Layout Extinct

Austin (Wells Branch), TX 
Wells Branch Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 231ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 nice practice course

2-4    8/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: longhornDG
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - good if you're lookin for a quick 9 holes. you can easily play all 9 in 30-45 min if there's no traffic in front of you
- beginner friendly. i've only been playing for a few months and i threw an even par (27) my first time out.
- variety of shots. some nice hyzer and anhyzers. chances to use your forehand or LHBH too. no really tight throws though
Cons: - too short, especially if you play from the regular tees. the alternate tees give a better challenge but they can be nearly impossible to find if you're not with an experienced player. you really don't need a driver the whole time
- tee boxes are too small and uneven. gravel isn't too great either. the alternate tees are just worn dirt spots, they're not great but they make each hole a little more fun
- you have to cross a pretty busy street to get to holes 5 and 6
Other Thoughts: even though it's a quick beginner course it was pretty enjoyable. creek isn't too annoying, there are some decent obstacles to make holes fun, and the regulars there are friendly.
i actually got asked to play a doubles round right after i finished my first round on the course. the regulars were friendly and showed me all of the alternate tees. good afternoon of disc golf!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun Afternoon

1    3/28/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: bayouace
Played: 39  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really fun course that challenges you with pin placements. It is not for especially good players looking for a big challenge. I am RHBH, Recreational and chose this course on a trip because my wife wanted to play, and this course is beginner friendly. You won't need a big arm or driver to play this one, but the pin placements make it a bit challenging. 3 and 4 can dump you in the water easily if you throw long. The course has Am tees and long tees. All are easy to find. I recommend the map here on DGCR. 1 hyzers in from the long or Ams. 2 is straight and easy. 3 and 4 bend back right to a creek that was easy to get a disc or 2 out of it. :>)
5 is really short, and 6 is a bugger with a low canopy to throw under. Hit the trees and you may bounce into the creek again. 7 is easy from the Ams and crosses the creek from the long tee. The hill slope placement of the basket on 8 is blind and steep, and you tee off uphill. Good luck. 9 finishes straight with a couple of trees. Tee boxes were OK. Baskets are fine. A beginner will not be frustrated here, and an experienced player can still have fun and be technical. Good use of terrain(elevation changes) and space available.Lots of eating places close by on
I-35 Service roads. Bring your accuracy. Average throwers won't feel outclassed on distance here.
Cons: Nearest rest room seems to be the Valero station across Wells Branch, straight across Wells Port St. No water at the course. Lots of walkers, dogs, and sun seekers on blankets. Parking is no problem by #1, except during church. Grass is maintained well. Locals are friendly.
Other Thoughts: There is a Sunday AM mini doubles that doesn't end until about 1, so plan on hitting the course then or later. The mini players were friendly, so if you go at 9 or so, I am certain they would be happy to take your money in a friendly way. If there has been a lot of rain, I can see where all but 2, 5, 7, 8, and 9 could get you wet. How about a twosome where you are hooking someone on DG? Hit Wells Branch and Block House Creek in Leander, and they will have fallen for DG. Do Block House AM and WB after lunch on Sunday

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Beginner Course

1    12/20/2009   12/20/2009
Review By: upprc04
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good beginner course. Short holes. Made me feel pretty good after not playing in a long time - had a good chance to birdie most holes.
Cons: Would be better if holes had the number on them. #6 and #7 are across a busy road.
Other Thoughts: Horrible putting after coming back after a while and didn't get a two all round even though I probably had 5-6 good chances :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good practice course

1    6/19/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: Buzz
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good practice for finesse shots. Great for beginners.
Cons: Way too short, Long walk to 6, 7 for only 2 holes.
Other Thoughts: Alternate hole positions provide some good variety, however most of them just make the holes really short.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners Requiem

5+    4/16/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: ttraut
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Condition, welcoming for beginners, great place to practice your mid-game and putts. can be played by yourself in about 25-45 mins. Every hole has alternate(longer) tee boxes that the regulars have created to make it a little more fun and some have some decent distance.Great signs, theyre just in yards instead of feet.
Cons: The course is very short, the alternate boxes should be designated a color and be worked-in the course map/tee distances. Some peeps get mixed up on which basket to shoot at when playing 3 and 7.
Other Thoughts: Great quickie course for a busy day or to rack-up a quick warm-up round before you go play one of the many bigger courses i.e.-Old Settlers or Pease

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center