Austin, TX 
Searight Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
A short but technical course

2-4    2/17/2017   2/20/2017
Review By: jamminbales
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 0.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Not too long
-Very technical
-Scenic and memorable
Cons: -Crowded
-Will be rough on discs (bring your premium plastic)
Other Thoughts: Difficulty (3.5/5): This course isn't very long, all of the par 3's should be well within an intermediate player's driving distance. But the fairways are extremely narrow, the rough is unforgiving, and there are quite a few doglegs. It's often times smart to play for par by just tossing a putter down the middle of the fairway rather than risk going for it and ending up with a bogey or worse.

Maintenance (3.5/5): The teeboxes are in great shape and there's almost always somewhere to sit nearby. The baskets are in great shape. Most of the fairways are composed of gravel, so there's no overgrown grass. The teesigns seem to be missing on most of the holes, but there are still poles with the tee number on them.

Variability (2.5/5): Searight had average variability. I felt the majority of the shots were either dead straight or anhyzer shots. When I say dead straight, I don't mean a fairway driver that flies straight then settles left. That shot would likely skip off into the trees on the left. I'm inconsistent at best at those two types of shots, so I was scrambling a lot on my second shots. There was a handful of hyzer opportunities, particularly spike hyzers.

Flow/Experience (4.5/5): It's a very easy course to navigate, particularly because of its popularity. If you're playing on the weekend you'll likely be tailing a group the whole round, so you just follow them. The course is beautiful, if a bit rough on your discs (and you if you aren't careful in the trees). Hole 15 in particular offers a phenomenal view that's worth the visit alone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Defined fairways galore

1    1/17/2016   12/10/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 96  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.586 Rating) Among a class of very good courses on metro Austin's south side.
- UNIQUENESS - The overall uniqueness is a bit above your average 18 hole course. There are a couple of 4's. A couple of holes have a creek element in play. In addition, there are some pocket shots, and windows shots and lots of well defined moderately spaced tunnel plays. The is some moderate elevation when comparing this course to the other area courses. It is missing a true Dogleg hole. Hole 14 twists significantly, but it's a par 3, so more of a pocket skip shot. No 5's or opportunities to really bomb one. But in all, unique enough to make for a fun round.
- HOLE 15 - One of the best shots in all of Austin. A well framed 40 - 50 foot down shot that looks over south Austin. I think everyone who plays their first round here, snaps a picture on this hole. It is my 2nd favorite hole in Austin behind hole B at Bible Ridge.
- CHARACTER - There is a community board right at hole 1 along with a very spacious practice area and basket. Hole signage was adequate. Most of the tees are shaded well. There is good seating and plenty of garbage cans. After the round, near the course parking there is a shelter with picnic tables as well. No extra pin placements or tee pads however.
- TEE PADS - Concrete pads are long and wide. Among some of the better ones in Austin.
- NAVIGATION - I don't find any major issues. I had no troubles on my first time threw. It almost seems intuitive the way it flows to together.
- SPACING - Very good hole spacing. It would have to be borderline intentional to put a disc into another fairway.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This really is not a beginners course per say but beginners should enjoy is regardless due to the low disc losing possibilities. The fairways width are moderately spaced and should challenge rec and intermediate players. Advanced and pros may come away less than challenged however.
- ACEABILITY - Several holes are aceable, You will have exceedingly great opportunities on holes 5 and 6.
- CHILL AREAS - Most of the course plays threw a secluded wooded area. definitely relaxing.
Cons: An all around good course with a few exceptions.
- TIME WAITING - This course gets heavy use and often has mob golfing going on with groups of 6 or more. Typically the large groups will let faster groups play through (or try to get you to join in), but you'll still have to wait on that initial hole. Rarely will one play a round and not have to stop and wait at some point. There are a couple of good opportunities to make a jump if needed. These are holes 3 to 6 and 12 to 14.
- TIME PLAY - Course is surprisingly not a quick play despite shorter length, mostly due to the before mentioned large groups. A group of 4 should plan to be here at least 2 1/2 hours to complete 18 holes.
- DRAINAGE - The course does not take to rain very well. You'll notice from playing here that there's lots of erosion control terracing throughout the layout as the water just wants to sheet flow down the 5 degree sloping hill side. Expect a lot of mud if it rained recently.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - About average, but definitely not the most scenic course on the south side of Austin. The trees, mostly cedar, has a more raggedy and rustic look. I'll also add that the course takes a lot of wear and tear and is mostly void of grass.
- VANDALISM & TRASH - There was a bunch of tagging on the hole signage and there was also a bit more trash than you'd typically see on an average course despite to plethora of garbage cans through-out the layout.
Other Thoughts: A good to great course for those living within 15-20 miles. Definitely worth a look see if you are from out of town and have already hit Circle C and Roy G. If you live in Austin metro, be sure to play this course at least a few times.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun!

1    11/25/2014   11/25/2014
Review By: mattrowe
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of ace opportunities. Good for beginners, but experienced golfers can get into trouble if they can't keep discs in the fairway. Close proximity to Disc Nation. Very empty and peaceful on a Tuesday morning, a deer let me take a very close photo. Very easy to navigate without a map, even though there were no signs.
Cons: Probably the shortest course I've played (not really a "con," but something to be aware of). A little bit more trash than I'd consider acceptable for a public park. Not a lot of variation in tee shots. For the most part, it's either a short flick/thumber or a hyzer flip. There are no places to really bomb a drive, even the par 4's.
Other Thoughts: This course would greatly benefit from some alternate tee/basket positions. It seemed like most of the short holes required the same shot. There is a lot of potential here.

I thought I'd note that the park is on the south side of Slaughter Ave. Google Maps wanted to drop me off on the north side. Drive to the end of the entrance road to the park, and the first tee is on the northeast corner of the parking lot.

There are lots of short holes here, and most of the shorties require a left-to-right shot. I think I threw 6 or 7 thumbers off the tee for a -7 on my second round here (I don't have much of a flick and I consider myself an average golfer). I got metal three times in two rounds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Austin's most crowded course? Probably.

1    7/5/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: SigLane
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Decent shot selection. Very well maintained. Benches and trash cans at every hole. I disagree with other opinions that state that this course favors a lefty. It favors a player with multiple shots types with accuracy needed to thread through strategically placed cedar tree dotted fairways. Ripping the disc is barely necessary on but just a few holes while the rest are accuracy focused. With select cedar trees in the fairway to navigate around what would otherwise be a straight forward hole, it changes your approach to one that requires you to think two shots ahead. I like that. Hole 15's view is beautiful and it's a blast to chunk a disc off of that elevated tee box. Shots off of the fairway are still playable but require precision to make it through the cedar forest openings. Extremely satisfy when you dodge all of the cedar trees on each hole as it's tight on some of the fairways. Very well maintained fairways and areas just off of the fairways make for forgiving lies.
Cons: Trash can pile up but people use the cans at least. Can get very crowded in fact that is an understatement. This is by far the most crowded course in South Austin if not all of Austin. Be prepared to wait behind at least one group during evenings or weekends. Weekday rounds are no longer a possibility for me thanks to my post college, real job lifestyle that I've had to adopt. My other gripe about this place is the cemented presence of a less than reputable crowd. I've seen deals done on the course and heard old men who are just hanging out at the benches near hole 3 talking about their stints in prison. Seriously, man, take that sob story elsewhere and do your deals elsewhere. My group and I are trying to f'n play. Plus, since the course isn't the hardest or longest course it invites, appropriately so, groups of 4 or 5 newbies eating up 15 minutes a hole at least. Everyone has to start somewhere but just want to communicate that to y'all reading this. Listen, I don't expect you to show up in golf attire but at least carry yourself appropriately and respectfully around others that you could be imposing upon. Especially since the new thing seems to be blasting you're terrible music choice over you're portable Bluetooth speaker. It don't need silence to throw but I don't want to hear your annoying techno or rap blasting in the background while you wait behind my group. I'll get down off of my soap box now...
Other Thoughts: Fun course that requires shot shaping and variety. Look forward to 15. Bring water even though the cedar forest's shade is nice it's also very thick so it cuts down the chance of heat relief from a little wind. Pack plenty of patience in your bag for this "diversely" overcrowded course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/2/2014   2/23/2014
Review By: Dday301
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Shot variety
-Flows well
Cons: -Usually very busy so expect to wait a bit
-Trash is a common sight
Other Thoughts: This is a fairly easy course and one of my personal favorites. It can be extremely busy so expect to do some waiting (it's not uncommon to have a couple hundred people on the course at any one time on the weekends). There is good shot variety throughout but it does seem to favor RHBH. Plenty of birdie opportunities throughout, but 3 will steal your bacon with just the slightest mistake. 15 has a beautiful view from the top of a hill (especially at sunset) and a great downhill shot. Very enjoyable course overall and worth playing, but try to go at odd times if you can to avoid the crazy rush of people.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great moderate course down south

5+    2/8/2013   2/9/2013
Review By: Throbbert
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2016
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The course is short enough where if you don't get backed up you can knock the whole thing out with a group of four or less in 90 minutes.

The course also has a really good mix of backhand vs forehand throws. You are not stuck into having to alter your throws a whole lot as they managed to balance this course out so both types of throwers can have fun games.

There are a lot of holes on this course that are ace runs as well. Ones that come to mind right off the bat are 2, 4, 5 and 6. All just at 200 feet or under.

This course also has my favorite hole in all of Austin. Hole 15. You start the hole standing about 300 feet from the hole and 100 feet above it. Backhands and forehand alike will love this hole. It is really open to try anything you'd like. I never have a bad hole here. It is a great view and a fun toss.
Cons: Biggest con is apparently everyone and their mother likes to play this course, especially new players so it can get very backed up very quickly. Avoid the course at all costs on the weekends, unless you plan to get out there before 10am otherwise you will have to deal with long waits.

The course can be too easy for some. If you are looking for variation and some long holes this is not the place. There is nothing over 380 on this course.
Other Thoughts: Tuesday's are usually tournament days so I would suggest try another day. Wednesday's and Monday's are both usually the best days to play.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Searight

2-4    3/3/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: ColinB
Played: 36  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short but fun course for the most part, has a few longer holes
A few holes are potential ace runs
Well maintained, good paths between holes
Nice signs and adequate seating
Good mix of lefts and rights, with some elevation change
Cons: Gets pretty crowded on the weekends especially
Gets pretty muddy, making the tee pads dirty/slippery
Other Thoughts: Fun course, can be a confidence booster on a good day for sure.
Aside from it getting crowded and backed up, it's a very nice course and is definitely worth a try.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

1    5/2/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1253  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. Large parking area with a huge area for gathering large groups. Bathrooms and city park amenities at the start.

Events. Several days a week, all year long you may be able to find a Mini tournament here, the doubles were a ton of fun.

Tees. Concrete tee pads are always nice.

Variety. Most holes had several line options, with opportunities to try out many different shots, a variety of discs and shots came in handy.

Ace/Birdies. Nearly every hole is reachable in one, providing opportunities for aces, and scores well below par are possible.

Well kept. For the traffic that this course place sees, it is in relatively good shape, not too much trash around, fairways are well maintained and though there are many sings of heavy use, the course looks nice - in my opinion the new landscaping adds eye appeal.

Trash. Trash cans on most holes can fill up if it's busy, but it appears to be kept clean fairly well despite the high traffic.

Tough to lose a disc on this course.
Cons: Short. Not much variety of length and I never really had an opportunity to grip and rip, big arms may seem out of place here.

Wood Chips. Who had the idea that wood chips everywhere are a good plan? Shredded wood everywhere makes skipping nearly impossible and finding footing tough in some places.

The area surrounding the tee pads. A huge runup shouldn't be necessary on this course, still if you prefer level ground directly behind the tee, it's tough to find around here.

Busy. Evenings and weekends you will be waiting on nearly every hole.
Other Thoughts: A very enjoyable place to play a quick 18 to test your approaches and putts, well worth a stop if in the area. Especially a fun place to play a Mini. A short, fun round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Day Disc Golfing

5+    5/15/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: Davesdisc
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 32.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads and wood chips. Really helped with the wet and muddy conditions today.
Cons: None really. Advanced to Pro DGrs may not find the course not challenging enough.
Other Thoughts: Searight was on the muddy side today. Without the renovation it could have been much worse, but the course held up well to all the rain. Can't wait to play it again in drier conditions. I highly recommend this course for beginners to intermediate disc golfers. My advice is to keep it in the fairway and you'll shoot a decent score.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sea--- they got this RIGHT!

2-4    5/7/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 15 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Love the variety of holes here. It never gets old, never gets easier either.
Cons: Tee boxes are pretty rough and rocky. No signs.
Other Thoughts: This course always kicks my butt, but I still want to play it!!! I love the challenge and trying to improve. Makes me work on my short and mid range shots.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.