Disc Golf Store
Austin, TX 
Searight Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Favorite Go-To Course

5+    7/2/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: Cheddar
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
Pros: Great for beginners
Well maintained
Easy navigation
Cons: Can get crowded on the weekends
Muddy when it rains
Parking can get bad
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played on so it holds a special place in my heart. It's nice to see how it's been improved over the many years. The community really cares about this course. Because it's such a great course, it can get packed very often. Often times leisurely groups of 5+ who just stroll through at a snails pace aren't likely to let groups of 2 pass, which I find to be a little rude. And because it's such a great course for beginners you'll also get those groups who aren't familiar with course etiquette who won't let you pass while flinging their disks into the thick.

Other than those few things this is a great course. It might sound like I'm complaining about the people but they're really just minor annoyances that are easily dealt with. The games is all about pacing yourself and having a good time anyway, it's just mostly I don't get to play until after work so I'm usually racing the sun. But now that I have lights for my disk it's not as stressful.

Austin's most crowded course? Probably.

1    7/5/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: SigLane
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Decent shot selection. Very well maintained. Benches and trash cans at every hole. I disagree with other opinions that state that this course favors a lefty. It favors a player with multiple shots types with accuracy needed to thread through strategically placed cedar tree dotted fairways. Ripping the disc is barely necessary on but just a few holes while the rest are accuracy focused. With select cedar trees in the fairway to navigate around what would otherwise be a straight forward hole, it changes your approach to one that requires you to think two shots ahead. I like that. Hole 15's view is beautiful and it's a blast to chunk a disc off of that elevated tee box. Shots off of the fairway are still playable but require precision to make it through the cedar forest openings. Extremely satisfy when you dodge all of the cedar trees on each hole as it's tight on some of the fairways. Very well maintained fairways and areas just off of the fairways make for forgiving lies.
Cons: Trash can pile up but people use the cans at least. Can get very crowded in fact that is an understatement. This is by far the most crowded course in South Austin if not all of Austin. Be prepared to wait behind at least one group during evenings or weekends. Weekday rounds are no longer a possibility for me thanks to my post college, real job lifestyle that I've had to adopt. My other gripe about this place is the cemented presence of a less than reputable crowd. I've seen deals done on the course and heard old men who are just hanging out at the benches near hole 3 talking about their stints in prison. Seriously, man, take that sob story elsewhere and do your deals elsewhere. My group and I are trying to f'n play. Plus, since the course isn't the hardest or longest course it invites, appropriately so, groups of 4 or 5 newbies eating up 15 minutes a hole at least. Everyone has to start somewhere but just want to communicate that to y'all reading this. Listen, I don't expect you to show up in golf attire but at least carry yourself appropriately and respectfully around others that you could be imposing upon. Especially since the new thing seems to be blasting you're terrible music choice over you're portable Bluetooth speaker. It don't need silence to throw but I don't want to hear your annoying techno or rap blasting in the background while you wait behind my group. I'll get down off of my soap box now...
Other Thoughts: Fun course that requires shot shaping and variety. Look forward to 15. Bring water even though the cedar forest's shade is nice it's also very thick so it cuts down the chance of heat relief from a little wind. Pack plenty of patience in your bag for this "diversely" overcrowded course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Place to Start

2-4    7/10/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: snevets
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes
Alleys are well set off and not too narrow; good if you're at any skill level.
Great practice for first throwing straight and in the later holes throwing anny.
Cons: It does get busy, especially on the weekends or in the evenings.
It is largely a dirt course so it will get dusty out there and muddy if it has just rained.
Other Thoughts: This is quickly becoming my favorite course. Each time I go I see a new way to play a hole and it is developing my strategies.
Very close to DiscNation, if you've just bought discs this is a good course to break them in on.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    1/2/2014   2/23/2014
Review By: Dday301
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Shot variety
-Flows well
Cons: -Usually very busy so expect to wait a bit
-Trash is a common sight
Other Thoughts: This is a fairly easy course and one of my personal favorites. It can be extremely busy so expect to do some waiting (it's not uncommon to have a couple hundred people on the course at any one time on the weekends). There is good shot variety throughout but it does seem to favor RHBH. Plenty of birdie opportunities throughout, but 3 will steal your bacon with just the slightest mistake. 15 has a beautiful view from the top of a hill (especially at sunset) and a great downhill shot. Very enjoyable course overall and worth playing, but try to go at odd times if you can to avoid the crazy rush of people.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

OK course

1    6/9/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: Dale W
Played: 81  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Navigation of this course can, literally, be done with your eyes closed because of the railed paths.
Benches on every concrete tee are needed due to the number of players you will see here.
It is a good course if you are somewhat new since 16 of the 18 holes are short (under 300').
The rough isn't as unforgiving as East Metro, although you can still lose a disc here.
Parking is limited, but should be available. Mostly clean with trash cans on every hole.
Hole 15 is a very scenic hole playing off of a "cliff" to the basket.
Cons: Short course - could be played with only a Buzz or Roc.
Missing signs on 13-18.
Favors leftys as majority of holes are dogleg right to some extent (minor to major).
Other Thoughts: Trashcans were full when I played, but at least they were being used. Everyone seemed to be courteous as opposed to the opinions/experiences of some of the previous posts. Overall a good course, but wont really challenge a seasoned, experienced golfer unless you go into the rough or are trying to score 9 under or more.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great moderate course down south

2-4    2/8/2013   2/9/2013
Review By: Throbbert
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great layout, great tee boxes and great course design.

Difficult, but fun.

Some really awesome hole layouts. Great course for forehand righties.
Cons: Can get very backed up. Being that most of the courses down south are fairly difficult, this one tends to be really busy.
Other Thoughts: Great course if you are looking for a step up in game from the easier courses around town.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Popular Course Both Good and Bad

5+    10/29/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are several good things about this course. First of all, the technical nature of the course design can help offset the main negative aspect: that the course's too short. When the weather comes in play, the course definitely play very different, and that can be a good thing for some of the advanced players who may think the course's too easy.

There are definitely a lot of variety in shot selections here that you can take. This course does not favor heavily toward left-handed or right-handed players.

The navigation is a breeze, and there's no way you'll get lost. There's signage on every hole with stone benches that you can sit on while waiting for the group in front of you finish playing the hole out.

It's a good course if you also want to try getting aces, so there's opportunities to be hitting some.
Cons: First, it can be very crowded on daily basis, especially in the afternoons during the week and all day long during the weekend.

It can be viewed as too easy for the advanced players, and if that's the case, then there's always Circle C that's few miles to the west.

The course can become a bit of an eyesore with occasional vandalism to the signs and the overflowing garbage cans that can get filled up very quickly.
Other Thoughts: I gave this course 3, because I'm comparing this to Zilker Park in terms of length and challenges presented to a wide range of people with varying skill levels. I find this course to be on par with Zilker in terms of enjoyable factor when it's not too busy, even though the skill required is somewhat more advanced on this course.

For the more advanced players that simply don't want to wait to throw on every hole during weekends, you should go to Circle C, MetCenter DGC, or maybe Austin Bible Ridge Church course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Solid Course

5+    10/17/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: finesse1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -fun course
-good shot variety, plays fair to rightys, left, BH, and FH
-concrete tees, good signage and practice area
-defined fairways, good baskets
-minis at least 2x week nearly all yr long
-course flip labor day weekend=seawrong
-signature hole 15 sunset view=killer!
-lots of birdie ops
Cons: -only 3 holes with length
-course most likely to run into unsavory golfers, loud, drunk, obnoxious casual players that will disc jack and break every other unwritten or written rule and code of conduct, wont happen all the time, just higher probability here
-the overcrowding
Other Thoughts: overall a solid course that is great for game development, especially at the 250 and less range, a fun, short play, unless crowded of course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun, well-maintained course

1    8/26/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Searight is a fun course for all skill levels. It's far from the toughest for expert players, but you still must execute to go low. The challenge of trying to shoot below 45 keeps me coming back.

The cement tees are large and framed to minimize erosion. The tee signs are top-notch. The navigation is totally intuitive. The 9th basket is very close to the parking lot if you need to make a quick stop at the car.

The fairways are fair and the rough isn't super-thick, making finding discs fairly easy for the most part.

The holes are separated visually from each other with sufficient safety buffer, making for a pleasant, secluded experience.

It's obvious that a lot of work has gone into improving the experience of playing searight. Erosion concerns have been addressed, many rocks have been removed from the fairways, and the course is very clean considering the large number of players that use it daily.

There is a bit of variety to the shot shapes, two short par 4's, and the beautiful signature vista on hole 16.

If you get out early enough to beat the crowds, searight is a very enjoyable short course.
Cons: As many have already stated, the popularity of this course is its biggest con.

The fact that the course is designed primarily for the recreational and intermediate players is a con for expert players that wish to take advantage of their power.

Many of the holes have designed intended routes that can be avoided by throwing overhands and/or spike hyzers over all the trouble.
Other Thoughts: Please do your part to help keep Searight clean!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Learning Course

5+    7/5/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Banditozzy
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great course to learn the game on. Short and not difficult with the exception of a couple holes 3 and 12.

Despite the huge amount of traffic on this course the city does an excellent job of maintaining it. South Austin Disc Golf Association deserves a lot of that credit also.

Locals are great for the most part. I can always show up and hop on with a group if no one wants to come out and play.

Early in the morning before the traffic picks up you can have a very nice round here and play the course in about an hour.

Lots of ace oppertunies here. I had my first on hole 5. It is a very fun course to play and for beginers I think that is the most important factor.

The addiition of the concrete tee boxes has helped a lot.
Cons: HUGE crowds during the day. Any time after 9 AM especially on the weekends the course will be extremely crowded. This is not the course to pay if you are in a hurry. Most groups will let you play through however.

A lot of vandelism to the trees, baskets, and rock benches. A lot of wear and tear on the fairways. Low quality cedar chips don't help to fix anything.

For more advanced players this course will offer little challenge. Overhand players will dominate this course.

A local mini on Wednesdays make it impossible to play on that afternoon.
Other Thoughts: A bittersweet course for me. I learned to play disc golf on this course as it is 5 minutes from my house. I have probably played this course 100 plus times. As I have progressed as a player I find myself not interested in playing it anymore.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.