Brighton, UT 
Solitude Mountain Resort Share
Uploaded By: Hitmetal Hole #7
3 / 357ft.   3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
lost and found

2-4    7/21/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: Disc chaser
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great downhill mountain course. I highly recommend solitude as a great disc golf experience in Utah.
Cons: The reason for this review is to warn disc golfers about the Solitude lost and found 'Black Hole'. DO NOT turn discs into the Solitude lost and found. I lost a disc and another player found it the same day. He called me and explained that he was leaving it with the lost and found. I phoned Solitude to make sure the disc was there and the guy told me "I'm looking right at it." When I returned to get the disc, I was directed to the lift shack near 18 basket. I described my disc to the guy at the shack and he retrieved a box of 15-20 ratty discs and literally threw them down the hill to where we were standing and said "take what you need man."
Zero accountability with the Solitude lost and found.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 WOW

1    7/17/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: samsung3384
Played: 33  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I don't even know where to start. This is a very excellent course for all kinds of players. Taking the lift is the easy way to get to hole one. If the lift is closed just hike it. Its not that bad. Wide open fields with easy navigation. This course comes with amazing views of the moutains surrounding the area and that amazing fresh moutain air.
Cons: Very easy to loose a disc. Keep an eye on where your throw goes. A downside is that if the lift is closed you either come back another day or hike to the top, which is what i did.
Other Thoughts: It definitely helps to have people spotting for you. I had 3 people on the hike with me to help look and watch where my discs' went. So bring your friends!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solitude Mtn Resort

2-4    6/25/2010   5/25/2011
Review By: JDee
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Your dream Mtn Course. This is what Utah is all about. I wish every Mtn resort had a course just like this one. This is absolutely beautiful! You can't go wrong taking time out of your summer to come play this course.
-Trees, animals, birds, hikers, bikers, water, and discs! You will see everything on this course. You will see all sorts of animals Deer, eagles, squirrels, sasquatch etc... Watch for hikers and bikers. They are not in the way at all, but sometimes you might want to wait til they pass before you throw. Because this is a wooded forest you may lose a disc. But you will also find one or two or four as well.
-Lot's of challenge from uphill to downhill on 18, this course is soooo fun. There is even one hole that the best way to get it through is to hammer toss over the trees and it drops right by the basket. (maybe 13 not sure)
-Bring water and snacks. This is also a day hike.
Cons: -Depending on the winters in Utah, this course may only be available June - September. So make time to go play.
-Very few cons on this course except probably the hike to hole 1 if the tram isn't running, or the tram itself is never fun to pay. However, it is only $6. See below how we worked around the hike, and the tram.
-Can be cool in early summer or late fall, bring a sweater.
Other Thoughts: I give this course a 4 and it is probably more then that to most people. I like to give a tough review though, therefore would have to be pretty spectacular to get a better then 4 rating in my book. This course is pristine! Hard course, big challenge, but so so beautiful and fun!
-Here is what we do so we don't have to hike straight up the mountain side or have to pay $6 for the tram. We take 2 cars up the canyon. Park one car at solitude and all get in the other car and head up to Brighton resort. Park there walk around the right side of the lake about a quarter of the way, then hike in towards solitude and you pop out at hole one. This is not a hike, it's a day walk through. Better then the hike straight up! Then when you finish your round, go pick up your other car. Easy, quick, free!
Most importantly, have fun. This is a fairly difficult course so if you are new, don't get frustrated. Just make sure you have extra discs. :-)

Excited for the snow to melt so I can get up to Solitude this year 2012!! Anyone know when the snow will be gone??

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solitude

1    7/30/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: successwarrior
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The atmosphere is wonderful. We went on a Thursday when the lift wasn't running. We had to hike up but we had the whole course to ourselves. It was fantastic. We had hawks screeching to each other on the way up and tons of chipmunks and prairie dogs running around checking us out.

The severe elevations changes (down or especially up) really changed the game. A disk thrown too high went severely off-track and a disk thrown too low was a wasted opportunity. With baskets of 500+ feet, you really had to figure in the fade on your disk and try to find a way to navigate the distance, elevation, and trees (all at the same time on some baskets).
Cons: Like so many have mentioned before, the tall grass and trees can make it hard to find a disk even when it's well thrown.

We hiked up and I wouldn't really recommend that. I don't regret it but the next time I play Solitude, I'm going to ride the ski lift. I want to spend my energy throwing disks, not hiking straight up a ski run.
Other Thoughts: We wore hiking boots/shoes and I would recommend the same, even if you are riding the ski lift. Some of the descents are steep and there are plenty of holes, branches, and loose rock.

You'll also want to bring water or a sports drink. It took us about 3 hours to hike to the top and play down.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The Monster

1    7/1/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 98  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2009
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course set in an amazing setting at Solitude. The views are spectacular and the course itself will eat you alive. There are great tee signs and the information posted around the course is good. The design of the course is amazing and takes full advantage of the terrain. The baskets and tee pads are in great condition and for the standard 18 it is super easy to navigate the course. There is a lost and found at the welcome center, where they also sell snacks and discs. Every tee has a palce to sit and a few have picnic tables.
Cons: The course does play accross some hiking trails but with the number of people there it should not be much of an issue. Even when you see where a disc lands you may be searching forever for the disc. The course starts at the top of one of the lifts so you have to pay to get up or hike. I never saw anything pointing me to the temporary 9 holes that makes this a 27 hole course. It will take you forever to play this course, mostly because of time spent looking for discs.
Other Thoughts: This was a great experience but a very frustrating one as I spent so much time looking for my discs and so little time playing. I lost three discs, one on hole 18 and two on hole 6, all of which I would like to get back. I also found three discs, all of which I turned in to the lost and found so lost discs is defiantely a problem here. At the end of play I felt beat up, yet at the same time I knew that it was a great experience. Everyone should know that you can play this course when the lift is not running. It is about a 45 minute hike straight up underneath the chair to get to the top. Just remember that you are hiking back down as well.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 PACK A LUNCH!

1    7/15/2003   5/14/2009
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 20.3 Years
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Scenery. I've never experienced views like this before. You are literally in the middle of the mountains with no signs of civilization. This course will occupy most of your day. This is a must play. Bring water instead of beer however. This philosophy is completely new to me.
Cons: No cell phone coverage. You will basically be detached from the outside world for 3-4 hours.
Other Thoughts: While visiting family here in SLC, I asked my brothers-in-law to join me in a round of disc at a place called Solitude. Told the wife I'd be back in a couple of hours. Well, it was over four hours of play time with these guys, as they'd never played before. This course is like no other that I know of...

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Change of Pace

6/9/2007   7/3/2007
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.3 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Everything you'd want in a Ski Resort turned DG course. Great views, fresh air, Challenging Holes. Lots of holes with elevation changes and throws that you couldn't find elsewhere. Teepads and Baskets were in great condition.
Cons: We didn't lose any, but those trees can be buggers. Don't be surprised if it's breezy. Some holes had dropoffs behind that you may not be aware of when teeing off, but those take experience to deal with.
Other Thoughts: Taking the lift up was relaxing. The last hole was unbelievable. I threw 1140 feet probably (yes I overthrew it!). It was downhill, but an amazing feeling nonetheless.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.