Brighton, UT 
Solitude Mountain Resort Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #9 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 259ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 (Altabird) Tee: Second uphill hole. Basket is short dogleg left through aspens.

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Top of the World

2-4    9/10/2016   9/12/2016
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 61  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2016
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation change and altitude. That is what this course is about. If you have never played a course where elevation change is its own obstacle, you are in for a treat here.

From the very first hole, you are presented with a short (286'), steep-downhill hole with the basket on the right of a fairway lined with trees. No matter what you throw, there is a very good chance of overthrowing this hole. If you are tentative and under-throw it, there is a good chance of being very short and presenting yourself with the same elevation problem on the upshot. The hole just looks like an easy birdie from the tee box, but it is just as easy to bogey.

This same issue presents itself on hole after hole requiring different disc selections than you are used to at lower altitude and on more flat ground. I often caught myself throwing at 1/2 or 3/4 power with fairway drivers on holes ranging from 300 to nearly 500 feet. Indeed, on hole 6 I threw well past the basket that was nearly 600 feet from the tee box with an Amp. I don't have that kind of distance, but with the tee box being over 150 feet higher in elevation than the basket, it is as easy to go past the basket as it is to go short and into the woods if you choose a disc too overstable or understable or throw too hard or too soft because you aren't used to that kind of elevation change.

Hole 6 is also a good example of the challenges presented by the excellent course design. There are two distinct fairways around a tree "island" in the middle. The elevation change also offers the option to go high and go over all of the trees and try to drop the disc in from the top, with all of these approaches requiring accuracy just to keep the disc from ending up in the woods.

There are a good number of holes that require right and left turning throws and a few with very tight fairways. I threw forehand as often as backhand.

Another challenge on this course is that on the short holes, and even the longer ones, your disc may be coming into the landing area moving much faster than you are used to leading to giant skips that turn what looked like an easy birdie into a challenging upshot to retain a chance at par.

This course has several good, fairly short, uphill holes and one longer one. There are a number of sidehill holes that use elevation only as punishment for an errant shot. Several holes will also reward errant shots with dropoffs severe enough to make you want to just forget about that disc and rethrow.

While there are one or two holes that I would otherwise consider to be too open, the slope could severely punish an errant throw. Only hole 17, a slight uphill, 312 ft. hole, was truly wide open with little consequence to an errant throw, unless you went very far past on your upshot.

No hole presents elevation-as-obstacle better than the finishing hole. You really have to see this hole in person to understand how severe the downhill portion is. Reaching the bottom with your first throw is difficult, not because it is difficult to throw a disc 1200 feet when you are 400 feet higher than the basket, but because your disc stays in the air so long that it is difficult to keep it on the 500 ft wide fairway and out of the woods. I managed to get my Underworld to the bottom on my first throw, but it flew so far that I lost sight of it before it landed even though my view of the disc was never obstructed. As fun as it is to watch a disc fly for 15 seconds, and fly so far that you can't see it anymore, this hole is a bear of a par 3 and should probably be listed as a par 4.

This course is on a ski slope that has a resort hotel at the bottom. The resort is self contained with shopping, eating, bars and a shop with a narrow selection of Innova and a few MVP discs. This is a fantastic place to go for a disc golf vacation. There are a few other courses nearby, but after playing this course the first time, I really wasn't interested in trying to go anywhere else to play; I wanted another shot at almost every hole.
Cons: Although you are free to hike up and play (for free), the lift doesn't start running until 10:00 a.m. By that time you could have already played a round. If you choose to hike up, it will probably be 10:00 a.m. before you get there anyway. This isn't really a con for the course itself, but you really do need to take the lift to play it.

The slope of this course is severe everywhere. Do not try to play this course if you aren't in decent shape.

You don't need extra weight while playing this course but you will need to bring water with you because there are no amenities other than benches on the course. On the positive side, it was very cool when I played and so I didn't need much water.

Navigation is really pretty straightforward, but there are few places where better "next tee" signage would be helpful. We saw several groups get briefly lost after the second basket. Go back and to the right to the get to the #3 tee box.

Watch your discs carefully until they land. It is easy to lose them because they fly so far on many holes.
Other Thoughts: There is no charge to play the course and it should NOT be listed as a pay to play course. However the lift ticket is $10 per ride or $20 per day. If you don't see mountains often, the views on the ride alone is worth the price. Take the lift unless you often hike in the mountains and are certain of what you are doing.

I debated whether to give this course a 5 disc rating. I think that the elevation is enough of a novelty and distraction that it is easy to discount the challenge that it presents or the way that the course uses that challenge in what may seem like holes that are otherwise too open. However, this is a very challenging course and I found it to be more fun than any other course that I have played. It is certainly not a one-trick pony and while the 18th hole is epic, it isn't even the best hole on the course in my opinion. The cons I listed are mostly nitpicking and if you like watching your disc fly, there few places where you will get to enjoy doing that as much as Solitude.

Notes on play: If you are not used to playing at higher elevations, you need to keep in mind that the less dense air will make your discs act somewhat more overstable. It will be difficult to hyzer flip and flippy discs may not turn over for you very much. You generally won't need any very overstable discs and you probably won't need any distance drivers.

On hole 18, you can reach the bottom with ease with a lower speed, understable discs. Higher speed discs and stable discs may lose speed and fade long before they get to the bottom. I reached the bottom easily with both an Underworld and a 167g Insanity. The Insanity flew straight as a bullet. The Underworld turned over.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Downhill Hike

1    7/2/2016   7/3/2016
Review By: samillerggiw
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of right and left throws.
The downhill aspect to the course makes it extremely fun. The holes are long and so you can throw long consistently.
Scenery is unparalleled.
Cons: Almost every hole is downhill, so there's not much variety in the elevation changes.
Errant throws can be hard to find, but the fairways are pretty large, so it's really not that bad unless youre throwing a disc the same color as the grass.
Other Thoughts: Epic. This is the must-play course in Utah.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/30/2015   9/1/2015
Review By: xaeLen
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: while you are on the ski lift you have a really good view. there is an equal amount of short holes and long holes. really big fairways.
Cons: really hard to find disc on all of the holes. really over grown. no trash cans on the mountain. no bathrooms on the mountain.
Other Thoughts: a lot of down hill side arms. you can some times see moose or deer. bring a lot of water. the ski lift is really fun.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing but sweet solitude

1    8/29/2014   9/4/2014
Review By: willygriff
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course was well marked, thank you to the mountain staff. Beautiful views, trails maintained. Nice benches at every hole. Beautiful scenery. Holes were exciting an of variable difficulty, well named I might add.
Other Thoughts: $10 lift ticket or a hike. Not unreasonable.
Hole 18 is a ridiculous 1200ft launch watch where your disc goes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best Mountain Course Period

5+    8/25/2013   3/21/2014
Review By: luckypeak
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 8/17/2014
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Chair lift takes you up mountain to hole 1
-Beautiful scenery as you meander through the aspens and pines.
-Great course design and layout
Cons: -Some of the upper holes are strenuous but still fun to play
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in Utah by far, the air is clean the views are marvelous and the golf is amazing!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bombs Away

2-4    8/26/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: SuperBorg
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course to make you feel like a king. Want to throw 500 feet with a mid-range, this is your course. Want to pass that pesky 1000 foot barrier, you have come to the right place. Have plenty of money to replace a lost disc or two, welcome to Solitude.

Take the lift, or walk over from Brighton. This course starts high on the Solitude resort, and lets you wander down the mountain. Two steep uphill holes, and a few neutral holes, otherwise, a great downhill course. The last hole is 1200 feet with a huge vertical drop. At over 300 feet wide, there is no guarantee you will find the fairway, and even if you do, you may still lose your disc. But, find the perfect line, and your disc will never stop flying.

Cons: Getting to the first tee is a bit of a job, requiring either paying for the lift, or taking a half mile walk from Brighton. There is a good chance of losing a disc. I personally love the tee boxes, but some may find them a bit on the short side.
Other Thoughts: This is an epic mountain resort.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 lost and found

2-4    7/21/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: Disc chaser
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.8 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great downhill mountain course. I highly recommend solitude as a great disc golf experience in Utah.
Cons: The reason for this review is to warn disc golfers about the Solitude lost and found 'Black Hole'. DO NOT turn discs into the Solitude lost and found. I lost a disc and another player found it the same day. He called me and explained that he was leaving it with the lost and found. I phoned Solitude to make sure the disc was there and the guy told me "I'm looking right at it." When I returned to get the disc, I was directed to the lift shack near 18 basket. I described my disc to the guy at the shack and he retrieved a box of 15-20 ratty discs and literally threw them down the hill to where we were standing and said "take what you need man."
Zero accountability with the Solitude lost and found.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for everyone!

1    9/29/2012   3/2/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 462  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a mountain resort, when there is no snow on the ground, the plastic is in the air! Take the ski lift to the top to save energy for some of the grueling elevation that is present. Pretty much no chance for interference save for the occasional mountain biker.
- Since the setting of the course is on a mountainside, the biggest pro at this course is constant and extreme elevation changes. No point in listing all the holes that go up, down, or waaaay up and waaaay down. Let's just say that hole #18 is 1200', with a 400' vertical drop! Steep enough?? On the other end of the spectrum, some of the additional holes on the letter loop are super duper steep uphill. Plenty of holes in between from start to finish.
- Also spots where the biggest slope is off the fairway, going too far left or right can mean a hike to get the disc and get back to the basket. #8 especially, do not go too far right, or else.
- Decent amount of trees here as well; there are definitely spots that require line shaping or shot placement. #5 is a sharp hyzer around the woods, for instance, and #6 is a great downhill shot that forces a line to the left or right of a giant patch of tall trees. #12 is pretty heavily wooded, with some tight gaps to find amongst skinny trees. The last temp hole (#I?) is a giant FH flex downhill, with dense woods on both sides.
- A few spots have very real hazards, mostly due to nasty rollaway/sloping areas for discs to find, but also some water in a few spots as well. Really makes things interesting on top of everything else; turning over a disc too much or hyzering out in the thin air can be disastrous.
- Lots of length to the course; the original 18 hole layout clocks in at 416' per hole, and the temp holes follow suit. Really have the chance to let the discs glide and glide on the downhill holes; both big arms and small arms will enjoy the chance to throw some real bombers.
- Rubber pads are good, baskets good, signs good. Navigation signs help out, though the temp holes aren't marked very well. Hole #B is a hyzer; not straight ahead, from there it is pretty easy to follow (assuming the layout is the same!!!).
Cons: - Only real con here is a large number of wide open holes, or holes that have pretty simple obstacles to avoid. Just need to huck the disc without many consequences for a bad shot. That's it though!
- Some tall grass can eat discs here; I lost a go-to disc in plain sight on one of the temp holes. Keep a close eye even in some of the fairways...
Other Thoughts: - Well, this is mountain golf at its finest, I would have to assume. Haven't had the chance to play many courses where a ski lift is almost necessary; but I imagine this one is right up there with the rest of them. Epic 1200' finishing hole really caps it off. I would recommend EVERYONE check this place out; fun factor is overflowing. Unless you have bad knees or a heart condition, it is going to be a blast. Worth every penny.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Mountain Course

5+    9/21/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 73  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well done course in the most beautiful location.

Pads are all in good shape. They aren't concrete, but are packed dirt with rubber pads in clearly marked boxes.

Holes are challenging and don't really favor backhand or flicks.

Clearly marked tees and signs makes the course pretty easy to navigate. They offer a course map/scorecard at the top of the lift as well.

Great atmosphere, awesome lift staff. Overall it's a blast to play.
Cons: Not many cons here. Discs don't turn over because of the altitude, so it's really easy to lose them. I've lost more discs in these hills than all other courses combined by double. (I really don't lose many so it sounds worse than it is).

They raised the price for the lift to $10 so it's probably more worthwhile to hike up than pay for the lift now.
Other Thoughts: Get ready to hike for discs. I overthrew a couple holes and ended up searching for an eternity in vain (usually). The altitude and terrain will really make it easy to let disks get away from you.

Hole 18 is insane.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 crazy cool ski slope course

1    6/30/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: adazm
Played: 32  Reviewed: 31
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: for starters, you are playing DOWN a ski slope, wow! just gorgeous scenery and SO so much easier than playing UP hill. excellent basket placement and great tee signs leading the way. plenty of long bombing downhill holes that are easy to reach, in addition to a couple tighter fairways.
taking the ski lift up just makes for a magical mountain experience!
Cons: due to gravity, is really easy for anyone to lose a disc throwing downhill. several of the longer holes are fairly detached from the forest and thus just who can throw farther competitions.
top of the world hole 18 has a fairway that must be like 1,000 feet across, and yet i have still never been able to hit it. easy to lose a disc on even a decent throw.
Other Thoughts: was the 9th of 9 course on our thrilling road trip. the 6 year old shot an unheard of 79, garnering ctp on at least 2 holes with 4 other GOOD disc golfers. was just an exquisite experience with ultra kind fellow disc golfers.
the downhill aspect really nullifies "distance" as the key factor and replaces it with the cherished "accuracy".
would be a GOOD course to take a female significant other to due to vistas and the reach ability of downhill fairways.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.