Austin, TX 
Zilker Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
North Course - Hole #9



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Better courses in area

2-4    11/7/2009   11/19/2010
Review By: coyotepower
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Centrally located in Austin. Good for beginners/noobs. Nice old trees in park.
Cons: Nothing to write home about - Basic DG here. Can get crowded and parking is bad on weekends
Other Thoughts: So many better courses in Austin - I would play Peace in a heartbeat but not sure I would play Zilker again

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

5+    11/8/2010   11/11/2010
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: With holes no longer than 250' it's a great course to introduce friends to DG
On the hottest of days you have Barton Springs close by
If course isn't crowded you can play a round in close to an hour
Can.t really lose discs on this course
Cons: Hard to find some of the tees on the south nine
Not very challenging for more experienced players
More of a pitch and putt course, No drives over 250'
Other Thoughts: You can park under the mopac bridge to advoid the parking fees on the weekends

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Home Course

5+    8/21/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: mavjr24
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is a fun course that takes a little more finesse to do really well. The course is a great outdoor course to play with good shade as you go along.
Cons: They are getting ready to do some demolition on majority of the course due to the Spanish Moss getting a little out of control. It is going to make the course in certain areas a lot easier.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in the heart of down town Austin. Go out there on a weekend, play a round of disc golf and cool off in the springs. What more could you ask for from a course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 easy and crowded

5+    6/24/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -fun layout
-fairly easy to navigate
-well placed trees
-concrete pads on the north 9
-easy to play a quick round if it's not too crowded (which isn't often)
-in town
-other park amenities nearby
Cons: -very repetitive, very little variety
-nearly always very crowded
-no concrete pads on the south 9
-finding the parking lots can be an issue
-lots of beginners and families means slow play and people who don't know etiquette
-difficult to navigate if you don't know the course
Other Thoughts: It is clear that this course has been around for awhile as the design is a bit dated, ie there are no long holes. The north 9 is a little bit longer than the south 9 but I don't think there is anything over 350-375'. This is a major ace-run/birdie-fest. Beginners will love that they can score well here and more experienced players will play well below par.

Since it is in town and beginner-friendly, this course is always packed. I've had to wait on just about every hole every time I've played here.

There isn't much variety in shots as most of the baskets are straight ahead. Some well-placed trees will make you shape a line or give you a low ceiling but for the most part you can just go at the basket.

A great course to work on your short game or play a round with just a putter or mid. Or bring the family. If you're looking for a more challenging experience then go to Pease or the Metcenter.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short, But Usually Not So Quick

5+    3/10/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: DrDipsomania
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Can be super fast to play if there aren't a lot of other people out. Straight-forward, with no super-long holes if you've got shorter arms. Great course to work on mid to long range putting/approach shots for the more experienced players, in addition to the multiple opportunities to go for the gusto with ace shots. As most other people have said, great course for beginners due to its ease and location...
Cons: ...However, due to its location and the relative ease of the course, it is almost always crowded. The worst part of the crowds that are out here are 1) lots of beginners who take a long time to complete a hole, 2) lots of experienced players who feel that it's okay to come out in a group of 6+ and each launch 2-3 discs per shot. Coupled with this is the slight confusion of the course layout and the lack of adequate markers/signs; many people shooting at the wrong pin or playing the course out of order. The North half has concrete tees, but the South half doesn't, and so those tee boxes get brutalized by the amount of traffic and inclement weather.
Other Thoughts: Not sure where people park that they're being charged. Two parking lots right by the North & South side are free every time I've parked. Maybe they charge on the weekends in the Summer? Or if you're parking by the Barton Springs swimming area?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bring the kids

2-4    10/9/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: vince
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Easy and quick. In town. Great course for beginners.
Cons: Crowds on the weekend. Takes forever to recover from rain.
Other Thoughts: Bring your kids out to the south 9 and watch them light it up. For a good golfer it's a putter drive on 5 of the 9.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 ACE course of Texas

1    12/25/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: mc lazer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2010
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: I just play the short nine. It's an all out course for ace runs, just bring a couple mid range and a putter. I wonder how many Aces have been taken here? I bet it's got to be the most per course in the state or real close, would be great to know but there's no way to find out. Oh well. If you wanna ad some to your belt this is the place. Good place for a quickie, or night round too. Not technical or tough. very beginner and Ace friendly.
Other Thoughts: Justed chained hole 9 and left it smokin on 1/6/10

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short and not-so-sweet

5+    8/11/2009   8/14/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Note: I am going to be reviewing this as an 18 hole course since they have had all 18 baskets installed for over half a year now.

-large concrete tees on half of the course, the other half has natural tees that are in good condition for the most part

-lots of birdie ops

-best beginner course in Austin as most of the holes are around 200'-250'. There's 3 or 4 holes that are right around 300' give or take, and there's a couple shorter than 200'.

-impossible to lose a disc as the rough, which only exists on a handful of holes, is quite forgiving.

-can be played in under an hour when the traffic is low, and really, the only time I ever play this course is when I don't have time to play any other.

-It's located next to Barton Springs pool, which has nothing to do with disc golf, but is probably the best thing about this course.
Cons: -too short; this is a course where you just never have the opportunity to really let loose and bomb one.

-too easy. Whether it's short or long (most being the former), it's just plain easy, emphasis on the plain...and the easy. There's no tunnel shots with most of the holes having only 1 or 2 trees you need to avoid to get an easy birdie.

-It's a boring course with no risk/reward type scenarios. No risk--all reward.

-$3 parking fee during the weekend makes this course even less appealing, although you can park under the Mopac bridge or on the north side of Barton Springs Rd., both of which are only a short walk away from the course.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this course to anyone other than someone just learning the game or if you only have an hour to play.

There's a sign at the beginning of the course that says no alcohol allowed, which is weird because every other park/DGC in Austin allows you to drink beer as long as it's in cans.

It can actually get pretty crowded with beginners (i.e. very slow players in large groups) during the weekend so an expected 1 hour round can turn into a 2 hour round if you catch it at the wrong time.

If you're an experienced disc golfer there's really no reason to play this course considering every other Austin area course is better and more challenging.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Like Eating a Burnt Filet Mignon Palatable but not Very Good.

1    8/2/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: People who know nothing about the course will be happy to find 18 holes on a relatively flat and easy terrain. New players will also like that this is a great course to learn on - with few obstacles and no water. It reminded me of my home course in Houston, Anges Moffit Park - not hard, fairly popular, and centrally located. The other two pluses are that this is a big park with the springs and botanic gardens, so family members looking for something other disc golf can be fully entertained for the day, and the course is located near the iconic Pease Park if you still need a disc golf fix.

BEST HOLE/S: #4 South; #6 South
Cons: Nine holes? Two nine holes courses? One 18 course? Zilker seems to have an identity problem and suffers from some false advertisement. Currently, a new to the course player can show up to expect 18 holes of golf with a definite distinction between each nine. Rumor mill is that the 18 pins are now going to be permanent, but take this information with a grain of salt, since it looks like it may be some time before the dust settles and people figure out the long term status.

Other major cons include no real tee markers showing the hole number or distance. The "South" course currently has yellow markers in the ground indicating the tee box, and the "North" course has the world's largest concrete pads to help to see where to throw. The north course has no numbers, so we jumped on a hole #2 (according to the map under links & files) near the road, since that made the most sense and the concrete tees line up well to show you your way. This way we could easily play 18 holes without backtracking to much because the north course hole #1 ends back at the parking lot where started the south course. The north course is also wide open, so you'll be able to scan the area easily.

The south course has some flow issues, so print the map, but note that you backtrack from hole #2 to hole #3, and take the left path through the trees after hole #4. Fortunately these pins have numbers, so it makes it harder to foul things up. Besides that - both nine hole courses are fairly straightforward with little challenge. Basically it's a good flat place to learn the game then have a dip in Barton Springs when you're finished.

Last issue is parking. Play on a week day or pay three bucks on the weekend? Believe me, unless you're hitting the springs as well, this course isn't worth three bucks. I second the other reviews that suggest you park under Mopac at the exit near course and walk across the frontage road. It's almost as close as any parking you would have to pay for anyway.

WORST HOLE/S: #6 North
Other Thoughts: Zilker Park's silly layout and the determination to have two nine hole courses is silly to me. Take a few minutes, do some renumbering, and just call the thing an 18 hole course. That will make it a bigger draw anyway. Having played East Metro Park and Circle C at Slaughter Creek before finishing the day here was a mistake. Next time I would just drive the extra few miles to Pease Park and hit a much better 18. I think the thing that frustrates me most is when a place with great potential doesn't meet it.

Zilker Park isn't horrible, and being the first ever Houck designed course over 20 years ago - you've have to give some props. However, with so many newer good courses in the area with time and love devoted to them, one just wonders when one of the most popular parks in the city will get it's due again.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Zesty Zilker!!

2-4    5/4/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice clean park with a good variety of shots. No water. Two different 9 holes, not always both in place. Front 9 more open and longer. Back 9 is more wooded and shorter.
Cons: None really to speak of.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course, I can't wait to go back.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.