Layout Extinct

Austin (Wells Branch), TX 
Wells Branch Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 261ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 even better with 18 holes

5+    2/16/2011   2/17/2011
Review By: discgolf512
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is now a very fun 18-hole course.
As noted many times before, this is a good beginner course with short holes that should be easy pars.
That said, this course will really challenge an experienced player's short game. There is no reason not to birdy every hole, yet the use of the terrain and creek makes this a very challenging task. The 9 holes that were added at the start of 2011 are very creative and fit in nicely with the original 9. The new holes are short, can be easily birdied by experienced players, but in contrast to the original 9 holes, many of these holes are threaded through trees and require some finesse. The baskets on 6 of these new holes are set near the creek, if your drive or putt goes to long, you'll be wet.
Cons: The course needs tee signs and directions (to next tee).
You do have to cross under a street to get to half of the course,
There is a storage unit business near basket 5. The fence has been damaged by disc golfers... if you sneak through or climb over the fence they will call the police on you (trespassing). (They will allow you access to the property if you walk over to the main entrance.)
Parking, there isn't much, you have to park in the street by hole 1.
Other Thoughts: This course gets a lot of negative reviews, because it is short. I think it is a beautiful park, well maintained (always mowed) and overall is a really fun course.
I recommend experienced players give this course a try. Come out with your friends and see who can get the most birdies. Even at 18 holes, it doesn't take long to play and it's close enough to other courses it makes for a nice warm up round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Number 9, Number 9, Numberů.That's it?

1    8/22/2010   11/9/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 211  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a very fun 9-hole course. The elevation used here was perfect for a course this size. This may be a "beginner" type course, but judging the distances and elevation your first couple of times around will catch you off guard. This place has a creek and some beautiful terrain for such a small course. One of the holes had a basket on a ridge with a sloped, drop-off in front and behind the basket. It was a fun (slight) risk/reward type of hole. I must admit that the people I ran into out here were real friendly and did not mind helping me locate the holes at all.
Cons: Finding the next hole was not too bad, but it certainly should have been simpler. I highly recommend that you take a map or ask for help. You do have to cross a street to get to 2 of the holes in the middle of the course, but it is not really that big of a deal. The distances from tee to pin were not overly challenging, but not super simple either.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was really decent. This course had enough different looks to the holes that when the 9 holes were over I felt myself wishing there were a few more holes to play. For a quick 30 minute round and the fact that it is not too far from the highway, I highly recommend stopping to enjoy this little gem.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Love This Course

5+    11/5/2010   11/6/2010
Review By: slicemaster
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Awesome Course to practice putt and approach
- Offers alternate tees on each hole
- Tee Baskets move to keep the course interesting
- Most friendly locals you will find anywhere in Austin
- Never too crowded and easy to play in 30-45 min
- Decent shot selection
Cons: - Some holes 1st tee are way too short. (ex #5)
- Can be a little overgrown at times
- Tee Boxes aren't the best, especially alt. ones.
- I fell in the creek getting a disc back, it was pretty gross.
- Watch out for snakes and snapping turtles in and around creek area
-
Other Thoughts: I love playing this course for many reasons. I have only been playing for 3 months and all the experienced locals here are willing to play with you or point you in the right direction. I have never had a bad outing at this course and play it at least once a week. Mini tourney on Sunday is a great way to improve your skills as you are forced to get better playing with people who are pretty decent. Are there better, longer courses in Austin?, yes, but I will keep coming back here to get better at this awesome sport and to have a great time with the many locals whom frequent this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Old 9 Hole Course

1    9/19/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: gek76
Played: 38  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.6 Years
Pros: Simple 9 hole course in a nice neighborhood. Most hold are simple and beginner friendly. Grass was trimmed, no lossing discs in the rough. Creek was shallow and clear, easy to find disc that fell in.
Cons: Tees are dirt and worn down. It had rained earlier and the tees were full of mud.
Baskets are either very old or someone has been beating on them hard.
Holes 5 and 6 had no sign and we could only find one tee between them. Also the hike from hole 4 to 5 was pretty far and no signs telling you where to go. We just had to guess it was on the other side of the street.
Holes are very short.
Other Thoughts: I was disappointed in this course. I was in town visiting family and had time for one course. This one was close to where they live and since I had a beginner with me I thought a 9 hole would be a good choice. I was wrong. Though the holes were short and mostly open, which was good for someone starting, the condition of the course didn't make it very appealing. This course was not well maintained.

Was a nice neighborhood park. Looked to have a great playground for kids. Not a dog friendly course. The actual courses was not Stroller Friendly, though the park had a nice path that was.

 nice practice course

2-4    8/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: longhornDG
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - good if you're lookin for a quick 9 holes. you can easily play all 9 in 30-45 min if there's no traffic in front of you
- beginner friendly. i've only been playing for a few months and i threw an even par (27) my first time out.
- variety of shots. some nice hyzer and anhyzers. chances to use your forehand or LHBH too. no really tight throws though
Cons: - too short, especially if you play from the regular tees. the alternate tees give a better challenge but they can be nearly impossible to find if you're not with an experienced player. you really don't need a driver the whole time
- tee boxes are too small and uneven. gravel isn't too great either. the alternate tees are just worn dirt spots, they're not great but they make each hole a little more fun
- you have to cross a pretty busy street to get to holes 5 and 6
Other Thoughts: even though it's a quick beginner course it was pretty enjoyable. creek isn't too annoying, there are some decent obstacles to make holes fun, and the regulars there are friendly.
i actually got asked to play a doubles round right after i finished my first round on the course. the regulars were friendly and showed me all of the alternate tees. good afternoon of disc golf!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners Beware of this Advanced Beginner Course

5+    8/13/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: mavjr24
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: This is a great little course that does make you second think you initial shot. It is a a smaller mid range course that makes your earn what you get while you are out there. I live right up the street from the course and have been playing it for years. I do not understand why they state this course is a 18 hole when clearly it has always been a 9 hole. Tough course with great amount of water and does take a little more than just a beginner skill to get through this course smoothly.
Cons: The water can really put you in a bad mood in some of the areas. Watch out for the pro throw on 7. I have thrown that shot twice and both times my disc have magically disappeared in the mud and creek. Would like to see the tee boxes turned into concrete so that the days after it rains you are not playing mud golf.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that is a little more that just a beginner course. So beginners beware on your first time playing out here.

 Wells Branch

1    7/6/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: blake918
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has so much potential to be a great little neighaborhood event, however doesnt live up to any sort of expectations. the grass is tall, but it adds difficulty to an easy course. work on your short game. No drivers needed.
Cons: teeboxes are marked with signs that make almost no sense with no way of knowing where the next hole is, they are holed out and uneven, but no run up is needed considering the holes are 200+ feet course measured in yards. holes 6 & 7 are across a busy street, we acadentaly skipped these holes because there was no marking or lead on thought.
Other Thoughts: this course could be great and fun with a little work better signs more gravel in the teeboxes. the creek does add serinity and eye candy. all in all theis course deserves better than it has been given.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun Afternoon

1    3/28/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: bayouace
Played: 38  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really fun course that challenges you with pin placements. It is not for especially good players looking for a big challenge. I am RHBH, Recreational and chose this course on a trip because my wife wanted to play, and this course is beginner friendly. You won't need a big arm or driver to play this one, but the pin placements make it a bit challenging. 3 and 4 can dump you in the water easily if you throw long. The course has Am tees and long tees. All are easy to find. I recommend the map here on DGCR. 1 hyzers in from the long or Ams. 2 is straight and easy. 3 and 4 bend back right to a creek that was easy to get a disc or 2 out of it. :>)
5 is really short, and 6 is a bugger with a low canopy to throw under. Hit the trees and you may bounce into the creek again. 7 is easy from the Ams and crosses the creek from the long tee. The hill slope placement of the basket on 8 is blind and steep, and you tee off uphill. Good luck. 9 finishes straight with a couple of trees. Tee boxes were OK. Baskets are fine. A beginner will not be frustrated here, and an experienced player can still have fun and be technical. Good use of terrain(elevation changes) and space available.Lots of eating places close by on
I-35 Service roads. Bring your accuracy. Average throwers won't feel outclassed on distance here.
Cons: Nearest rest room seems to be the Valero station across Wells Branch, straight across Wells Port St. No water at the course. Lots of walkers, dogs, and sun seekers on blankets. Parking is no problem by #1, except during church. Grass is maintained well. Locals are friendly.
Other Thoughts: There is a Sunday AM mini doubles that doesn't end until about 1, so plan on hitting the course then or later. The mini players were friendly, so if you go at 9 or so, I am certain they would be happy to take your money in a friendly way. If there has been a lot of rain, I can see where all but 2, 5, 7, 8, and 9 could get you wet. How about a twosome where you are hooking someone on DG? Hit Wells Branch and Block House Creek in Leander, and they will have fallen for DG. Do Block House AM and WB after lunch on Sunday

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Beginner Course

1    12/20/2009   12/20/2009
Review By: upprc04
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good beginner course. Short holes. Made me feel pretty good after not playing in a long time - had a good chance to birdie most holes.
Cons: Would be better if holes had the number on them. #6 and #7 are across a busy road.
Other Thoughts: Horrible putting after coming back after a while and didn't get a two all round even though I probably had 5-6 good chances :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good practice course

1    6/19/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: Buzz
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good practice for finesse shots. Great for beginners.
Cons: Way too short, Long walk to 6, 7 for only 2 holes.
Other Thoughts: Alternate hole positions provide some good variety, however most of them just make the holes really short.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.