Tallahassee, FL 
Tom Brown Park Share
Uploaded By: ILER Hole #1 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 360ft.   3 / 470ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Pretty Solid

1    2/19/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: Stan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set within a larger recreational complex that offers a play ground, tennis, dog park, and a handful of other things. The surrounding activities add to the park-like, social feel of the course. The grounds are well kept. The course is easy to navigate. A big "welcome" board marks the first hole at the entrance of the park. It is easy to find your way to the next hole with the tee pads near by. Each hole offers two concrete tee pads. With a few exceptions on the front 9, the typical hole is fairly open. However, they make good use of the trees they do have. Most holes have one or two large trees which must be accounted for.

There is also some additional holes which are more wooded, which brings some nice balance to the course. Once on hole 11, get on the other side of the wooden fence and walk up the road. The additional tees will be easy to find.
Cons: I played the course on a weekday afternoon and it was fairly active. I would have to assume that the course could get crowed during peak times. (everyone I met was very friendly)

I would like to see more trash cans.

As mentioned earlier, the course is pretty open. If you are looking for opportunities to rip off some drives, this is the place...if you want a technical round, you will want to play some where else.

The "extra" holes on 11 have small tee pads which are carpeted.

There is no water and only one hole with an elevation change.
Other Thoughts: While playing the extra holes, which are more wooded, it appeared as through they were creating additional holes which looked pretty interesting. The new holes will have concrete pads and offer a few cool looking elevation challenges.

This is a great course...a course I would play often if I lived near by, but there is nothing making it stand out as spectacular.

Based on the core 18 holes, I would give it a solid 3...the extra holes bumps it up a notch.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great all-around course

5+    4/9/2009   6/30/2008
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Tom Brown Park DGC is in good shape, well taken care of and the 24 holes that range from long and open to short and tight. Eighteen of the 24 holes have two sets (pro & amateur) of really nice concrete pads. There also are no water holes to contend with, so there is no need to bring any floating disks. Tom Brown Park DGC is a relatively flat course with little change in elevation, but it is still a pretty course because of all the live oaks in the park.
Cons: There are four drawbacks on Tom Brown Park DGC that keep it from being a 5-star course. Two can be helped, and two really can't. The course can be crowded and you may have to wait to tee off on some holes, and you often have to share the course with people flying kites, playing catch, sunbathing, etc. Neither of these can be helped, and are a product of being in the capital with at least three colleges in town. However, some of the tee pads especially on alternate holes 11A - 11F are carpet pads in bad shape and need replaced with concrete pads. Additionally, the signs on holes 11A - 11F also are in bad shape to non-existent and need to be replaced.
Other Thoughts: The Tom Brown Park DGC is one of my three home courses (one is a 9-hole private course not on any website) and I feel fortunate to have it in the same hometown. It is a very good complement to the other public course (Jack McLean Park DGC) which is a little shorter, but much tighter. The Tom Brown Park DGC is a maturing course and overall it is pretty long. A big arm will definitely help you to score, and, on most holes, the course is forgiving enough that a good upshot will still enable you to save par after a poor tee shot. Between all 24 holes, there is a really good blend of long open holes and tight wooded holes. Alternate holes 11A - 11F, are pretty tight and if you stray from the fairway your score will reflect it. Overall, Tom Brown Park DGC is really nice course and is well worth driving to play at; if you are in the area don't miss playing it.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course

6/14/2008   6/16/2008
Review By: Scubaboy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Every hole has its challenge.
Cons: The first hole starts off difficult with the basket in the middle of dense woods.
Other Thoughts: Having only played one other course which was over 10 years ago, I do not have a good comparison. But I thoroughly enjoy this course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.