all top-notch. The course has recently re-opened after an extended closure and the maintenance is very good. The course gets high marks for aesthetics and fun.

The course costs $1 to play. Yes, this is a "Pro". The money that golfers put in the box will go towards maintaining and possibly improving the course. If we don't pay, who should?
Cons: Wilco could benefit from a second set of tees. The course is a bit too easy for blue level players and gold level players will kill it. This is not a major con, but worth a mention. The course is pretty much flat as a pancake.

There are a couple places where the holes crowd each other a bit. From hole 1, the walk is behind hole 4's basket to hole 2. It's not a safety hazard, but is distracting for players approaching on hole 4. Hole 8's tee is very much in play on hole 7. The course doesn't loop back to the start after 9 holes.

The course is situated in a pretty low-lying area. As a result, it is susceptible to lots of standing water following heavy rains. The county is pro-active and closes the course to play under such conditions. Be sure to call the number before heading out to play.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend Wilco to anyone visiting the area. Please pick up litter as you play and enjoy!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wilco

5+    4/6/2012   4/7/2012
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is THE course to play in this part of the Austin area. It places a premium on disc placement and accuracy and will challenge the play of any disc golfer. The holes all have concrete tees. There are lots of tables and benches as well as trash cans. I like the number of left and right holes on this course. Holes 1 and 2 are short shots as kind of warm-ups before you get to the first two par four holes of 3 and 4. Hole 5 is a short throw around some trees before tackling number 6 which has more trees and is a par 4 dogleg right. With the exception of hole 10, which is a 784 foot left and right par five drive to the basket, most of the rest of the holes are short shots through trees or open fairways. Exceptions to this are holes 9 and 15, which are doglegs right and will challenge a golfer to place their throws just right to obtain birdie or par. Hole 14 is a wide open grip and rip 600 footer as well as 16 and 17. Hole 18 is a 600 foot straightaway that a golfer could possibly throw a good straight shot, but they would have to watch out for the trees that encroach on the fairway in a couple of places. Great course. Excellent layout. The course is pay to play, but $1 is well worth the price for this excellent disc golf experience.
Cons: The only con I can see is a reference to another reviewer: The course seems to favor the LHBH or LHFH player. This can be dealt with easily though with some well thought-out and well placed shots.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, you owe it to yourself to play this course at least once. I am willing to bet that, once it is played, you will want to come back again. I know I did and will do so several times more.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Wilco Regular

5+    11/2/2011   11/4/2011
Review By: Robrasta
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Generally wooded course but great for all skill levels. Hole lengths not terribly long (except for #10) but dog legs and trees demand variety of shots/skills. Easy navigation,well marked trails (follow the stone-lined paths), relatively condensed layout,and overall natural setting make this a solid course. Not uncommon to see youngsters and other family members tagging along with golfers for the walk in nature.Plentt of parking across main park drive and other activities inside huge county park.
Cons: * No elevation changes or water in play.
* Could use more trash cans
* Lots of cactus and thorn bushes throughout course- just off of fairways. I usually leave the shorts and sandals behind.
* Rocks strewn throughout fairway on some holes. Ive twisted the ankles more than a few times.

Other Thoughts: Happy to say WCDG is my home course and dont mind paying the $1 fee to play. Course is well maintained and WILCO PARKS and REC is in the process of moving their headquarters right next to the course which will hopefully translate to continued upkeep.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Wonderful Course

1    3/16/2011   3/16/2011
Review By: thshistory
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course in terms of shot selection and hole variety. Hole one may have been my favorite. It gets a little heavy on the trees but a course in great condition. It is obviously cared for.
Cons: Needs more trash cans. The thing I hate to see is trash on a course. Common' disc golfers. take care of your courses even if you have to carry your trash a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course, well laid out. Worth the drive and one dollar fee. There is little elevation if you like that kind of thing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Dollar. For sure.

2-4    1/7/2011   1/9/2011
Review By: C-Van
Played: 85  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent course, lots of different styles of holes. There was obviously a lot of trees in the course, but there were 3 or 4 holes that had a limited number of trees on it and that allowed you to just rip the disc. Really challenges you and forces you to work many kinds of throws.
Cons: Only one trash can, I had to carry my cup about 9 holes before I could throw it away, this made for some litter in some of the trees along the course, which bothers me. Maybe they don't need a trash can at every hole, but at least every other hole. There are about three holes there in the middle of the course that are very similar, which makes one wish for some variety.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely wonderful course that really challenges you, and makes you a better disc golf player. Easily worth the dollar.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Flatter and Tougher than you'd Think

1    9/4/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Williamson County DGC is tough - nuff said. This Houck design left no angle unexplored and no path ungroomed. He did however leave just about every tree in the area started with. Holes range from 210' to over 800' if you measure from the distance on the hole markers. Hole #10 is especially brutal, taking most players three decent throws just to have a look at the basket.

The course looks perfect, with mulched covered, rock lined pathways. The tight fairways are very well defined and the overlapping design wasn't bad to navigate for the first timer because of this fact. The tees are concrete and marked with huge rocks and a metal hole number attached, which are great looking and easy to spot from a distance.

The course is also dead flat, so families or people pushing strollers won't have a difficult time getting through it. Plus, this is part of a larger park complex, so there are things to keep the family busy while you hit a round. Finally, the ample trees provide a great shade barrier in the hot Texas summer.

BEST HOLE/S: #10
Cons: For being so well groomed - I was surprised at the lack of seating and trashcans. Given the entry fee, you'd think trashcans would have been a priority. There was a lot of trash by most tee boxes, and there were multiple times I wished there was a large rock to rest on like you'd see at Circle C Metro Park @ Slaughter Creek.

I think John Houck has never met a tree he didn't like. I love a tight and technical course, it keeps things interesting, but more than once I found myself thinking one or two more trees gone from the fairway would have been a good thing. I think a line down the fairway should be more about skill than luck because I'm not a fan of pinball golf.

Although the length, foliage density, and varied lines keep things interesting, there is nothing unique or defining about this course as there is with many Austin courses. The place is dead flat and bone dry. Also, the layout intertwines on itself many times, so even though things are well maintained - a first timer should still print a map.

Finally, a dollar isn't a big deal, and I was happy to contribute, but I know many people get turned off by having to pay to play. It's on the honor system, so I'm sure you could get away with not paying, but the money goes back into making the course better so just pay up and enjoy your round.

WORST HOLE/S: #16
Other Thoughts: No one can argue that Wilco presents a significant challenge to most disc golfers with its tight lines and unforgiving rough. However, with the lack of elevation, water, or any other defining features, most holes felt forgettable. I had a great time playing, my abilities were pushed, and by the time it was over - I looked back to couldn't tell you much of what I just did.

Usually, I can close my eyes and picture each hole played, but here you just picture a rugged tree-filled landscape. This isn't really a pro or con as much as it is simply an interesting observation about Austin courses. I suppose a person can get so spoiled playing East Metro Park, Circle C, Twin Parks, the Circle R courses, and various other Austin area disc golf beauties, that often times things simply meld together into one atypical hill country course. It's just that here - it was all country and no hills.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/16/2009   1/16/2010
Review By: Scoot_er
Played: 123  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.7 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good variety including 4 challenging par 4s and 1 very tough par 5.

There are plenty of chances for 2s as well if you have a well rounded game and your accuracy is on as there are a few linked birdie holes under 300ft. These include 1-2, 7-8, and 11-13.

The course ends with the moderate difficulty par 4 14th then the tough but birdiable 15-17 with a nice technical par 4 to finish on 18.

Overall the course offers both variety in hyzer/anhyzer holes but also in the use of short technical and long more open shots that require accurate placement. Every Hole on this course could see a 2 stroke swing and that is what makes it so great.
Cons: Thorns can be a little rough if you get off the fairways and the course could use some more trashcans.

Also a few Olse holes that favor a short sidearm over a controlled anhyzer with an angled line.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that is not too brutal for someone of intermediate level but also sees few rounds under par even from Pro players.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Heart of Texas course, playing through mixed woods, rocks and hill country underbrush

2-4    5/15/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 214  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An incredibly well-balanced and enjoyable course just outside of Austin. Nestled in a beautiful, newly built park near upscale neighborhoods, I was surprised a park like this included a disc golf course, but I was very grateful for the time and attention to detail demonstrated in putting this course into the ground.

Before the first hole, you pony up to the big welcome board, put your $1 in an envelope (honor system), check out the course map, and mosey on your way. Though they were out of maps and scorecards when I was there, according to locals, maps/scorecards and usually available at the kiosk.

I had the fortune of meeting up with two locals who showed off the course -- a pair of brand new UT grads -- who were enthusiastic about being out there. My thanks to them both. It made the round a lot more fun, but I think that with the map I would have found my way between holes, even without their help (though signage is lacking).

The course offers a great mix of par 3s and 4s, with all kinds of distances and twists and turns. It does favor forehand/lefty shots by a slight margin on total holes overall (by my count, 5 holes favor lefty, 4 holes favor righty, 9 holes are straight or have both L/R options). As someone who prefers forehand shots, its nice to see a course that is well-balanced (or even slightly favors lefty shots), since most courses tend to be designed in favor of RHBH shots... or are so open that it doesn't matter at all what you throw.

Williamson Country DGC (WC) is incredibly balanced and well-laid out. paths between holes sometimes overlap but there is minimal walking between holes and you are never throwing at someone. Excellent flow throughout the course, and exceptional use made of available land from what I could tell.

Virtually zero elevation to speak of anywhere on the course, but natural fairways are maximized and course is incredibly well maintained. Most of the paths between holes are wide, rock-lined and freshly mulched, which adds a sense of professionalism and style to the course.

Underbrush is thick enough to harshly penalize errant shots, but isn't so leafy and dense as to lose discs. A very nice balance, IMHO. Trees are fair throughout and fairways are well-defined. Luck isn't really a factor out here, and this course should play well to all skill levels.

All in all, an incredibly fun place to play -- challenging enough to keep someone coming back, but not overly frustrating.

Cons: * Tee signs need hole distances. This is a great drawback -- no distances on scorecard either. I need to know how far I'm throwing.

* Better signage needed between tees. Locals and map help, but it still wouldn't hurt to have a few more arrows.

* $1 course fee is annoying -- totally worth it (I'd pay $5 easy to play this course, maybe $10), but with all the free courses, this is still worth mentioning. Though $1 will never stop me from playing a course. I'd be happy to pay $1 per round everywhere in the country if all the courses were this good.

* Flat is a drawback for me -- I wish there was some elevation on the course, as it would add another dimension to play.

* Course doesn't circle back to the cars until 18, so take everything you need for the round when you start.

* Course lacks secondary tees or baskets, which could increase replay value and add options. An excellent one-layout course, but could be improved with secondary teepads or pins.

Other Thoughts: Truly one of the most fun courses I've played in a long time. I enjoyed every hole on this course and way grateful to get to play it twice. Scores of 59/62 weren't great, but weren't too embarrassing. Lots of birdies to be had if you're game is on for the short precision holes.

This is just an awesome course -- especially for Texas. Possibly the most pure fun to play of any of the Austin courses. East Metro Park (Manor) is a better tournament course, but this is more fun for everyday play. Can't wait to get back down here.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Wilco

5+    3/30/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: Dude
Played: 139  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wilco is an extremely well designed course. It's hard enough so most pros will find challenges yet fair enough so newer players can stay on the fairway and get there eventually.

As a right handed player, Wilco has really forced me to learn how to throw a long forehand (or flick) shot.Yet there are times when you have to throw an anhyzer.

The best thing about Wilco is that you will get to work on every aspect of your game. You will have to maintain some accuracy to work around the trees in some of the fairways. There are both left and right skip shots that can come into play. The aforementioned RH forehand shot is key. I find that a roller works extremely well on hole 5. And you have to show some restraint on many of the holes...yet there are a good number of holes where you can let em rip.

Very protected from wind for the most part so on those windy days where it would be brutal trying to play some of the other parks, Wilco provides a nice respite...though when you get to the last 5 holes it opens up a bit so you get to face some wind challenges as well.

One of the things I love the most is that the short and long holes, for the most part, alternate so it almost eases you into the round. Then after the Beast (i.e. hole 10) there are 3 short holes that give 3 ace run opportunities, or hopefully birdies. We like to call these the turkey run holes b/c you very well could get 3 birdies in a row...which after 10 might bring you back down to an acceptable score. lol

Extremely flat terrain and there are no water hazards (also both a bit of a con as well.) Although it seems to be more crowded lately the players out here seem to be knowledgeable and respectful. Large groups tend to let people play through a bit more willingly than some of the other courses in town.

Very well maintained.
Cons: These are all very minor complaints for the most part and they don't really detract from the play in any way.

No distances at teeboxes. Lack of scorecards. Too few trashcans on course. Closed if it's rained in the last couple days...though it does get muddy so it's not too bad. Though it would be nice if there were some way to check online before committing to the drive.

Extremely flat terrain and there are no water hazards (also a pro if you're not looking for these things)
Other Thoughts: This was my favorite course in town prior to East Metro in Manor. It is challenging and it really forces you to become an overall better player.

Concrete teepads. $1 fee for course maintenance is well worth it. Close enough to Cat Hollow and the newer Brushy Creek course to get in a lot of rounds in on a single day.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.