Tallahassee, FL 
Tom Brown Park Share
Uploaded By: ILER Hole #1 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 360ft.   3 / 470ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My favorite course

5+    5/19/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: knightmare0101
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Will require all the shots in your arsenal from the tee box--backhand, flick, distance, accuracy shot through trees, high to low, low to high, etc. Good variety of holes, from wide open to tight woods holes. The bonus six holes are played through the woods, and one time I saw three owls. Locals are very friendly and park feels extremely safe. This course is my favorite.
Cons: Sometimes gets crowded on the weekends or has tournaments.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Better and Better

5+    3/15/2012   3/21/2012
Review By: fsunjm08
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Unbelievable Variety, esp. for a course in FL, great mix of
-Uphill / Downhill
-Backhand / Sidearm
-Open / Wooded
-Short / Long

Improvements are constantly being made on this course to make it more and more interesting. A year ago they added a 600ft plus bomb of a tee shot par 4 that I look forward to every time I play. A week ago they added an elevated basket that sits 8 feet off the ground.

Beautiful Park and Friendly Locals

Multiple Pins and Pads to make for a fun and challenging course for all skill sets
Cons: They are working on getting better signage out there because right now it is not the best.
Other Thoughts: Really picky disc golfers need to stop whining about the par 3.5s on this course and throw a good tee shot. The hilliest disc golf course in Florida

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Diversity of Holes, Distances, and Challenges

5+    2/6/2010   3/24/2010
Review By: SteveHalsell
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course with some very open and some tight holes. I will go through each hole with a good description since it's my home course and I think it's a really great place to play just starting out, or as an experienced professional.

Overall Pros:
- Great signs for each hole
- Well maintained park with facilities if needed
- Playground for my daughter to play on with my wife during the front 9, and then I pick them up for the rest of the round.
Cons: Some negatives:
- If you're new, the transition between holes 9 and 10 is a bit tricky, they're about 1000 ft. from one another and you have to pass through the fairway of hole 24 to get there.
- Very busy park in Tallahassee, so you'll get some people who aren't aware there's a disc golf course there and you'll get disctractions every now and then
Other Thoughts: Since this is my home course I have decided to give a brief opinion on each hol

Breakdown of Each Hole:
1 - Great long tee shot needed to get to the woods. If the pin is on the right you're in the clear a little more, but I prefer the pin to be at the alternate location in the woods. Challenging to get around in the woods, but this favors the big arms.

2 - A shorter hole, but there are some spaced trees between you and the pin. With a nice swooping RHFH shot you'll be there in one shot if you're great, but most likely be able to get to put in two.

3 - A nice corrorider to throw your drive. This will favor a straight shot and with a nice throw you'll make it to the basket (I throw an Innova SL or Stingray RHBH and make it to the basket consistently).

4 - A bittersweet hole for me. This is a strong dogleg right, and as a RHBH thrower it will force me to either come over n my throw, or try a forehand shot. I like the opportunity, but I end up in the woods from time to time. The woods are pretty forgiving though, and you'll have little trouble finding your disc.

5 - A great wooded hole with some paths, but a long drive is needed. If the pin is close, you'll get there in one nice long drive, but sometimes it's out of the woods in the clear and that's a heck of a throw.

6 - Very long hole I have birdied only once, but it is a great hole to just grip and rip your drive. The road comes into play for RHBH throwers if your disc skips, so be careful.

7 - Short little hole with a low ceiling beneath a big tree between you and the hole. For LHBH and RHFH throwers this should be an easy hole to go around the tree left to right.

8 - Another hole to just grip and rip. Nothing too challenging here, except for the backer is on a small hill. If you go for a long put be sure to hit chain or you might roll 20 ft.

9 - One of my favorite holes on the course. It's pretty forgiving for both righty and lefty players. If you just want to kill it on your drive, aim for one of the overhanging trees and your disc will drop down within putting distance of the pin.

10 - A pretty tough uphill hole. This one hits you with a steep ridge to begin with, then it's a long hole after that. Get up and over the hill and you should have a simple approach shot, but even if you fly far to the left or right it is pretty open and you can recover.

11 - A roller-disc dream. This is a long hole heading downhill with a few ridges. Either lay into the drive or roll your way toward the hole. This is always a tough hole to get a 3.

12 - Now you're heading back into the woods for awhile. This is a tight dogleg left hole. Great for RHBH throwers, but you have to really angle the drive because with too much power you're into the brush.

13 - A challenging uphill wooded hole. Not too much to say about it, it's not my favorite, but it is challenging and adds a good uphill dimension.

14 - This starts a set of newer holes added to the course in 2008/2009. This is a steep drop off downhill hole with a narrow fairway of trees. Easy to let the disc fly away on you due to the elevation change so keep your eyes on where it lands!

15 - Wooded hole with no really clear fairway. This can get a little mucky with rain so be careful of mud. Drive too far past the hole on an approach or drive and you'll end up in a little creek.

16 - Nice dogleg right hole with a narrow fairway. Again, if you drive too far past the hole you will end up with a wet disc.

17 - This is a heck of a long hole uphill. If you get a really good drive on this hole you might birdie the hole as an average player, but there's a lot of brush and trees between you and the hole. No real OB threats on this hole, but you will want to be careful of the brush in this hole if you're allergic to poison ivy.

18 - This is another uphill drive and the walk from 17 to 18 is killer at the end of a hot day. It's a pretty open hole if you throw RHBH and you shouldn't have any problems.

19 - If you don't get a lot on your drive here you will end up in some really thick brush lining the fairway and over on the right. I would aim for the huge oak tree or the racquetball court fences here if you're new. If you don't have a big drive just lay up and make sure you don't lose a disc. Also, behind the hole is a drop off, so be careful with those long putts or approach shots.

20 - Fun hole in the woods for a LHBH thrower because it is a dogleg right hole. It's a challenging fairway with trees popping up all over. This is a great hole to stare at trees as you walk, especially near the tee pads, because they have taken a beating throughout the years and it's good for a laugh.

21 - I tend to go outside to the right of these trees with a RHBH throw and a strong skip (I use an Orc, Monarch, or Leopard). If the hole is up on the hill you'll have a low ceiling, but that pin placement is more challenging and prefer that location.

22 - This is an open fairway with some trees to the right, but for the most part you've got a nice path to the pin up a little hill and to the right. There is an OB road to your left, so be careful.

23 - This is a nice shot hole to just throw to and feel good about yourself. Don't go too hard because a wind might take you into and over the road to OB behind the hole (also the hole is below you for a slight elevation change).

24 - The last hole on the course is a good one to just use the energy you have left to rip one. Not a lot of challenge with this hole if you are RHBH, but if you are LHBH you might struggle with the trees lining the road to your left.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.