Layout Extinct

Austin (Wells Branch), TX 
Wells Branch Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 210ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 even better with 18 holes

5+    2/16/2011   2/17/2011
Review By: discgolf512
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is now a very fun 18-hole course.
As noted many times before, this is a good beginner course with short holes that should be easy pars.
That said, this course will really challenge an experienced player's short game. There is no reason not to birdy every hole, yet the use of the terrain and creek makes this a very challenging task. The 9 holes that were added at the start of 2011 are very creative and fit in nicely with the original 9. The new holes are short, can be easily birdied by experienced players, but in contrast to the original 9 holes, many of these holes are threaded through trees and require some finesse. The baskets on 6 of these new holes are set near the creek, if your drive or putt goes to long, you'll be wet.
Cons: The course needs tee signs and directions (to next tee).
You do have to cross under a street to get to half of the course,
There is a storage unit business near basket 5. The fence has been damaged by disc golfers... if you sneak through or climb over the fence they will call the police on you (trespassing). (They will allow you access to the property if you walk over to the main entrance.)
Parking, there isn't much, you have to park in the street by hole 1.
Other Thoughts: This course gets a lot of negative reviews, because it is short. I think it is a beautiful park, well maintained (always mowed) and overall is a really fun course.
I recommend experienced players give this course a try. Come out with your friends and see who can get the most birdies. Even at 18 holes, it doesn't take long to play and it's close enough to other courses it makes for a nice warm up round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Love This Course

5+    11/5/2010   11/6/2010
Review By: slicemaster
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Awesome Course to practice putt and approach
- Offers alternate tees on each hole
- Tee Baskets move to keep the course interesting
- Most friendly locals you will find anywhere in Austin
- Never too crowded and easy to play in 30-45 min
- Decent shot selection
Cons: - Some holes 1st tee are way too short. (ex #5)
- Can be a little overgrown at times
- Tee Boxes aren't the best, especially alt. ones.
- I fell in the creek getting a disc back, it was pretty gross.
- Watch out for snakes and snapping turtles in and around creek area
-
Other Thoughts: I love playing this course for many reasons. I have only been playing for 3 months and all the experienced locals here are willing to play with you or point you in the right direction. I have never had a bad outing at this course and play it at least once a week. Mini tourney on Sunday is a great way to improve your skills as you are forced to get better playing with people who are pretty decent. Are there better, longer courses in Austin?, yes, but I will keep coming back here to get better at this awesome sport and to have a great time with the many locals whom frequent this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners Beware of this Advanced Beginner Course

5+    8/13/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: mavjr24
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: This is a great little course that does make you second think you initial shot. It is a a smaller mid range course that makes your earn what you get while you are out there. I live right up the street from the course and have been playing it for years. I do not understand why they state this course is a 18 hole when clearly it has always been a 9 hole. Tough course with great amount of water and does take a little more than just a beginner skill to get through this course smoothly.
Cons: The water can really put you in a bad mood in some of the areas. Watch out for the pro throw on 7. I have thrown that shot twice and both times my disc have magically disappeared in the mud and creek. Would like to see the tee boxes turned into concrete so that the days after it rains you are not playing mud golf.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that is a little more that just a beginner course. So beginners beware on your first time playing out here.

 Da Branch

5+    4/17/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots. Quick course. Multiple tee boxes.
Cons: Tee boxes are terrible. Not mapped out well. Tee boxes suck.
Other Thoughts: This is a great short course with many types of shots. With a little work it could be superb.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic starter course!

2-4    6/13/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a beautiful little park, and just blocks from I-35. A small creek runs through over a stone bed, so you can see into the creek and even walk in it without it being muddy. There is shade available but the course is wide open. The holes are varied and fun.

THIS IS A BEGINNERS' COURSE. I've seen some of the reviews on here and this course gets knocked for being too simple. It's not meant to be high level. For what it is, it's spectacular. Most newbie courses are in a flat, open park. This has 2 blind shots, water in play, some elevation changes, and a couple of tight teebox shots.

It's very good for beginners, but also a great approach and putt course for experienced players. I never got out anything over a midrange, but I had a ton of fun and practiced a lot of useful shots.

There are alternate tees available to add a touch of distance, but the original boxes are well placed. It was very easy to navigate and just a relaxing, enjoyable round.
Cons: The teepads are loose gravel and some of them are pretty easy to take a fall on.
Other Thoughts: It's fun practicing bombing it out there 400 feet, but how often do you actually throw that in a round? It's the 100 foot approach on uneven footing, or the uphill 25 foot putts we know we need to practice and don't. This course lets you do just that in a fun way.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center