Austin, TX 
Zilker Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
North Course - Hole #6



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Great course

5+    8/1/1997   6/8/2009
Review By: ntwrk
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 18.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good open course
Nice basket placement
Nice baskets
Nice area to play in
Close to Barton Springs, nice to take a dip after 18
Cons: A little hot in the middle of the summer (but its Texas so ya)
Sometimes there can be too many human obsticles
Other Thoughts: I haven't played this course in about 12 years so my review might not be too valid since I'm sure its changed. This was my first DG course and it has a speacial place in my heart :)

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Downtown for a quick round

5+    2/19/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: Dude
Played: 142  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Until I put a midrange in my bag I hated this course. I just found the second shot to be between putter and driver for me. Now I drive most holes with my midrange and my attitude about the course has changed drastically.

As stated before this is really two 9 hole courses but sometimes all 18 pins are there. Both North and South courses offer different shot selections, with North being a bit more open and longer for the most part and the South being a bit tighter but shorter on average. Together as 18 holes it's a nice round. Or just play the 9 twice and you're good as well.

This is the course I would recommend to beginners in Austin...or if you've been playing a while and want to introduce someone else to the sport. I'd say it's a little less crowded than Pease and not as frustrating for a new player. They won't have to worry about throwing discs in the water. And you can work on your midrange and short game. Win-Win.

Once you get over the relatively standardized difference of the hole lengths this course is exceptionally designed for such a small area. Even though the North side is open, it does require a lot of different shot types. Left and right turns, long low shots (or rollers,) uphill, downhill, skip shots and a nice long drive. The South side will make you place your up shots, maneuver around trees, forehand or anhyzer, throw off a hill, long shot under some trees, a tight tree hole and a putt drive. All in all, it has a bit of everything.

I have a newfound love of this course and it makes a nice companion course for Pease...or if Pease is too crowded it's a 5 minute drive and usually not as bad.
Cons: Sometimes the course gets crowded and there are a lot of new players here. You may be looking forward to playing one side and the other is up. The North side has you playing next to a busy road at times and sometimes you'll have to deal with a honk or two.

The only real cons are lack of signs, dirt tee pads on the South side can get muddy. Only 9 holes at times. And doesn't really let you get out there and throw huge bombs as much as I'd like.
Other Thoughts: Park under the overpass on the way down to avoid the park fee on the weekends. Really makes a for a nice quick round or a secondary round if you've just played somewhere else and just need a bit more to top off your disc golfing for the day.

A great place to visit for Ice Bowl early in the year if you don't want to play in the snows up north. lol

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/12/2008   2/22/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2009
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: You Can't really loose a disc on this course unless you get it stuck in a tree. It is a quick play and not usually to busy.
Cons: Short, only 9 holes at a time. Only half the course has cement tees.
Other Thoughts: Bartons Springs is right there if you want to jump in after a round. NICE

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Zilker

5+    10/17/2008   1/10/2009
Review By: Disc_Pro
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads. Central location. Plays quick.
Cons: 18 hole course with only 9 baskets.
Other Thoughts: Course is 18 holes, but the city will only allow 9 holes in the ground at any one time. Baskets are moved back and forth between the North and South side of the course, to give the land a chance to 'repair' itself, and cut back on erosion.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Zilker

5+    12/4/2008   12/4/2008
Review By: milow369
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easily accessible, good parking situation. Well designed courses (north and south). Although on the shorter side, holes require and reward technical throws. Lots of ace runs on both courses, more on the South. Couple longer holes thrown in to keep the courses interesting. Either course can be played in under an hour unless extremely crowded. Early morning rounds can be played without seeing another player on the course.
Cons: Short course overall. South course needs concrete tee boxes. Course maps/signage would help new players. Lots of trash cans needed throughout the course so beer cans don't end up in the trees.
Other Thoughts: Great course for working on different shots. Hard to lose a disc. Lots of ace runs. Would like to see 9 baskets added and see both courses opened to make a killer little 18 hole gem in Austin's best park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun practice courses

5+    11/3/2008   8/24/2008
Review By: discinator
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: North course: Well groomed. Concrete tee pads. It is quick and easy to get around the course.Hard to lose a disc.

South Course: Good shot variety, lots of ace runs, great course for midrange work. Very difficult to lose a disc here. Nice and quick for when you need to get in a quick round.
Cons: North course: Kind of wide open, especially if you like tunnel shots. Pretty short. No map of the course at the bulletin board.

South course: Dirt tee pads that aren't marked very well. No course map or signs on the course. Some tees are really close to the baskets of other holes, so if its busy you have to watch yourself.
Other Thoughts: I played the North course and found it to be a fun little course. I did get turned around my first time out as the tee boxes aren't marked and there is no map at the bulletin board, but once I figured it out everything was great. The course is pretty easy and it is short, so most holes you can either drive or have a short second pitch to the basket. Needless to say birdies are common.

South course: You have to take this course for what it is. It is very short, in fact if you can throw 300 you can reach almost every hole on the course. Most are around 225-250' with hole 7 at around 380'. I like this course for practicing my midrange shots as you can play the whole course with a midrange and a putter. It really is a pretty good course- its in good shape, has open and wooded holes, and has some minor elevation changes.

Of the two courses the North course is a little more challenging and longer, but the South course is a little more dense and actually has the more technical shot variety.It is just short.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/16/2009   7/18/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you're looking for a super quick playing course then this is the one.

There are two nine hole courses here. Sometimes only one side has baskets and sometimes both sides have baskets. You never know until you show up to play.

The North 9 is moderately wooded with huge trees making it a beautiful and shady course. High canopies, and no brush means it's not as frustrating as most moderately wooded courses.

The South 9 is not as park like and has some holes with cedar and brush lining the fairways to punish the errant shot. It is a little more frustrating to the beginner but has shorter distances.

The large concrete teepads on the North side are rare around Austin and very nice.

The South 9 has dirt tee boxes.

Each side has it's own bulletin board with a picnic table where groups will wait to meet up with each other. You will see some real Austin "characters" around these bulletin boards.
Cons: It's close to downtown and very popular so it's always crowded even at mid-week, mid-day.

Finding the course can be confusing because the two courses are seperated by a park road and have seperate parking areas. If both sides are open you can just park anywhere and follow the masses to which ever side you want. The first time you play you will probably park on the wrong side and have a long walk to hole #1 on the other side but after that you will know where to park.

The zigzag flow of the North side is hard to follow the first time, even with the printable map because the course is poorly marked.

The South 9 is also poorly marked but I had no trouble following the flow by looking for worn paths leading away from each basket.
Other Thoughts: The North 9 by itself would get a 3.5 disc rating from me because it is prettier, has concrete tee pads, has larger trees and is more park like. I would give the South 9 a 2.5 disc rating. So together I give the course a 3.0 disc rating.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 South Course

4/26/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: JimBeam
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is relatively easy. It is mostly flat and open with lots of opportunities to birdie or even get the occasional ace. Not too crowded. It can be played very quickly due to its lack of length making it a good choice for a quick before work round.
Cons: It was not marked well after about the 4th or 5th hole. I had a hard time finding the tee for #6 in particular. Very little shade so it can be very hot on summer days.
Other Thoughts: Hole #6 is quite fun plays down hill over and around trees.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center