Austin, TX 
Zilker Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
North Course - Hole #9



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Decent design but outdated (North 9)

2-4    6/22/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: IsThisThingOn
Played: 17  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Good course flow
-easy-ish to follow
-decent use of opportunities for elevation changes
-good seating at tees
Cons: -VERY outdated baskets: rusted, some with no inner chains
-tee boxes not well maintained
-no signage
-lack of variety in shot selection
-NO WORKING WATER FOUNTAINS IN A CITY PARK?
Other Thoughts: *This review is only for the north 9

This is a good course for casual players, or if you want a little tune up. Good place to bring newbies

The drives are all pretty straightforward. No real risk/reward. No blind shots. Nothing really turns right.

All in all worth it for getting in your fix and crossing one off your list, but it isn't super memorable.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better courses in area

2-4    11/7/2009   11/19/2010
Review By: coyotepower
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Centrally located in Austin. Good for beginners/noobs. Nice old trees in park.
Cons: Nothing to write home about - Basic DG here. Can get crowded and parking is bad on weekends
Other Thoughts: So many better courses in Austin - I would play Peace in a heartbeat but not sure I would play Zilker again

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short, But Usually Not So Quick

5+    3/10/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: DrDipsomania
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Can be super fast to play if there aren't a lot of other people out. Straight-forward, with no super-long holes if you've got shorter arms. Great course to work on mid to long range putting/approach shots for the more experienced players, in addition to the multiple opportunities to go for the gusto with ace shots. As most other people have said, great course for beginners due to its ease and location...
Cons: ...However, due to its location and the relative ease of the course, it is almost always crowded. The worst part of the crowds that are out here are 1) lots of beginners who take a long time to complete a hole, 2) lots of experienced players who feel that it's okay to come out in a group of 6+ and each launch 2-3 discs per shot. Coupled with this is the slight confusion of the course layout and the lack of adequate markers/signs; many people shooting at the wrong pin or playing the course out of order. The North half has concrete tees, but the South half doesn't, and so those tee boxes get brutalized by the amount of traffic and inclement weather.
Other Thoughts: Not sure where people park that they're being charged. Two parking lots right by the North & South side are free every time I've parked. Maybe they charge on the weekends in the Summer? Or if you're parking by the Barton Springs swimming area?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 ACE course of Texas

1    12/25/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: mc lazer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2010
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: I just play the short nine. It's an all out course for ace runs, just bring a couple mid range and a putter. I wonder how many Aces have been taken here? I bet it's got to be the most per course in the state or real close, would be great to know but there's no way to find out. Oh well. If you wanna ad some to your belt this is the place. Good place for a quickie, or night round too. Not technical or tough. very beginner and Ace friendly.
Other Thoughts: Justed chained hole 9 and left it smokin on 1/6/10

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Like Eating a Burnt Filet Mignon Palatable but not Very Good.

1    8/2/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: People who know nothing about the course will be happy to find 18 holes on a relatively flat and easy terrain. New players will also like that this is a great course to learn on - with few obstacles and no water. It reminded me of my home course in Houston, Anges Moffit Park - not hard, fairly popular, and centrally located. The other two pluses are that this is a big park with the springs and botanic gardens, so family members looking for something other disc golf can be fully entertained for the day, and the course is located near the iconic Pease Park if you still need a disc golf fix.

BEST HOLE/S: #4 South; #6 South
Cons: Nine holes? Two nine holes courses? One 18 course? Zilker seems to have an identity problem and suffers from some false advertisement. Currently, a new to the course player can show up to expect 18 holes of golf with a definite distinction between each nine. Rumor mill is that the 18 pins are now going to be permanent, but take this information with a grain of salt, since it looks like it may be some time before the dust settles and people figure out the long term status.

Other major cons include no real tee markers showing the hole number or distance. The "South" course currently has yellow markers in the ground indicating the tee box, and the "North" course has the world's largest concrete pads to help to see where to throw. The north course has no numbers, so we jumped on a hole #2 (according to the map under links & files) near the road, since that made the most sense and the concrete tees line up well to show you your way. This way we could easily play 18 holes without backtracking to much because the north course hole #1 ends back at the parking lot where started the south course. The north course is also wide open, so you'll be able to scan the area easily.

The south course has some flow issues, so print the map, but note that you backtrack from hole #2 to hole #3, and take the left path through the trees after hole #4. Fortunately these pins have numbers, so it makes it harder to foul things up. Besides that - both nine hole courses are fairly straightforward with little challenge. Basically it's a good flat place to learn the game then have a dip in Barton Springs when you're finished.

Last issue is parking. Play on a week day or pay three bucks on the weekend? Believe me, unless you're hitting the springs as well, this course isn't worth three bucks. I second the other reviews that suggest you park under Mopac at the exit near course and walk across the frontage road. It's almost as close as any parking you would have to pay for anyway.

WORST HOLE/S: #6 North
Other Thoughts: Zilker Park's silly layout and the determination to have two nine hole courses is silly to me. Take a few minutes, do some renumbering, and just call the thing an 18 hole course. That will make it a bigger draw anyway. Having played East Metro Park and Circle C at Slaughter Creek before finishing the day here was a mistake. Next time I would just drive the extra few miles to Pease Park and hit a much better 18. I think the thing that frustrates me most is when a place with great potential doesn't meet it.

Zilker Park isn't horrible, and being the first ever Houck designed course over 20 years ago - you've have to give some props. However, with so many newer good courses in the area with time and love devoted to them, one just wonders when one of the most popular parks in the city will get it's due again.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.