Austin, TX
Searight Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
OK course

1    6/9/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: Dale W
Played: 69  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Navigation of this course can, literally, be done with your eyes closed because of the railed paths.
Benches on every concrete tee are needed due to the number of players you will see here.
It is a good course if you are somewhat new since 16 of the 18 holes are short (under 300').
The rough isn't as unforgiving as East Metro, although you can still lose a disc here.
Parking is limited, but should be available. Mostly clean with trash cans on every hole.
Hole 15 is a very scenic hole playing off of a "cliff" to the basket.
Cons: Short course - could be played with only a Buzz or Roc.
Missing signs on 13-18.
Favors leftys as majority of holes are dogleg right to some extent (minor to major).
Other Thoughts: Trashcans were full when I played, but at least they were being used. Everyone seemed to be courteous as opposed to the opinions/experiences of some of the previous posts. Overall a good course, but wont really challenge a seasoned, experienced golfer unless you go into the rough or are trying to score 9 under or more.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Popular Course Both Good and Bad

5+    10/29/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are several good things about this course. First of all, the technical nature of the course design can help offset the main negative aspect: that the course's too short. When the weather comes in play, the course definitely play very different, and that can be a good thing for some of the advanced players who may think the course's too easy.

There are definitely a lot of variety in shot selections here that you can take. This course does not favor heavily toward left-handed or right-handed players.

The navigation is a breeze, and there's no way you'll get lost. There's signage on every hole with stone benches that you can sit on while waiting for the group in front of you finish playing the hole out.

It's a good course if you also want to try getting aces, so there's opportunities to be hitting some.
Cons: First, it can be very crowded on daily basis, especially in the afternoons during the week and all day long during the weekend.

It can be viewed as too easy for the advanced players, and if that's the case, then there's always Circle C that's few miles to the west.

The course can become a bit of an eyesore with occasional vandalism to the signs and the overflowing garbage cans that can get filled up very quickly.
Other Thoughts: I gave this course 3, because I'm comparing this to Zilker Park in terms of length and challenges presented to a wide range of people with varying skill levels. I find this course to be on par with Zilker in terms of enjoyable factor when it's not too busy, even though the skill required is somewhat more advanced on this course.

For the more advanced players that simply don't want to wait to throw on every hole during weekends, you should go to Circle C, MetCenter DGC, or maybe Austin Bible Ridge Church course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Solid Course

5+    10/17/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: finesse1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -fun course
-good shot variety, plays fair to rightys, left, BH, and FH
-concrete tees, good signage and practice area
-defined fairways, good baskets
-minis at least 2x week nearly all yr long
-course flip labor day weekend=seawrong
-signature hole 15 sunset view=killer!
-lots of birdie ops
Cons: -only 3 holes with length
-course most likely to run into unsavory golfers, loud, drunk, obnoxious casual players that will disc jack and break every other unwritten or written rule and code of conduct, wont happen all the time, just higher probability here
-the overcrowding
Other Thoughts: overall a solid course that is great for game development, especially at the 250 and less range, a fun, short play, unless crowded of course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun, well-maintained course

1    8/26/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Searight is a fun course for all skill levels. It's far from the toughest for expert players, but you still must execute to go low. The challenge of trying to shoot below 45 keeps me coming back.

The cement tees are large and framed to minimize erosion. The tee signs are top-notch. The navigation is totally intuitive. The 9th basket is very close to the parking lot if you need to make a quick stop at the car.

The fairways are fair and the rough isn't super-thick, making finding discs fairly easy for the most part.

The holes are separated visually from each other with sufficient safety buffer, making for a pleasant, secluded experience.

It's obvious that a lot of work has gone into improving the experience of playing searight. Erosion concerns have been addressed, many rocks have been removed from the fairways, and the course is very clean considering the large number of players that use it daily.

There is a bit of variety to the shot shapes, two short par 4's, and the beautiful signature vista on hole 16.

If you get out early enough to beat the crowds, searight is a very enjoyable short course.
Cons: As many have already stated, the popularity of this course is its biggest con.

The fact that the course is designed primarily for the recreational and intermediate players is a con for expert players that wish to take advantage of their power.

Many of the holes have designed intended routes that can be avoided by throwing overhands and/or spike hyzers over all the trouble.
Other Thoughts: Please do your part to help keep Searight clean!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Learning Course

5+    7/5/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Banditozzy
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great course to learn the game on. Short and not difficult with the exception of a couple holes 3 and 12.

Despite the huge amount of traffic on this course the city does an excellent job of maintaining it. South Austin Disc Golf Association deserves a lot of that credit also.

Locals are great for the most part. I can always show up and hop on with a group if no one wants to come out and play.

Early in the morning before the traffic picks up you can have a very nice round here and play the course in about an hour.

Lots of ace oppertunies here. I had my first on hole 5. It is a very fun course to play and for beginers I think that is the most important factor.

The addiition of the concrete tee boxes has helped a lot.
Cons: HUGE crowds during the day. Any time after 9 AM especially on the weekends the course will be extremely crowded. This is not the course to pay if you are in a hurry. Most groups will let you play through however.

A lot of vandelism to the trees, baskets, and rock benches. A lot of wear and tear on the fairways. Low quality cedar chips don't help to fix anything.

For more advanced players this course will offer little challenge. Overhand players will dominate this course.

A local mini on Wednesdays make it impossible to play on that afternoon.
Other Thoughts: A bittersweet course for me. I learned to play disc golf on this course as it is 5 minutes from my house. I have probably played this course 100 plus times. As I have progressed as a player I find myself not interested in playing it anymore.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/20/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: dennytodd
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Ahh. Good ol' searight....
I learned to play discgolf on this course in the late 90's. Its a great beginner course with 16 par 3s and 2 par 4s. Its basically a figure eight. Takes about an hour and a half to play with four people if its not crowded. Theres a birdy alley is what we call it. Holes 4 thru 7. All aceable. And hole 15 is the signature hole. Down hill and a nice place to take a break and crack a beer.The locals are usually real friendly. And Will let you play thru if youre solo or have one other with you.
Cons: Always crowded.
Other Thoughts: Its Definitly worth playing if you havent yet. Still my favorite course in Austin. Hard - no. Fun- yes

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 First time at Searight

1    5/17/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: Collegeguy121
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Very hard to lose disc, even with bad shots
-Couple of chances to get aces & many birdie opportunities
-Tee signs made it easy to navigate through the course
-I like how you had to be accurate to have a good birdie chance
Cons: -I wish they had longer holes
-scuffed up some of my least durable discs good on some holes
-There seems to be a lot of people that go play. I wouldn't mind too much, but some people that play are beginners so they go kind of slow.
Other Thoughts: The 15th hole was closed, which was disappointing

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Most fun course

5+    11/12/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: mc lazer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/2/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of shots, including many tomahawk shots if you have it inthe bag. There's several ace opportunities also. The rough isn't very rough along the fairways. Nice trees and view of the hill country through south Austin. There's a practice basket and room for driving practice as well. Most the renovations are great and some holes have been altered slightly.
Cons: Among the renovations that aren't great are the idiotic timbers that have been placed around the tee boxes like Circle C, and the fairways are being turned into mulch pits of Hades.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good for what it is, bad for what it's not

5+    6/3/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good example of how a pitch and putt course should be done. Although most of the holes are birdie-able and short, there are a couple longer holes that are really quite nice and pretty challenging, especially Hole 3-- always happy to get a par on that one.

The reason I say this is how a pitch and putt should be done is because even though most of the holes are short, they are still challenging with narrow gaps and a variety of left, right, and straight shots, but leave your distance drivers at home.

This course is comparable to Zilker in the aspect that they're both pitch and putt courses, but Searight is MUCH less forgiving than Zilker due to tighter fairways and thick brush when you veer off the fairways.

The signature hole is a nice downhiller on the back nine, but again, it's just too short. I want to let one fly off the top of the hill, but instead I'm using my mid-range and keeping it low so I don't shoot past the pin.
Cons: It's short. You never really get to let one fly. Even, say hole 3, which is the longest, it's best just to lay up at the dogleg in the fairway, and have another medium distance drive to get within putting range. Although, I could see a left-hander or side-arm throw getting further down the fairway. Half of the course feels like filler holes and are just too easy, however, the other half of the course is quite enjoyable and challenging to a certain extent.

The tee pads are dirt and some worn very bad. The course also gets very muddy when it rains, but since it hasn't really rained in the las two years, that's not much a problem.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to work on your control game. Last time I played I threw my driver (fairway driver, not distance driver) maybe a total of 3 times, with everything else being mid-range or putter shots. I don't even take a distance driver to this course.

The speed limit on the park road to the course is 15 because it goes next to a school, and I would suggest not speeding as I've seen cops out there on numerous occasions.

Update:
I'm bumping my course score up half a point since they have put in concrete teepads and some rock walkways which will cut down on the mud. However, the course pretty much plays the same except one hole is longer, another is shorter, and one or two of the teeboxes have been slightly shifted to the side.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This is my home course

5+    4/20/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: sensei
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Makes you develop a good, technical short game. There's a short walk between most holes that helps congestion. Most of the locals are super friendly. A huge grassy field to practice long shots and warm up, as well as a practice tee. Usually a trailer offering new and used discs and drinks and snacks.
Cons: It needs some work; dirt tee boxes (soon to be replaced with concrete) are well worn. Can be crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: This course looks completely different from the pictures uploaded here, that's what the course looked like when I started playing nearly a decade ago. Several tee boxes pictured here have been moved way back and the trees are much bigger now giving you much less view of open sky. The fairways are usually a tight ally with an option to go over for people with bigger arms.

This is the course closest to my house so I play it at least twice a week lately. For the most part, the locals are friendly and will make you feel welcomed and give average players tips along the way. If you're brand new you might feel intimidated playing here at first but as long as you let faster groups play through if it's open ahead you'll enjoy yourself. Since Circle C reopened in early May the crowds here have all but disappeared. Parking is a breeze most days and the traffic jams that were common are mostly history.

The rumor is that this course will close for renovations after Labor day weekend 2009, including concrete tee boxes and perhaps a minor redesign.

I really enjoy this course but do concede that it could use a facelift. I'll miss it while it's closed but I look forward to the changes

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.