Leander, TX
Williamson County DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10 (Taken 3/2013)
5 / 784ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4

1    3/11/2013   3/20/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You can tell they take great pride in this course. I always appreciate a nice map at the beginning of a course. They have long holes that cut through the woods and even have stone pathways between holes to make it easier to navigate. I loved the first holes that were very tight and challenging. The back holes opened up a little bit more. Hole 10 was a rediculous hole being over 700ft and doing a complete"s" shape. There are a few birdie holes that you have to take advantage of in order to shoot well. In my opinion the front 9 was way better than the back9.
Cons: In my opinion the back 9 got a little repetitive and lost my interest. Where the front 9 gave tight holes throughout the woods at different lengths. I felt like the back 9 you shot out of a gap into open space on almost every hole. The grass on the back 9 was also a little overgrown.
Other Thoughts: I would of rated this course a 4.5 if the back 9 reflected the front 9. The back 9 just became too repetitive and was such a let down from the awesome front 9.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course that is never busy

2-4    1/31/2013   2/4/2013
Review By: Throbbert
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great level of difficulty to make the game challenging, but not too hard or too long.

Lots of over hang and tree so it helps you focus on keeping your disc down. Great place to practice that if you have the problem with throwing your disc too high as I do a lot.
Cons: Lots of trees can make some holes a pain if you are not lucky.

Foot tall grass surrounding most holes. If you do not have a spotter or a brightly colored disc it can be easily lost.
Other Thoughts: Make sure and have a spotter for most every throw so you don't lose your disc. A lot easier to do that you would think.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    12/15/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 105  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -When walking through this course, it is easy to see that a lot of work was put into making this course look beautiful. The tees are all clearly marked by big rocks. The "fairways" are all mowed and the course feels very clean.
-The concrete tees are very long, wide and in great shape.
-This course is very challenging. A lot of holes go from left to right which adds challenge that a typical average course can not offer.
-I really enjoyed the hole variety at Wilco. The holes alternated from in the trees 200'-250' to out in the open 400-780' where you can really rip your disc.
-The course is very easy to follow. There is usually a rock path going to the next tee.
Favorite Hole: #18
Cons: -The course itself does not have many cons. I did not find any water fountains on the park site to fill water bottles.
-There were maybe four trash cans on the entire course. This is a very beautiful course and I would hate to see it be littered because people cannot find trash cans to throw their trash in.
-This is not a good course to bring your buddy to on his first time. It is a tough course even for the more advanced player.
-A few of the tees are very close to the previous hole. The biggest example of this in my mind is how close tee #3 is to hole #2.
Other Thoughts: This was my first course, and right now, only course to play in Austin. I was very impressed by it and I think this is one of the nicer courses I have played.
If you are in the north part of Austin, Wilco is a definite must play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wilco from a Pro's Perspective

5+    12/17/2012   12/17/2012
Review By: jonnypATX
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The amount of work put in by the local club and county is amazing. Rock lined walking paths, boulders for tee signs and a unique layout make this the best in the area. High quality concrete tee boxes with very little lip allow the player to concentrate on making a shot versus thinking about footing. There's been a lot of talk about this being a Lefty course - yes, if you're RH, you will need a forehand or a good anhyzer but any good course forces you to make a variety of shots. A course designed by a pro for pros but still allows an Am to improve and challenge themselves.
Cons: Not much - trash cans would be nice but it's clearly stated on hole 1 that its a pack it in pack it out course. Pay for play is no big deal...that fee basically pays county staff to ride a gator to pick up lazy folks trash. The course will be closed after a heavy rain which is actually a pro now that I think of it because it prevents errosion and wear and tear.
Other Thoughts: It is Centex so rocks, cedar, cactus and mesquite are everywhere so I don't blame the course. This course is a jewel and plays true. I encourage anyone visiting Cedar Park or Round Rock to come play a round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wilco is a special treat

1    10/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a LOT to like about Wilco. It has a very fun, unique feel to it. The holes vary a lot in their look and there are many very cool trees. It's really a joy just to walk the course. I keep expecting to see Leprechauns or giant-sized ginger bread houses or something on the course. Tough to put into words, but it's my new favorite place to play in the Austin area, even if the challenge is a bit below some of the others.

Wilco provides a very good light blue (white/blue) level challenge. The course is very beginner friendly and still lots of fun for advanced players. There is a good variety to the shot shapes required. (I disagree with the "lefty friendly" comments by some of the other reviewers.) The fairways are very fair and the punishment from the rough is appropriate to provide good risk/reward opportunities when deciding how far to try and throw off the tee. Most of the long 3's and multi-shot holes have me thinking about throwing a fairway driver or even a mid-range instead of a high-speed driver.

The hole #'s near the tees are quite easy to spot from a distance and the paths between holes are nicely lined to make course navigation very easy. The tee pads and baskets are all top-notch. The course has recently re-opened after an extended closure and the maintenance is very good. The course gets high marks for aesthetics and fun.

The course costs $1 to play. Yes, this is a "Pro". The money that golfers put in the box will go towards maintaining and possibly improving the course. If we don't pay, who should?
Cons: Wilco could benefit from a second set of tees. The course is a bit too easy for blue level players and gold level players will kill it. This is not a major con, but worth a mention. The course is pretty much flat as a pancake.

There are a couple places where the holes crowd each other a bit. From hole 1, the walk is behind hole 4's basket to hole 2. It's not a safety hazard, but is distracting for players approaching on hole 4. Hole 8's tee is very much in play on hole 7. The course doesn't loop back to the start after 9 holes.

The course is situated in a pretty low-lying area. As a result, it is susceptible to lots of standing water following heavy rains. The county is pro-active and closes the course to play under such conditions. Be sure to call the number before heading out to play.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend Wilco to anyone visiting the area. Please pick up litter as you play and enjoy!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Newbie that always plays

2-4    4/18/2012   4/18/2012
Review By: coachhart25
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. I do like the shade and trees. I also like that the holes are not more than 1000 feet like I have been used to playing at old settlers. The paths for the most part are great that lead you from hole to hole especially early on. There was some minor confusion from like holes 4-8 the first time we played, but it was resolved fairly quickly. I do like how even though it is pretty compact the trees appear to be slimmed out some. This means for us newbies that the odds are good that even with you thorns into the trees you will be able to find it and it should come down.
Cons: I would have loved to seen maybe a water jug somewhere on the course, and maybe some some more benches. At old settlers they have nice signs at the tee boxes that show the par and distance Andy at wilco we have rocks. The dollar to play? Not bad, but I always get wary it's going to turn Ike gass prices... 1dollar a gallon? cool. 2bucks? Ok not bad, and the price keeps climbing... It is very rocky, which is not terrible but I do play will a baby jogger, so it is tough at times, but not as bad as brushy creek(cat hollow)
Other Thoughts: Please note that I am new to disc golf and this review is mostly for people like me that are starting to play more and really like to play...I might not have the technical background and am trying to keep it simple stupid on purpose!

Overall I think it is funniest course of three that I have played, with old settlers, and cat hollow. If I was just playing first though I would go to old settlers and just skip the water holes because I know I wouldn't lose my discs!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wilco

5+    4/6/2012   4/7/2012
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is THE course to play in this part of the Austin area. It places a premium on disc placement and accuracy and will challenge the play of any disc golfer. The holes all have concrete tees. There are lots of tables and benches as well as trash cans. I like the number of left and right holes on this course. Holes 1 and 2 are short shots as kind of warm-ups before you get to the first two par four holes of 3 and 4. Hole 5 is a short throw around some trees before tackling number 6 which has more trees and is a par 4 dogleg right. With the exception of hole 10, which is a 784 foot left and right par five drive to the basket, most of the rest of the holes are short shots through trees or open fairways. Exceptions to this are holes 9 and 15, which are doglegs right and will challenge a golfer to place their throws just right to obtain birdie or par. Hole 14 is a wide open grip and rip 600 footer as well as 16 and 17. Hole 18 is a 600 foot straightaway that a golfer could possibly throw a good straight shot, but they would have to watch out for the trees that encroach on the fairway in a couple of places. Great course. Excellent layout. The course is pay to play, but $1 is well worth the price for this excellent disc golf experience.
Cons: The only con I can see is a reference to another reviewer: The course seems to favor the LHBH or LHFH player. This can be dealt with easily though with some well thought-out and well placed shots.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, you owe it to yourself to play this course at least once. I am willing to bet that, once it is played, you will want to come back again. I know I did and will do so several times more.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/26/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: Turner512
Played: 44  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent technical course. From hole 1 to hole 18 its a battle between you and the trees. Most holes are narrow passages between trees and brush but a few holes have some open fairways (mostly on the back 9). Distances vary. A few short under 300 foot holes and goes all the way to 600 foot holes. Water never comes into play. A decent variety in straight holes to right and left legged holes. This course will strain your accuracy and shot selection. If you only throw RHBH you might need to pull out a RHFH or really work on you anhyzer and hyzer. No holes are the same so you are having to analyze every hole before throwing. This course is challenging but fun. If you only play open courses or you enjoy a challenge you need to come play Wilco
Cons: This course is pay to play (1$) which is no big deal. Nobody makes you pay but be a good golfer and pay to toll. My biggest complaint on the course is the amount of dog leg rights. The course heavily favors RHFH or LHBH which can be good because it tests the player but in my opinion there are too many and courses should favor none but be neutral. There are no elevation changes and no water hazards. Gets a little crowded on weekends. Might get stuck behind families or large groups but they will usually let you play through if you put some pressure on them.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun and definitely worth your time. If you are in the North Austin area I would recommend playing it. Will test your skills and demand consistency.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Wilco Regular

5+    11/2/2011   11/4/2011
Review By: Robrasta
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Generally wooded course but great for all skill levels. Hole lengths not terribly long (except for #10) but dog legs and trees demand variety of shots/skills. Easy navigation,well marked trails (follow the stone-lined paths), relatively condensed layout,and overall natural setting make this a solid course. Not uncommon to see youngsters and other family members tagging along with golfers for the walk in nature.Plentt of parking across main park drive and other activities inside huge county park.
Cons: * No elevation changes or water in play.
* Could use more trash cans
* Lots of cactus and thorn bushes throughout course- just off of fairways. I usually leave the shorts and sandals behind.
* Rocks strewn throughout fairway on some holes. Ive twisted the ankles more than a few times.

Other Thoughts: Happy to say WCDG is my home course and dont mind paying the $1 fee to play. Course is well maintained and WILCO PARKS and REC is in the process of moving their headquarters right next to the course which will hopefully translate to continued upkeep.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  I like it, I really do, since it is the closest nice course to my house....

5+    7/26/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: jasperpipestone
Played: 61  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some rewarding holes. I play this course because of #3(long S curve),4(somewhat wooded, right turning dogleg),6(somewhat wooded, right turning dogleg),10(long arduous placement hole),14(hard to birdie Par 4), and 18(dead straight long hole-my nemesis). 4 and 6 are pretty much the same hole so 5 interesting challenges out of 18 is pretty good compared to most forgettable fling and putt courses out there. Several of the other holes require a decent turnover drive, forehand, or precise up shot; so other than rolling, any noticeable elevation change, or having to clear a big pond you get a pretty good workout of your dg skill-set. There are trees in some fairways, but not to the extent that there is no line or you have to battle to get out of the woods if you are knocked down early on a drive. Also trees or canopy near the tees reduce the ability to defeat the layout of the course with huge hyzers or thumbers. There are also 2 - 3 other courses somewhat nearby if absolutely need to get in that quick 72-90 holes of dg in. I often times play Wilco a couple times and then what's on this site as Brushy Creek Sports Park DGC or Brushy Creek MUD DGC. But if you are travelling through and only have one day in Austin I'd play Wilco and Circle C Metro @ Slaughter Creek. I don't rate this course as highly as some because it is quite subjective and I've played courses that were indeed world class or left warm fuzzy feelings because of their combination of challenge/environment/amenities. This course is definitely promising if it gets further amenity development/expansion. There are bathrooms, a train ride for the Thomas addicted kiddees, playground, tennis, and jogging trail if your significant other or family isn't into DG.
Cons: Just 18 holes and one layout(pin positions). I wish there was a 6-9 hole tight and wooded section to break up the monotony and make you happy that the course opens up again when you emerge. Currently no water available near the actual course or parking lot. Fountains aren't really working and the water that is in the bathrooms is a little funky tasting so bringing your own is advised. No benches on any holes, even the ones commonly prone to back-ups. Need at least 6-8 more trash cans on the course. There can be a bit of drinker/smoker trash on the course and broken bottles near tees; although not near as bad as any major city city park courses I've played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.