Course Extinct
Austin, TX
Pease Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 An Austin Essiential

2-4    9/4/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This place is 6400' of proper disc placement in a mix of trees, water, and undulating terrain. With it's overall popularity, it's easy for any first timer to find there way around in what can be a mildly confusing layout. The holes offer a good combination of lengths and foliage density. Mixed with good pin placements, even the intermediate players will have to work to shoot low.

There is a place to buy discs by the first tee in case to lose one, but even with the creek running through the course, there are only a few select places you could actually lose your disc. Holes #12, #13, and #14 offer a different look up the side of the hill and provide average elevation change. Also, who can't love the unique pin placement nestle in the tree on #5 - necessary? No, but still cool.

BEST HOLE/S: #4, #13
Cons: A course with this much play and history shows it's age - most baskets are in average to poor shape, and the course is seriously beaten in. Tee boxes are hit and miss, and can get treacherous after a good rainstorm.

The middle back nine after #11 is different from when I played a few years back - there used to be a huge uphill hole that was both unique and challenging. In it place, the redesigned holes, just don't seem to fill the void with a significantly easier downhill toss. In addition, the layout is odd with a few holes on the back nine almost overlapping, which is potentially dangerous because of the amount of play.

Pease Park has fallen behind in upkeep compared to Circle C Metro Park @ Slaughter Creek, Searight Park, and many of the other newer or revamped Austin courses. In a town where concrete tees, Houck quality signs, and mulched lined walkways are a norm, Pease becomes a relic. This is due partly to the park service, but it's a shame due to the high volume of play.

Finally, this place is busy - get used to it. There are always many groups throughout the course on any given day, so don't ever plan on playing a quick round here. This course is set up for the laid back two hour round.

WORST HOLE/S: #17
Other Thoughts: Rumors went around earlier in the year that Pease Park may be going the way of the dodo soon, so like any avid golfer, I rushed out to get a crack at it once more as a farewell round. However, I'm happy to report that Pease Park isn't going anywhere. The folks at Disc Nation said there could be some possible redesigns in the future that could affect the course a little, but the city hasn't even approved the work as of now. Plus, with progressive cities like Austin, you know that sometimes God himself has to come down to get a project approved, so go and enjoy this course with the satisfaction of knowing that it will be here for the foreseeable future.

Playing Pease Park is much like meeting up with an old friend, and every town has a course like this. These are the average courses that usually are a bit run down, and doesn't provide the championship level challenge that newer courses in the area may offer. Yet, more people tend to play and call these courses home than any other. Like Anges Moffitt Park in Houston, or B.B. Owen Park up in Dallas, these courses have a fierce following of people who have loved them long before anything newer or better came around. And, even though it may not reflect in the rating, Pease Park is iconic and an essential life blood to Austin, a mecca for any disc golfer, and for that I'm glad it's here to stay.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Course I would hate to see go away

1    8/8/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like it when a course uses the terrain it's given and Pease Park does just that. The course follows Shoal Creek crossing it a couple of times. Pease Park will make you the disks in my bag. The course has good Bomb holes and holes that require a little finesse to make to the basket.
Cons: Dirt Tee boxes I slipped on a couple Tee shots
Once you get out in the open area the lay out of the course can be confusing, we got a little turned around after hole 10, but with a little searching we got back on track.
Homeless people living in the park there was a guy living buy the Basket on hole 4 kinda freaked me out (I didn't see him when I went to get my disk out of the basket) and when I turned a round saw this guy sleeping in a hammock.
Other Thoughts: Finished the round with some real nice local guys. I really liked playing Pease Park I need to play it when I'm not so tired(son and I spent 7 hours on the Guadalupe the day before)
Better directions after hole 10 and Tee Boxes and I would have rated it higher. It's a shame that this course may go away, the City should what ever it can to save Pease Park Disk Golf Course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, But Reasonably So

5+    3/5/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: DrDipsomania
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked with great signs showing all distances to variable pin locations. Wide variety of holes: short to long, dog legs in each direction, tight lines through trees to wide open fields. Uses the natural terrain of the land very well. Plays around Shoal Creek which is much more of a factor in the Spring, Fall, and Winter when it's too deep to go in to dive after your disc - but that really only comes into play on hole #3. Moderate elevation change. Great course to meet other golfers on, if that interests you.
Cons: Tee pads could use some love; they get beat down with the volume of players that come through here. Bums under the 24th Street bridge. Crowds pretty much every day of the week (in fair weather) from 2 or 3 pm 'til dusk. Because it is a public park with volleyball courts in an area around some holes and a jogging/hiking/biking trail that runs through it, expect some stragglers to slow your play slightly. Hole #12 could really use 1) a sign, 2) a marked tee box.
Other Thoughts: For some unbeknownst reason, the parks department keeps cutting down trees in the park; yet they post signs warning of soil erosion...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/6/2009   11/13/2009
Review By: Clark
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2009
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Tons of variety! Hole signs are excellent. Some holes are heavily wooded, while others are wide open. You will use every shot for this course.

Austin skyline visible from many holes.
Cons: Dirt tee pads. Some holes share park space with other activities.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course To Play

1    9/6/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: silvereagle2150
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was a lot of fun to play. Pro, am, and novice tees are clearly marked on the ground with white and blue rope markers.

There are multiple baskets for each hole, which gives ample opportunity for a variety of shots.

The creek running through the course is treacherous in a couple places, but dry enough in most for disc retrieval. Other than the creek, very little chance to lose a disc.
Cons: No poured tee pads. Some of the pads were rocky and one might be inclined to test the pad out before throwing. I came close to twisting an ankle on hole 2 due to a couple deep rocks on the pad.

And bring a map if it's your first time playing. There are fairly clear paths, but even playing with a group, we managed to miss two holes midway and had to backtrack.
Other Thoughts: Austin (and most of Texas) is in the midst of a Stage 2 drought. Everything was extremely dry and bare, and while it didn't affect play so much, it doesn't make it as appealing to play in. The creek might be deceptibly dry as well.

No more construction or maintenance on the course anymore either.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun challenging metro course

1    8/11/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: HRPufinstuf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of the creek and area features for being a "loop" course over relatively small area. Some really interesting / fun holes with a few choices on how to approach many of the holes. Nice mix of short and long - good shot variety needed. Over half the course has a nice canopy of trees which helps with the heat and forcing you to keep your shot down. The "water" is not really water except on one hole - so little chance of losing a disc that way. Well designed and makes the best use of the terrain.
Cons: Many T-boxes are in rough shape and are very uneven rock with a good chance to twist an ankle. Several holes do not allow for a natural run up - I ended up going off the the side on several.

The water along side 2 and 3 is just plain nasty. If my disc went in, it was going to stay there.

Basket locations on #9 T sign are misleading - it shows three placements and you see three baskets. I went for B since I am a lefty and didn't want to climb down the ravine if I overshot "C" - turned out B was really #16 basket. The map is very helpful and I would recommend taking one if you are on your own.

#18 basket location on the map is not quite accurate. It shows as in front of the parking lot in the middle - but its on the near side of lot, more to your left as you face fairway.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really fun place to play. The cons are things you see at many courses unfortunately. I got there at 8:30 am on a weekday and had the place pretty much to myself - saw two other solo players from a distance. By 10:30 it went from "damn hot" to mf'n - slap your momma hot. I would play this again - but in March!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 In the heart of the city

5+    3/23/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: Dude
Played: 115  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.6 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's downtown. You can play a round then easily grab a drink or food at any number of places and hop back on the course for a second round.

Most courses have that one hole that everyone seems to remember as being the signature hole for the course. Pease has a bunch of those. It's just one of those courses where, when you stand on the tee pad the first time, you just say "wow. what a cool hole."

This course is amazingly designed and pretty much sums up the concept of risk/reward. The cliff hole is really the perfect example of this because if you throw a big hyzer over the side you have to take the wind into account or you'll end up down by hole 18...and have to work your way back up the cliff.

I do miss the old Capitol hole but with the new cleaned up hill holes I'm starting to come around to the new ones a bit more.

Pretty much every hole has a number of different pin placements so you can go throughout the year and there will be different shots needed. This course will challenge your entire game. You'll need to watch the mandos and throw over water a few times. There's a huge cliff down the side of one of the holes and you have to be careful of the wind there. There's a good deal of elevation changes and there are plenty of holes with trees obstacles.
Cons: It's downtown and right by campus. It really isn't a beginner's course and a lot of people start here which can be a bit frustrating since they don't know to let people play through when fishing discs out of the creek or if they're playing in large groups. And since many of these newer players will throw 4-5 times per hole they might not know that many others can get there in 2-3. But if you can play early in the day instead of the post UT class crowd then you'll avoid this con 90% of the time. Just be wary of trying to get in an after work round here.

It's a park. There are sidewalks along the course and there are many people hiking, riding bikes, walking/playing with dogs, sunbathing, playing volleyball, throwing softballs, playing kickball, etc. They don't know anything about disc golf. But we just need to realize that we're ambassadors for the sport so politely tell them what's going on and most of the time they're happy to move.

If it rains the creek will flood in a hurry and it makes it extremely difficult to play for a few days because it's hard to cross the creek...which can have snakes so if your disc goes into the water or near the water keep an eye out.

Due to the traffic in the park there are long wait times to tee off on hole one...and you'll have people jumping ahead to other tees which only makes things worse. It also makes for a lot of wear and tear on the teeboxes which are always in need of repair.

Traffic. To get downtown after work you're going to spend some time waiting on Mopac or Lamar. It's just something to weigh when going here in the afternoon.
Other Thoughts: I would play this course more often if I lived closer. However, living up north and having more options in the last couple years with Wilco and Cat Hollow and now Manor and Brushy, my trips here are a lot less frequent. Great course overall but the crowds and traffic tend to make it more trouble than it's worth for me most days.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 amateur review

5+    12/14/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: jdawg2008
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: challenging holes that require experience and accuracy to par. for beginners and amateurs, there are paths to the basket that are accessible and will get you close to par (except for 13). austin is a great city and this is in the heart of it.

the out of bounds risks are great and teach a newbie how to control their shot.
Cons: foot traffic is a hassle, since there are those who dont realize there is a course. watch out for unleashed dogs and be prepared to let people know that you need them to control their animals. in the mornings, you might have to wake up homeless folks between holes 6 and 7.

tee pads are pathetic.
Other Thoughts: this is the course that i started playing on, and it will always have a special place in my disc golf heart. it is a challenging course that is sometimes unforgiving. there are holes that give a beginner or amateur confidence, and there are holes that remind them that they have alot of work to do.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good but not great

2-4    10/23/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: discinator
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of potential and has to be one of the best around the Austin area. It has loads of shot variety from open long holes to pinball and narrow densely wooded holes. It has numerous obstacles( shoal creek and out of bounds), and elevation changes. Good signs help a lot in navigation.
Cons: The tees are horrible, in fact this is the main reason I put Pease at a 3.5 rating. When you throw out of a hole with rocks jutting up it really takes away from the fun. Half of the time your more worried about falling than teeing off. Hole 13 is missing the sign, which is ok except the hole is a long s curve hole and ,if you haven't played the course before, leaves you wondering where exactly you are throwing to. A lot of pedestrian traffic in and around the course. A lot of trash and homeless people under the road between holes 6 and 7.
The parking is small.
Other Thoughts: Like I said above this really is a good course, but it could be a great course. It gets a lot of hype around the Austin scene as the best course around, but in my opinion it doesn't live up to the hype. I would put it above Circle C or Searight and below Steeplechase in Kyle.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.