Austin, TX
Zilker Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
North Course - Hole #3



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Zilker- The Course for Beginners

5+    1/1/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 4/10/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: As the title says, great course for beginners. Some variation in holes, but none are too challenging for beginners and most are fairly short (only two over 300 ft I think).
Cons: Sadly there is only one hole on this course that is even moderately challenging. I love playing this course with friends of mine that haven't played much disc golf before, but aside from that this course isn't great compared to others around Austin.
Other Thoughts: There are many challenging courses around Austin which makes an easy course like Zilker a welcome to Austin disc golf. If you're introducing people to the sport, this is a great first course to take them to.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Needs help

1    12/1/2013   12/15/2013
Review By: nightwing
Played: 80  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome location near downtown.
Huge and varied park setting.
Some good shots on the northside.
Also some decent pin locations.
Boring southside nine.
Cons: Hideous baskets on the better nine.
VERY short layout.
Little elevation...typical park course
Other Thoughts: Zilker Park is due for an overhaul. I will change or delete my review if it improves but it has really been let go and that's just kind of depressing. It does function as a close by practice course to downtown Nashville, but with so many great courses nearby, I would skip it unless it is on your way or you just want a quick 'grab a few discs and go for an hour' kind of round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Location is incorrect

1    11/19/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: madcow
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: This is just a place holder for now till i can come back and review but:

The location on here is incorrect. It took me to another part of Zilker park that is nowere near the DG course.

If you are coming south on Mo-Pac and get off the exit to the turn around for barton springs... head north on barton to the second right wich should be Andrew Zilker Road, then make a left. The course is in there.

(didnt find it till i did some random exploring)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Convenient Location

5+    10/27/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a short course. It's a perfect course to practice your mid-range throws if you're at least an intermediate or advanced player. It will make an easy and quick round when you're playing the course when it's not busy.

Ever since they went with all 18 baskets, we all can play true round of disc golf as opposed to having to play 9 holes twice in the past. There's good amount of variety of shot selections for a short course.

The location is perfect for casual players who are looking to hit the town after a round. Down the street from the course is several restaurants that you can get drinks or grub. There's always the famous Barton Springs Pool that you can cool off after a round if it's particularly a hot day.
Cons: The problems with this course are going to be a bit obvious to some people who have played this course before.

First of all, it can get very crowded, and it can get very tedious trying to get a round in with the casual players who may not know the basic etiquettes or have the decency to let people play through.

The second problem is that, even though there's "new" stone benches, the signage seemed to be an afterthought. They were never installed, so visitors from out of town will be confused about the navigation or about where the first hole is. The baskets are fairly old, so some of you may not enjoy that as well.

It can get boring for the most advanced players unless they're looking for ace runs. That's something to keep in mind, because the Austin area certainly have other courses that can give better challenges to the more experienced players.
Other Thoughts: I gave this course a score of three. I think it is a good course for what it is, and nothing less. It's certainly better suited for the more casual players who are learning the game of disc golf. It's the reason why it's so popular along with it's proximity to downtown and the Barton Springs Pool.

I come here a lot during the week and during early mornings on the weekend. I usually only bring mid-ranges and maybe couple of fairway drivers. I've come to enjoy this course because it really helped me improve my throwing skills with mid-range discs.

For you who are more advanced, it may be a better idea to find other courses in the area as Zilker will not give you the ultimate experience, especially with the weekend crowds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great classic

5+    10/15/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: finesse1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -classic course that offers good shot variety and options
-great for beginners to learn on and great for pros to sure up and practice their game
-leagues and minis run 2x week nearly all yr
-excellent course for improving and developing your game
Cons: -removal of dead trees making course just a little easier, not really a big deal though, just a few key trees
-some conflicting tee boxes meaning you have an uphill shot and the box slants downhill or vise versa
-muddy after a rain in areas
Other Thoughts: fairly easy, but fun course, quick 18 holes mostly short but offers a few good 350+ holes, front 9 a little shorter and more open with the back being longer and offering a little tighter lines with more trees in play and a mando. awesome course for working on your game, ex. using putters and mids on the holes 250 and less with annies, hyzers, flat straight shots, etc. all good for accuracy and shot variety development=main reason i give it a 4 instead of a 3 or 3.5, really changed my game when i learned how to control putters and mids at 150-300 range at this course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great practice, confidence builder

5+    10/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: bleds
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tucked in one of the best parks in central Austin
Cons: Crowded, particularly on weekends
Other Thoughts: I know a lot of more accomplished players dismiss this course, and honestly it is for all intents the equivalent of a pitch 'n putt for stick golfers.

That said, I wish I had a course close by here in Seattle like this one. This is a great course to learn on and, for me, to simply focus on building shot consistency. It's short enough and open enough to lower the frustration level, yet enough obstacles so make you think about your shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

So-so course in a very nice park

5+    10/5/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in Zilker Park, the home of the Austin City Limits music festival. There are lots of other activities in the park and the people watching is good fun.

The course is not too hard for beginners, provides a decent white level challenge and is still fun for more advanced players. Most of the holes are ace-runs, so it's fun in that department.
Cons: The navigation is horrible. The tees aren't marked and the back nine, particularly, is very frustrating to play for the first time without a guide.

The baskets aren't all the same, with some double chain models and some single chain, many of which are pretty beat up. Tee pads are inconsistent with some being very nice and some horrible.

Although the park itself is quite nice, the course still has a fair amount of trash.

The rating reflects:
Average course = 2.5
Lack of challenge = -.5
Poor navigation = -.5
Other Thoughts: Be sure to print a map or play with a local. Please pick up some trash as you play.

Although the course isn't that great, a day spent enjoying Zilker Park with lunch or dinner at a nearby local restaurant is a day well spent.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Zilker

1    8/17/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: Disc Happens
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -very nice tee pads, and some unique tees later in the round
-holes are short and fun to play
-most holes are birdie holes
-easy to find your way around
-front 9 and back 9 are completely different therefore you get two different types of disc golf
-good mix of left and right, and straight shots
Cons: -park is extremely crowded
-hard to find a place to park
-if you can throw a putter or midrange well then you probably won't even grab a driver the whole round
-lots of people playing makes game slow sometimes
-baskets are old and need to be replaced
Other Thoughts: I would rate this course much much higher if they would mark the holes some how, there are very nice stones at every hole, however they must be marked somehow!!!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

This course is great!

5+    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: blake918
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really you get 2 separate courses with different character, one side of the street is short and the other side longer holes. Fun ,easy to play, doesn't require a lot of discs or experience. popular, easy to pick up a game. convenient location, quick rounds.
Cons: can get crowded, sometimes large groups slow up the curse, but nothing is too bad a the holes are short. course terrain is very worn down and flat, this course gets used. parking can sometimes be inconvenient, if all else fails park under the Mo- Pac bridge across the street.
Other Thoughts: I always considered this course to be like the municipal disc golf course, it gets very heavy use and is in a great location. the fun factor is defiantly there for this course, and it's a quick fun round that wont challenge you too much. Terrain wise its a dog track golf course, but defiantly get to this one as it is a great round where you'll enjoy yourself.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short course but I love it

5+    7/3/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: gamblor01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Zilker is a great place to bring beginners as there are very few long holes. Many birdie opportunities if you can accurately throw 250-300ft drives, especially on the front 9. The course is generally very forgiving, allowing you to recover a bad drive with a well placed second throw. There are only a few holes where you might get stuck in the woods and they are all on the front 9.

It is also mostly flat with a few hills, so it is a great place to bring the family. I have brought my kids in the stroller along with me and have no problems getting around.
Cons: Difficult to navigate if you haven't played it before. Some of the holes are close to each other so beware of stray throws -- and try not to throw any yourself. :)
Other Thoughts: I love this course but work very close to it so I often play a round over my lunch break. Even with a group of 2 or 3 we can still finish in about an hour. If there are large groups in front of you, it's quite easy to skip ahead on the back 9.

Note that they charge $5 for parking on weekends, holidays, and special events (as of April 2012). You can park on the west side of Mopac (there is a little picnic area on the south side of Rollingwood Dr) and walk under the bridge if you don't want to pay. I have heard that parking under the bridge is no longer allowed and can result in getting your car towed.

One final note, this site seems to label the course as two 9 hole courses, but it was redone a few years ago and is now labeled as a full 18. So the "south" course is the front 9 and the "north" course is the back 9.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.