Austin, TX 
Zilker Park Share
Uploaded By: TejasKajun Hole #8 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 281ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Beautiful Course

5+    5/6/2016   9/2/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 60  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A very forgiving well manicured course layout. the holes are of moderate length. 200 - 400ft.
- some very picturesque views of downtown Austin. I personally had to stop and take pictures a few times. in addition, at times wild flower will be in bloom, especially March and April which can be quite amazing.
- amazing hole signage, among the best in all of Austin.
- The tee boxes are also amazing as they are wide (8-10 ft) and long (15-20 ft)
- there are several holes that are nice ace opportunities. (1,2,4,5,9,11,14) to name a few.
- very few opportunities to lose a disc. this course would be great for newer players but yet also enjoyable for those with more experience.
- the parking area is paved and located at the junction of 1,9,10 and 18, the ideal scenario.
- the course is extremely clean. the park staff really takes care of the course and it is mowed regularity.
Cons: - perhaps the biggest drawback is the lack of unique holes. there is probably an over abundance of open holes. many of the holes are straight ahead. (15 and 16 are exceptions) In addition, there are no water shots or introduction of water along the layout. The course also lacks in elevation changes which is usually more prevalent at the southern Austin courses.
- There are no par 4's or 5's, all shots are less than 400 feet.
- The course could really benefit by offering alternate tees and alternate basket locations.
- There is no practice basket. however people usually practice putting at 9 basket. which can be annoying sometimes when standing on 9 tee.
- Errant shots do sometimes land in adjacent fairways.
Other Thoughts: - an all around good course. I recommend this course to those visiting downtown as it is easy to get to and quick to play. If you have more time in the area, check out Circle C or Bible Ridge nearby.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

DG @ZilkerPark

5+    6/25/2016   6/26/2016
Review By: Davesdisc
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 31.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Location = Central Austin, most folks know where ZilkerPark is but locating the #1 teebox and parking may be an issue.
Easy = Not a challenging course for intermediate to advance players.
Tee box and layout = all tee boxes have pads and have very good signage. Course is easy to follow if you pay attention.
The view of downtown Austin TX is great.
Cons: You now have to pay for $5 for parking. The lot parking meter only takes plastic and coins. The parking pass gets you all day parking up until 9:59pm.
Other Thoughts: We played this course in the spring after an overnight rainstorm and the course drained very well. Little mud on our shoes and hardly any standing water. Tee boxes and cage surrounding all were damp but not wet.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Austin Disc Golf Experience

1    3/24/2016   3/25/2016
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 78  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was a pleasant surprise based on the previous reviews that I had read.

I was unsure about the kind of topography or wooded area in this part of Texas. However, I thought this course did an excellent job of using the lay of the land to weave between trees and across fields.

- Really good mix of shots, most of which required control.
- The flow of the course worked well, with the parking in the middle.
- The location of this course was really great. I spent a lot of time in Zilker park with my family, so the location was very convenient. And the backdrop of downtown Austin is great. It made the park feel very accessible.
- Quite a few birdie opportunities to make it exciting.
- Oh, and I thought the stone benches were super awesome. They seemed to be somewhat randomly spaced, but top quality benches.
Cons: I didn't find and major cons with this course, just a few things that could be improved upon.

- Some of the baskets and teepads were placed within close proximity on the front 9.
- A lot of the short hook shots seemed to favor lefties or a sidearm shot. Not necessarily a con, but worth noting.
- The course was moderately busy around 3pm on a weekday. With that said I only had to wait on 2-3 holes during my round.
- This course was not the most challenging, but I knew that going in to it.
Other Thoughts: I somehow managed to get 4 birdies on the back 9 and none on the front 9. Not sure how that happened. The front 9 plays quite a bit shorter.

Around hole 7 I caught up with a couple local players. We talked for a bit and they let me play through the remaining holes with them. Its a good thing when you have a friendly disc golf community. I can see why the park is popular and the folks in Austin made disc golf enjoyable too.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Location is incorrect

1    11/19/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: madcow
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: This is just a place holder for now till i can come back and review but:

The location on here is incorrect. It took me to another part of Zilker park that is nowere near the DG course.

If you are coming south on Mo-Pac and get off the exit to the turn around for barton springs... head north on barton to the second right wich should be Andrew Zilker Road, then make a left. The course is in there.

(didnt find it till i did some random exploring)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Convenient Location

5+    10/27/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a short course. It's a perfect course to practice your mid-range throws if you're at least an intermediate or advanced player. It will make an easy and quick round when you're playing the course when it's not busy.

Ever since they went with all 18 baskets, we all can play true round of disc golf as opposed to having to play 9 holes twice in the past. There's good amount of variety of shot selections for a short course.

The location is perfect for casual players who are looking to hit the town after a round. Down the street from the course is several restaurants that you can get drinks or grub. There's always the famous Barton Springs Pool that you can cool off after a round if it's particularly a hot day.
Cons: The problems with this course are going to be a bit obvious to some people who have played this course before.

First of all, it can get very crowded, and it can get very tedious trying to get a round in with the casual players who may not know the basic etiquettes or have the decency to let people play through.

The second problem is that, even though there's "new" stone benches, the signage seemed to be an afterthought. They were never installed, so visitors from out of town will be confused about the navigation or about where the first hole is. The baskets are fairly old, so some of you may not enjoy that as well.

It can get boring for the most advanced players unless they're looking for ace runs. That's something to keep in mind, because the Austin area certainly have other courses that can give better challenges to the more experienced players.
Other Thoughts: I gave this course a score of three. I think it is a good course for what it is, and nothing less. It's certainly better suited for the more casual players who are learning the game of disc golf. It's the reason why it's so popular along with it's proximity to downtown and the Barton Springs Pool.

I come here a lot during the week and during early mornings on the weekend. I usually only bring mid-ranges and maybe couple of fairway drivers. I've come to enjoy this course because it really helped me improve my throwing skills with mid-range discs.

For you who are more advanced, it may be a better idea to find other courses in the area as Zilker will not give you the ultimate experience, especially with the weekend crowds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting Beginner Course

1    5/1/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: gek76
Played: 40  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mostly open holes making the course beginner friendly. They now have concrete tees on all holes. They also have large stone blocks at each tee for those waiting to throw to sit on. The few wooded hole didn't have tons of underbrush so very hard to lose a disc here. Friendly locals. Some of the tees where very large giving you freedom in how you tee off.
Cons: No Tee signs though one of the people I talked to who was part of the Worlds Biggest Disc Golf Weekend Event( ) said tee signs would be in soon. Some of the holes are just to close for my comfort. I am not comfortable having disc shoot by with in 20 feet of me. This wasn't because I had thrown bad or the other people had it is just that some of the baskets and fairways are very close to each other. There may have been more trees in the past that helped prevent this. They are having a drought and you can see where trees have died off and they had to cut them down.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed attending the WBDGW event. Everyone was friendly.
This course is very beginner friendly. Easy to see most baskets from the tees. No overly long holes, no thing I have learned is beginners hate throwing 10 times on just one hole cause of how long it is. Little or no underbrush makes recovering from a bad throw easy. I will defiantly be bring my in-laws who are very much beginners to play here the next time I am in town. Layout if cart/stroller friendly. Saw people pushing baby strollers around the course. Saw a few dogs. Not sure if the park rules allow for off leash or not.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bring the kids

2-4    10/9/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: vince
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Easy and quick. In town. Great course for beginners.
Cons: Crowds on the weekend. Takes forever to recover from rain.
Other Thoughts: Bring your kids out to the south 9 and watch them light it up. For a good golfer it's a putter drive on 5 of the 9.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Downtown for a quick round

5+    2/19/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: Dude
Played: 184  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Until I put a midrange in my bag I hated this course. I just found the second shot to be between putter and driver for me. Now I drive most holes with my midrange and my attitude about the course has changed drastically.

As stated before this is really two 9 hole courses but sometimes all 18 pins are there. Both North and South courses offer different shot selections, with North being a bit more open and longer for the most part and the South being a bit tighter but shorter on average. Together as 18 holes it's a nice round. Or just play the 9 twice and you're good as well.

This is the course I would recommend to beginners in Austin...or if you've been playing a while and want to introduce someone else to the sport. I'd say it's a little less crowded than Pease and not as frustrating for a new player. They won't have to worry about throwing discs in the water. And you can work on your midrange and short game. Win-Win.

Once you get over the relatively standardized difference of the hole lengths this course is exceptionally designed for such a small area. Even though the North side is open, it does require a lot of different shot types. Left and right turns, long low shots (or rollers,) uphill, downhill, skip shots and a nice long drive. The South side will make you place your up shots, maneuver around trees, forehand or anhyzer, throw off a hill, long shot under some trees, a tight tree hole and a putt drive. All in all, it has a bit of everything.

I have a newfound love of this course and it makes a nice companion course for Pease...or if Pease is too crowded it's a 5 minute drive and usually not as bad.
Cons: Sometimes the course gets crowded and there are a lot of new players here. You may be looking forward to playing one side and the other is up. The North side has you playing next to a busy road at times and sometimes you'll have to deal with a honk or two.

The only real cons are lack of signs, dirt tee pads on the South side can get muddy. Only 9 holes at times. And doesn't really let you get out there and throw huge bombs as much as I'd like.
Other Thoughts: Park under the overpass on the way down to avoid the park fee on the weekends. Really makes a for a nice quick round or a secondary round if you've just played somewhere else and just need a bit more to top off your disc golfing for the day.

A great place to visit for Ice Bowl early in the year if you don't want to play in the snows up north. lol

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/12/2008   2/22/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2009
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: You Can't really loose a disc on this course unless you get it stuck in a tree. It is a quick play and not usually to busy.
Cons: Short, only 9 holes at a time. Only half the course has cement tees.
Other Thoughts: Bartons Springs is right there if you want to jump in after a round. NICE

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/17/2008   1/10/2009
Review By: Disc_Pro
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads. Central location. Plays quick.
Cons: 18 hole course with only 9 baskets.
Other Thoughts: Course is 18 holes, but the city will only allow 9 holes in the ground at any one time. Baskets are moved back and forth between the North and South side of the course, to give the land a chance to 'repair' itself, and cut back on erosion.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.