Leander, TX 
Williamson County DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course that is never busy

2-4    1/31/2013   2/4/2013
Review By: Throbbert
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great level of difficulty to make the game challenging, but not too hard or too long.

Lots of over hang and tree so it helps you focus on keeping your disc down. Great place to practice that if you have the problem with throwing your disc too high as I do a lot.
Cons: Lots of trees can make some holes a pain if you are not lucky.

Foot tall grass surrounding most holes. If you do not have a spotter or a brightly colored disc it can be easily lost.
Other Thoughts: Make sure and have a spotter for most every throw so you don't lose your disc. A lot easier to do that you would think.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    12/15/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 112  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 2.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -When walking through this course, it is easy to see that a lot of work was put into making this course look beautiful. The tees are all clearly marked by big rocks. The "fairways" are all mowed and the course feels very clean.
-The concrete tees are very long, wide and in great shape.
-This course is very challenging. A lot of holes go from left to right which adds challenge that a typical average course can not offer.
-I really enjoyed the hole variety at Wilco. The holes alternated from in the trees 200'-250' to out in the open 400-780' where you can really rip your disc.
-The course is very easy to follow. There is usually a rock path going to the next tee.
Favorite Hole: #18
Cons: -The course itself does not have many cons. I did not find any water fountains on the park site to fill water bottles.
-There were maybe four trash cans on the entire course. This is a very beautiful course and I would hate to see it be littered because people cannot find trash cans to throw their trash in.
-This is not a good course to bring your buddy to on his first time. It is a tough course even for the more advanced player.
-A few of the tees are very close to the previous hole. The biggest example of this in my mind is how close tee #3 is to hole #2.
Other Thoughts: This was my first course, and right now, only course to play in Austin. I was very impressed by it and I think this is one of the nicer courses I have played.
If you are in the north part of Austin, Wilco is a definite must play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wilco from a Pro's Perspective

5+    12/17/2012   12/17/2012
Review By: jonnypATX
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The amount of work put in by the local club and county is amazing. Rock lined walking paths, boulders for tee signs and a unique layout make this the best in the area. High quality concrete tee boxes with very little lip allow the player to concentrate on making a shot versus thinking about footing. There's been a lot of talk about this being a Lefty course - yes, if you're RH, you will need a forehand or a good anhyzer but any good course forces you to make a variety of shots. A course designed by a pro for pros but still allows an Am to improve and challenge themselves.
Cons: Not much - trash cans would be nice but it's clearly stated on hole 1 that its a pack it in pack it out course. Pay for play is no big deal...that fee basically pays county staff to ride a gator to pick up lazy folks trash. The course will be closed after a heavy rain which is actually a pro now that I think of it because it prevents errosion and wear and tear.
Other Thoughts: It is Centex so rocks, cedar, cactus and mesquite are everywhere so I don't blame the course. This course is a jewel and plays true. I encourage anyone visiting Cedar Park or Round Rock to come play a round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    6/28/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: puttinhutton
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful Houck design. It's a heavily wooded tract that requires careful shot shaping and accuracy.The course is well shaded and, except for two holes, each hole is unique.

There are several features of this course that make it exceptional in my opinion.
1. Most of the holes have multiple alleys or multiple options making course judgment critical. The par 4 and 5 holes have a number of different route options.
2. It will test your shot making ability. The alleys are tight enough to make accuracy more important than length on most of the holes. But they are not too tight that you feel confined. If you rated it on an open to tight scale of 1-10, most of the holes are in that very desirable mid-range of 4-6.

Holes: This is how I plan to play it, but sometimes the trees have other thoughts. Shot descriptions are for a "rightie".
#1, par 3 has birdie possibilities with two approaches to the hole, a gentle annie from the left or a slight hyzer from the right. I prefer the hyzer with a skip up to the hole when I'm lucky enough to thread the trees about a 120 feet from the tee. I usually throw my Valk.
#2, par 3 has ace possibilities if you go at it straight, but you have to negotiate horizontal limbs that make it a bit of a crapshoot. Sometimes I'll just go for it straight on with a Sidewinder. I prefer a hyzer to the right with a Wraith or Katana kept low under the tree canopy turning a hard left with a skip to the basket.
#3 is a lazy S par 4 with birdie only possible for the long throwers, if your lucky. I'm happy with par. The drive needs to be a slight hyzer as long as you can throw it and still hit the fairway. Left is death in the cedars. Right makes your next shot a more difficult throw with more left to right action. A juniper on the right guards the approach to the hole and if it eats your disc, good luck. It can put you in jail. A large oak tree guards the left approach to the hole.
#4, par 4 can be real trouble. You need a slight annie low and straight under the tree canopy and missing the tree guarding the landing area to the right. A forehand is also a good shot if you have the length. The hole then sharply doglegs to the right. If you can pull off another low straight shot and avoid the trees guarding the hole, you may have a putt for birdie 3. You will be happy with a par, especially if your drive is less than ideal. I like my Sidewinder or Valk off the tee and my Valk or Sirius Orion LF for the second.
#5, par 3 is a birdie hole with two options to the hole. I prefer the right hyzer shot between the two trees just off the tee. You need to miss the tree guarding the alley at the turn to the left and skip it up to the hole. I use my Katana. The straight alley is a tight shot all the way to the hole.
#6, par 4 is a low, gentle annie threading the needle all the way and avoiding the tree guarding the middle of the landing area. Or you could take the right alley which is tighter for me. I like the Valk or Sidewinder. If you have this shot, you are at the turn on this hard dogleg right, and the next shot is straight through another tree alley with a late fall back to the left to the basket. Again, I like the Valk or Sidewinder. If you can pull off two really good shots here you have a chance for birdie. You will be happy with par 4.
#7, par 3 is a slight annie to an open fairway but preferably to the left side of the fairway tree. If you have a long drive you may have a birdie opportunity. Otherwise you have a short forehand flip or backhand annie to the hole.
#8, par 3 is reachable, but relatively tight, with the tightest area near the hole. I like the Sidewinder here.
#9, par 3 is a straight drive to an open area with a sharp dogleg to the right at the hole. Unless you have some long putts in your bag, or maybe a long forehand drive that skips hard right up to the hole, you are happy with par. I like my Valk here.
#10, par 5 is the signature hole and will bring you back for retribution. Most likely, the hole will have the retribution. It is a long "S" and you need a long straight drive through the tree tunnel if you expect to par. I like the Valk, or maybe the Sirius Orion LF if the wind is up a little. If you can pull this off, your next shot is a low hyzer that must take a fairly sharp left turn and still avoid two trees in the fairway. I like the Katana or Wraith. Then a backhand with a Sidewinder (or hard forehand for those who can) as the fairway falls back right. But you need to stay to the left side and avoid trees on the left and right. If you have pulled off these shots successfully, its a relatively short approach and putt for a par 5. I can't imagine making a birdie on this hole, but I know it's been done.
#11, 12 and 13 are birdie holes and you need to make two out of three to expect to score well out here.
#11, par 3 is a relatively short forehand flip with trees guarding both sides of the alley. I flip the Surge or Wraith.
#12, par 3 is straight away, moderately tight, not long and aceable. But don't overshoot or you may end up in jail. To go for it or not to go for, that is the question. Sometimes I go for the ace. But I usually let it skip up to the hole for a birdie try.
#13, par 3 is a low backhand hyzer that will hopefully skip up to the hole which is guarded by small trees. Rocks in the fairway and the tight alley make skipping a challenge. I like my Sirius Orion LF.
#14, par 4 is a long, relatively open drive hopefully close to two oaks with cedars at the base (heinous) framing the approach. I usually throw the Wraith for the drive because of the prevailing headwind on this relatively open hole. The approach to the hole is a blind backhand annie, or forehand flip. If my drive is positioned right, I usually go with the Sidewinder annie. If you've got these shots, birdie is a possibility. But par is welcome.
#15, par 3 is like #9.
#16, par 3 is straight away and more difficult than it first appears. It's not particularly tight, but if you miss the fairway you will pay for it because of some strategically located cedars and mesquite trees(watch out for the thorns). There's a small tree in the middle. If you have a monster arm you may have a birdie opportunity, but I can only dream of that. I throw the Sirius Orion LF up the right alley and hope it misses the small cedar on the right side about 260 feet down the fairway before it breaks back to the fairway. Be careful with the approach because the cedars on the right can grab it and turn your anticipated par into bogey very quickly.
#17, par 3 is a sharp dogleg left with an open fairway, a large tree on the right, and two alleys to the hole, one short and one long. If you have a gorilla arm, I expect you have a chance for birdie by going the long route with a backhand hyzer skipping to the hole. But the reality for most of us is to set yourself up for a clear approach to the hole and hope for a short putt for par. I like the Katana for the drive.
#18, par 4 is another truly phenomenal par 4 hole. There are two alleys off the tee, one straight and one to the right. I prefer the straight shot with a Valk. If you have a long straight drive, and another long straight and low second between or around several trees including two trees guarding the landing area, you may have a long putt for birdie. Most of us will be happy with a par.

Cons: The land is very flat and there are no elevation changes. The rough areas are generally very dense with a few too many junipers for my taste. Despite the good efforts of the Williamson County parks crew, a number of oaks have died likely due to soil compaction (with disc hits also taking their toll).
Other Thoughts: The course is closed during wet weather to help avoid soil compaction. This is one of my favorite courses in the entire Central Texas area and I am happy to call it my home course. Being that it is on the outskirts of Austin, it is not as heavily played as other Austin courses which keeps it in better shape. There is a $1 fee on the honor system.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

tite

5+    11/30/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: WhoMikeDank
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this course has cement tees and challenging fairways. long and short shots plus many right turning fairways. tees are numbered and paths easy to see
Cons: needs more trashcans
Other Thoughts: $1 to play and course closes when it rains

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in the area

5+    9/19/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: 4thechains@gmail.com
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tee boxes and cool rock tee signs. This course requires great control over your disc. A good variety of short and long shots are required.
Cons: Some Tee boxes are too short for a good run up that is needed on some of the longer holes. Better tee signs would be great, with distances and par.
Other Thoughts: Probably my favorite course in the North Austin area. I highly reccomend this to anyone and everyone.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Oak Canopy Course

2-4    8/13/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 11.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very nice, long concrete tees flush with the ground

-excellent variety of hole types-- long, medium and short; left, right, straight or a combination of every direction

-Difficult, but still manageable if you can keep composed. The short holes offer birdie ops, but require extreme precision, but not to a ridiculous level. You will be saying "Man, wish I had another shot on that one," a lot. The lines are there for you to hit. One thing I like is the difficulty scales with the length of the hole-- the tightest holes/fairways are on the shorter holes, but when you get to the longer holes it opens up a little, but still presents a multitude of obstacles, twists and turns.

-It flows well with rock lined paths between holes and a little rest area in the shade after Hole 9. You're going to need to gather your strength for the behemoth 800' Hole 10.

-Everything from the fairways to the baskets to the large rock mounds with tee box numbers to the dirt (yes, the dirt) to the trees (limbs that would block fairways are trimmed) are all in excellent condition

-I just love the property that this is on. It's like a small little Oak forest nestled in the heart of Texas. It's very well kept and every hole offers shade. Parts of the course you hardly see the sky during multiple hole stretches. There's just this nice oak canopy over a good portion of the course.
Cons: -there's only 2 trashcans on the course. One at the start (or maybe it was even in the parking lot) and one at the rest area between 9 and 10. However, most people seem to recognize what a jewel of a course this is and keep their trash with them till they reach one of the trash cans. It's probably the cleanest course in the Austin area...hmm maybe this stuff should have gone in the Pros section...

-lack of signage: no park sign telling you where the course is, no overall course map at the start and no tee signs with hole layouts.

Other Thoughts: It is a definitely a flat course and there are no water obstacles, which some people would knock for those reasons, but I don't consider them cons. Not every course can be built along a creek or on the side of a mountain. You couldn't have possibly designed a better course on this property (and what beautiful property it is), and this is truly one of course designer's John Houck's best works.

Overall, it's a pretty long course and will take some time to play so give yourself a good 2.5 to 3 hours to play it. It's a great summer course as its copious amounts of shade will block out the blasting Texas sun.

If you keep going straight after Hole 3 you'll come across the only sign on the course-- an ominous looking old cedar sign with the words "Knuckle Cave" painted on it and pointing down some crazy-tight looking limestone cave. Good luck with that.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome South Texas Course

2-4    11/26/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: discinator
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is the most well taken care of course that I have played. It has nice rock lined paths between holes. Nice cement tees which is rare for the Austin area. There is a course map at the bulletin board and score cards are provided.

The fairways are all mowed which helps identify which way the holes go- this is needed because a few of the holes have multiple doglegs with blind shots.
The shot variety is tremendous. Nearly every hole has more than one narrow line to the basket. There are both right and left hand turns. Numerous tight tunnel shots off of the tee- this is a pretty technical course. There were a couple of holes where you could really let loose but the rest required more control. There are a lot of trees but if you miss the fairway you will usually have some sort of shot.

You won't lose discs on this course due to the meticulous grooming.
Cons: This course is flat- absolutely no elevation changes. No water obstacles.
There need to be signs with the hole layout at each tee since there are times that you are throwing blind. The scorecards do have a map, but with a course this nice you would think they would just fork out the cash and put some signs up.
It is pay to play, but its only a dollar. It is well worth the dollar.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is one really great course. Its fun and not so difficult that you feel beat down at the end. It isn't the most difficult course in Austin but it definitely is one of the best.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic course...

8/9/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: justinmjames
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New concrete tee boxes make it really nice. Great signage to mark tees, paths are relatively easy to follow. No elevation change or big hills or anything, so great for a stroller or cart. Everything from a long par 5 and 4s to ace runs. Def in my top 3 around austin.
Cons: No distance signs. Would be nice if it were mowed sometimes on a few of the open holes.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the 1.00 to play. Quite possibly my fav course period. I dont agree with the description that this is one of the hardest in texas. As long as you can throw low and straight, this course is pretty average if you can avoid the trees.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/9/2008   7/17/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2008
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: "Wilco" is a heavily wooded technical course with beautiful fairways. Even the most technical holes seem fair.

It is very difficult requiring both distance and accuracy to score good. The shot variety required here far surpases most other Austin Courses.

They just put in concrete tee pads which really took this course to the next level.
Cons: It costs $1.00 to play, but you get a map and scorecard (which they were out of the last time I played).

There are no elevation changes or water hazards. The challenge comes from the various curving fairways through dense woods.

Beginners will not like a few of the holes because they are just too long.

You can lose discs in the tall grass and cedars that line some of the fairways.

There are no distances posted anywhere, even on the scorecard and map. I think hole #10 is about 1000' but who knows? If they would fix this problem I would seriously consider giving this course a 5 disc rating.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for a hot Texas summer day because there is a huge amount of shade. It is also good on a windy day because the trees block the wind.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.