Disc Golf Store
Leander, TX 
Williamson County DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 3/2013)
4 / 531ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Awesome South Texas Course

2-4    11/26/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: discinator
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is the most well taken care of course that I have played. It has nice rock lined paths between holes. Nice cement tees which is rare for the Austin area. There is a course map at the bulletin board and score cards are provided.

The fairways are all mowed which helps identify which way the holes go- this is needed because a few of the holes have multiple doglegs with blind shots.
The shot variety is tremendous. Nearly every hole has more than one narrow line to the basket. There are both right and left hand turns. Numerous tight tunnel shots off of the tee- this is a pretty technical course. There were a couple of holes where you could really let loose but the rest required more control. There are a lot of trees but if you miss the fairway you will usually have some sort of shot.

You won't lose discs on this course due to the meticulous grooming.
Cons: This course is flat- absolutely no elevation changes. No water obstacles.
There need to be signs with the hole layout at each tee since there are times that you are throwing blind. The scorecards do have a map, but with a course this nice you would think they would just fork out the cash and put some signs up.
It is pay to play, but its only a dollar. It is well worth the dollar.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is one really great course. Its fun and not so difficult that you feel beat down at the end. It isn't the most difficult course in Austin but it definitely is one of the best.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tough, well maintained course

1    10/30/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: metis314159
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice, long cement pads - a rarity for Austin courses. Good mix of distances for the holes along with many holes requiring challenging shots through relatively dense woods. Several more open holes towards the end if woods aren't your thing.

Cons: Virtually no elevation changes or water so all the hole variety only comes from trees and distance. Also, it would have been nice to have diagrams (and distances) of the holes at each hole. Why, on such a well-maintained course, there was only one trash can is beyond me.
Other Thoughts: This course will challenge intermediate players since most holes require distance and accuracy. Some of the holes have actual "roughs" which complicate your shot if you end up in them; other holes merely have dense forest which results in a penalty stroke to get out. After heavy rains the course is closed to protect the ground from getting too torn up.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 no ivy

1    9/15/2008   9/15/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Even though in tight, thick woods often, I found no poison ivy.
-Cement tee pads.
-Well marked in that the tees and baskets are numbered, large map at hole #1, and scorecard/maps provided. Also, rock lined paths between each hole mean you never have to look at the map.
-Tough, tight technical shots that can be punishing, but you get your disc back and can usually throw out, unlike many other Texas woods courses.
-Extremely well manicured and clean, professional looking fairways.
-1$ is cheap for pay-to-play, and here it keeps it well maintained and clean.
Cons: -Too many low ceilings for my taste, I like to let my disc actually fly.
-I found it to be VERY lefty/righty sidearm favoring, too biased and not well balanced in that regard.
-No distances listed on the map, scorecard or holes- you just have to guess.
Other Thoughts: Worthy of being a destination course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic course...

8/9/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: justinmjames
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New concrete tee boxes make it really nice. Great signage to mark tees, paths are relatively easy to follow. No elevation change or big hills or anything, so great for a stroller or cart. Everything from a long par 5 and 4s to ace runs. Def in my top 3 around austin.
Cons: No distance signs. Would be nice if it were mowed sometimes on a few of the open holes.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the 1.00 to play. Quite possibly my fav course period. I dont agree with the description that this is one of the hardest in texas. As long as you can throw low and straight, this course is pretty average if you can avoid the trees.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/9/2008   7/17/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2008
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: "Wilco" is a heavily wooded technical course with beautiful fairways. Even the most technical holes seem fair.

It is very difficult requiring both distance and accuracy to score good. The shot variety required here far surpases most other Austin Courses.

They just put in concrete tee pads which really took this course to the next level.
Cons: It costs $1.00 to play, but you get a map and scorecard (which they were out of the last time I played).

There are no elevation changes or water hazards. The challenge comes from the various curving fairways through dense woods.

Beginners will not like a few of the holes because they are just too long.

You can lose discs in the tall grass and cedars that line some of the fairways.

There are no distances posted anywhere, even on the scorecard and map. I think hole #10 is about 1000' but who knows? If they would fix this problem I would seriously consider giving this course a 5 disc rating.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for a hot Texas summer day because there is a huge amount of shade. It is also good on a windy day because the trees block the wind.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

6/14/2008   6/14/2008
Review By: DctrJ
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There is a good mixture of long range and short, technical holes. I had lots of fun.
Cons: It's a bit difficult to find hole 1 if you've never been to the park.
Other Thoughts: When you first come in look for a green steel bridge to the left right before the rotary intersection. Over that bridge you will find a hole 1.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course

1    1/20/2008   3/26/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2008
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Very nice course with a wide variety of distances. Paths from hole to hole are lined with rocks making it very obvious how the course flows. Zero possibility of pedestrian interference.
Cons:
Needs better signs in the main part of the park to find the disc golf course. Could use another trash can. I heard rumors of a nasty bee hive on #18. Pretty muddy after any rainfall.
Other Thoughts:
The course is closed after heavy rains to protect the ground from getting too torn up.

I didn't mind paying the $1 to play this course at all; money well spent. This is one of the better and most challenging courses I've played. At the time I played I was very much a novice and the course kicked my butt. I look forward to getting back one day to see what I can do now.

I've since heard that they have installed concrete tee pads. Which, if true, could up my rating as the mud on this course was one of its detractors.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.