Disc Golf Store
Tallahassee, FL 
Tom Brown Park Share
Uploaded By: ILER Hole #6 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 325ft.   3 / 365ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Close to home

1    8/3/2011   8/4/2011
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 58  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am visiting from Virginia, and was pleasantly surprised to play a course very similar to Bryant Park back in Richmond, VA. Playing Tom Brown, you can tell that great thought went into designing the course, with the different layouts and hole designs. This course offers a little of everything. There are a couple of monster 400+ holes that really give you an opportunity to see what your favorite driver can do. Hole #9 is particularly memorable as you tee off from the top of a hill and watch your disc soar below. The course also offers a wide variety of straight in front, dog leg left and dog leg right designs. There are also a few shorter holes to give your midrange discs a feel. The course has concrete pads for all of the holes almost every hole has a pro and Am tee pad.
Cons: The course could benefit from better signs, showing you the hole layout and possibly pointing you towards the next tee pad.
Other Thoughts: An excellent course that is worth playing again and again. I only wish it were closer to home!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Locals

1    6/4/2005   5/30/2011
Review By: Sandman01
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I was on the road and stopped by this course on a Saturday morning and was lucky enough to play the weekly mini. A great group of friendly golfers.

Liked most of the holes as plays in a very active public park (con as well). The friendly club was more then enough to make up for any cons. Good mix of open and wooded shots with some low ceiling drives if my memories serve me right.
Cons: Active public park so have to watch out for walkers/joggers/picnics etc.

When I played the course was still being worked on and had tone baskets in the woods but were still fun to play.
Other Thoughts: Would like to come back and throw this park again to see all the improvements and hopefully be able to play the mini again. Thanks to the club for allowing me a chance to play in your mini.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 In a word - FUN!

1    6/13/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1 - Good use of elevation changes (Baskets located uphill, downhill, on hillsides, with drop-offs just past basket or before basket)
2 - Variety of shots required (hyzer, anhyzer, turnovers, flicks, even opportunities for well executed hammer throws or thumbers)
3 - Variety of distances to throw (ranging from a paltry sub-200' hole to 400'+ holes, with majority in the 250-350 range.)
4 - Beautiful park with plenty of other activities make it great for families (great playground, bike trail, BMX track, R/C car track, athletic fields, and more)
5 - Very fun to play, due to wide open nature of most fairways.
6 - Good tee boxes (most are cement, some carpet)
7 - Decent tee signs at most holes (see cons)
8 - Park has restroom facilities (may have to walk a ways to get to them)
9 - Great course for beginners (and fun for all skill level players)
Cons: 1 - Slight lack of difficulty (some fairways are "too open")
2 - Not enough benches and garbage cans (yes, this may seem lame to some, but I like a trash can at every other hole and benches at every tee box)
3 - Tee signs do not all have correct distances (or basket locations) on them, especially the holes back in the woods.
4 - Awkward transition from hole 9-10 (across fairway of 18, I think)
Other Thoughts: I only had the opportunity to play this course once, but there's no doubt that it was really FUN to play. I had a great time, got the chance to go all out on a number of drives without fear of losing my disc, and also had the chance to throw a few technical shots. I enjoyed the more heavily wooded portion of the course, as it forced me to throw some tight lines and face some uphill and downhill conditions that I just don't get to see often, playing in central Florida.

After playing Jack McLean (another fantastic courses!), this course was a breath of fresh air!

If you are in the area, do not miss this course!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety!

1    5/20/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: CubbieBlue
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent variation, wide open holes, tight fairway holes, short holes and a couple of long holes. Baskets were nice and there was a local who played a round with me and a friend who was very friendly and a great guide around the course, thanks Dave!
Cons: Needs a couple more longer holes, there was really only one hole I couldn't reach off the drive. The holes in the woods were great, but the holes in the open were really open and did not have much to them. The pads definitely need some work too.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 3 now, but room to improve!

1    5/16/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: Zaneism
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful Park! even though there is a lot going on in the park, the disc golfers do not interfere with the other parts of the park. The disc golf course really needs to play catch up to the rest of the park!
Cons: poor usage of land, after the 1,000 ft walk from hole 9 to hole 10 (if you can find it, down the hill and across hole 18) their is about 5 acres of land with only 2 holes on it! I know it is my own pet peeve but walking backwards down a fairway to get to the next hole is scary and annoying at the same time! (transition between 4 to 5) This course already has 24 holes and plenty of room to expand, there is no reason to walk backwards or cross another fairway to get to your next hole. I hate to beat a dead horse but the signage needs improvement. needs more trashcans and benches, it is a very nice park and well funded, I'm sure there is money for those. Also, the pro tee boxes are too close to the regular boxes, not challenging enough.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure what the percentages are...but it would seem to me that more people play the regular course instead of the pro boxes, so why are the benches and trashcans at those boxes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Diversity of Holes, Distances, and Challenges

5+    2/6/2010   3/24/2010
Review By: SteveHalsell
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course with some very open and some tight holes. I will go through each hole with a good description since it's my home course and I think it's a really great place to play just starting out, or as an experienced professional.

Overall Pros:
- Great signs for each hole
- Well maintained park with facilities if needed
- Playground for my daughter to play on with my wife during the front 9, and then I pick them up for the rest of the round.
Cons: Some negatives:
- If you're new, the transition between holes 9 and 10 is a bit tricky, they're about 1000 ft. from one another and you have to pass through the fairway of hole 24 to get there.
- Very busy park in Tallahassee, so you'll get some people who aren't aware there's a disc golf course there and you'll get disctractions every now and then
Other Thoughts: Since this is my home course I have decided to give a brief opinion on each hol

Breakdown of Each Hole:
1 - Great long tee shot needed to get to the woods. If the pin is on the right you're in the clear a little more, but I prefer the pin to be at the alternate location in the woods. Challenging to get around in the woods, but this favors the big arms.

2 - A shorter hole, but there are some spaced trees between you and the pin. With a nice swooping RHFH shot you'll be there in one shot if you're great, but most likely be able to get to put in two.

3 - A nice corrorider to throw your drive. This will favor a straight shot and with a nice throw you'll make it to the basket (I throw an Innova SL or Stingray RHBH and make it to the basket consistently).

4 - A bittersweet hole for me. This is a strong dogleg right, and as a RHBH thrower it will force me to either come over n my throw, or try a forehand shot. I like the opportunity, but I end up in the woods from time to time. The woods are pretty forgiving though, and you'll have little trouble finding your disc.

5 - A great wooded hole with some paths, but a long drive is needed. If the pin is close, you'll get there in one nice long drive, but sometimes it's out of the woods in the clear and that's a heck of a throw.

6 - Very long hole I have birdied only once, but it is a great hole to just grip and rip your drive. The road comes into play for RHBH throwers if your disc skips, so be careful.

7 - Short little hole with a low ceiling beneath a big tree between you and the hole. For LHBH and RHFH throwers this should be an easy hole to go around the tree left to right.

8 - Another hole to just grip and rip. Nothing too challenging here, except for the backer is on a small hill. If you go for a long put be sure to hit chain or you might roll 20 ft.

9 - One of my favorite holes on the course. It's pretty forgiving for both righty and lefty players. If you just want to kill it on your drive, aim for one of the overhanging trees and your disc will drop down within putting distance of the pin.

10 - A pretty tough uphill hole. This one hits you with a steep ridge to begin with, then it's a long hole after that. Get up and over the hill and you should have a simple approach shot, but even if you fly far to the left or right it is pretty open and you can recover.

11 - A roller-disc dream. This is a long hole heading downhill with a few ridges. Either lay into the drive or roll your way toward the hole. This is always a tough hole to get a 3.

12 - Now you're heading back into the woods for awhile. This is a tight dogleg left hole. Great for RHBH throwers, but you have to really angle the drive because with too much power you're into the brush.

13 - A challenging uphill wooded hole. Not too much to say about it, it's not my favorite, but it is challenging and adds a good uphill dimension.

14 - This starts a set of newer holes added to the course in 2008/2009. This is a steep drop off downhill hole with a narrow fairway of trees. Easy to let the disc fly away on you due to the elevation change so keep your eyes on where it lands!

15 - Wooded hole with no really clear fairway. This can get a little mucky with rain so be careful of mud. Drive too far past the hole on an approach or drive and you'll end up in a little creek.

16 - Nice dogleg right hole with a narrow fairway. Again, if you drive too far past the hole you will end up with a wet disc.

17 - This is a heck of a long hole uphill. If you get a really good drive on this hole you might birdie the hole as an average player, but there's a lot of brush and trees between you and the hole. No real OB threats on this hole, but you will want to be careful of the brush in this hole if you're allergic to poison ivy.

18 - This is another uphill drive and the walk from 17 to 18 is killer at the end of a hot day. It's a pretty open hole if you throw RHBH and you shouldn't have any problems.

19 - If you don't get a lot on your drive here you will end up in some really thick brush lining the fairway and over on the right. I would aim for the huge oak tree or the racquetball court fences here if you're new. If you don't have a big drive just lay up and make sure you don't lose a disc. Also, behind the hole is a drop off, so be careful with those long putts or approach shots.

20 - Fun hole in the woods for a LHBH thrower because it is a dogleg right hole. It's a challenging fairway with trees popping up all over. This is a great hole to stare at trees as you walk, especially near the tee pads, because they have taken a beating throughout the years and it's good for a laugh.

21 - I tend to go outside to the right of these trees with a RHBH throw and a strong skip (I use an Orc, Monarch, or Leopard). If the hole is up on the hill you'll have a low ceiling, but that pin placement is more challenging and prefer that location.

22 - This is an open fairway with some trees to the right, but for the most part you've got a nice path to the pin up a little hill and to the right. There is an OB road to your left, so be careful.

23 - This is a nice shot hole to just throw to and feel good about yourself. Don't go too hard because a wind might take you into and over the road to OB behind the hole (also the hole is below you for a slight elevation change).

24 - The last hole on the course is a good one to just use the energy you have left to rip one. Not a lot of challenge with this hole if you are RHBH, but if you are LHBH you might struggle with the trees lining the road to your left.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Both Good and Bad

1    2/11/2010   2/15/2010
Review By: dr.chainslove
Played: 46  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a great park with varied terrain. Multiple concrete tees for most holes. Decent signs. Good innova discatcher baskets. There is defintely some clever use of elevation and tree lines. A few of the open holes were made more appealing with baskets placed on the top of ridges that had a "deuce or die" approach. Hole 1 was a great example of a wide open drive and tight, defined approach. It was my favorite. 11 was a fun open, downhill 500 ft bomber. Overall, the first 13 holes were solid, well-rounded disc golf holes. If the course stopped right here, my rating would be a strong 3.5 or a weak 4
Cons: The alternate 6 holes felt a bit forced. Situated in tight, dense woods/swamp, these holes were the least fun. The first of these was only 180 feet but had no possible path to the hole on the drive unless you were using a boomerang. It forced an 80 ft layup and a gimmie par. This is not good course design. Most of the rest of these alternate holes required too much luck to have a good shot as there weren't clear shot shape lines and many stray trees and brush. This area seemed pretty new and some tees weren't permanent. hopefully this area is a work in progress. hole 17 was a joke, merely a short simple hole that lazily connected you from 16 to 18. 18 was a lackluster finishing hole. However, it looks like some park construction was in progress and it forced 17 and maybe 18 to re-route into another area.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is worth a play. The 6 extra holes are dicey but might improve with extra brush clearing and traffic. I didn't get to play the other nearby park but it's awfully close to this one so back-to-back course play is possible here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My Personal Favorite

5+    7/1/2008   1/13/2010
Review By: melkman
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -well varied holes including different lengths, holes require different shots, some holes are open & some are wooded, varied elevation (for a Florida course).
-great facilities around including other activities, restrooms & water fountains
-course is clean and well maintained
-everyone is very friendly
Cons: -can be confusing the first time you play
-the park gets very crowded on weekends (many times people park their cars on the course)
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned on. It was about a mile from my apartment while in college. Me and my friend had never heard of disc golf so one day we took a regular frisbee up there and started playing. A couple holes in, a person came up to us and showed us how to really play. He even gave us two of his old mid-range discs to get started. Was hooked ever since. Played there a couple times a week for the rest of my time in college. When I was there they were just finishing the extra holes so I never really got to play them. Anyone in the area should defiantly check this course out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    10/26/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It is a nice course with many open holes but also has a few tight holes. It also has a few holes that are for practice but are heavily wooded.
Cons: Direction to the next holes are very confusing if never played the course before. Better signs would help.
Some holes are a little tight.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course. I would play it over and over when in the area

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  love it

5+    10/21/2002   10/21/2009
Review By: jec777
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: i love it its what a disc golf course should be ! not to tight! you dont see people playing ball golf on tight courses ! and we all know disc fly wider than balls ! ive seen courses where you have to through a straght drive between trees 15 foot apart that is not fun ! let the disc fly ! that is why i like this course !
Cons: non i can think of !
Other Thoughts: moved back home and im coming back to play !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! just wish we had one in thomasville !

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.