Tallahassee, FL 
Tom Brown Park Share
Uploaded By: ILER Hole #6 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 325ft.   3 / 365ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

1    10/21/2014   10/21/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mix of wooded and open holes that mostly sit in-between beginner and intermediate difficulty. Probably would make a great starter course for someone learning the game as there is little underbrush even among the wooded holes and the player gets a taste of everything (except water) without being asked to do anything difficult. There are open holes that will stress drive placement. There are wooded holes that will stress line shaping. And there is one hole that will let discers really air out a long drive. There is even a surprising amount of elevation.
The bonus holes are a little raw but they feature some of the more interesting lines of the course. A few of them may be NAGSish but there are some bends that are fun to try a hand at. And the open bonus hole is steeply uphill with woods to the left. If you just play the standard 18, you get a very light, very casual round. The extra six provide just what is needed to make the course appealing to a traveling layer of some experience.
The best quality of Tom Brown is probably the amenities. It appears to be a very well-kept park and the tees, tee signs and baskets are in perfect condition. Add next tee signs and this course would possibly be a 3.5.
Cons:
Navigation…….The map is really nice, but I don't really want to pull it out after every basket. The confusion is often caused by open space and not criss-crossing trails so really, a painted spoke would be enough to get you moving in the right direction. The one time that there is a long walk, between nine and ten, the arrow is not aligned correctly.
The wide open holes with a straight look at the basket are too common. Granted there are 24 holes here but a bunch are about 200-300 feet without a single obstacle. Luckily these are the holes that play by the park roads so discs are unlikely to kick towards a car and ideally players can accurately throw this distance and stay off the asphault.
It's a fun course, but it really lacks the variety that I want to see in a premier course. There are two sets of pads on most holes but they typically don't play differently. The bonus holes are quirky and fun but not wow holes. If you play here, it will likely end up being an enjoyable but non-memorable round. (As long as you have the map)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Variety

5+    10/11/2014   10/17/2014
Review By: Scottsan
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.7 Years
Pros: Great mix of mostly open holes and somewhat tight wooded holes. The course is well marked and plays away from most of the park's other multi-use functions.
Cons: Not a lot to complain about, honestly. I'm not a pro, so the course length and hole variety are definitely challenging/interesting enough. I think it's a little baffling how the more recent changes have Holes 7 and 8 at 220 feet (amateur) and Hole 9 is about three times that.
Other Thoughts: This is my "home" course, and I was there when it was originally/permanently installed (2002). Since then, there have been numerous changes . . . mostly for the better. I don't play the A-F holes as often as the others.

I've played several courses in the Atlanta area and I think this one rates very favorably, likely better than Lenora or Redan and comparable to Alexander Park (but longer).

Great course

2-4    6/20/2014   6/20/2014
Review By: Loomis
Played: 401  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has brand new tee signs for both long and short tees. It also has signs guiding you around the course. Fun. Challenging. Fair. Safe. Has bathrooms. No security issues. Course looks well maintained.
Cons: The open holes are fun but they lack any challenge other than distance.

Fire ants are everywhere so bring a stool to put your bag on while you throw.
Other Thoughts: I read the reviews and was unsure if I wanted to play the course given all the negative comments regarding tee signs and course navigation. However, we found the course to be well marked and easy to navigate. Granted the walk from hole 9 to hole 10 is long and awkward it's still not that hard to find.

Great course with a great selection of shots. The visual distances will fool you. It's bigger than it looks.

The water holes are nothing you need to worry about. It's a shallow creek. If you find the creek with your shots you'll get the disc back. The real threat is the thick brush on the course that will swallow any bad shot. Don't get cocky and try a sky hyzer. Keep it on the fairway or you won't see your disc ever again.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/4/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: myroomisajunkyard
Played: 80  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Cement tees
Big space
first 9 holes
Cons: didn't know where to go after I crossed the road. I saw all the tee's found few with signs, saw baskets but no numbers. Some basket apparently was gone, I went in the winter so I'm not sure if they took it down for the season, thinking it was Florida it'd be up all year round.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Signs

1    4/18/2013   4/18/2013
Review By: westflagator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Can't say much different then Notverygood. He describe everything about the course perfect.
Cons: Agree with him about signs. I was very lost trying to find my way around. I also think that there needs to be more garbage cans around the course and the baskets need to be painted or cleaned so they could be seen easier.
Other Thoughts: I did meet a cool guy named Mr. Gill who helped me alot.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Overall a great course

5+    2/20/2013   2/23/2013
Review By: Notverygood
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging, but not too tough. Enough tight, low ceiling shots to make you mad, but enough wide open long bomb holes to even it out.

Relatively well maintained. Concrete tee pads at all 24 holes, and most have tee signs.

The layout is convenient, hole 9 ends up back near the parking area, as does hole 18. Makes it easy to play a quick 9 holes after work, or play all 18-24.

A decent amount of elevation change for a Florida course. I'm sure nothing compared to others, but compared to some courses further south in Fla, it's nice.

Extra 6 holes! The regular 18 are fun, but the additional 6 are some unique, tougher shots.

Friendly regulars. Always willing to let you play through, offer help or shoot the bull.

The park that the course is in is awesome! Tons of sports fields, top notch r/c track, some of the best mtn biking in Florida, a huge playground, a dog park, etc. etc. etc. plenty of other things to do aside from disc golf there!
Cons: Outdated, poor condition signage at some holes.

Although I know the way now, the trek from hole 9 to 10 got me lost and wasn't marked very well.

Unfortunately being in such an active/awesome park, you'll often encounter runners, bikers, idiots, picnickers, and people not aware they're in the way.

Aside from thick woods and roads, it lacks some OB obstacles. No real water holes. Again, hardly a con!
Other Thoughts: Overall, I'm lucky to have such a great course so close to home. If you're passing by on I-10 or in town, I highly recommend throwing a round or two here! And with all the other great things to do at the park, don't be afraid to bring the family

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 So close to being so awesome.

1    3/22/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 75  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice baskets.

Uniform teepads as far as I can remember, a good length and width.

The bonus six holes are awesome and allow you to throw all sorts of fun lines.

There is some really excellent elevation out here, I think hole 11 is the huge downhill one, that is a freaking excellent hole with a fun teeshot.

Huge park, a ton of things to do here with some really massive playgrounds for kids.

Two sets of tees that actually do provide a different look, they did extremely well in this department.

The teesigns get the job done.
Cons: There is only one con, but it is kind of a big one, for me personally I felt as if a lot of these holes just sort of run together, kind of monotonous in flavor. This is why I really appreciated the letter holes because I felt as if they spiced things up quite a bit. A lot of these holes are just really open though and didn't offer a ton of variety.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, I personally prefer something a bit more wooded but this was really fun none-the-less. If I had to just pick one course though, it would be Jack McLean because I believe that is the better balanced course.

Regardless, play this one if you have time for both, it still is a very good course and I'll play it again when I return.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course

5+    5/19/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: knightmare0101
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Will require all the shots in your arsenal from the tee box--backhand, flick, distance, accuracy shot through trees, high to low, low to high, etc. Good variety of holes, from wide open to tight woods holes. The bonus six holes are played through the woods, and one time I saw three owls. Locals are very friendly and park feels extremely safe. This course is my favorite.
Cons: Sometimes gets crowded on the weekends or has tournaments.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tallahassee has a winner

1    6/16/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: flyingdisc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great variety of holes
-Plenty of open and wooded areas to play
-Signs at every hole
-Benches at a lot of the holes
-Concrete Am and Pro tee pads at most holes
-Beautiful park
-Playground area for families looked well maintained
-Shaved ice vendor (day we played)
-Beginner friendly
Cons: -Couple of baskets looked aged
-Newer signs at some tee pads needed
-No maps of course that I could find
-Parking lot at hole 1 could be bigger
Other Thoughts: Finally got to play here! Drove almost two hours to come play here and Jack McLean after hearing so much about each park. I do have to say it was worth the drive. A really nice combination of interesting holes. A little something for everyone no matter what your skill level. A great course for beginners and pros alike. I really enjoyed how the course plays in and out of the woods in at least two different areas, with an average of three or four holes in each section, with open sections in between. I do believe you could try just about every shot in your arsenal here, from long bombing drives and technical shots, to rollers on a couple of holes. A beautiful park with Am and Pro tees on just about every hole. No water hazards on the day we played as it was all dried up (Florida heat). Benches at certain holes. There is a nice play area for kids, where there was even a shaved ice vendor. Park was busy the day we were there, but not enough to slow you down as the park is big enough to support all types of groups. A really nice park for all ages. There is even a RC and BMX track next to hole #2. Holes A-F are located once you reach hole 14, making the course a total of 24 holes. With elevation on both slopes, woods, open long drives and dog legs to the left and right you really can't find much here you cannot play or even enjoy. Something for everyone at this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Better and Better

5+    3/15/2012   3/21/2012
Review By: fsunjm08
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Unbelievable Variety, esp. for a course in FL, great mix of
-Uphill / Downhill
-Backhand / Sidearm
-Open / Wooded
-Short / Long

Improvements are constantly being made on this course to make it more and more interesting. A year ago they added a 600ft plus bomb of a tee shot par 4 that I look forward to every time I play. A week ago they added an elevated basket that sits 8 feet off the ground.

Beautiful Park and Friendly Locals

Multiple Pins and Pads to make for a fun and challenging course for all skill sets
Cons: They are working on getting better signage out there because right now it is not the best.
Other Thoughts: Really picky disc golfers need to stop whining about the par 3.5s on this course and throw a good tee shot. The hilliest disc golf course in Florida

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.