Disc Golf Store
Tallahassee, FL 
Tom Brown Park Share
Uploaded By: ILER Hole #1 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 360ft.   3 / 470ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Variety

5+    10/11/2014   10/17/2014
Review By: Scottsan
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.6 Years
Pros: Great mix of mostly open holes and somewhat tight wooded holes. The course is well marked and plays away from most of the park's other multi-use functions.
Cons: Not a lot to complain about, honestly. I'm not a pro, so the course length and hole variety are definitely challenging/interesting enough. I think it's a little baffling how the more recent changes have Holes 7 and 8 at 220 feet (amateur) and Hole 9 is about three times that.
Other Thoughts: This is my "home" course, and I was there when it was originally/permanently installed (2002). Since then, there have been numerous changes . . . mostly for the better. I don't play the A-F holes as often as the others.

I've played several courses in the Atlanta area and I think this one rates very favorably, likely better than Lenora or Redan and comparable to Alexander Park (but longer).

Great course

2-4    6/20/2014   6/20/2014
Review By: Loomis
Played: 401  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has brand new tee signs for both long and short tees. It also has signs guiding you around the course. Fun. Challenging. Fair. Safe. Has bathrooms. No security issues. Course looks well maintained.
Cons: The open holes are fun but they lack any challenge other than distance.

Fire ants are everywhere so bring a stool to put your bag on while you throw.
Other Thoughts: I read the reviews and was unsure if I wanted to play the course given all the negative comments regarding tee signs and course navigation. However, we found the course to be well marked and easy to navigate. Granted the walk from hole 9 to hole 10 is long and awkward it's still not that hard to find.

Great course with a great selection of shots. The visual distances will fool you. It's bigger than it looks.

The water holes are nothing you need to worry about. It's a shallow creek. If you find the creek with your shots you'll get the disc back. The real threat is the thick brush on the course that will swallow any bad shot. Don't get cocky and try a sky hyzer. Keep it on the fairway or you won't see your disc ever again.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Signs

1    4/18/2013   4/18/2013
Review By: westflagator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Can't say much different then Notverygood. He describe everything about the course perfect.
Cons: Agree with him about signs. I was very lost trying to find my way around. I also think that there needs to be more garbage cans around the course and the baskets need to be painted or cleaned so they could be seen easier.
Other Thoughts: I did meet a cool guy named Mr. Gill who helped me alot.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tallahassee has a winner

1    6/16/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: flyingdisc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great variety of holes
-Plenty of open and wooded areas to play
-Signs at every hole
-Benches at a lot of the holes
-Concrete Am and Pro tee pads at most holes
-Beautiful park
-Playground area for families looked well maintained
-Shaved ice vendor (day we played)
-Beginner friendly
Cons: -Couple of baskets looked aged
-Newer signs at some tee pads needed
-No maps of course that I could find
-Parking lot at hole 1 could be bigger
Other Thoughts: Finally got to play here! Drove almost two hours to come play here and Jack McLean after hearing so much about each park. I do have to say it was worth the drive. A really nice combination of interesting holes. A little something for everyone no matter what your skill level. A great course for beginners and pros alike. I really enjoyed how the course plays in and out of the woods in at least two different areas, with an average of three or four holes in each section, with open sections in between. I do believe you could try just about every shot in your arsenal here, from long bombing drives and technical shots, to rollers on a couple of holes. A beautiful park with Am and Pro tees on just about every hole. No water hazards on the day we played as it was all dried up (Florida heat). Benches at certain holes. There is a nice play area for kids, where there was even a shaved ice vendor. Park was busy the day we were there, but not enough to slow you down as the park is big enough to support all types of groups. A really nice park for all ages. There is even a RC and BMX track next to hole #2. Holes A-F are located once you reach hole 14, making the course a total of 24 holes. With elevation on both slopes, woods, open long drives and dog legs to the left and right you really can't find much here you cannot play or even enjoy. Something for everyone at this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 TBP Review

5+    9/3/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: scottgopre
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -This course offers a good deal of different holes to play on.
-Well maintained course.
-Free to play.
-Good for all levels of players, whether your first time playing, or seasoned pro.
-Some short holes to test CTP abilities.
-Some long holes to test your distance power.
Cons: -You might get behind a big slow group.
-Stand a chance to be searching for a disc in the woods.
-Not every hole has signage to show layout of the hole.
-Pedestrians and cyclists may stroll through during play.
Other Thoughts: Tallahasse Parks & Rec. is working on the signage problem.
The course changes from time to time to keep you on your toes (several holes have multiple pin placements).

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Close to home

1    8/3/2011   8/4/2011
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 58  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am visiting from Virginia, and was pleasantly surprised to play a course very similar to Bryant Park back in Richmond, VA. Playing Tom Brown, you can tell that great thought went into designing the course, with the different layouts and hole designs. This course offers a little of everything. There are a couple of monster 400+ holes that really give you an opportunity to see what your favorite driver can do. Hole #9 is particularly memorable as you tee off from the top of a hill and watch your disc soar below. The course also offers a wide variety of straight in front, dog leg left and dog leg right designs. There are also a few shorter holes to give your midrange discs a feel. The course has concrete pads for all of the holes almost every hole has a pro and Am tee pad.
Cons: The course could benefit from better signs, showing you the hole layout and possibly pointing you towards the next tee pad.
Other Thoughts: An excellent course that is worth playing again and again. I only wish it were closer to home!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 In a word - FUN!

1    6/13/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1 - Good use of elevation changes (Baskets located uphill, downhill, on hillsides, with drop-offs just past basket or before basket)
2 - Variety of shots required (hyzer, anhyzer, turnovers, flicks, even opportunities for well executed hammer throws or thumbers)
3 - Variety of distances to throw (ranging from a paltry sub-200' hole to 400'+ holes, with majority in the 250-350 range.)
4 - Beautiful park with plenty of other activities make it great for families (great playground, bike trail, BMX track, R/C car track, athletic fields, and more)
5 - Very fun to play, due to wide open nature of most fairways.
6 - Good tee boxes (most are cement, some carpet)
7 - Decent tee signs at most holes (see cons)
8 - Park has restroom facilities (may have to walk a ways to get to them)
9 - Great course for beginners (and fun for all skill level players)
Cons: 1 - Slight lack of difficulty (some fairways are "too open")
2 - Not enough benches and garbage cans (yes, this may seem lame to some, but I like a trash can at every other hole and benches at every tee box)
3 - Tee signs do not all have correct distances (or basket locations) on them, especially the holes back in the woods.
4 - Awkward transition from hole 9-10 (across fairway of 18, I think)
Other Thoughts: I only had the opportunity to play this course once, but there's no doubt that it was really FUN to play. I had a great time, got the chance to go all out on a number of drives without fear of losing my disc, and also had the chance to throw a few technical shots. I enjoyed the more heavily wooded portion of the course, as it forced me to throw some tight lines and face some uphill and downhill conditions that I just don't get to see often, playing in central Florida.

After playing Jack McLean (another fantastic courses!), this course was a breath of fresh air!

If you are in the area, do not miss this course!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My Personal Favorite

5+    7/1/2008   1/13/2010
Review By: melkman
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -well varied holes including different lengths, holes require different shots, some holes are open & some are wooded, varied elevation (for a Florida course).
-great facilities around including other activities, restrooms & water fountains
-course is clean and well maintained
-everyone is very friendly
Cons: -can be confusing the first time you play
-the park gets very crowded on weekends (many times people park their cars on the course)
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned on. It was about a mile from my apartment while in college. Me and my friend had never heard of disc golf so one day we took a regular frisbee up there and started playing. A couple holes in, a person came up to us and showed us how to really play. He even gave us two of his old mid-range discs to get started. Was hooked ever since. Played there a couple times a week for the rest of my time in college. When I was there they were just finishing the extra holes so I never really got to play them. Anyone in the area should defiantly check this course out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    10/26/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It is a nice course with many open holes but also has a few tight holes. It also has a few holes that are for practice but are heavily wooded.
Cons: Direction to the next holes are very confusing if never played the course before. Better signs would help.
Some holes are a little tight.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course. I would play it over and over when in the area

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  love it

5+    10/21/2002   10/21/2009
Review By: jec777
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: i love it its what a disc golf course should be ! not to tight! you dont see people playing ball golf on tight courses ! and we all know disc fly wider than balls ! ive seen courses where you have to through a straght drive between trees 15 foot apart that is not fun ! let the disc fly ! that is why i like this course !
Cons: non i can think of !
Other Thoughts: moved back home and im coming back to play !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! just wish we had one in thomasville !

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.