Brighton, UT 
Solitude Mountain Resort Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #1 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 286ft.   3 / 272ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 (Upper North Star) Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Nothing but sweet solitude

1    8/29/2014   9/4/2014
Review By: willygriff
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course was well marked, thank you to the mountain staff. Beautiful views, trails maintained. Nice benches at every hole. Beautiful scenery. Holes were exciting an of variable difficulty, well named I might add.
Other Thoughts: $10 lift ticket or a hike. Not unreasonable.
Hole 18 is a ridiculous 1200ft launch watch where your disc goes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best Mountain Course Period

5+    8/25/2013   3/21/2014
Review By: luckypeak
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 8/17/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Chair lift takes you up mountain to hole 1
-Beautiful scenery as you meander through the aspens and pines.
-Great course design and layout
Cons: -Some of the upper holes are strenuous but still fun to play
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in Utah by far, the air is clean the views are marvelous and the golf is amazing!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bombs Away

2-4    8/26/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: SuperBorg
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course to make you feel like a king. Want to throw 500 feet with a mid-range, this is your course. Want to pass that pesky 1000 foot barrier, you have come to the right place. Have plenty of money to replace a lost disc or two, welcome to Solitude.

Take the lift, or walk over from Brighton. This course starts high on the Solitude resort, and lets you wander down the mountain. Two steep uphill holes, and a few neutral holes, otherwise, a great downhill course. The last hole is 1200 feet with a huge vertical drop. At over 300 feet wide, there is no guarantee you will find the fairway, and even if you do, you may still lose your disc. But, find the perfect line, and your disc will never stop flying.


Cons: Getting to the first tee is a bit of a job, requiring either paying for the lift, or taking a half mile walk from Brighton. There is a good chance of losing a disc. I personally love the tee boxes, but some may find them a bit on the short side.
Other Thoughts: This is an epic mountain resort.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

lost and found

2-4    7/21/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: Disc chaser
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great downhill mountain course. I highly recommend solitude as a great disc golf experience in Utah.
Cons: The reason for this review is to warn disc golfers about the Solitude lost and found 'Black Hole'. DO NOT turn discs into the Solitude lost and found. I lost a disc and another player found it the same day. He called me and explained that he was leaving it with the lost and found. I phoned Solitude to make sure the disc was there and the guy told me "I'm looking right at it." When I returned to get the disc, I was directed to the lift shack near 18 basket. I described my disc to the guy at the shack and he retrieved a box of 15-20 ratty discs and literally threw them down the hill to where we were standing and said "take what you need man."
Zero accountability with the Solitude lost and found.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun for everyone!

1    9/29/2012   3/2/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 416  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a mountain resort, when there is no snow on the ground, the plastic is in the air! Take the ski lift to the top to save energy for some of the grueling elevation that is present. Pretty much no chance for interference save for the occasional mountain biker.
- Since the setting of the course is on a mountainside, the biggest pro at this course is constant and extreme elevation changes. No point in listing all the holes that go up, down, or waaaay up and waaaay down. Let's just say that hole #18 is 1200', with a 400' vertical drop! Steep enough?? On the other end of the spectrum, some of the additional holes on the letter loop are super duper steep uphill. Plenty of holes in between from start to finish.
- Also spots where the biggest slope is off the fairway, going too far left or right can mean a hike to get the disc and get back to the basket. #8 especially, do not go too far right, or else.
- Decent amount of trees here as well; there are definitely spots that require line shaping or shot placement. #5 is a sharp hyzer around the woods, for instance, and #6 is a great downhill shot that forces a line to the left or right of a giant patch of tall trees. #12 is pretty heavily wooded, with some tight gaps to find amongst skinny trees. The last temp hole (#I?) is a giant FH flex downhill, with dense woods on both sides.
- A few spots have very real hazards, mostly due to nasty rollaway/sloping areas for discs to find, but also some water in a few spots as well. Really makes things interesting on top of everything else; turning over a disc too much or hyzering out in the thin air can be disastrous.
- Lots of length to the course; the original 18 hole layout clocks in at 416' per hole, and the temp holes follow suit. Really have the chance to let the discs glide and glide on the downhill holes; both big arms and small arms will enjoy the chance to throw some real bombers.
- Rubber pads are good, baskets good, signs good. Navigation signs help out, though the temp holes aren't marked very well. Hole #B is a hyzer; not straight ahead, from there it is pretty easy to follow (assuming the layout is the same!!!).
Cons: - Only real con here is a large number of wide open holes, or holes that have pretty simple obstacles to avoid. Just need to huck the disc without many consequences for a bad shot. That's it though!
- Some tall grass can eat discs here; I lost a go-to disc in plain sight on one of the temp holes. Keep a close eye even in some of the fairways...
Other Thoughts: - Well, this is mountain golf at its finest, I would have to assume. Haven't had the chance to play many courses where a ski lift is almost necessary; but I imagine this one is right up there with the rest of them. Epic 1200' finishing hole really caps it off. I would recommend EVERYONE check this place out; fun factor is overflowing. Unless you have bad knees or a heart condition, it is going to be a blast. Worth every penny.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Mountain Course

5+    9/21/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 57  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well done course in the most beautiful location.

Pads are all in good shape. They aren't concrete, but are packed dirt with rubber pads in clearly marked boxes.

Holes are challenging and don't really favor backhand or flicks.

Clearly marked tees and signs makes the course pretty easy to navigate. They offer a course map/scorecard at the top of the lift as well.

Great atmosphere, awesome lift staff. Overall it's a blast to play.
Cons: Not many cons here. Discs don't turn over because of the altitude, so it's really easy to lose them. I've lost more discs in these hills than all other courses combined by double. (I really don't lose many so it sounds worse than it is).

They raised the price for the lift to $10 so it's probably more worthwhile to hike up than pay for the lift now.
Other Thoughts: Get ready to hike for discs. I overthrew a couple holes and ended up searching for an eternity in vain (usually). The altitude and terrain will really make it easy to let disks get away from you.

Hole 18 is insane.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 crazy cool ski slope course

1    6/30/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: adazm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: for starters, you are playing DOWN a ski slope, wow! just gorgeous scenery and SO so much easier than playing UP hill. excellent basket placement and great tee signs leading the way. plenty of long bombing downhill holes that are easy to reach, in addition to a couple tighter fairways.
taking the ski lift up just makes for a magical mountain experience!
Cons: due to gravity, is really easy for anyone to lose a disc throwing downhill. several of the longer holes are fairly detached from the forest and thus just who can throw farther competitions.
top of the world hole 18 has a fairway that must be like 1,000 feet across, and yet i have still never been able to hit it. easy to lose a disc on even a decent throw.
Other Thoughts: was the 9th of 9 course on our thrilling road trip. the 6 year old shot an unheard of 79, garnering ctp on at least 2 holes with 4 other GOOD disc golfers. was just an exquisite experience with ultra kind fellow disc golfers.
the downhill aspect really nullifies "distance" as the key factor and replaces it with the cherished "accuracy".
would be a GOOD course to take a female significant other to due to vistas and the reach ability of downhill fairways.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great mountain course

5+    10/1/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: baylor90505
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery. Great markers, tees, and layout of the course. Mostly downhill with lots of elevation change. Varying lengths of holes and great obstacles for shot selection. Usually not too busy.
Cons: Like many others have said, it can be difficult at times to locate your discs; even on great throws. The grass can get tall and make if a little bit more difficult to find discs.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Mountain Course

2-4    8/21/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredibly beautiful scenery
Mostly downhill
Great variation in hole length
Multiple shots required
Trees easy to climb to get discs back
Beautiful, level rubber tee pads
Beautiful signage
No trash
Nearly new baskets
No graffiti
Not crowded
Fantastic tournament each year (Full Throttle) Had $16K in prizes in 2011. Open winner took home $2K. Top Am cards went home with $100-200 worth of stuff.
Cons: Because it is a mountain course, you can't really mow it. That makes it easy to lose discs. The rough and fairways generally have grass and similar plants two feet tall. It isn't too thick, but you will definitely spend some time looking for discs. The problem is compounded by the fact that you may throw your discs out of sight, not because you threw them behind something, but because they went far enough that you can no longer see the disc. There are no cacti or stickers or anything, but the landing zones are necessarily big and there's plenty of disc hiding foliage in them. This is the main reason I cannot give this course 5 stars. If they could somehow mow more of the grass down with some kind of a mountain mower (I've heard they exist) it would be a perfect course. I recommend you play in a group at this course, just to help find discs. I'm confident you would lose 1-2 discs a round playing solo, and it would really detract from the fun.
Bugs can be irritating. I've definitely seen worse at many courses. Bring a can of bug dope, spray it on before the round, and you'll hardly notice them.
Lift rides aren't free (well, unless you bribe the liftie.)
Only open 3 months a year or so.
Other Thoughts: This course is everything that Creekside is not. It is long, well-kept, not crowded, mountainous, and not free (once you add in the cost of gas to get there and a lift ticket.) There is something beautiful about teeing off on a 1200 foot hole when you start 400 vertical feet above the basket. If you have never watched a disc fly for 15 seconds, you're in for a treat.
My favorite hole is # 6. It is over 600 feet long and probably has 300 feet of elevation change. I overthrew the basket by 300 feet one time. A smarter player can thread the fairway between 70 foot tall trees and reach the pin with a mid-range without having to worry about the ponds and the creek behind the basket. Players in my group took everything from a 2 to a 6 on the hole.
The best part about this course is that it will teach you to throw up and down hills. This is a subtle skill many disc golfers never really have to learn. Hint-throw with the contour of the mountain for maximum distance and minimum fade downhill.
Bring your light, understable plastic. You'll need it due to the thin mountain air as well as to maximize distance both up and down hill.
I suggest you come right after the snow melts before the grass gets very tall. Or, come around the time of the Full Throttle tourney when it is likely to have been mown down or at least trampled by the tournament players.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Pretty, but painful

1    8/14/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: mrbigtoughguychris
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting, clean air, not overly busy, long course (plan for 3 hrs or so).
Very Challenging.
Trees are easy to climb to retrieve your disks.
Cons: Bring your mosquito repellant, it will make the game 100% more fun when you not being eaten by the swarm of helicopter sized blood suckers.
In the summer the foliage is knee to waist deep and because of the intense down hills and up hills you are VERY likely to be looking for your disk for an extended period of time, if you don't lose it all together (we lost 2).
A very bright pink or orange disk of solid color is almost a must here. Everything else blends into the flowers or grass or weeds.
Course is really rough on your disks, I lost some chunks out of mine for sure.
Other Thoughts: Chairlift was $7 this year and I don't think you would really want to make the walk. The course is about 2 miles long on steep trails, up and down.
We fortunately met some very nice folks up there that were willing to share some of their Off with us, but up to that point it was miserable. I had 5 bites on my head, a couple on my neck and one on each limb. And that was in the first 3 holes.
This is not a very good beginner's course, it can be very frustrating and is somewhat strenuous walking up and down the mountain. I would not bring my girlfriend on her first outing, unless you want to permanently ensure she will never play again.
Wear good shoes and long pants, searching for your disk in the brush can really scratch you up.
I know I have complained a lot, but this is a truly great course, it is extremely challenging. Holes are very long, but still parable. Bring extra disks.
I shot 10+ (ouch), afterwards we went to the University Course and shot the front 9 twice, just to rebuild our crushed egos (we both shot par for 18 there).
A guy who goes to this course frequently said early summer/late spring, just after the snow melts is the best time to come, before the plants take over.
Definitely worth a shot.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.