Austin, TX 
Zilker Park Share
Uploaded By: TejasKajun Hole #12 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 259ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 So-so course in a very nice park

5+    10/5/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 17.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in Zilker Park, the home of the Austin City Limits music festival. There are lots of other activities in the park and the people watching is good fun.

The course is not too hard for beginners, provides a decent white level challenge and is still fun for more advanced players. Most of the holes are ace-runs, so it's fun in that department.
Cons: The navigation is horrible. The tees aren't marked and the back nine, particularly, is very frustrating to play for the first time without a guide.

The baskets aren't all the same, with some double chain models and some single chain, many of which are pretty beat up. Tee pads are inconsistent with some being very nice and some horrible.

Although the park itself is quite nice, the course still has a fair amount of trash.

The rating reflects:
Average course = 2.5
Lack of challenge = -.5
Poor navigation = -.5
Other Thoughts: Be sure to print a map or play with a local. Please pick up some trash as you play.

Although the course isn't that great, a day spent enjoying Zilker Park with lunch or dinner at a nearby local restaurant is a day well spent.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Zilker

1    8/17/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: Disc Happens
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -very nice tee pads, and some unique tees later in the round
-holes are short and fun to play
-most holes are birdie holes
-easy to find your way around
-front 9 and back 9 are completely different therefore you get two different types of disc golf
-good mix of left and right, and straight shots
Cons: -park is extremely crowded
-hard to find a place to park
-if you can throw a putter or midrange well then you probably won't even grab a driver the whole round
-lots of people playing makes game slow sometimes
-baskets are old and need to be replaced
Other Thoughts: I would rate this course much much higher if they would mark the holes some how, there are very nice stones at every hole, however they must be marked somehow!!!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This course is great!

5+    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: blake918
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really you get 2 separate courses with different character, one side of the street is short and the other side longer holes. Fun ,easy to play, doesn't require a lot of discs or experience. popular, easy to pick up a game. convenient location, quick rounds.
Cons: can get crowded, sometimes large groups slow up the curse, but nothing is too bad a the holes are short. course terrain is very worn down and flat, this course gets used. parking can sometimes be inconvenient, if all else fails park under the Mo- Pac bridge across the street.
Other Thoughts: I always considered this course to be like the municipal disc golf course, it gets very heavy use and is in a great location. the fun factor is defiantly there for this course, and it's a quick fun round that wont challenge you too much. Terrain wise its a dog track golf course, but defiantly get to this one as it is a great round where you'll enjoy yourself.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short course but I love it

5+    7/3/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: gamblor01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Zilker is a great place to bring beginners as there are very few long holes. Many birdie opportunities if you can accurately throw 250-300ft drives, especially on the front 9. The course is generally very forgiving, allowing you to recover a bad drive with a well placed second throw. There are only a few holes where you might get stuck in the woods and they are all on the front 9.

It is also mostly flat with a few hills, so it is a great place to bring the family. I have brought my kids in the stroller along with me and have no problems getting around.
Cons: Difficult to navigate if you haven't played it before. Some of the holes are close to each other so beware of stray throws -- and try not to throw any yourself. :)
Other Thoughts: I love this course but work very close to it so I often play a round over my lunch break. Even with a group of 2 or 3 we can still finish in about an hour. If there are large groups in front of you, it's quite easy to skip ahead on the back 9.

Note that they charge $5 for parking on weekends, holidays, and special events (as of April 2012). You can park on the west side of Mopac (there is a little picnic area on the south side of Rollingwood Dr) and walk under the bridge if you don't want to pay. I have heard that parking under the bridge is no longer allowed and can result in getting your car towed.

One final note, this site seems to label the course as two 9 hole courses, but it was redone a few years ago and is now labeled as a full 18. So the "south" course is the front 9 and the "north" course is the back 9.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Zilker Park

1    6/17/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short but sweet, Zilker Park is one of those old school courses without a lot of bells and whistles but overflowing with character and charm. Despite its lack of length, every hole seems to be tucked into just the right nook or cranny to maximize the difficulty. The challenges mostly come from trees in the fairway blocking the direct route to the basket or trees off the fairway with very low overhanging canopies. Experienced players will have lots of birdie opportunities, but they will have to carefully place their drives to do so. Novice players and even families with kids will have a blast because there aren't any hazards that will lead to frustration. The tee pads are concrete, huge, and have concrete blocks that serve as benches and concrete markers that serve as tee signs. The concrete makes navigation a snap since you can easily spot the next tee from afar, and the orientation of the blocks leave no doubt to the direction to the basket. This is a very nice touch and seems to be a staple of the Austin area courses. The terrain is mostly flat, even though the few gentle hills factor in beautifully.
Cons: There is no signage and finding the first tee pad can be tricky without a map. The crowds on the course forced my twosome to jump around to avoid long backups caused by groups of six or more. Because the layout is so tight, this was actually pretty easy to do. The tight layout did cause some stray drives to come dangerously close to us. The baskets on the north course (see below) are really showing their age and I had some trouble with them not catching well. The navigation from 4 to 5 on the south course (see below) is not marked and there are two trails--the one to the left leads to the next tee while the one to the right leads to, well, we never found out. Take the trail to the left. Other than roads that are OB, there are not a lot of hazards to increase the level of difficulty.
Other Thoughts: Zilker Park actually has two separate nine hole courses (north and south) that make up the entire 18 hole course. It appears the south course is intended to play as 1-9, then the north course plays as 10-18. The south course appears to be the newer of the two, although both are quite mature and have aged well. The park itself is the centerpiece of Austin recreation and is maintained meticulously. If there was even a spot of trash on the ground, I never saw it. The park is easily accessible from the Mo-Pac freeway and all downtown surface streets, and there is plenty of parking on-site and under the freeway underpasses. There are many food offerings in the surrounding neighborhoods that are off the chart. While there are other more championship caliber courses around town, I chose Zilker Park as my first Austin course and was glad I did. It is a great introduction to the Austin disc golf scene and is sure to be enjoyed by many.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    5/9/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: longhornpowerlifter
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: a very well and maintained course. The course has a good balance of lefts and rights.
Cons: Can get a little crowded on the weekends, but if you go during the day on a weekday, it is really nice!
Other Thoughts: This is the very first course I ever played, and got me into this wonderful sport! It holds a very dear place in my heart! lol I love this place and it is not too difficult for beginners yet is very fun for more advanced and skilled players. Definitely a great place to play in the Austin area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Zilker

2-4    4/12/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: ColinB
Played: 32  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice open layout
Concrete pads and stone benches
Well maintained course
Good mix of lefts and rights and elevation chages
Fun and well layed out course, not overly difficult, but still challenging
Cons: The park can be crowded and at times you may have to pay for parking

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I think I'm home

5+    1/6/2012   1/7/2012
Review By: Soulfire75
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A fun course for players of all levels, alot of long open shots with some nice technical shots mixed in. A Beautiful Park in the heart of ATX!!
Cons: Can be very busy on the weekends and theres a park fee (Saturdays and Sundays only).
Other Thoughts: Zilker Park DGC is a very fun and a moderatley challenging course that is great for all levels of player. The front 9 is shorter and somewhat technical. The back 9 is longer and shots must be thought out well to be succsecful (big trees). The best thing about Zilker for me is that it's "FUN and Short" I can play a solo round at Zilker in less than an hour if I need a quick fix. Perfect for busy people who can't get enough. Zilker is also a great confidence builder. The holes are fun, challenging, but Not Impossible. The perfect course to get your "groove back".

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    1/3/2012   1/4/2012
Review By: Le4385
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice concrete tee boxes on all 18 holes. Easy to navigate, especially if you have a map. Fun holes, one where you throw from behind an old outdoor amphiteatre. Catchers in good shape. Easy, fun, and fast play through.
Cons: Road traffic can get annoying. Huge groups of new players everywhere get annoying fast. No tee signs at all.
Other Thoughts: You can do most of the holes with just a mid range if you wanted to. Parking is free unless you park near barton springs.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting Beginner Course

1    5/1/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: gek76
Played: 38  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mostly open holes making the course beginner friendly. They now have concrete tees on all holes. They also have large stone blocks at each tee for those waiting to throw to sit on. The few wooded hole didn't have tons of underbrush so very hard to lose a disc here. Friendly locals. Some of the tees where very large giving you freedom in how you tee off.
Cons: No Tee signs though one of the people I talked to who was part of the Worlds Biggest Disc Golf Weekend Event( WBDGW.com ) said tee signs would be in soon. Some of the holes are just to close for my comfort. I am not comfortable having disc shoot by with in 20 feet of me. This wasn't because I had thrown bad or the other people had it is just that some of the baskets and fairways are very close to each other. There may have been more trees in the past that helped prevent this. They are having a drought and you can see where trees have died off and they had to cut them down.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed attending the WBDGW event. Everyone was friendly.
This course is very beginner friendly. Easy to see most baskets from the tees. No overly long holes, no thing I have learned is beginners hate throwing 10 times on just one hole cause of how long it is. Little or no underbrush makes recovering from a bad throw easy. I will defiantly be bring my in-laws who are very much beginners to play here the next time I am in town. Layout if cart/stroller friendly. Saw people pushing baby strollers around the course. Saw a few dogs. Not sure if the park rules allow for off leash or not.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.