Austin, TX 
Zilker Park Share
Uploaded By: TejasKajun Hole #7 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Zilker Park has returned to its glory

5+    7/12/2015   7/13/2015
Review By: TejasKajun
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + the entire course has been renovated to make defined fairways and elevation improvements that are eco-friendly for a very busy course
+ baskets are all brand new
+ distances are accurate
+ heavy duty tee boxes that give any style of thrower the room they need
+ tee signs and marker (including drop zones) are now installed
Cons: - none that can be noted at this time
Other Thoughts: The recent year long improvement and total renovation was on behalf of the Waterloo Disc Golf Club, Austin Parks and Rec Dept., Austin Watershed Protection, Disc Nation, Innova Disc Golf, Houck Design, Amazing Locksmith, Pro Serv, Austin Parks Foundation and great volunteers.

The course now has sustainability for many more years to come as it is a highly active course for all levels of players.
The kiosk will soon be getting a course map and rules/etiquette sign installed.

This course is always a gem to play because it caters to all skill levels. The front 9 holes tend to be shorter and the back 9 are longer with more challenges like mando & OB's.

If you are in Austin, this is a great casual course to experience that "Austin" feel with.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun Metro Course

1    12/4/2014   5/13/2015
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 357  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +High fun factor here. There are ace runs, some quick greens, just enough obstacles.
+Course was still under construction when I played but what was done was great. Lots of erosion control and other measures being put in to make this course look and play better.
+Can't lose a disc here.
+Lots to do in this park but it didn't feel crammed at all.
+All the tees are nice. They aren't uniform but the unique ones add to the character of this course. Nothing dangerous or too small.
+Easy to navigate.
+Safe and a great place to take new players or kids.
+Lots of fun places nearby to eat, drink, and see. Austin is a cool place.
Cons: -Pay to park
-Others have said that this course gets crowded. I played on a December morning and had no issues.
-Can be Texas hot during the summer.
-Fairly short and lacking a ton of variety
Other Thoughts: +This course is a casual course. It isn't a tourney course. No real hazards.
+An easier option that should take less time than Roy G which isn't too far away. Could be used as a warm up for Roy.
+For me, this course had a high fun factor and the park had a great atmosphere. The disc golf wasn't the greatest but it was better than nothing.
+Thanks to the City of Austin for doing necessary upkeep.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Under necessary construction

5+    7/16/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: SigLane
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Downtown Austin course near all of the great benefits of beautiful Zilker park. Other pros...right now... not many. You can get a margarita at one of the many amazing restaurants near by... :) Seriously though, this course is normally a lot of fun but it's half closed and under very necessary construction. It is a great course to introduce someone to disc golf. It's also a good course to practice some of your basic shots. It's not hard and the lengths of the holes don't exceed 370'. You'd have to try and lose a disc out here. No tall grass. Trees are pretty tall so unless you are throwing super high shots, which are unnecessary, the majority of the holes force you to shoot under the trees. I like this course as a relaxed change of pace from the crowded Marie Moore or the difficult and long Guerrero or Circle C courses. I more often than not play championship courses but this is the perfect course for a relaxed round with friends who may be new to the sport.
Cons: Front 9 (which are the best holes) are closed for construction. Apparently the city plans on shutting all 18 down in a couple of weeks. Terrible erosion issues. According to parks and rec a decent amount of money ($40k) is going to be spent to get this course in good shape again. Looks like it'll be a heck of a project though. The back 9 have no hole markers. You have to follow groups in front of you to make sure you follow the course flow because it's not exactly obvious. Tee boxes are covered in eroded soil.
Other Thoughts: We'll see how it looks and plays in the fall when construction and erosion management have been completed. I'll put together an updated review then. For now, I hate saying this because this course does hold a special place in my heart, you'd be better off going a bit further south to Marie Moore (when looking for an introductory/ intermediate course).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent design but outdated (North 9)

2-4    6/22/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: IsThisThingOn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Good course flow
-easy-ish to follow
-decent use of opportunities for elevation changes
-good seating at tees
Cons: -VERY outdated baskets: rusted, some with no inner chains
-tee boxes not well maintained
-no signage
-lack of variety in shot selection
-NO WORKING WATER FOUNTAINS IN A CITY PARK?
Other Thoughts: *This review is only for the north 9

This is a good course for casual players, or if you want a little tune up. Good place to bring newbies

The drives are all pretty straightforward. No real risk/reward. No blind shots. Nothing really turns right.

All in all worth it for getting in your fix and crossing one off your list, but it isn't super memorable.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Zilker Park

5+    1/1/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 25  Reviewed: 14
This review was updated on 3/14/2015
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As the title says, great course for beginners. Some variation in holes, but none are too challenging for beginners and most are fairly short (only two over 300 ft I think). Also, the entire course has recently undergone renovations and it looks wonderful now. New tee pads and tee signs.
Cons: Sadly there is only one hole on this course that is even moderately challenging. I love playing this course with friends that haven't played disc golf before, but aside from that this course isn't great compared to others around Austin.
Other Thoughts: There are many challenging courses around Austin which makes an easy course like Zilker a welcome to Austin disc golf. If you're introducing people to the sport, this is a great first course to take them to, but if not I would recommend playing somewhere else.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Needs help

1    12/1/2013   12/15/2013
Review By: nightwing
Played: 117  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome location near downtown.
Huge and varied park setting.
Some good shots on the northside.
Also some decent pin locations.
Boring southside nine.
Cons: Hideous baskets on the better nine.
VERY short layout.
Little elevation...typical park course
Other Thoughts: Zilker Park is due for an overhaul. I will change or delete my review if it improves but it has really been let go and that's just kind of depressing. It does function as a close by practice course to downtown Nashville, but with so many great courses nearby, I would skip it unless it is on your way or you just want a quick 'grab a few discs and go for an hour' kind of round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Location is incorrect

1    11/19/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: madcow
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: This is just a place holder for now till i can come back and review but:

The location on here is incorrect. It took me to another part of Zilker park that is nowere near the DG course.

If you are coming south on Mo-Pac and get off the exit to the turn around for barton springs... head north on barton to the second right wich should be Andrew Zilker Road, then make a left. The course is in there.

(didnt find it till i did some random exploring)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Convenient Location

5+    10/27/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a short course. It's a perfect course to practice your mid-range throws if you're at least an intermediate or advanced player. It will make an easy and quick round when you're playing the course when it's not busy.

Ever since they went with all 18 baskets, we all can play true round of disc golf as opposed to having to play 9 holes twice in the past. There's good amount of variety of shot selections for a short course.

The location is perfect for casual players who are looking to hit the town after a round. Down the street from the course is several restaurants that you can get drinks or grub. There's always the famous Barton Springs Pool that you can cool off after a round if it's particularly a hot day.
Cons: The problems with this course are going to be a bit obvious to some people who have played this course before.

First of all, it can get very crowded, and it can get very tedious trying to get a round in with the casual players who may not know the basic etiquettes or have the decency to let people play through.

The second problem is that, even though there's "new" stone benches, the signage seemed to be an afterthought. They were never installed, so visitors from out of town will be confused about the navigation or about where the first hole is. The baskets are fairly old, so some of you may not enjoy that as well.

It can get boring for the most advanced players unless they're looking for ace runs. That's something to keep in mind, because the Austin area certainly have other courses that can give better challenges to the more experienced players.
Other Thoughts: I gave this course a score of three. I think it is a good course for what it is, and nothing less. It's certainly better suited for the more casual players who are learning the game of disc golf. It's the reason why it's so popular along with it's proximity to downtown and the Barton Springs Pool.

I come here a lot during the week and during early mornings on the weekend. I usually only bring mid-ranges and maybe couple of fairway drivers. I've come to enjoy this course because it really helped me improve my throwing skills with mid-range discs.

For you who are more advanced, it may be a better idea to find other courses in the area as Zilker will not give you the ultimate experience, especially with the weekend crowds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great classic

5+    10/15/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: finesse1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -classic course that offers good shot variety and options
-great for beginners to learn on and great for pros to sure up and practice their game
-leagues and minis run 2x week nearly all yr
-excellent course for improving and developing your game
Cons: -removal of dead trees making course just a little easier, not really a big deal though, just a few key trees
-some conflicting tee boxes meaning you have an uphill shot and the box slants downhill or vise versa
-muddy after a rain in areas
Other Thoughts: fairly easy, but fun course, quick 18 holes mostly short but offers a few good 350+ holes, front 9 a little shorter and more open with the back being longer and offering a little tighter lines with more trees in play and a mando. awesome course for working on your game, ex. using putters and mids on the holes 250 and less with annies, hyzers, flat straight shots, etc. all good for accuracy and shot variety development=main reason i give it a 4 instead of a 3 or 3.5, really changed my game when i learned how to control putters and mids at 150-300 range at this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great practice, confidence builder

5+    10/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: bleds
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tucked in one of the best parks in central Austin
Cons: Crowded, particularly on weekends
Other Thoughts: I know a lot of more accomplished players dismiss this course, and honestly it is for all intents the equivalent of a pitch 'n putt for stick golfers.

That said, I wish I had a course close by here in Seattle like this one. This is a great course to learn on and, for me, to simply focus on building shot consistency. It's short enough and open enough to lower the frustration level, yet enough obstacles so make you think about your shots.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.