Austin, TX 
Searight Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Austin's most crowded course? Probably.

1    7/5/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: SigLane
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Decent shot selection. Very well maintained. Benches and trash cans at every hole. I disagree with other opinions that state that this course favors a lefty. It favors a player with multiple shots types with accuracy needed to thread through strategically placed cedar tree dotted fairways. Ripping the disc is barely necessary on but just a few holes while the rest are accuracy focused. With select cedar trees in the fairway to navigate around what would otherwise be a straight forward hole, it changes your approach to one that requires you to think two shots ahead. I like that. Hole 15's view is beautiful and it's a blast to chunk a disc off of that elevated tee box. Shots off of the fairway are still playable but require precision to make it through the cedar forest openings. Extremely satisfy when you dodge all of the cedar trees on each hole as it's tight on some of the fairways. Very well maintained fairways and areas just off of the fairways make for forgiving lies.
Cons: Trash can pile up but people use the cans at least. Can get very crowded in fact that is an understatement. This is by far the most crowded course in South Austin if not all of Austin. Be prepared to wait behind at least one group during evenings or weekends. Weekday rounds are no longer a possibility for me thanks to my post college, real job lifestyle that I've had to adopt. My other gripe about this place is the cemented presence of a less than reputable crowd. I've seen deals done on the course and heard old men who are just hanging out at the benches near hole 3 talking about their stints in prison. Seriously, man, take that sob story elsewhere and do your deals elsewhere. My group and I are trying to f'n play. Plus, since the course isn't the hardest or longest course it invites, appropriately so, groups of 4 or 5 newbies eating up 15 minutes a hole at least. Everyone has to start somewhere but just want to communicate that to y'all reading this. Listen, I don't expect you to show up in golf attire but at least carry yourself appropriately and respectfully around others that you could be imposing upon. Especially since the new thing seems to be blasting you're terrible music choice over you're portable Bluetooth speaker. It don't need silence to throw but I don't want to hear your annoying techno or rap blasting in the background while you wait behind my group. I'll get down off of my soap box now...
Other Thoughts: Fun course that requires shot shaping and variety. Look forward to 15. Bring water even though the cedar forest's shade is nice it's also very thick so it cuts down the chance of heat relief from a little wind. Pack plenty of patience in your bag for this "diversely" overcrowded course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    1/2/2014   2/23/2014
Review By: Dday301
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Shot variety
-Flows well
Cons: -Usually very busy so expect to wait a bit
-Trash is a common sight
Other Thoughts: This is a fairly easy course and one of my personal favorites. It can be extremely busy so expect to do some waiting (it's not uncommon to have a couple hundred people on the course at any one time on the weekends). There is good shot variety throughout but it does seem to favor RHBH. Plenty of birdie opportunities throughout, but 3 will steal your bacon with just the slightest mistake. 15 has a beautiful view from the top of a hill (especially at sunset) and a great downhill shot. Very enjoyable course overall and worth playing, but try to go at odd times if you can to avoid the crazy rush of people.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great moderate course down south

5+    2/8/2013   2/9/2013
Review By: Throbbert
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2014
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The course is short enough where if you don't get backed up you can knock the whole thing out with a group of four or less in 90 minutes.

The course also has a really good mix of backhand vs forehand throws. You are not stuck into having to alter your throws a whole lot as they managed to balance this course out so both types of throwers can have fun games.

There are a lot of holes on this course that are ace runs as well. Ones that come to mind right off the bat are 2, 4, 5 and 6. All just at 200 feet or under.

This course also has my favorite hole in all of Austin. Hole 15. You start the hole standing about 300 feet from the hole and 100 feet above it. Backhands and forehand alike will love this hole. It is really open to try anything you'd like. I never have a bad hole here. It is a great view and a fun toss.
Cons: Biggest con is apparently everyone and their mother likes to play this course, especially new players so it can get very backed up very quickly. Avoid the course at all costs on the weekends, unless you plan to get out there before 10am otherwise you will have to deal with long waits.

The course can be too easy for some. If you are looking for variation and some long holes this is not the place. There is nothing over 550 on this course.
Other Thoughts: Tuesday's are usually tournament days so I would suggest try another day. Wednesday's and Monday's are both usually the best days to play.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Searight

2-4    3/3/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: ColinB
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short but fun course for the most part, has a few longer holes
A few holes are potential ace runs
Well maintained, good paths between holes
Nice signs and adequate seating
Good mix of lefts and rights, with some elevation change
Cons: Gets pretty crowded on the weekends especially
Gets pretty muddy, making the tee pads dirty/slippery
Other Thoughts: Fun course, can be a confidence booster on a good day for sure.
Aside from it getting crowded and backed up, it's a very nice course and is definitely worth a try.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

1    5/2/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. Large parking area with a huge area for gathering large groups. Bathrooms and city park amenities at the start.

Events. Several days a week, all year long you may be able to find a Mini tournament here, the doubles were a ton of fun.

Tees. Concrete tee pads are always nice.

Variety. Most holes had several line options, with opportunities to try out many different shots, a variety of discs and shots came in handy.

Ace/Birdies. Nearly every hole is reachable in one, providing opportunities for aces, and scores well below par are possible.

Well kept. For the traffic that this course place sees, it is in relatively good shape, not too much trash around, fairways are well maintained and though there are many sings of heavy use, the course looks nice - in my opinion the new landscaping adds eye appeal.

Trash. Trash cans on most holes can fill up if it's busy, but it appears to be kept clean fairly well despite the high traffic.

Tough to lose a disc on this course.
Cons: Short. Not much variety of length and I never really had an opportunity to grip and rip, big arms may seem out of place here.

Wood Chips. Who had the idea that wood chips everywhere are a good plan? Shredded wood everywhere makes skipping nearly impossible and finding footing tough in some places.

The area surrounding the tee pads. A huge runup shouldn't be necessary on this course, still if you prefer level ground directly behind the tee, it's tough to find around here.

Busy. Evenings and weekends you will be waiting on nearly every hole.
Other Thoughts: A very enjoyable place to play a quick 18 to test your approaches and putts, well worth a stop if in the area. Especially a fun place to play a Mini. A short, fun round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Day Disc Golfing

5+    5/15/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: Davesdisc
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 29.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads and wood chips. Really helped with the wet and muddy conditions today.
Cons: None really. Advanced to Pro DGrs may not find the course not challenging enough.
Other Thoughts: Searight was on the muddy side today. Without the renovation it could have been much worse, but the course held up well to all the rain. Can't wait to play it again in drier conditions. I highly recommend this course for beginners to intermediate disc golfers. My advice is to keep it in the fairway and you'll shoot a decent score.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sea--- they got this RIGHT!

2-4    5/7/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Love the variety of holes here. It never gets old, never gets easier either.
Cons: Tee boxes are pretty rough and rocky. No signs.
Other Thoughts: This course always kicks my butt, but I still want to play it!!! I love the challenge and trying to improve. Makes me work on my short and mid range shots.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 South Austin Course

2-4    3/27/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: RRDiscgolfer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2010
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course, lots of different shots, very challenging. There is a hole that goes down a hill/mountain, lol, and it is the highlight of the course.
Cons: All courses have cons and this one does, very worn out course, doesnt seem like they do too much maintanence to this other than pick up trash and check that baskets are there. UG.
Other Thoughts: I hear that after they open Circle C that the city is going to close Searight for a couple of months to put in concreate tee boxes and do maintanence. South Austin/Austin in general needs more courses.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/9/2008   2/22/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very fun 18 hole course that during the fall and winter gets turned around backwards. Tunnels galore. Always a group to join in with. A beautiful cliff shot into the sunset. Short and long shots and several ace chances.
Cons: Tees are worn. Very busy most of the time
Other Thoughts: Located right down the street from Disc Nation the awsome-est discgolf store that I know of.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Carved out of cedar forest. A nice finesse course.

5+    3/16/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very interesting topography. Most holes are isolated from one another. Good variety and balance of shots.
Cons: Dirt tees. Dirt fairways. Old baskets.
Other Thoughts: As an annual visitor to Austin, this is one of the courses I have to play at least once while I'm here. As it is carved out of a dense evergreen forest, the best feature of the course is the fact that while you play the course, you will rarely see another hole from the one you are playing.

The worst feature of the course is there is very little in the way of ground cover. Most of the fairways are bare earth. Playing after the course has received rain means you will be slogging through some heavy mud.

The course has a good variety and balance of shot shapes and hole lengths are varied as well. You will utilize pretty much every shot in your bag and you might have to get a little creative should you wander off the fairway.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.